In the Kunene region is the town of Outjo, surrounded by hillocks, woodland and savannah. Outjo is translated as ‘place on the rocks’ or ‘little hills’. In Herero it means cone-shaped hills.
The area first belonged to Herero people, but it soon changed in 1880 when hawker and adventurer by heart, Tom Lambert, decided to settle here. Originally from the Cape, Lambert bought 1800 ha from Herero Captain Manassa, who in turn gave him permission to commercially trade with the local inhabitants – then known as Topnaars-Hottentotte. In 1944 Outjo was declared a municipality and rapid development followed the Second World War in 1949. In 1975 political uncertainty and drought strangled progress. Development in Outjo continued in slowly. Like the rest of Namibia, Outjo experienced hardship in the 1990 Independence Struggle. However, by 1992 the town recovered and houses were restored.
The Gamkarab Cave, 50 km north east of Outjo, features stalactites and stalagmites as well as an underground cave.
West en route to Khorixas, the Ugab Vingerklip dominates the landscape. This stone formation is 35 meter high and owes its finger-shape to erosion. At the adjacent farm, Omburo Ost, rock paintings depicting an interesting area in history can be viewed.
The Petrified Forrest (140 km west of Outjo) has some of the oldest trees in the world. The trees, estimated to be 250 million years old, were deposited to the area by a flood that came from the North. The origin is supported by research into the rootless and branchless trunks.