2 for 1
FROM: USD $698

Visit the incredible Pyramids of Giza, relax on a felucca as you cruise down the Nile and discover the ancient wonders of Aswan and Luxor, before spending a few days by the beautiful Red Sea in Hurghada. This is Egypt at its best in 13 wonderful days.

Inclusions
Itinerary
Prices & Dates
Cruise Upgrade Prices & Dates
Hotels
Reviews

Trip Highlights

Hurghada - relax at the Red Sea, swim and opt to snorkel or scuba dive in the clear coastal waters
Luxor West Bank - discover exquisite tombs in the Valley of the Kings, the towering Colossi of Memnon and the beautiful Temple of Queen Hatshepsut
Aswan - take leisurely boat trip to Agilika Island to explore the romantic Philae Temple and wander around the colourful souqs
Kom Ombo - visit the Nile side Temple of Kom Ombo
Cairo - marvel at the legendary Pyramids of Giza, explore the Necropolis of Saqqara and see King Tut's treasures at the Egyptian Museum
Luxor - roam around the colossal Temple of Karnak and take an optional tour of the beautifully illuminated Luxor Temple at night
Nile felucca sailing - sail the River Nile on board a traditional felucca and spend two nights sleeping under a blanket of stars (or upgrade to a 5 star Nile Cruise)

Included

Breakfast daily, 2 lunches, 2 dinners
Hurghada Red Sea stay
Airport arrival and departure transfer, day 1 and day 13
Escorted by an Egyptian tour guide degree qualified in Egyptology
9 nights 4 - 5 star hotels, 2 nights aboard felucca (open deck). If booking our Nile Cruise Upgrade, 8 nights 4 - 5 star hotels and 3 nights Nile Cruiser (en suite cabin)
1 overnight train: Cairo - Aswan (Private 2 berth sleeper cabin)
Touring of Cairo, Giza, Saqqara, Aswan, Luxor and Hurghada
All relevant transfer and transportation in private modern air-conditioned vehicles

Not Included

International flights and visa
Entrance Fees: USD$80-100pp, paid in local currency
Tip for your tour guide. We recommend you allow USD$5 - 7 per day, per traveller. Tipping your guide is an entirely personal gesture
Tipping Kitty: USD$60-80pp, paid in local currency

Itinerary

When are you travelling?: In 2019 this tour departs on a Saturday. In 2020 this holiday will depart on a Friday and arrangements will be slightly different. In 2020 an additional night will be spent in Cairo at the beginning on the tour in lieu of a night in Hurghada. The change will ensure there is ample time to explore the new Grand Egyptian Museum set to open fully in 2020. Please refer to the Trip Notes for further details.

Day 1

Cairo

Welcome to Egypt! Upon arrival in Cairo you will be transferred to your hotel. The rest of the day is free to relax or those arriving early can opt to join our optional Backstreets of Cairo tour which departs the hotel at 10am.

If you'd like to extend your stay in Egypt we also offer a pre or post tour Day Trip to Alexandria.
Overnight: Cairo

Day 2

Pyramids & Saqqara

Cairo - Aswan. Start the day with a visit to Al Jizah, the famous Giza Plateau to see the iconic pyramids and Sphinx. Next we explore the sand-strewn tombs and temples of the ancient necropolis of Saqqara, home to the Zhoser’s step pyramid. This evening we travel by overnight sleeper train to Aswan.
Overnight: Sleeper Train  |  Breakfast

Day 3

Philae Temple

Aswan. After arrival into Aswan and hotel check-in we enjoy a boat trip to Agilika Island where we visit the Temples of Philae, dedicated to the goddess Isis. Spend the remainder of the evening at your own leisure; shop in the colourful souqs or simply kick back and relax.
Overnight: Aswan  |  Breakfast

Day 4

Abu Simbel

Aswan - Nile felucca cruise. Early birds can go on an optional excursion to the majestic Temple of Abu Simbel. The gargantuan rock-cut temple at Abu Simbel was created to revere the mighty pharaonic ruler King Ramses II. Guarding the entrance to the temple, the four colossal statues of Ramses II sit majestically, staring out across the desert. In the afternoon we board a felucca for a 2-night journey downstream the River Nile, stopping at villages and islands along the way.

If sailing by felucca is not your style, consider upgrading to a 5 star luxury Nile Cruise, please see the tab above for prices. For more information about Nile Cruising please click here.
Overnight: Felucca Cruise  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 5

Felucca sailing & Kom Ombo

Spend a relaxing day sailing the Nile. Admire the views, go for a swim and chill out in the sun on deck. Let your troubles melt away, as the felucca plies its route. In the afternoon we dock near Kom Ombo and take a motorboat to visit the temple, which is dedicated to the crocodile headed god - Sobek, before returning to the felucca for the night.
Overnight: Felucca Cruise  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 6

Kom Ombo & Luxor

Kom Ombo - Luxor. This morning we disembark and continue to Luxor. Home of the legendary Valley of the Kings and Temple of Karnak, 4000 year-old Luxor is ancient Egypt at its best. Enjoy some rest and relaxation. Tonight, an optional visit to the Temple of Luxor is available alternatively, enjoy the facilities of our hotel.
Overnight: Luxor  |  Breakfast

Day 7

Valley of the Kings

Luxor. This morning we explore the West Bank of the Nile and the legendary Valley of the Kings. Marvel at Colossi of Memnon, the massive stone remains of the temple of Amenophis III, and explore the Temple of Queen Hatshepsut and surrounding tombs.

After lunch we visit the Temple of Karnak, a spectacular religious complex built on a gigantic scale, where you get lost wandering around the stone papyrus columns. The rest of the evening is at leisure.
Overnight: Luxor  |  Breakfast

Day 8

Red Sea Riviera

Luxor - Hurghada. Departing Luxor we drive east to Hurghada part of the beautiful Red Sea Riviera for 4 days on the beach!
Overnight: Hurghada  |  Breakfast

Days 9-11

Sun, Sea & Sand

The next 3 days are free to explore Hurghada or simply relax. On day 9 there's an optional day trip to Giftun Island for swimming and snorkelling, which can be booked locally.

Hurghada is one of the Red Sea's most popular resorts and it is easy to see why. Hotels and expanded infrastructure provide holidaymakers with excellent aquatic facilities for sail boarding, yachting, deep-sea fishing, SCUBA diving and snorkeling. Hurghada’s central location provides a gateway to prime offshore reefs, which are some of the finest in the world. Hurghada also has plenty of restaurants and late night bars for evening entertainment. Just outside Hurghada is an ancient Roman quarry called Mons Porphyritis and Port Safarga – a famously windy place which is ideal for windsurfing.
Overnight: Hurghada  |  Breakfast x 3

Day 12

Egyptian Museum

Hurghada - Cairo. This morning we depart Hurghada and head back to Cairo. We take a guided tour of the enlightening Egyptian Museum, where you can see the famed solid gold death mask of King Tutankhamun and opt to visit the Royal Mummy room.
Overnight: Cairo  |  Breakfast

Day 13

Cairo

Cairo. After breakfast, hotel check-out and onward transfer to the airport.
Breakfast

Combine Egypt and Jordan!

Explore Egypt and visit the neighbouring Kingdom of Jordan, renowned for the mineral rich and incredibly buoyant Dead Sea, its stunning red desertscapes at Wadi Rum and the jewel in its archaeological crown, the Rose City of Petra.

Our Road to Jordan tour, combines the King Ramses itinerary with five memorable days in Jordan. Discover the stunning Treasury and Monastery at Petra, 4x4 in Wadi Rum and camp out under the stars and Add-on an excursion to the Dead Sea.

Prices & Dates

Departure dates noted with a 'G' are guaranteed to operate. All other departure dates are guaranteed with a minimum of 2 persons.

Read More
On this departure Solo travellers are offered the comfort of a single room at no additional cost, when purchasing the tour at FULL PRICE. Single rooms are not offered complimentary with any tour discount or 2-4-1 offer.
Your Own Room - No Single Supp
This is a Sun Festival departure and we've included special touring arrangements. For travel in Oct 2019, please see our 'King Ramses Sun Festival' itinerary. For travel in Feb 2020, please see our 'Sunchaser' itinerary, or  visit the 'Festival Tours' section on our website for other Sun Festival tours.
Sun Festival
New Years departure, book early!
New Year Departure
Xmas departure, book early!
XMAS Departure
Easter departure, book early!
Easter Departure
Guaranteed Departure
Available
Contact us to book
Sold out
2019
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
USD $1,395
USD $698

USD $580
29 Jun - 11 Jul 25% offG
USD $1,395
USD $1,046

USD $580
06 Jul - 18 Jul 25% offG
USD $1,395
USD $1,046

USD $580
20 Jul - 01 Aug 25% offG
USD $1,395
USD $1,046

USD $580
27 Jul - 08 Aug 25% offG
USD $1,395
USD $1,046

USD $580
03 Aug - 15 Aug 25% offG
USD $1,395
USD $1,046

USD $580
10 Aug - 22 Aug 25% offG
USD $1,395
USD $1,046

USD $580
17 Aug - 29 Aug 25% offG
USD $1,395
USD $1,046

USD $580
24 Aug - 05 Sep 25% offG
USD $1,395
USD $1,046

USD $580
USD $1,395
USD $580
USD $1,595
USD $580
USD $1,595
USD $580
USD $1,595
USD $580
USD $1,595
USD $580
USD $1,595
USD $580
USD $1,595
USD $580
19 Oct - 31 Oct On this departure Solo travellers are offered the comfort of a single room at no additional cost, when purchasing the tour at FULL PRICE. Single rooms are not offered complimentary with any tour discount or 2-4-1 offer.
On this departure Solo travellers are offered the comfort of a single room at no additional cost, when purchasing the tour at FULL PRICE. Single rooms are not offered complimentary with any tour discount or 2-4-1 offer.
This is a Sun Festival departure and we've included special touring arrangements. For travel in Oct 2019, please see our 'King Ramses Sun Festival' itinerary. For travel in Feb 2020, please see our 'Sunchaser' itinerary, or  visit the 'Festival Tours' section on our website for other Sun Festival tours.
This is a Sun Festival departure and we've included special touring arrangements. For travel in Oct 2019, please see our 'King Ramses Sun Festival' itinerary. For travel in Feb 2020, please see our 'Sunchaser' itinerary, or visit the 'Festival Tours' section on our website for other Sun Festival tours.
USD $1,695
USD $580
USD $1,595
USD $580
USD $1,595
USD $580
USD $1,595
USD $580
USD $1,595
USD $580
USD $1,595
USD $580
USD $1,595
USD $580
USD $1,595
USD $580
20 Dec - 01 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
USD $1,895
USD $580
21 Dec - 02 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
USD $1,895
USD $580
24 Dec - 05 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
USD $1,895
USD $580
28 Dec - 09 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
USD $1,895
USD $580
2020
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
USD $1,745
USD $700
USD $1,745
USD $700
USD $1,745
USD $700
USD $1,745
USD $700
USD $1,745
USD $700
USD $1,745
USD $700
USD $1,745
USD $700
USD $1,745
USD $700
USD $1,745
USD $700
USD $1,745
USD $700
USD $1,745
USD $700
USD $1,745
USD $700
USD $1,745
USD $700
03 Apr - 15 Apr Easter departure, book early!
Easter departure, book early!
USD $1,995
USD $700
10 Apr - 22 Apr Easter departure, book early!
Easter departure, book early!
USD $1,995
USD $700
USD $1,745
USD $700
USD $1,745
USD $700
USD $1,545
USD $700
USD $1,545
USD $700
USD $1,545
USD $700
USD $1,545
USD $700
USD $1,545
USD $700
USD $1,545
USD $700
USD $1,545
USD $700
USD $1,545
USD $700
USD $1,545
USD $700
USD $1,545
USD $700
USD $1,545
USD $700
USD $1,545
USD $700
USD $1,545
USD $700
USD $1,545
USD $700
USD $1,545
USD $700
USD $1,545
USD $700
USD $1,545
USD $700
USD $1,545
USD $700
USD $1,745
USD $700
USD $1,745
USD $700
USD $1,745
USD $700
USD $1,745
USD $700
USD $1,745
USD $700
USD $1,745
USD $700
USD $1,745
USD $700
USD $1,745
USD $700
USD $1,745
USD $700
USD $1,745
USD $700
USD $1,745
USD $700
USD $1,745
USD $700
USD $1,745
USD $700
USD $1,745
USD $700
USD $1,745
USD $700
18 Dec - 30 Dec Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
USD $1,995
USD $700
20 Dec - 01 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
USD $1,995
USD $700
22 Dec - 03 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
USD $1,995
USD $700
27 Dec - 08 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
USD $1,995
USD $700

Extra Prices

Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
Pre Tour Accommodation - Cairo
USD $90
USD $40
Post Tour Accommodation - Cairo
USD $100
USD $40

Hotels

The hotels listed below are ones which we frequently use on this tour. We reserve the right to substitute these hotels to ones of a similar standard when necessary.

Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi, Cairo

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Hotel

Overlooking the Nile and offering distant views of the Great Pyramids of Giza, this Holiday Inn provides the perfect location for your stay in Cairo. Each guestroom features a balcony and is well-equipped with modern amenities including free WiFi. Evenings can be spent enjoying international or Egyptian cuisine and unwinding with a cocktail at one of the hotel’s bars. Thanks to the friendly hotel staff, you’ll soon feel at home. And with panoramic views of the city from the rooftop lounge and pool, there’s no better place to base yourself for exploring Egypt’s ancient wonders.

Le Meridien Heliopolis, Cairo

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Hotel

Just a short drive from Cairo’s Old Town and international airport, the 5-star Le Meridien Heliopolis combines comfort with convenience. The guest rooms are spacious and equipped with air-conditioning, satellite television and a minibar, plus there’s complimentary WiFi throughout the property. Dining options include a choice of four on-site restaurants, serving Egyptian and international cuisine. Guests can also enjoy live entertainment and cocktails at The 51 Bar. During the warmer months hotel guests can take a dip in the outdoor pool or relax on a sun lounger on the terrace. There’s also a fitness centre and tennis courts for those who like to stay active whilst on holiday.

Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, Cairo

Our Category: Superior   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Hotel

In a great location for the Pyramids, the Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx is a contemporary hotel with excellent amenities. Guest rooms are well furnished with modern interiors and en suite facilities. Wi-fi is available in the lobby and there is a beautiful outdoor pool, which is perfect for relaxing by. Why not head to the restaurant on the roof for a delicious meal and impressive views of the Pyramids.

Renaissance Cairo Mirage City Hotel, Cairo

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Hotel

This 5-star hotel is situated in New Cairo approx. 50 min from the down town/ Egyptian Museum area but only a 10 minute drive from Cairo International Airport and Heliopolis shopping area. The elegantly decorated air-conditioned rooms each offer views of the Mirage City or on-site swimming pool and are equipped with WiFi, minibar, and all other modern amenities. Work up a sweat in the fitness centre, take a dip in the heated outdoor pool or relax poolside with a cocktail in hand before heading to one of the two on-site restaurants which offer a mix of local and international cuisine. Alternatively, take advantage of the hotel's complimentary shuttle bus to Cairo Festival City Mall, which has an outdoor dining hub with a choice of 50 restaurants.

Helnan Aswan, Aswan

Our Category: Superior   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Hotel

Set in manicured gardens, the Helnan Aswan is an elegant hotel with impressive views of the Nile. Guest rooms are spacious with modern interiors and located next to the beautiful pool. Wi-fi is available in the lobby and by the pool. There are also two restaurants and bars, a bowling alley, a swimming pool and a cinema. Why not relax by the pool before exploring the rest of Aswan.

Felucca Cruise, Felucca Cruise

Our Category: Simple   |   Regional Category: N/A

Feluccas are simple, traditional Egyptian sailboats that have plied the Nile since ancient times. Feluccas carry between 10 - 12 passengers comfortably. The boat’s deck is draped with soft colourful cushions that serve as your lounging area during the day and as your sleeping area at night. A support boat travels alongside your felucca and is on hand if you need to use the toilet. The support boat is also where your meals are prepared and eaten. You'll need to bring a sleeping bag/sheet (or hire for a nominal cost) and a towel with you. The crew, as well as being experienced sailors, are responsible for the preparation of the included meals.

Sonesta St. George Hotel, Luxor

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Hotel

An elegant and luxurious classical hotel, the Sonesta's sophistication will ensure you a comfortable stay. The hotel has a sweeping terrace with fantastic views of the Nile, a grand entrance of polished marble and handsomely appointed furnishings with exquisite detail and a beautiful health spa. All its rooms offer views of the city or the river, complemented by a wide range of restaurants and cafes. Just minutes away you will find the temples at Luxor and Karnak, home to two of ancient Egypt's most famed sanctuaries.

Steigenberger Nile Palace, Luxor

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Hotel

The Steigenburger Nile Palace is a grand hotel and stylishly furnished, with many rooms overlooking the Nile River. The hotel has a health club with massage rooms, sauna, steam room and fitness room, and a tennis court on the roof, not to mention a riverside pool. Its four restaurants offer a choice between Nubian, Lebanese, Italian, and Thai cuisine.

Marriott Beach Resort, Hurghada

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Hotel

The Marriott Beach Resort is a luxurious beachfront hotel, with every room enjoying a view of the Red Sea and Hurghada city centre just a few minutes drive away. There is a choice of 8 restaurants and bars for hungry travellers, and a health club, tennis & squash courts, and fitness centre to stay in shape. During the day, soak in the heated outdoor pool or book a watersport activity. The hotel even has its own private island if you fancy a massage among the palm trees.

Hilton Hurghada Resort, Hurghada

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Hotel

Set in tropical gardens, the Hilton Hurghada Resort is a comfortable, charming hotel with a private beach and water sport centre. The rooms have a balcony or terrace with views of the garden, pools or sea.

Continental Hotel, Hurghada

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Hotel

Tucked into Hurghada Bay, right on its scenic promenade, the Continental is a delightful beachfront resort boasting fantastic terraced rooms (many with seaviews) and excellent facilities. Watersports are in abundance here with swimming pools, scuba diving and snorkelling all readily available. A leisure club offers a sauna and spa treatments to relax after the day's activities. You can also wine and dine at one of the many great restaurants and bars.

Reviews

Travellers have rated this tour as 4.93 out of 5 based on 143 recent reviews

1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25

Tour was well done with a very enthusiastic guide. Medo made sure we understood where we were going and what we would be doing in the places that we went. He was very knowledgeable and keen to impart his knowledge. He was also careful to warn the group about some of the "other" things we would encounter like touts and how to deal with them.

On the whole, an enjoyable tour and a fulfilment of a long held dream to visit the places and see things that I had only read of in books.

• Submitted 08 Jun 2019
Tour
Guide
Country

This was the most amazing tour. From day 1 the tour guides were extremely helpful and informative. When starting the actual tour of Egypt I knew most of what to we were going to explore, as Medo our guide had given an in depth talk on all aspects. He was very informative and very very passionate about Egyptology throughout the tour. We saw some amazing temples and the Pyramids and learnt all about the history of Ancient Egypt. The felucca Nile part of the tour was exceptional and the food whilst on the felucca was great. The hotels and breakfasts were all very good. The train journey was the least enjoyable part of the trip, but it added to the experience. I have come home knowing an enormous amount of the history and culture of Egypt. It has made me want to return and visit places that I didn't see this time. I feel that Medo has imparted not only the history of Ancient Egypt but also the passion to see and learn more about all aspects of both Modern and Ancient Egypt. I have enjoyed this tour immensely and feel that Medo has made this tour exceptional

• Submitted 04 Jun 2019
Tour
Guide
Country

Amazing trip to see the highlights of Egypt. Our guide Medo made the whole trip better, he cares so much about his country and his passion is infectious. The sites are as beautiful as you expect and the Red Sea is just amazing. As with all group tours, there is so much to see we wish we had more time at some sites, and bus journeys can be long, but that's all part of the trip! Thanks Medo

• Submitted 30 May 2019
Tour
Guide
Country

Me and my partner recently travelled to Egypt and we had the best time ever as everything was perfectly organised by On The Go.

Our tour guide Medo went above and behind our expectations, nothing was to much trouble for him. He was really friendly and with his knowledge and passionate.

From the pyramids to admiring the beauty of Abu Simbel, sailing on a Felucca and swimming in the Nile, everything was absolutely fantastic and all the places we saw were breathtaking. Thank you Medo for taking such a good care of us.

• Submitted 29 May 2019
Tour
Guide
Country

I loved the tour. it was well organized and included most of the sights to see. Medo was passionate and very knowledgeable about the sights and history. He always looked out for us and was incredibly helpful

• Submitted 28 May 2019
Tour
Guide
Country

I had a great time in Egypt with On the Go tours. Our tour guide Medo was very passionate about Egypt and informed us about Egyptian history with much enthusiasm. The felucca we were on was great, the food was delicious and the crew friendly and fun.

The group leader, Ahmed, welcomed us on the first day. He was very enthusiastic and always happy to help.

• Submitted 01 May 2019
Tour
Guide
Country

I have learnt so much on this tour. I am so thankful for the experience I have had. Waleed was a wonderful, well informative tour guide. He had an answer to every question I had. The history enriched in Egypt is amazing. The culture of the people was also very interesting to learn about, and how people live. I enjoyed my group, everyone was so kind and friendly, it was a wonderful experience that I hope to do again in another country with On The Go.

• Submitted 25 Apr 2019
Tour
Guide
Country

Hi OTG,

I had the great pleasure of travelling through the amazing country of Egypt earlier this month on the King Ramses tour. Beginning in Cairo was eye-opening and breathtaking all at once. To experience life in this massive city, feel the warmth of the people and the buzz of life on the Nile was something I'll never forget.

We ventured down the Nile to some of the beautiful historic spots and it would not have been the same without the guidance and knowledge of Waleed to explore and explain. He was friendly and informative but also funny and seemed to fit within our group as a reliable leader who was happy to join in the fun rather than just as a guide only. Simply put this tour would not have been as brilliant as it was without Waleed.

Thanks again for your hard work and care. Hope to see you again soon!

All the best,

Tom

• Submitted 23 Feb 2019
Tour
Guide
Country

Visit Egypt, it will be a trip of a lifetime!

My wife and I are pretty seasoned travellers, but our trip to Egypt quickly became our favourite trip. It was our first time on a tour as well, typically we book all our own hotels, transportation, activities etc, but for Egypt, I recommend to all my friends to take a tour. Egypt's history is so rich and colourful you would never be able to get a full understanding just from reading tour books.

We did the King Ramas tour with On the Go Tours and had Momo as our tour guide. Momo was absolutely amazing, he was the perfect level of energetic and fun and knew just how to make our group connect and have fun. When explaining different parts of the history he would make the discussions interactive and engaging.

Our hotels were beautiful and clean with amazing customer service. They all seemed to have double the staff any hotels in North America have, so anything you need/want there is someone ready instantly to make it happen.

The Pyramids were incredible, as you'd expect. Philae Temple in Aswan was one of my favourite stop, it was so beautiful and detailed in just a picturesque spot on the Nile. I also loved learning about the Nubian people while in Aswan and seeing an authentic part of their traditional culture. Abu Simbel was definitely the highlight of my trip, it is a paid upgrade, but you 100% must do it. It was amazing to drive into the Sahara desert, to find this beautiful temple beside a lake. Abu Simbel has very interesting ancient and recent history. We also upgraded to the Nile cruise, I hear the Felucca was fun, but loved our time on the cruise. The meals were delicious, the staff amazing and it was so relaxing to lay by the pool. Kom Ombo was a smaller temple, mind-blowing to hear the stories of ancient Egyptians wrestling crocodiles. Luxor was cool to see, and the massive size of Karnak Temple is hard to comprehend but beautiful to walk through. Valley of the Kings was my wife's favourite part of the tour, the detailed colourful hieroglyphs and drawings are unlike anything else we saw. Hurghada was beautiful, the perfect beach vacation to relax after so much touring. The Cairo museum was very cool, with King Tut's treasures as the highlight.

Questions my Friends Ask:

Did we feel safe?

100% all the time, I felt far safer in Egypt than I did in Athens, Vancouver, LA, Seattle, Lisbon, London etc. Overall we found the Egyptians to be incredibly welcoming and just thrilled to see us.

Was it safe as a Gay Couple?

Yes, 100%. Same as with hetero couples, PDA is not recommended. But our tour guide and group all knew and we felt perfectly safe. Momo was even able to get us king beds not twins.

Did you have to cover up?

Yes, women should cover their knees and shoulders while in public. My wife is more a "Tom Boy" and was able comfortable in men's shorts and t-shirts. You do not need a scarf to cover your head as some of the other sites mention.

Were you Cat Called or felt a lot of men's attention?

We were not cat called, some shop attendants would call me beautiful to try and get my attention to their shops, but I would just smile and walk away. A did feel a few more eyes on me then I do at home, but it is more because our light skin is not the norm there. I never felt threatened or have my personal space invaded by them.

• Submitted 20 Feb 2019
Tour
Guide
Country

Momo was absolutely fantastic!! He definitely made the tour better than we could’ve ever imagined! The tour was well planned, with lots to do and see every day. I am recommending this tour to everyone I know! Thanks for the great experience.

• Submitted 20 Feb 2019
Tour
Guide
Country
1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25

Prices & Dates

Departure dates noted with a 'G' are guaranteed to operate. All other departure dates are guaranteed with a minimum of 2 persons.

Read More
This is a Sun Festival departure and we've included special touring arrangements. For travel in Oct 2019, please see our 'King Ramses Sun Festival' itinerary. For travel in Feb 2020, please see our 'Sunchaser' itinerary, or  visit the 'Festival Tours' section on our website for other Sun Festival tours.
Sun Festival
New Years departure, book early!
New Year Departure
Xmas departure, book early!
XMAS Departure
Easter departure, book early!
Easter Departure
Guaranteed Departure
Available
Contact us to book
Sold out
2019
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
22 Jun - 04 Jul 25% offG
USD $1,795
USD $1,346

USD $940
29 Jun - 11 Jul 20% offG
USD $1,795
USD $1,436

USD $940
USD $1,795
USD $940
20 Jul - 01 Aug 20% offG
USD $1,795
USD $1,436

USD $940
27 Jul - 08 Aug 20% off
USD $1,795
USD $1,436

USD $940
03 Aug - 15 Aug 20% offG
USD $1,795
USD $1,436

USD $940
10 Aug - 22 Aug 20% offG
USD $1,795
USD $1,436

USD $940
17 Aug - 29 Aug 20% offG
USD $1,795
USD $1,436

USD $940
24 Aug - 05 Sep 20% offG
USD $1,795
USD $1,436

USD $940
31 Aug - 12 Sep 20% offG
USD $1,795
USD $1,436

USD $940
USD $2,145
USD $940
USD $2,145
USD $940
USD $2,145
USD $940
USD $2,145
USD $940
USD $2,145
USD $940
USD $2,145
USD $940
19 Oct - 31 Oct This is a Sun Festival departure and we've included special touring arrangements. For travel in Oct 2019, please see our 'King Ramses Sun Festival' itinerary. For travel in Feb 2020, please see our 'Sunchaser' itinerary, or  visit the 'Festival Tours' section on our website for other Sun Festival tours.
This is a Sun Festival departure and we've included special touring arrangements. For travel in Oct 2019, please see our 'King Ramses Sun Festival' itinerary. For travel in Feb 2020, please see our 'Sunchaser' itinerary, or visit the 'Festival Tours' section on our website for other Sun Festival tours.
USD $2,245
USD $940
USD $2,145
USD $940
USD $2,145
USD $940
USD $2,145
USD $940
USD $2,145
USD $940
USD $2,145
USD $940
USD $2,145
USD $940
USD $2,145
USD $940
20 Dec - 01 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
USD $2,745
USD $1,100
21 Dec - 02 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
G
USD $2,745
USD $1,100
24 Dec - 05 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
USD $2,745
USD $1,100
28 Dec - 09 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
USD $2,745
USD $1,100
2020
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
03 Apr - 15 Apr Easter departure, book early!
Easter departure, book early!
USD $2,745
USD $1,180
10 Apr - 22 Apr Easter departure, book early!
Easter departure, book early!
USD $2,745
USD $1,180
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
USD $1,895
USD $1,100
USD $1,895
USD $1,100
USD $1,895
USD $1,100
USD $1,895
USD $1,100
USD $1,895
USD $1,100
USD $1,895
USD $1,100
USD $1,895
USD $1,100
USD $1,895
USD $1,100
USD $1,895
USD $1,100
USD $1,895
USD $1,100
USD $1,895
USD $1,100
USD $1,895
USD $1,100
USD $1,895
USD $1,100
USD $1,895
USD $1,100
USD $1,895
USD $1,100
USD $1,895
USD $1,100
USD $1,895
USD $1,100
USD $1,895
USD $1,100
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
USD $2,345
USD $1,100
18 Dec - 30 Dec Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
USD $2,745
USD $1,180
20 Dec - 01 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
USD $2,745
USD $1,180
22 Dec - 03 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
USD $2,745
USD $1,180
27 Dec - 08 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
USD $2,745
USD $1,180

Extra Prices

Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
Pre Tour Accommodation - Cairo
USD $90
USD $40
Post Tour Accommodation - Cairo
USD $100
USD $40

In Brief

Range
Trip Type
Starts
Cairo
Ends
Cairo
Departs
Saturday in 2019. Friday in 2020.
Group Size
Min 2 / Max 24
Hotel Rating
4 - 5 star
Tour Guide
Yes, escorted by a tour guide
Meals
Breakfast: 12, Lunch: 2, Dinner: 2
Visiting
Countries

Tour Add-ons

Enhance your trip with these amazing added extras and add-ons

Tour was well done with a very enthusiastic guide. Medo made sure we understood where we were going and what we would be doing in the places that we went. He was very knowledgeable and keen to impart his knowledge. He was also careful to warn the group about some of the "other" things we would encounter like touts and how to deal with them.

On the whole, an enjoyable tour and a fulfilment of a long held dream to visit the places and see things that I had only read of in books.

Leslie Yeow
OTG000993King Ramses - 13 daysMiddle East & North AfricaSignature698 USDtrue0Egypthttps://www.onthegotours.com/Egypt/King-Ramses-13-dayshttps://drwyjmricaxm7.cloudfront.net/repository/Colossi-of-Memnon-in-Luxor--Egypt-Tours--On-The-Go-Tours-284211454340483_crop_flip_300_300_f2f2f2_center-center.jpgGroup_Tours698USD