Triangle reveals more sides to Sri Lanka

1st Aug 2013

Cultural sites don't come much more enthralling than the one that has helps tourists get a fresh look at Sri Lanka, bringing the country's history to life.

The Cultural Triangle comprises the north central towns of Anuradhapura, Polonnaruwa, Sigiriya and Dambulla.

Its enlightening, widespread archaeological ruins provide a mirror into the island's past, dating back to the 4th century B.C.

It is here that Sri Lanka's kings created incredibly advanced civilisations.

The triangle's ruins are nowadays protected by UNESCO as World Heritage sites and offer tailor-made holidays to archaeology enthusiasts.

The central plains have low rainfall and several hotels are sumptuous enough to be a holiday in their own right.

The National Museum, together with four devales (or small villages) and two monasteries, make up one of the Cultural Triangle's sites.

Holidaymakers can purchase a Cultural Triangle round-trip ticket at the office across the road from the tourist office.

The museum once housed Kandyan royal concubines and today includes royal regalia and reminders of pre-European Sinhalese life.

On show is a copy of the 1815 agreement that transferred over the Kandyan provinces to British rule.

The audience hall, famous for the towering pillars that support its roof, was the location for the convention of Kandyan chiefs that ceded the kingdom to Britain in 1815.

< Newer Older >

Tour Spotlight

Aegean Explorer

7 days from USD $1,279

Kicking off in the powerhouse of the Ottoman empire, discover exciting Istanbul, embrace Gallipoli, impressive Roman the...

See full tour itinerary
The On The Go Theatre
Discover the Ngorongoro crater and more on an African Safari