FROM: USD $1,645

Passage to Petra - 6 days

Spend two incredible nights in Petra's lost city, camp under the stars in Mars-like Wadi Rum, relax in the otherworldly Dead Sea and explore the Siq Trail of Wadi Mujib in six adventure-filled days.

Inclusions
Itinerary
Prices & Dates
Hotels
Reviews

Trip Highlights

Wadi Mujib - trek the Siq Trail of Wadi Mujib Biosphere Reserve
Wadi Rum - Vast red desert landscape with rolling dunes and dramatic rock formations
Shobak Crusader castle - Perched dramatically on a hill top
Madaba - Christian market town, Church of St George, Jordan’s finest Byzantine mosaics
Amman - Ancient hilltop citadel, fascinating Archaeological Museum and bustling souqs
Two nights in Petra - UNESCO-listed Nabataean city that was all but lost to the modern world until its rediscovery in 1812
Dead Sea - Beautiful landscape with warm buoyant mineral-rich waters
Mt Nebo - Perhaps one of the most sacred sites in Jordan with views across the Promised Land
Umm ar-Rasas - An ancient city and important stop on the caravan route between east and west

Included

5 breakfasts and 1 dinners
4x4 desert safari through the sand dunes of Wadi Rum
Touring of Amman, Dead Sea, Petra, Wadi Rum, Shobak, Umm ar-Rasas and Mt Nebo
English speaking specialist guides at some local sights
All transfers and transportation in private modern air-conditioned vehicles
4 nights - 4 star hotels and 1 night - Wadi Rum deluxe desert camp
Dead Sea - Free time to swim and detox
Escorted by a licensed Jordanian tour guide
Airport arrival and departure transfer on day 1 and day 6. Please note departure transfers on day 6 are only offered at 04:00, 07:00 and 12:00

Not Included

International flights and visa
Tip for your tour guide. We recommend you allow USD$5 - 7 per day, per traveller. Tipping your guide is an entirely personal gesture
Tipping Kitty: USD$40-50pp, paid in local currency
Laundry, drinks and items of a personal nature
Entrance Fees: USD$120-140pp, paid in local currency

Itinerary

Day 1

Amman

Sunday. Welcome to Jordan and the start of an amazing adventure. Arrive Amman, included transfer to our hotel and overnight.
Overnight: Amman

Day 2

Mt Nebo & the Promised Lands

Amman - Madaba - Mount Nebo - Umm ar Rasas - Petra. Today we tour the citadel and Archaeological Museum of Amman before we take a walk through the bustling local souk to enjoy typical Jordanian street treats of falafel and hummus at the country’s most popular local street stand. As the pictures on the wall will prove, the unglamorous food stand was a great favourite of the late King Hussein.

Leaving Amman we’ll stop first at Mt. Nebo, the site from which Moses saw the Promised Land. Having led the Israelites for 40 years through the wilderness, Moses finally saw them from this awesome vantage point. This amazing panorama includes the Jordan River Valley, the Dead Sea, Jericho and the spires and domes of the Mt. of Olives and Bethlehem on the Judean hills just across the wide valley. Later we visit Madaba en route to Petra where we see the Church of St George, the Madaba Archaeological Park, Apostles Church and Madaba Museum.

Our next port of call is Um ar-Rasas, one of Jordan’s World Heritage sites and once an important stop on the busy caravan routes. The impressive mosaic floor of the St. Stephen Church features medallions commemorating all the early Christian pilgrimage sites of the region, and the extensive ruins also include one of the area’s earliest Stylite towers, where a Byzantine hermit lived atop the tower and preached to the pilgrimage visitors.

Our final stop of the day is Petra. Consider doing a Petra by Night excursion (payable locally) for a tantalizing candlelight stroll through Petra’s Siq….a romantic preview of things to come.
Overnight: Petra  |  Breakfast

Day 3

The Nabatean City of Petra

Begin the day with a walk through the mysterious mile-long Siq, the narrow gorge with towering sandstone walls which leads into the ancient capital city of the Nabatean trading empire. Explore the Khazneh (the temple of Indiana Jones fame), Theatre, Colonnaded Street and Museum. After lunch, climb to ad-Deir (the Monastery), Petra’s largest carved façade.

In the evening, why not try your hand at our Petra Kitchen Add-on to join fellow travelers for a cuisine course at the Petra Kitchen, where you’ll help prepare a memorable Jordanian feast. Petra Kitchen Add-on .
Overnight: Petra  |  Breakfast

Day 4

Wadi Rum desertscape

Petra - Wadi Rum. This morning we have the opportunity to join our guide for a return to Petra along the “secret way” of al-Madras, with visits to the High Place of Sacrifice and Wadi Farasa. At lunchtime we stop in the Wadi Musa souk to pick up delicious shawarma sandwiches or fruit and veggie snacks from the local produce souk before making the scenic drive to Wadi Rum.

We make a late afternoon jeep tour of this moonscape desert terrain, arriving to our remote camp site deep in the heart of the Wadi Rum. We enjoy a magical evening under the brilliant stars of the desert night sky, including a scrumptious traditional Jordanian dinner.
Overnight: Wadi Rum  |  Breakfast, Dinner

Day 5

Shobak Castle, Wadi Mujib Canyoning & the Dead Sea

Wadi Rum - Shobak – Wadi Mujib - Dead Sea. After breakfast at the campsite, we head north along the Desert Highway to visit Shobak Castle, which is perched dramatically on a hill top and was built by the Crusader king Baldwin I in 1115. After exploring the castle we descend some 1300 meters to the Dead Sea, the lowest point on the earth’s surface. More than 400 meters below sea level, the mineral-rich Dead Sea is the world’s original health and beauty spa. Drift out and bob in the waters and slap on some of the famous black Dead Sea mud to give your skin an invigorating boost.

For departures between April and October we’ll head up the King’s Highway to Wadi Mujib. We’ll embark on a moderate –paced two hour trek along the Siq Trail. Measuring 500 metres in depth and spanning 4 kilometres across, the impressive Wadi Mujib is one of Jordan’s most remarkable natural features. This dramatic canyon features sheer rocky walls and sparkling waterways that range from puddle height to depths that are perfect for swimming (chest height or deeper) depending on the rainfall. When the water level is high you should be prepared for having to climb up ladders, clamber across boulders and be happy to wade through water. The canyon is just one feature of the Mujib Biosphere Reserve, the lowest nature reserve in the world, home to a surprising diversity of wildlife and plant species. After our trek we make our way to the Dead Sea. For those not interested in taking the full hike, you can walk part of or wait by the Visitor Centre till the group returns. After our trek we make our way to the Dead Sea.
Overnight: Dead Sea  |  Breakfast

Day 6

Dead Sea

Friday. Dead Sea - Amman Airport. Hotel check out and included onward transfer to the airport in Amman. Departure transfers are offered at 04:00, 07:00 and 12:00 on day 6. If you would like a departure transfer at any other time or a transfer with post tour accommodation this can be arranged at an additional cost.
Breakfast

Passage to Petra Perseids Meteor Shower departure - 09 Aug in 2019 & 2020

Why not combine a holiday to Jordan with the amazing celestial spectacle of the Perseids Meteor shower? The Perseids meteor shower is a spectacular celestial light show, that has mystified and amazed sky watchers for nearly 2000 years. The night sky is lit up by often over 60 meteor's per hour! You can witness the incredible meteor shower from our desert camp in Wadi Rum, where you will spend the night star-gazing, when the meteor shower is at its peak. Please see the Trip Notes for details of the amended itinerary. Supplement may apply.

Our other tours that are present for the Perseids meteor shower are:
Perseid's Meteor Shower - departing 08 AUG 2019 & 2020
Road to Jerusalem - departing 08 AUG 2019 & 2020
Temples, Tombs, Treasury - departing 02 AUG 2020
Road To Jordan - departing 31 JUL 2020
Road To Jordan with cruise - departing 31 JUL 2020
Pyramids, Petra, Promised Land - departing 31 JUL 2020
Pyramids, Petra, Promised Land with cruise - departing 31 JUL 2020

Prices & Dates

Departure dates noted with a 'G' are guaranteed to operate. All other departure dates are guaranteed with a minimum of 2 persons. Prices shown are per person travelling. 'Twin/Double' prices per person apply when there are 2 people travelling, sharing a room. The 'Single supplement' applies for single travellers who require their own room and needs to be added to the 'Twin/Double' price. If you are happy to be paired up with another single traveller of the same sex on your tour, this can be arranged, thus avoiding the single person supplement.

Read More
On this departure Solo travellers are offered the comfort of a single room at no additional cost, when purchasing the tour at FULL PRICE. Single rooms are not offered complimentary with any tour discount or 2-4-1 offer.
Your Own Room - No Single Supp
This is a special Perseids Meteor Shower departure. Special touring arrangements apply. Please refer to the Trip Notes for further details.
Perseids Meteor Shower Departure
Please note this tour departs on a Friday.
Friday Departure
Xmas departure, book early!
XMAS Departure
New Years departure, book early!
New Year Departure
Easter departure, book early!
Easter Departure
Guaranteed Departure
Available
Contact us to book
Sold out
2019
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
USD $1,645
USD $460
USD $1,645
USD $460
USD $1,645
USD $460
USD $1,645
USD $460
21 Jul - 26 Jul On this departure Solo travellers are offered the comfort of a single room at no additional cost, when purchasing the tour at FULL PRICE. Single rooms are not offered complimentary with any tour discount or 2-4-1 offer.
On this departure Solo travellers are offered the comfort of a single room at no additional cost, when purchasing the tour at FULL PRICE. Single rooms are not offered complimentary with any tour discount or 2-4-1 offer.
USD $1,645
-
04 Aug - 09 Aug On this departure Solo travellers are offered the comfort of a single room at no additional cost, when purchasing the tour at FULL PRICE. Single rooms are not offered complimentary with any tour discount or 2-4-1 offer.
On this departure Solo travellers are offered the comfort of a single room at no additional cost, when purchasing the tour at FULL PRICE. Single rooms are not offered complimentary with any tour discount or 2-4-1 offer.
USD $1,645
-
09 Aug - 14 Aug This is a special Perseids Meteor Shower departure. Special touring arrangements apply. Please refer to the Trip Notes for further details.
This is a special Perseids Meteor Shower departure. Special touring arrangements apply. Please refer to the Trip Notes for further details.
Please note this tour departs on a Friday.
Please note this tour departs on a Friday.
G
USD $1,745
USD $460
18 Aug - 23 Aug On this departure Solo travellers are offered the comfort of a single room at no additional cost, when purchasing the tour at FULL PRICE. Single rooms are not offered complimentary with any tour discount or 2-4-1 offer.
On this departure Solo travellers are offered the comfort of a single room at no additional cost, when purchasing the tour at FULL PRICE. Single rooms are not offered complimentary with any tour discount or 2-4-1 offer.
USD $1,645
-
USD $1,645
USD $460
USD $1,645
USD $460
USD $1,645
USD $460
USD $1,645
USD $460
USD $1,645
USD $460
USD $1,645
USD $460
17 Nov - 22 Nov On this departure Solo travellers are offered the comfort of a single room at no additional cost, when purchasing the tour at FULL PRICE. Single rooms are not offered complimentary with any tour discount or 2-4-1 offer.
On this departure Solo travellers are offered the comfort of a single room at no additional cost, when purchasing the tour at FULL PRICE. Single rooms are not offered complimentary with any tour discount or 2-4-1 offer.
G
USD $1,645
-
USD $1,645
USD $460
USD $1,645
USD $460
23 Dec - 28 Dec Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
G
USD $1,745
USD $460
28 Dec - 02 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
USD $1,745
USD $460
2020
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
USD $1,645
USD $460
12 Jan - 17 Jan On this departure Solo travellers are offered the comfort of a single room at no additional cost, when purchasing the tour at FULL PRICE. Single rooms are not offered complimentary with any tour discount or 2-4-1 offer.
On this departure Solo travellers are offered the comfort of a single room at no additional cost, when purchasing the tour at FULL PRICE. Single rooms are not offered complimentary with any tour discount or 2-4-1 offer.
USD $1,645
-
USD $1,645
USD $460
USD $1,645
USD $460
23 Feb - 28 Feb On this departure Solo travellers are offered the comfort of a single room at no additional cost, when purchasing the tour at FULL PRICE. Single rooms are not offered complimentary with any tour discount or 2-4-1 offer.
On this departure Solo travellers are offered the comfort of a single room at no additional cost, when purchasing the tour at FULL PRICE. Single rooms are not offered complimentary with any tour discount or 2-4-1 offer.
USD $1,645
-
USD $1,695
USD $460
USD $1,695
USD $460
USD $1,695
USD $460
12 Apr - 17 Apr Easter departure, book early!
Easter departure, book early!
USD $1,695
USD $460
USD $1,695
USD $460
USD $1,695
USD $460
17 May - 22 May On this departure Solo travellers are offered the comfort of a single room at no additional cost, when purchasing the tour at FULL PRICE. Single rooms are not offered complimentary with any tour discount or 2-4-1 offer.
On this departure Solo travellers are offered the comfort of a single room at no additional cost, when purchasing the tour at FULL PRICE. Single rooms are not offered complimentary with any tour discount or 2-4-1 offer.
USD $1,695
-
USD $1,695
USD $460
07 Jun - 12 Jun On this departure Solo travellers are offered the comfort of a single room at no additional cost, when purchasing the tour at FULL PRICE. Single rooms are not offered complimentary with any tour discount or 2-4-1 offer.
On this departure Solo travellers are offered the comfort of a single room at no additional cost, when purchasing the tour at FULL PRICE. Single rooms are not offered complimentary with any tour discount or 2-4-1 offer.
USD $1,695
-
USD $1,695
USD $460
USD $1,695
USD $460
19 Jul - 24 Jul On this departure Solo travellers are offered the comfort of a single room at no additional cost, when purchasing the tour at FULL PRICE. Single rooms are not offered complimentary with any tour discount or 2-4-1 offer.
On this departure Solo travellers are offered the comfort of a single room at no additional cost, when purchasing the tour at FULL PRICE. Single rooms are not offered complimentary with any tour discount or 2-4-1 offer.
USD $1,695
-
USD $1,695
USD $460
09 Aug - 14 Aug On this departure Solo travellers are offered the comfort of a single room at no additional cost, when purchasing the tour at FULL PRICE. Single rooms are not offered complimentary with any tour discount or 2-4-1 offer.
On this departure Solo travellers are offered the comfort of a single room at no additional cost, when purchasing the tour at FULL PRICE. Single rooms are not offered complimentary with any tour discount or 2-4-1 offer.
This is a special Perseids Meteor Shower departure. Special touring arrangements apply. Please refer to the Trip Notes for further details.
This is a special Perseids Meteor Shower departure. Special touring arrangements apply. Please refer to the Trip Notes for further details.
USD $1,745
-
16 Aug - 21 Aug On this departure Solo travellers are offered the comfort of a single room at no additional cost, when purchasing the tour at FULL PRICE. Single rooms are not offered complimentary with any tour discount or 2-4-1 offer.
On this departure Solo travellers are offered the comfort of a single room at no additional cost, when purchasing the tour at FULL PRICE. Single rooms are not offered complimentary with any tour discount or 2-4-1 offer.
USD $1,645
-
USD $1,645
USD $460
USD $1,645
USD $460
USD $1,645
USD $460
USD $1,645
USD $460
USD $1,645
USD $460
USD $1,645
USD $460
USD $1,645
USD $460
USD $1,645
USD $460
USD $1,645
USD $460
USD $1,645
USD $460
USD $1,645
USD $460
USD $1,645
USD $460
USD $1,645
USD $460
20 Dec - 25 Dec Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
USD $1,745
USD $460

Extra Prices

Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
Private Tour Supplement
USD $780
-  
Amman Pre-Tour accommodation
USD $110
USD $90
Dead Sea Post Accom
USD $140
USD $120

Hotels

The hotels listed below are ones which we frequently use on this tour. We reserve the right to substitute these hotels to ones of a similar standard when necessary.

Al-Qasr Metropole, Amman

Our Category: Superior   |   Regional Category: 4 Star Hotel

Recently refurbished, the Al Qasr Metropole is a modern and chic boutique hotel. Guest rooms are beautifully furnished and include free Wi-Fi connection and luxury en suite facilities. All guests at the Al Qasr gain free access to the on site Fitness First gym as well as a complimentary breakfast. The rooftop restaurant has fantastic panoramic views of Amman and is a great place to spend the evening. The hotel is well located in Shmeisani, one of Amman's most prestigious neighbourhoods.

Old Village Resort, Petra

Our Category: Superior   |   Regional Category: 4 Star Hotel

Located above Wadi Mousa, Old Village Resort has a wonderfully traditional feel about it with open stonework and original architecture. Rooms are full of character, some with delightful archways and all directly accessed from the outside. The hotel boasts an indoor swimming pool and sauna and beautiful views of the surrounding mountains. For dinner why not dine al fresco at the restaurant overlooking the mountains. Well located in forested wadis facing Petra’s mountains.

Petra Moon Hotel, Petra

Our Category: Standard   |   Regional Category: 4 Star Hotel

Just 300 ft from the entrance gate to Petra, the Petra Moon hotel features spacious rooms with private balconies and flat-screen TVs. It also has a roof garden with a seasonal outdoor pool. The soundproofed rooms and suites at Petra Moon come with satellite channels, a DVD player and extra-long beds. Each has air conditioning and a private bathroom. The hotel's restaurant serves a delicious selection of international meals in both buffet-style and a la carte.

Rainbow Camp, Wadi Rum

Our Category: Simple   |   Regional Category: Deluxe Camp

A row of permanent tents in the desert make up the popular Rainbow Camp. Inside the tents are comfortable camp beds and warm bedding. Showers and toilets are close by and are cleaned thoroughly every day. Guests can relax in the communal area which is adorned with colourful rugs and cushions. The food at Rainbow Camp always gets rave reviews. Taking an evening stroll around the beautiful surroundings is a great way to work up an appetite before dinner. This accommodation is well located in the heart of Wadi Rum.

Holiday Inn Resort, Dead Sea

Our Category: Superior   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Hotel

Graced with interconnecting palm fringed swimming pools leading to the Dead Sea, the Holiday Inn is an Arabesque style hotel. Guest rooms are elegantly furnished and benefit from complimentary high speed internet. The hotel also has an on site fitness centre and a fine choice of Spa facilities. The 24 hour sleek bar is the perfect place for a tipple at any time of the day or night. The accommodation is located on the shores of the world famous Dead Sea.

Reviews

Travellers have rated this tour as 4.68 out of 5 based on 19 recent reviews

1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5

Jamila has been a very good guide, informative, helpful & friendly. I have had a fabulous trip, well organized and would recommend on the go & Jamila. Thank you for a great trip.

Kim Willcock • Submitted 27 Oct 2014

Our tour guide Rami was excellent I found him to be friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable about all the sites we visited as well as about local culture and traditions. He was a lot of fun. This has been the best tour experience I have ever had.

Janine Brandling • Submitted 27 Oct 2014

Friendly. Knowledgeable. Helpful. Personally, I would have preferred a bit less quoting/referencing the Koran and Islam by the guide, but other people on the tour seemed to be interested and encouraging it, so it is just a personal preference.

The Wadi Rum desert camp was rustic. I got many mosquito bites. I have previously camped in a desert many times by necessity, so this addition was not a new experience for me. Again, others might have got more out of it than I did.

Petra was very interesting. Jamilla gave a good tour with plenty of information and insight. It was larger with more walking than I really expected. I should have had better footwear ( i.e. Trail boots) than I did; I only have sneakers. I think future tour members could benefit from being informed of the relatively rough walking surfaces and perhaps a suggested packing list could be useful.

• Submitted 14 Oct 2014
Tour
Guide
Country

Was very well planned and did not have to worry about anything, just sat back and relaxed and enjoyed the trip. Very good local guide, and driver. Really a trip worth the bucket list....must do

• Submitted 07 Sep 2014
Tour
Guide
Country

Hi Sarah,

I wanted to send you as wee note to thank you again for all your help!!! Passage to Petra was a fabulous experience!!!

I enjoyed the sites, the tour guide Jamila was fantastic, and everything was so well organized. All my friends are in awe at the photos I've posted!!

I look forward to booking another trip in the future.

Angela Maxwell • Submitted 09 May 2014

Ogla was an amazing guide! It was my best vacation & New Years Eve ever, Thank you for this wonderful experience.

Kenneth Debacker • Submitted 05 Feb 2014

Hi Charlie,

Thank you for your email. Yes, we did have a great time. The trip was so well organised and food and activities have sent us back healthier than when we left!

Weather was perfect blue skies, but not too hot - very comfortable for walking.

I completed your feedback form and will be happy to receive any news of other trips.

Marianne Hay • Submitted 02 Oct 2013

A superb tour, an excellent guide with a great sense of humour & knowledge of her country. Jordan is a beautiful country.

Sonia Warman • Submitted 10 Apr 2013

Jamila was a fantastic tour leader, funny informative, etc. I really enjoyed the tour, this was my first ever tour - would definitely do another tour, can't say enough about how amazing Jordan was!

Wijesinghage Fonseka • Submitted 10 Apr 2013

Our tour guide was excellent and the trip would not have been the same without him. Everything was well-organized and the pace was perfect this was my first time taking a tour and it was an amazing experience that I hope to repeat someday!

Natasha Kuckuck • Submitted 16 Jan 2013
1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5

In Brief

Range
Trip Type
Starts
Amman
Ends
Amman
Departs
Sundays
Group Size
Min 2 / Max 24
Hotel Rating
4 star
Tour Guide
Yes - escorted by a tour guide
Meals
Breakfast: 5, Dinner: 1
Visiting
Countries

Tour Add-ons

Enhance your trip with these amazing added extras and add-ons

USD $70
USD $1,300 / 4 days

What an amazing tour we had. We met with Ali at the airport who took us smoothly through Customs and then with a driver drove us to our hotel which was lovely. We met with Mahmoud the following day and he was a great source of information on all of the tour sites that we visited. Petra was amazing at night and even more so during the day. There was much more to see and Mahmoud made sure we had lunch and did all that we wanted to do. We packed a lot in to 6 day tour and Mahmoud was a great guide, everything was easy going and we were well fed and educated.Thank you for organising such a great short visit of Jordan and we would not hesitate in organising another tour with On the Go Tours in the future .

Denise Giordimaina
OTG000590Passage to Petra - 6 daysMiddle East & North AfricaSignature1645 USDfalse0Jordanhttps://www.onthegotours.com/Jordan/Passage-to-Petra-6-dayshttps://drwyjmricaxm7.cloudfront.net/repository/PassagetoPetraItineraryMain2GroupTourJordan-252771420623110_crop_flip_300_300_f2f2f2_center-center.jpgGroup_Tours1645USD