FROM: USD $1,695

Embark on a five star Egyptian adventure. Stay in one of Cairo's smartest hotels, cruise the River Nile in style aboard a 5 star Nile cruiser and be expertly guided by a professional Egyptologist guides for your entire stay.

Inclusions
Itinerary
Prices & Dates
Hotels
Reviews

Trip Highlights

5 star Nile River Cruise - spend four nights onboard a luxury cruise boat
Luxor West Bank - discover exquisite tombs in the Valley of the Kings, the towering Colossi of Memnon and the beautiful Temple of Queen Hatshepsut
Aswan - visit the High Dam, take leisurely boat trip to Agilika Island to explore the romantic Philae Temple and wander around the colourful souqs
Kom Ombo - visit the Nile side Temple of Kom Ombo
Cairo - marvel at the legendary Pyramids of Giza, explore the Necropolis of Saqqara and see King Tut's treasures at the Egyptian Museum
Luxor - roam around the colossal Temple of Karnak and see the beautifully illuminated Luxor Temple at night
Elephantine Island and Kitchener island - visit the islands on a felucca sailing trip

Included

Breakfast daily, 4 lunches, 6 dinners - (2 aboard sleeper train)
2 overnight trains: Cairo - Aswan and Luxor - Cairo (Private 2 berth sleeper cabin) including meals
Touring and sightseeing in Cairo, Giza, Saqqara, Luxor and Aswan
Escorted by an Egyptian tour guide degree qualified in Egyptology (groups of 4 or more)
3 nights 5 star hotels, 4 nights aboard luxury 5 star Nile Cruiser (en suite cabin)
Airport arrival and departure transfer day 1 and day 10
Felucca Sailing around the islands of Aswan
All relevant transfer and transportation in private modern air-conditioned vehicles

Not Included

International flights and visa
Entrance Fees: USD$80-100pp, paid in local currency
Tip for your tour guide. We recommend you allow USD$5 - 7 per day, per traveller. Tipping your guide is an entirely personal gesture
Tipping Kitty: USD$60-80pp, paid in local currency

Itinerary

Day 1

Cairo

Friday. Welcome to Egypt and the start of a wonderful holiday! Arrive Cairo airport, and included transfer to your 5 star hotel located in downtown Cairo. The rest of the day is free to relax or those arriving early can opt to pre book our optional Backstreets of Cairo tour which departs the hotel at 10am today.

For those who wish to extend their stay, we also offer a pre or post tour Alexandria Day Trip.
Overnight: Cairo

Day 2

Egyptian Museum

We start with the dazzling antiquities at the Egyptian Museum. Amongst the many exhibits are the treasures of King Tutankhamun.
Overnight: Cairo  |  Breakfast

Day 3

Pyramids of Giza

Cairo - Luxor. Today we visit Egypt's most loved sight - The Great Pyramids of Giza. We explore the Giza plateau, pyramids and massive Sphinx. We continue on to explore Saqqara - an ancient necropolis with many half-buried tombs and the famous Zhoser’s step pyramid. Later we travel to Luxor by overnight train. You will be accommodated in comfortable twin sleeper cabins. A light dinner is served on board.

If you don’t fancy travelling by overnight sleeper train, consider our Treasures of the Nile tour that replaces overnight trains with flights and comfortable 5 star hotels.
Overnight: Sleeper Train  |  Breakfast, Dinner

Day 4

Valley of the Kings

Arriving into Luxor this morning we visit the incredible Valley of the Kings. The massive pair of statues known as the Colossi of Memnon are the first monuments you’ll see during our morning visit to the West Bank - home to the legendary Valley of the Kings. You’ll also see the colonnaded Temple of Queen Hatshepsut. Return to Luxor for check-in on board our Nile 5 star cruiser. Lunch at leisure and time to relax until our early evening visit to the Temple of Luxor. Luxor Temple looks stunning at dusk and is beautifully illuminated at night.

Note: Dependent upon Nile Cruiser scheduling it maybe required that we also undertake our excursion to Karnak Temple this afternoon. Should this occur, day 5 will be spent at leisure.
Overnight: Nile Cruising  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 5

Luxor & Nile Cruising

Luxor - Nile cruising. This morning we tour the ancient city of Thebes (the East Bank), taking in the magnificent Temple of Karnak. More than a temple, Karnak is a gigantic and stunning complex of sanctuaries and pylons dedicated to the Theban gods. Anchors away this afternoon as we set sail downstream.
Overnight: Nile Cruising  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 6

Cruising & Kom Ombo

Nile cruising. Relax as we sail the Nile. Later today we visit the Temple of Kom Ombo. A unique riverside temple, it is unusual in that everything architecturally is doubled and perfectly symmetrical along the main axis of the temple including twin halls, courts, colonnades, sanctuaries and entrances. Arrive Aswan, a prosperous town at the crossroads of the ancient caravan routes late evening.
Overnight: Nile Cruising  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 7

The Philae Temple

Nile cruiser - Aswan. Today, we enjoy a short boat trip to Agilika Island for Philae Temple - dedicated to the goddess Isis. The temple dates from 4th century BC but the Ptolomies and the Romans up to 3rd century AD built most of the existing structures. In danger of being completely submerged by the rising water of Lake Nasser, in 1972 UNESCO stepped in and an 8-year rescue effort was undertaken to relocate the entire temple 20m higher on nearby Agilika Island. We then make a stop at a perfume oil emporium. Perfumed oils in Egypt dates back to 2700BC and were used by women, pharaohs and by temple priests.

After lunch, we visit the High Dam and take a felucca sailing trip to Elephantine and Kitchener Island. As the sun sets, free time to shop in the colourful souqs and markets or simply relax and watch an amazing sunset in Egypt’s southern most town straddling the River Nile.
Overnight: Nile Cruising  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 8

Optional excursion to Abu Simbel

Aswan - Cairo. Consider the optional early morning excursion to the Temples of Ramses II at Abu Simbel. Please see our Abu Simbel by Road add-on for more info. Alternatively you can spend the morning at leisure.

If you choose not to embark upon this optional excursion, there is plenty to do in Aswan. You can explore Aswan, its beautiful shoreline and corniche or perhaps do a spot of shopping. Late this afternoon, we board the overnight train (twin berth sleeper cabins provided) for our journey back to Cairo. A light dinner is served on board.
Overnight: Sleeper Train  |  Breakfast, Dinner

Day 9

Cairo

This morning have breakfast in your train cabin and upon arrival into Cairo transfer to the hotel and check in. Upon arrival transfer to the hotel and check in. The rest of the day is free for you to enjoy the hotel facilities or you can opt to join our optional tour visiting Old Cairo, Coptic Cairo and the Citadel of Saladin (book locally).
Overnight: Cairo  |  Breakfast

Day 10

Cairo

Sunday. Tour ends after breakfast. Included onward transfer to airport.
Breakfast

Sun Festival Tours

If you are planning on travelling with us in February 2019 or October 2019 consider our Ramses Sunrise or Jewel of the Nile Sun Festival tours. These tours include arrangements similar to those of our Jewel of the Nile with the added highlight of witnessing the Sun Festival of King Ramses II at Abu Simbel.

Ramses II had his grand temple carefully angled and oriented in order that the sun's rays would align twice a year on the date of his ascension to the throne (21 February) and on his birthday (21 October) and illuminate the inner sanctum of the temple. This incredible natural phenomenon provides for a most spectacular sight as the sun illuminates the 3 statues of the living world, whilst the statute of Ptah - the god of darkness - remains in the shadows. The temple was re-located in a multi-million dollar operation in 1972, further up from the shoreline of Lake Nasser. In the temples new position the sun now strikes a day later than Ramses had originally planned.

Includes: Coach from Aswan to Abu Simbel early morning on the day of the festival. Guided visit to Abu Simbel, the sunrise event, entrance fees and visitor ticket for this excursion. Return coach journey to Aswan after the event.

Prices & Dates

Departure dates noted with a 'G' are guaranteed to operate. All other departure dates are guaranteed with a minimum of 2 persons. Prices shown are per person when there are 2 persons sharing a room. The 'Single supplement' applies for single travellers who require their own room and needs to be added to the per person price.

Read More
Xmas departure, book early!
XMAS Departure
New Years departure, book early!
New Year Departure
This is a Sun Festival departure and we've included special touring arrangements. For travel in Oct 2019 & Oct 2020, please see our Treasures of the Nile Sun Festival tour which includes 2 flights, no overnight trains. For travel in Feb 2020, please see our Ramses Sunrise itinerary which includes one flight and one overnight train. Both itineraries are located within the 'Festival Tours' section on our website.
Sun Festival
Please note this tour departs on a Saturday.
Saturday Departure
Easter departure, book early!
Easter Departure
Guaranteed Departure
Available
Contact us to book
Sold out
2019
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
USD $2,045
USD $1,040
USD $2,045
USD $1,040
USD $2,045
USD $1,040
15 Nov - 24 Nov 15% offG
USD $2,045
USD $1,738

USD $1,040
USD $2,045
USD $1,040
06 Dec - 15 Dec 15% offG
USD $2,045
USD $1,738

USD $1,040
20 Dec - 29 Dec 10% offXmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
USD $2,345
USD $2,111

USD $1,040
27 Dec - 05 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
G
USD $2,345
USD $1,040
2020
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
USD $2,145
USD $1,100
USD $2,145
USD $1,100
USD $2,145
USD $1,100
15 Feb - 24 Feb This is a Sun Festival departure and we've included special touring arrangements. For travel in Oct 2019 & Oct 2020, please see our Treasures of the Nile Sun Festival tour which includes 2 flights, no overnight trains. For travel in Feb 2020, please see our Ramses Sunrise itinerary which includes one flight and one overnight train. Both itineraries are located within the 'Festival Tours' section on our website.
This is a Sun Festival departure and we've included special touring arrangements. For travel in Oct 2019 & Oct 2020, please see our Treasures of the Nile Sun Festival tour which includes 2 flights, no overnight trains. For travel in Feb 2020, please see our Ramses Sunrise itinerary which includes one flight and one overnight train. Both itineraries are located within the 'Festival Tours' section on our website.
Please note this tour departs on a Saturday.
Please note this tour departs on a Saturday.
USD $2,545
USD $1,260
USD $2,145
USD $1,100
USD $2,145
USD $1,100
USD $2,145
USD $1,100
03 Apr - 12 Apr Easter departure, book early!
Easter departure, book early!
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
10 Apr - 19 Apr Easter departure, book early!
Easter departure, book early!
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
USD $2,145
USD $1,100
USD $1,845
USD $1,100
USD $1,845
USD $1,100
USD $1,845
USD $1,100
USD $1,845
USD $1,100
USD $1,845
USD $1,100
USD $1,845
USD $1,100
USD $1,845
USD $1,100
USD $1,845
USD $1,100
USD $1,845
USD $1,100
USD $2,145
USD $1,100
USD $2,145
USD $1,100
USD $2,145
USD $1,100
USD $2,145
USD $1,100
USD $2,145
USD $1,100
USD $2,145
USD $1,100
USD $2,145
USD $1,100
USD $2,145
USD $1,100
USD $2,145
USD $1,100
USD $2,145
USD $1,100
USD $2,145
USD $1,100
USD $2,145
USD $1,100
18 Dec - 27 Dec Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
25 Dec - 03 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
2021
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
USD $1,695
USD $1,040

Extra Prices

Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
Private Tour Supplement
USD $900
-  
Pre Tour Accommodation
USD $180
USD $50
Post Tour Accommodation
USD $180
USD $50

Hotels

The hotels listed below are ones which we frequently use on this tour. We reserve the right to substitute these hotels to ones of a similar standard.

InterContinental Semiramis, Cairo

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Hotel

Situated on the banks of the River Nile in the heart of the capital, the luxury InterContinental Semiramis is conveniently located next to the Egyptian Museum and the bustling bazaars of Old Cairo. The tastefully appointed guest rooms have been designed with comfort in mind, with all modern amenities and balconies offering Nile or city views. The hotel's large rooftop pool is perfect for a refreshing dip and with 12 restaurants offering cuisine from across the world there's certainly no shortage of dining options. At the end of the day, head to the Nile Terrace to watch a spectacular sunset over the Nile, with a cool drink in hand.

Le Meridien Pyramids, Cairo

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Hotel

Set within beautifully manicured gardens, Le Meridien Pyramids is a stunning modern hotel affording amazing views of the Pyramids. The guest rooms have been designed with optimum taste and comfort in mind and include state of the art facilities. The outdoor swimming pool includes waterfalls and hydro jets. head to the Citrus Pool Bar in the afternoon for a refreshing beverage under the gaze of the pyramids!

Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Cairo

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Hotel

The recently renovated Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers and Casino is a stylish, contemporary hotel with fantastic views over the Nile. The rooms are particularly spacious with large bright windows, complimentary WiFi and all of the modern amenities required to ensure a comfortable stay. If you're feeling lucky head to the casino, or relax in the spa tub and soak up the sun by the large outdoor pool. The hotel has a choice of three restaurants and bars, where you can enjoy a tasty meal and refreshing drinks after taking in the ancient wonders of Egypt's capital city.

M/S Royal Lotus, Nile Cruising

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Cruise

The luxurious Movenpick M/S Royal Lotus offers extremely spacious cabins and a good range of public areas.

M/S Farah, Nile Cruising

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 star cruise boat

The M/S Farah is a stylish and modern cruise boat, with large cabins that face out over the Nile. Contemporary in decor, the Farah has a large sun deck and swimming pool.

Moon Dance, Nile Cruising

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Cruise

Moondance is a five star deluxe ship designed for luxury cruising on the Nile, accommodating up to 145 passengers.The vessel has 60 cabins and 8 suites offering exquisite comfort amidst an elegant yet intimate décor.

M/S Premium, Nile Cruising

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Cruise

The modern and luxurious M/S Premium cruise boat boasts stylish cabins equipped with all modern amenities and large panoramic windows. Facilities on board include a fitness centre, spacious deck with swimming pool, large restaurant and cocktail bar. Grab a good book and a refreshing beverage and relax on the Sund Deck - the perfect way to spend the day. The M/S Premium sets sail on Mondays on a 4 and 7 night cruise from Luxor and on Fridays on a 3 and 7 night cruise from Aswan.

Reviews

Travellers have rated this tour as 4.77 out of 5 based on 60 recent reviews

1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11

The reception by On The Go on our arrival was particularly exceptional. They literal propelled us through Customs very efficiently and were there waiting for us.

However the train trip was an uncomfortable ride. It was too small especially with the luggage. I would not for any reason recommend the train to a colleague or family.

• Submitted 14 May 2019
Tour
Guide
Country

Our tour guide was Ahmed (Helal). This was a trip of a lifetime and we loved every minute of it, we were very much left wanting more and sad it was over.

Helal is an amazing tour guide and you can see he truly loves what he does. He made sure everyone was looked after and had an amazing time. Helal is a wealth of knowledge and experience.

We loved every part of this tour from the sites to the accommodation. We would highly recommend this tour to our friends and family.

• Submitted 03 May 2019
Tour
Guide
Country

Absolutely fabulous. I learnt so much especially due to Saleebs engaging storytelling full of facts. Dispelled so many myths about Egypt the middle east and ancient civilisations.

Professionally organised and top quality hotels and cruise boat. Egyptian overnight train was something else but l wouldn't have missed it for the world.

Thank you On the Go Tours

• Submitted 27 Apr 2019
Tour
Guide
Country

Hotels were typically 4 star western accommodation and were good. Not too sure about the location of the Giza hotel as it was a little out on a limb although close to the Pyramids

The Nile cruiser was very good again 4 star western accommodation. The overnight sleeper train x 2 was grim and I would suggest flying as did the other group.

Excellent and very knowledgeable tour guide, he made the tour for me and others and is a big plus. Overall a fantastic experience with no security issues. I would recommend to friends and colleagues.

• Submitted 19 Feb 2019
Tour
Guide
Country

What an amazing adventure. The organisation was superb from beginning to end.

We met pre passport control in Egypt, which seemed a bit over the top - however, it ensured a very speedy route through the airport.

The tour was expertly managed, our guide Medo (Ahmed Esmet) who was amazing. He was extremely knowledgeable, helpful, funny and became part of the family. His wealth of knowledge bowled us all over, how can any one person remember all those facts from the last 6000 years! By the end of the tour we had grasped the basics and didn't feel quite so stupid in respect of Egyptian history, culture and lifestyle.

There were so many highlights, seeing Tutankhamen's mask for the second time in my life (the first time in London in the 70's) and all the other objects found in the tomb; Luxor at night - similar feelings to those of seeing the Taj Mahal at sunrise and Abu Simbel. Oh yes and the Nile cruiser too - could have stayed another week!

If you are in any doubt do it. Our safety never felt compromised at any time and in fact everyone was so friendly. The country is colourful and vibrant and alive! It's a once in a lifetime trip, one not too miss.

• Submitted 19 Feb 2019
Tour
Guide
Country

Wow... totally exceeded our expectations. When we arrived at the airport we were met by a representative from On The Go and that feeling of being welcomed was displayed the entire tour. Ahmed Esmat ( medo) our tour guide was absolutely amazing, his knowledge and passion are un measurable, everyday was a mind blowing experience. He was with us every step of the way not only as our tour guide but as part of the group. Every meal was enjoyed with great conversation and a family atmosphere of experiences. We made friends for life on the tour,we were so fortunate to travel with an amazing group. From Ahmed Salah’s fantastic organisation, Medos love and education of Egypt, the bus drivers,the train attendants the total team on the Nile cruise we will have this experience for a lifetime.

Would we go again? yes in a heartbeat. If you have the opportunity to go, just do it.

• Submitted 16 Feb 2019
Tour
Guide
Country

We had the most fabulous guide, he exceeded our expectations. We did not expect to have someone so highly qualified as our guide. The depth of knowledge that he was able to pass on to us was amazing.

The tour was tremendous, the trains overnight were an experience, although we survived I wouldn't rush to repeat an overnight train journey again.

We will highly recommend On The Go Tours in the future.

• Submitted 09 Jan 2019
Tour
Guide
Country

We enjoyed the holiday and it did not disappoint in any respect. The hotels were very good and we used the ATM to obtain local currency as this seemed to be easier than changing Sterling. All the food was very good and we did not suffer any 'ill' effects!

The overnight sleeper train was very basic, the food OK the bed OK but the toilets on the car were pretty run down. (We did expect this but it was the weak link in the package).

The tour guide was very knowledgeable about the history aspects and accommodated as much of the requests of the party as he could. A bit more info on the modern Egypt would have been useful.

• Submitted 04 Dec 2018
Tour
Guide
Country

Firstly, Helal was outstanding! He was friendly, funny, extremely knowledgeable and informative and very accommodating with all guests.

The tour itself was great. We had great accommodation (Le Meridian, Nile Cruiser & Intercontinental Hotel). The overnight sleeper train was an experience but we were pre-warned about it. The places we visited were awesome especially the Great Pyramid and Valley of the Kings. I felt the day at the Great Pyramid was rushed. I would have liked more time there so we could also see the glass bottom boats.

I found having to pay for the entrance fees into the excursions annoying. I didn't anticipate we would have to do that. Others tours I have been on if it's written in the itinerary, it's usually included in the price. I think the prices should be set at a particular date then if the prices go up, then guests pay the difference.

Once again, Helal was an awesome tour guide and I would recommend "On The Go" tours to anyone.

• Submitted 30 Aug 2018
Tour
Guide
Country

I had a great tour and learnt so much about Egypt. The knowledge of the tour guides was outstanding and we were so lucky to have both guides on our tour at different times. It was a privilege. I am ecstatic about this tour and would recommend it to anyone. The only issue I would have is that due the to economic situation in the country I think you are doing a disservice to your guides and drivers and tour operators on the ground stating in your company paperwork that they should be tipped such a small amount. I think tourists should be made aware of the fact that people need good tips and 1-5 Euros daily is not at all enough. Tourists who can afford it should be aware to tip others on a automatic basis and get rid of the amount on your paperwork that you suggest

• Submitted 19 Jul 2018
Tour
Guide
Country
1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11

In Brief

Range
Trip Type
Starts
Cairo
Ends
Cairo
Departs
Fridays
Group Size
Min 2 / Max 24
Hotel Rating
5 Star
Tour Guide
Yes, escorted by a tour guide
Meals
Breakfast: 9, Lunch: 4, Dinner: 6
Visiting
Countries

Tour Add-ons

Enhance your trip with these amazing added extras and add-ons

The reception by On The Go on our arrival was particularly exceptional. They literal propelled us through Customs very efficiently and were there waiting for us.

However the train trip was an uncomfortable ride. It was too small especially with the luggage. I would not for any reason recommend the train to a colleague or family.

Heidi Ngidi
OTG000139Jewel of the Nile - 10 daysMiddle East & North AfricaSignature1695 USDfalse0Egypthttps://www.onthegotours.com/Egypt/Jewel-of-the-Nile--10-dayshttps://drwyjmricaxm7.cloudfront.net/repository/Cruise-ship-on-the-Nile--Egypt-Tours--On-The-Go-Tours-231431396876611_crop_flip_300_300_f2f2f2_center-center.jpgGroup_Tours1695USD