Caprivi Strip Holidays

Caprivi Strip Travel

The Caprivi regional capital is the town of Katima Mulilo, which is located on the Zambezi River. There are no other major towns in the area, although it is fairly densely populated. The Caprivi is the only region that shares its borders with 4 other countries – Angola, Botswana, Zambia and Zimbabwe. Caprivi has 6 ethnic tribes – Subia, Yeyi, Mafwe, San, Tortela and Mbukushu. Surprisingly, they have adapted a Zambian language – Lozi – as a common medium of communication.

The Caprivi is surrounded by 4 perennial rivers – Chobe, Kwando, Linyanti and the mighty Zambezi. For years this area was the domain of the South African Army – wildlife suffered as a result - but with soldiers long gone, wildlife populations have recovered. These waterfront areas combine riverine forests with vast wetlands, attracting over 600 species of bird, 4 of the big 5 (excluding rhino) as well as 4 National Parks – Bwabwata, Mamili, Mudumu and Mahango.

Until the end of the 19th Century it was known as Itenge and was under the rule of the Lozi Kings. In the late 1800's the strip of land was administered as part of the British protectorate of Bechuanaland (Botswana) until 1890 when Germany laid claim to the British administered island of Zanzibar, to which Britain objected. The dispute was settled by Queen Victoria and Britain acquired Zanzibar, and Germany settled for the territory which became known as the Caprivi Strip; named after German Chancellor, General Count Georg Leo von Caprivi di Caprara di Montecuccoli.

Click Caprivi Strip images to start slideshow
Africa Spotlight


Founded in 1892 during the German colonial rule, the distinct colonial character has been well preserved. Swakopmund has several excellent ...