FROM: USD $995

Make your way to magical Morocco this Christmas, a short hop from Europe but worlds apart. An exotic land of spices, ancient Kasbahs, rolling Saharan sands, verdant valleys and bustling souks.

Inclusions
Itinerary
Prices & Dates
Hotels
Reviews

Trip Highlights

Marrakech - UNESCO-listed Place Djemaa el Fna (ancient medina, souks and market place)
Dades Gorge - valley of the roses
Erg Chebbi sand dunes - beginning of the Sahara
Ait Benhaddou - UNESCO-listed fortified kasbah city
High Atlas Mountains and views of Mt Toubkal - North Africa's highest peak
Merzouga - Berber village and start point for our camel trek into the great Sahara
Ouarzazate - home to Morocco's film industry. Opt for a visit

Included

7 breakfasts, 4 lunches, 5 dinners including a traditional Berber meal in the Sahara
Marrakech Airport arrival and departure transfers
Guided sightseeing of Merzouga, Dades Gorge, Ait Benhaddou and Marrakech
Specialist local guides at some sites
All road taxes and tolls
6 nights 3 star hotel accommodation and 1 night camping - Berber desert camp in the Sahara (Hotel upgrade available)
Camel trek into the great Sahara
Escorted by a licensed English speaking Moroccan tour guide
All transportation and transfers in private air-conditioned tourism vehicles

Not Included

Gratuity for your tour guide & driver. Budget approx USD$2 - 3 per person per day. Tipping your tour guide and driver is an entirely personal gesture
Note: On some road journeys, the tour leader may not be in your particular vehicle
Tipping Kitty: USD$30-40pp, paid in USD or local currency
International flights and visa
Entrance Fees: USD$30-50pp, paid in USD or local currency

Itinerary

Day 1

Marrakech

23 December 2019. Welcome to Morocco! Arrival transfer from Marrakech airport to our hotel. This evening (at 19:00) our welcome meeting takes place, where you'll meet your tour leader and fellow travellers.
Overnight: Marrakech

Day 2

Ait Benhaddou

Marrakech – Ait Benhaddou – Skoura. This morning we drive onwards to the legendary Ait Benhaddou - a ‘fortified city’ situated along the former caravan route between the Sahara and Marrakech, boasts some beautiful examples of ancient kasbahs. Only a handful of which remain inhabited. Granted UNESCO World Heritage listing, this incredible site had been the setting for many films including Gladiator. After exploring Ait Benhaddou we travel onwards to Skoura where we have an evening at leisure.
Overnight: Skoura  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 3

Xmas Dinner at Dades Gorge

Skoura – Dades Gorge. Merry Christmas! We spend the morning visiting the kasbah Amridil before continuing to Gorge du Dades in the Dades valley. On arrival we take some time to explore the gorges, palmeries and kasbah ruins. We then have the evening to relax before enjoying a great Xmas dinner in the beautiful surroundings.
Overnight: Dades Gorge  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 4

Camel trek into the Sahara

Dades Gorge - Erg Chebbi sand dunes. Crossing the Jebel Sarhro, we head down to Erg Chebbi sand dunes, which signify the start of the mighty Sahara Desert. In parts the vast sand pile reaches skyward to heights of 150 metres!

The desert winds ensure this astonishing landscape is forever changing and no two days offer the same panorama. Mounting our camels, we trek across the vast rolling dunes of the Sahara and soak up the breath-taking scenery. Arriving at our simple Berber camp, we enjoy dinner and a night under the Saharan stars. Wrap up warm and remember your winter weight sleeping bag.

If you would prefer the comfort of a hotel with en-suite facilities this evening, opt for our Sahara hotel alternative at no additional cost. Please do let us know your preferred option at the time of booking.
Overnight: Erg Chebbi  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 5

The picturesque Draa Valley

Erg Chebbi – Agdz – Ouarzazate. Today we travel through Mercissi and Nkob in the Saghro Moutain region, passing the incredible rock formations and wells that have been dug over centuries by the nomads to get access to water, along the way. Onwards to the small town of Agdz, with its Palmeries, ancient Kasbahs and incredible views of Jebel Kissane Mountain. Our final stop of the day is Ouarzazate – Morocco’s film capital, where we lay our heads for the evening. This evening we enjoy a group meal together.
Overnight: Ouarzazate  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 6

Ouarzazate

Ouarzazate – Marrakech. Famous for being a prime filming location for many Hollywood TV shows and Blockbusters, we have the opportunity to explore the World's largest film studio this morning. Be sure to explore the iconic Colosseum used in 'Gladiator' and the prop jet used in 'Jewel of the Nile'. Carrying on we continue to Kasbah Telouet. Built in 1860 this kasbah was once home to the very wealthy Thami El Glaoui until he conspired with French Colonialists to delay Morocco's fight for independence.

Descending into the city of Marrakech, Morocco's pink city. We have the rest of the day at leisure to explore the Medina and the delights of Djemaa el Fna, the exuberant market place, which is a hive of activity, sights and smells at both day and night.
Overnight: Marrakech  |  Breakfast

Day 7

Djemaa el Fna

This morning we tour magical Marrakech, an exotic pink city of snake charmers, steamy hammams, bustling souks and hidden palaces. The focal point and highlight of the city is the Koutoubia mosque and Djemaa el Fna - the central square, which is an extraordinary market place full of colour, music, spicy aromas and traders. Best seen in the evening when the square is overflowing with food stalls, dancers, acrobats, fortune tellers, musicians and henna artists.

This afternoon and evening is free for you to explore independently, soak up the incredible atmosphere and test your bartering skills in the souks. Perhaps pamper yourself with a steamy hammam!
Overnight: Marrakech  |  Breakfast, Dinner

Day 8

Marrakech

30 December 2019. Our Moroccan adventure concludes after breakfast. Happy travels! If you would like to extend your trip and spend New Year's Eve in Marrakech or by the coast in Essaouira, take a look at our Rock the Kasbah or Surf the New Year tour.
Breakfast

Rock the Kasbah

Discover impressive kasbahs, camp under Saharan stars and ring in the New Year in stunning Marrakech - a festive season to remember! Rock the Kasbah this new year, with our 10 day tour departing 23 December 2019.

Prices & Dates

Departure dates noted with a 'G' are guaranteed to operate. All other departure dates are guaranteed with a minimum of 2 persons. Prices shown are per person when there are 2 persons sharing a room. The 'Single supplement' applies for single travellers who require their own room and needs to be added to the per person price.

Read More
Xmas departure, book early!
XMAS Departure
Guaranteed Departure
Available
Contact us to book
Sold out
2019
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
23 Dec - 30 Dec Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
G
USD $995
USD $320
2020
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
23 Dec - 30 Dec Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
USD $995
USD $320

Extra Prices

Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
Pre Tour Accom - Signature Tours
USD $100
USD $50
Post Tour Accom - Signature Tours
USD $90
USD $40

Hotels

The hotels listed below are ones which we frequently use on this tour. We reserve the right to substitute these hotels to ones of a similar standard.

Dellarosa Hotel Suites & Spa, Marrakech

Our Category: Superior   |   Regional Category: 4 Star Hotel

Just a short walk from the medina, Dellarosa Hotel Suites & Spa tastefully blends modern architecture with Moroccan authenticity. Guest rooms are tastefully decorated with comfortable beds and excellent en suite facilities. The hotel also has a restaurant Organza serving up a delicious array of Moroccan and International dishes as well as a bar for a tasty beverage or two. Those looking for some pampering should head to the onsite spa and wellness centre.

El Andalous Hotel & Spa, Marrakech

Our Category: Superior   |   Regional Category: 4 Star Hotel

Just 10 minutes from the airport, the El Andalous Hotel and Spa offers a welcome respite from the hubub of the city. Evoking the golden age of Arab-Andalusian culture; exotic and romantically rich. Guest rooms are well furnished with excellent en suite facilites as well as private balconies. The hotel pool is great place to relax by and enjoy a tasty beverage or two. The medina is just a 20 minute walk from here or a cab can get you there in a few minutes!

Hotel Marrakech Le Semiramis, Marrakech

Our Category: Superior   |   Regional Category: 4 Star Hotel

Set amongst lush gardens, the Hotel Marrakech Le Semiramis is a modern establishment just a short drive from the medina. Guest rooms are tastefully decorated and all come with a private balcony. The grounds of the hotel also include a large outdoor swimming pool, tennis courts and French bowls. Meals are served in a selection of restaurants including the Chellah and Oasis restaurants which specialise in Moroccan and Mediterranean cuisine.

Desert Camp, Erg Chebbi

Our Category: Simple   |   Regional Category: Free Camp

Camping out in the Sahara Desert is an incredible experience, enabling you to sit on top of a dune to watch the setting sun, sit around a camp fire for dinner and lie back and see the stars. No alcohol.

Reviews

Travellers have rated this tour as 4.57 out of 5 based on 21 recent reviews

1  |  2  |  3  |  4

Excellent tour. Was very pleased with the variety of places we visited along the way, including historic sites, meetings local people and having demonstrations of how local people make carpets, rose oil & argan oil. Good choice of different accommodation along the way including camping. Hicham Tora was brilliant at organising the tour, and very knowledgeable, and great fun. Was with a great group too. Highly recommended! Only thing I would change would be the amount of travelling, as not used to sitting so much.

Fantastic.

• Submitted 03 Jan 2018
Tour
Guide
Country

A very good tour that packs in a lot in a short time. A couple of long days in the mini bus to get to our starting and end places but enjoyable. Our guide was knowledgeable and interested in our welfare as well as imparting a lot of facts about the various places and timings.

• Submitted 02 Jan 2018
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour was really interesting. I found Morocco a fascinating country made more interesting by Jamal who has a deep love and a great knowledge of his country. The hotels were mostly good, the food was very much the same throughout, except for the picnic lunch, which was wonderful and the lunch where we had chicken skewers instead of tagine was a welcome change. Maybe it was because of the places we stayed but the overcooked meat and vegetables we had most days was uninspiring. The dinner we had in the hotel at the Sahara was really lovely. (I opted for the hotel stay rather than the Berber camp) Our guide Jamal was extraordinary. From the 'meet & greet' in the hotel to our final farewell, he was friendly. informative, ON TIME, and managed to keep an enthusiastic and generally rowdy group together and on track. Jamal has a quick wit and added to the fun we had on our trip. He obviously loves his country and was really informative without lecturing us. He's well suited to the job. Jamal treated us as individuals as well as a part of the group. He joined in some of our evening activities and had a good time with us. What a funny man he is. I can't imagine a better group or a better guide. If there were more than five stars in the rating below, he'd get more. He earned every one of them He earned the respect and has the ongoing friendship of us all, I'm sure. I hope Jamal wins the Tour Leader Award, he deserves to be recognised as a terrific tour guide and a great asset to your company

• Submitted 14 Jan 2017
Tour
Guide
Country

An excellent tour encompassing the stunning Atlas Mountains and a night in the desert - exactly what I wanted. Quite a lot of driving but didn't feel at all arduous with the excellent driving of Yousef and the wonderful scenery and good company of the group. Highlight of trip was our leader, Jamel. Couldn't have been more fun, flexible, caring and professional. Always ready to join in with a joke (and they were a constant feature of our group) but at the same time was always watching out for everyone's happiness and safety. He was a constant source of information about the country and culture and always happy to answer questions and share his knowledge. He is definitely your Tour Guide of the Year - couldn't be bettered!

• Submitted 13 Jan 2017
Tour
Guide
Country

The trip was fabulous !! Combination of a wonderful tour group and Jamal's tour leadership. I laughed more in a one week trip than I had the rest of 2016. Highlights were the camel ride, the quad biking, and the dancing at a couple of the hotels.

Jamal was very attuned to the group. He realized we were all tired of tagine so at the next lunch spot he made arrangements for skewers.

He could be silly and joke with us (especially Victor), but was serious when necessary. He is very knowledgeable about his homeland and proud of his Berber heritage.

A little too much time on the bus, but not unexpected given how much territory we covered in a relatively short time. Jamal even made that fun by providing yummy cookies and other treats during the long rides.

Jamal obviously loves his job and brought a lot of positive energy to the group, He was always upbeat (even when it was like "herding cats" and I like one of his sayings that every problem there are many solutions.

Will definitely use On the Go again and am optimistic that every trip has a "Jamal" !!

Judy B

• Submitted 04 Jan 2017
Tour
Guide
Country

Great country, great tour and great guide. Really enjoyed it and Jamaal was one of the best guides I have had on a trip like this.

• Submitted 03 Jan 2017
Tour
Guide
Country

I had a fantastic time on the tour, it was exactly what I needed. Jamal the tour guide was fantastic, nothing was too much he made it so much fun but also giving out so much information and cared about each persons needs. Having an authentic Berber doing the tour was essential as he could talk with real passion.

There was a lot of time in the bus but there was no other way to get to each destination, the views were incredible, most of the hotels were great, the swimming pool a little cold!

The night in the Sahara was a highlight and would have been nice to be there a little longer.

The tour around Marrakesh was excellent and again Jamal found an excellent hammam for us to visit.

• Submitted 02 Jan 2017
Tour
Guide
Country

The best trip I had so far! Jamal is amazing, he made this trip so special. No task was too small or to big for him and always did everything he could to make sure we where having a good time.

• Submitted 02 Jan 2017
Tour
Guide
Country

Overall the tour was amazing and great value for money. Both our guide and driver were a pleasure to spend time with. Morocco was wonderful - my only wish was that we had not spent quite so much time on the bus and more time exploring.

Nicola Jayne Ward • Submitted 21 Jan 2016

I have had a fantastic time in morocco, many thanks for the great trip!

James Perry • Submitted 21 Jan 2016
1  |  2  |  3  |  4

In Brief

Range
Trip Type
Starts
Marrakech
Ends
Marrakech
Departs
23 Dec 2019
Group Size
Min 2 / Max 24
Hotel Rating
3 star
Tour Guide
Yes - escorted by a tour guide
Meals
Breakfast: 7, Lunch: 4, Dinner: 5
Visiting
Countries

Extra Tour Info

Visiting the Sahara
Our guide to visiting the Sahara Desert in Morocco
Updated
14th March 2019

The Christmas in Morocco tour was fantastic. There was quite a bit of travel time but it was paced well and lots of stops to take pictures, see attractions, get food and local flavor. We got many sights in and definitely were exposed to and got a good feel for the country and the people and culture. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and provided tons of background and cultural information and made some changes to the things we saw and did based on the group's requests. The meals were great and varied, and even with all of the travelling and sightseeing there was still time on our own to relax and do some things on our own as well. It was my first tour solo and I will happily do it again given my experience.

Nicole Summerlin
OTG000657Christmas in Morocco - 8 daysMiddle East & North AfricaSignature995 USDfalse0Moroccohttps://www.onthegotours.com/Morocco/Christmas-in-Morocco-8-dayshttps://drwyjmricaxm7.cloudfront.net/repository/Camel-caravan-in-the-Sahara-Desert--Morocco-Tours--On-The-Go-Tours-284571454413212_crop_flip_300_300_f2f2f2_center-center.jpgXMAS_and_New_Year_Tours995USD