FROM: USD $995

Make your way to magical Morocco this Christmas, a short hop from Europe but worlds apart. An exotic land of spices, ancient Kasbahs, rolling Saharan sands, verdant valleys and bustling souks.

Inclusions
Itinerary
Prices & Dates
Hotels
Reviews

Trip Highlights

Marrakech - UNESCO-listed Place Djemaa el Fna (ancient medina, souks and market place)
Dades Gorge - valley of the roses
Erg Chebbi sand dunes - beginning of the Sahara
Ait Benhaddou - UNESCO-listed fortified kasbah city
High Atlas Mountains and views of Mt Toubkal - North Africa's highest peak
Merzouga - Berber village and start point for our camel trek into the great Sahara
Ouarzazate - home to Morocco's film industry. Opt for a visit

Included

7 breakfasts, 4 lunches, 5 dinners including a traditional Berber meal in the Sahara
Marrakech Airport arrival and departure transfers
Guided sightseeing of Merzouga, Dades Gorge, Ait Benhaddou and Marrakech
Specialist local guides at some sites
All road taxes and tolls
6 nights 3 star hotel accommodation and 1 night camping - Berber desert camp in the Sahara (Hotel upgrade available)
Camel trek into the great Sahara
Escorted by a licensed English speaking Moroccan tour guide
All transportation and transfers in private air-conditioned tourism vehicles

Not Included

Gratuity for your tour guide & driver. Budget approx USD$2 - 3 per person per day. Tipping your tour guide and driver is an entirely personal gesture
Note: On some road journeys, the tour leader may not be in your particular vehicle
Tipping Kitty: USD$30-40pp, paid in USD or local currency
International flights and visa
Entrance Fees: USD$30-50pp, paid in USD or local currency

Itinerary

Day 1

Marrakech

23 December 2019. Welcome to Morocco! Arrival transfer from Marrakech airport to our hotel. This evening (at 19:00) our welcome meeting takes place, where you'll meet your tour leader and fellow travellers.
Overnight: Marrakech

Day 2

Ait Benhaddou

Marrakech – Ait Benhaddou – Skoura. This morning we drive onwards to the legendary Ait Benhaddou - a ‘fortified city’ situated along the former caravan route between the Sahara and Marrakech, boasts some beautiful examples of ancient kasbahs. Only a handful of which remain inhabited. Granted UNESCO World Heritage listing, this incredible site had been the setting for many films including Gladiator. After exploring Ait Benhaddou we travel onwards to Skoura where we have an evening at leisure.
Overnight: Skoura  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 3

Xmas Dinner at Dades Gorge

Skoura – Dades Gorge. Merry Christmas! We spend the morning visiting the kasbah Amridil before continuing to Gorge du Dades in the Dades valley. On arrival we take some time to explore the gorges, palmeries and kasbah ruins. We then have the evening to relax before enjoying a great Xmas dinner in the beautiful surroundings.
Overnight: Dades Gorge  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 4

Camel trek into the Sahara

Dades Gorge - Erg Chebbi sand dunes. Crossing the Jebel Sarhro, we head down to Erg Chebbi sand dunes, which signify the start of the mighty Sahara Desert. In parts the vast sand pile reaches skyward to heights of 150 metres!

The desert winds ensure this astonishing landscape is forever changing and no two days offer the same panorama. Mounting our camels, we trek across the vast rolling dunes of the Sahara and soak up the breath-taking scenery. Arriving at our simple Berber camp, we enjoy dinner and a night under the Saharan stars. Wrap up warm and remember your winter weight sleeping bag.

If you would prefer the comfort of a hotel with en-suite facilities this evening, opt for our Sahara hotel alternative at no additional cost. Please do let us know your preferred option at the time of booking.
Overnight: Erg Chebbi  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 5

The picturesque Draa Valley

Erg Chebbi – Agdz – Ouarzazate. Today we travel through Mercissi and Nkob in the Saghro Moutain region, passing the incredible rock formations and wells that have been dug over centuries by the nomads to get access to water, along the way. Onwards to the small town of Agdz, with its Palmeries, ancient Kasbahs and incredible views of Jebel Kissane Mountain. Our final stop of the day is Ouarzazate – Morocco’s film capital, where we lay our heads for the evening. This evening we enjoy a group meal together.
Overnight: Ouarzazate  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 6

Ouarzazate

Ouarzazate – Marrakech. Famous for being a prime filming location for many Hollywood TV shows and Blockbusters, we have the opportunity to explore the World's largest film studio this morning. Be sure to explore the iconic Colosseum used in 'Gladiator' and the prop jet used in 'Jewel of the Nile'. Carrying on we continue to Kasbah Telouet. Built in 1860 this kasbah was once home to the very wealthy Thami El Glaoui until he conspired with French Colonialists to delay Morocco's fight for independence.

Descending into the city of Marrakech, Morocco's pink city. We have the rest of the day at leisure to explore the Medina and the delights of Djemaa el Fna, the exuberant market place, which is a hive of activity, sights and smells at both day and night.
Overnight: Marrakech  |  Breakfast

Day 7

Djemaa el Fna

This morning we tour magical Marrakech, an exotic pink city of snake charmers, steamy hammams, bustling souks and hidden palaces. The focal point and highlight of the city is the Koutoubia mosque and Djemaa el Fna - the central square, which is an extraordinary market place full of colour, music, spicy aromas and traders. Best seen in the evening when the square is overflowing with food stalls, dancers, acrobats, fortune tellers, musicians and henna artists.

This afternoon and evening is free for you to explore independently, soak up the incredible atmosphere and test your bartering skills in the souks. Perhaps pamper yourself with a steamy hammam!
Overnight: Marrakech  |  Breakfast, Dinner

Day 8

Marrakech

30 December 2019. Our Moroccan adventure concludes after breakfast. Happy travels! If you would like to extend your trip and spend New Year's Eve in Marrakech or by the coast in Essaouira, take a look at our Rock the Kasbah or Surf the New Year tour.
Breakfast

Rock the Kasbah

Discover impressive kasbahs, camp under Saharan stars and ring in the New Year in stunning Marrakech - a festive season to remember! Rock the Kasbah this new year, with our 10 day tour departing 23 December 2019.

Prices & Dates

Departure dates noted with a 'G' are guaranteed to operate. All other departure dates are guaranteed with a minimum of 2 persons. Prices shown are per person when there are 2 persons sharing a room. The 'Single supplement' applies for single travellers who require their own room and needs to be added to the per person price.

Read More
Xmas departure, book early!
XMAS Departure
Guaranteed Departure
Available
Contact us to book
Sold out
2019
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
23 Dec - 30 Dec Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
G
USD $995
USD $320
2020
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
23 Dec - 30 Dec Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
USD $995
USD $320

Extra Prices

Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
Pre Tour Accom - Signature Tours
USD $100
USD $50
Post Tour Accom - Signature Tours
USD $90
USD $40

Hotels

The hotels listed below are ones which we frequently use on this tour. We reserve the right to substitute these hotels to ones of a similar standard.

Dellarosa Hotel Suites & Spa, Marrakech

Our Category: Superior   |   Regional Category: 4 Star Hotel

Just a short walk from the medina, Dellarosa Hotel Suites & Spa tastefully blends modern architecture with Moroccan authenticity. Guest rooms are tastefully decorated with comfortable beds and excellent en suite facilities. The hotel also has a restaurant Organza serving up a delicious array of Moroccan and International dishes as well as a bar for a tasty beverage or two. Those looking for some pampering should head to the onsite spa and wellness centre.

El Andalous Hotel & Spa, Marrakech

Our Category: Superior   |   Regional Category: 4 Star Hotel

Just 10 minutes from the airport, the El Andalous Hotel and Spa offers a welcome respite from the hubub of the city. Evoking the golden age of Arab-Andalusian culture; exotic and romantically rich. Guest rooms are well furnished with excellent en suite facilites as well as private balconies. The hotel pool is great place to relax by and enjoy a tasty beverage or two. The medina is just a 20 minute walk from here or a cab can get you there in a few minutes!

Hotel Marrakech Le Semiramis, Marrakech

Our Category: Superior   |   Regional Category: 4 Star Hotel

Set amongst lush gardens, the Hotel Marrakech Le Semiramis is a modern establishment just a short drive from the medina. Guest rooms are tastefully decorated and all come with a private balcony. The grounds of the hotel also include a large outdoor swimming pool, tennis courts and French bowls. Meals are served in a selection of restaurants including the Chellah and Oasis restaurants which specialise in Moroccan and Mediterranean cuisine.

Desert Camp, Erg Chebbi

Our Category: Simple   |   Regional Category: Free Camp

Camping out in the Sahara Desert is an incredible experience, enabling you to sit on top of a dune to watch the setting sun, sit around a camp fire for dinner and lie back and see the stars. No alcohol.

Reviews

Travellers have rated this tour as 4.57 out of 5 based on 21 recent reviews

1  |  2  |  3  |  4

The overall tour was good and Jamal was friendly.

The only concern was the hotel could be better. They were run down and cold. I would be careful with the hotel in Marrakech, there are a couple of inappropriate people at the hotel bar.

• Submitted 07 Jan 2015
Tour
Guide
Country

The 2 day camel trek and camping was amazing. The best meal we had was at the hotel in Merzouga (although the heat didn't really work in that hotel). Rock climbing was amazing (although our guide forgot about it so we had to wake up really early the next day to fit it in). More local restaurants would be better - the restaurants chosen for us were a little bland. Also - our schedule was never laid out day to day so it was hard to plan what to wear or if we needed to bring toilet paper or snacks. I'd recommend a white board or poster each morning that details the time we need to leave and approximate stops and meals. Also - we didn't get any information about Morocco - we had to ask a LOT of questions to get basic facts about the stops on the tour and the local Moroccan culture. Id recommend giving the guides 5 facts or so per stop so that we can get more information on the country and the places we're visiting - or let us know ahead of time that we should do our own research. The best parts of the trip were the came ride and camp, rock climbing and visiting the souk in Marrakech. Magical.

• Submitted 06 Jan 2015
Tour
Guide
Country

1. Great people and good mix of nationalities, even nos. on m/f and age mix good.

2. But far to large a group which resulted in different ideas as to what to do at certain times and really restricted where we went on occasion. Jamal dealt with it all very well. Most of the group were saying it was too large. Personally I would not want more than 12 for similar trip in future, so would look for this when booking.

3. Personally I would have chosen breakfast and dinner with a short 'pic nic' style lunch. Most people also seemed to think that the long 3 course lunches took away time which could have been spent walking in various places. There was so much driving that walks were needed. Also to make contact with the landscape and people.

4. Food the most delicious I have ever tasted - bread, vegetables and oranges. All locally grown, all organic and all fed only with fertiliser from own animals. Lacking any protein for vegeatrians (2 of us). Food not so good in Marrakech.

5. Hotels all good. Breakfasts fantastic. One hotel had no heating - a great shock.

6. All additional guides and others very good.

7. Berbers/Tuareg interesting, friendly and polite.

8. Jamal good guide but too many people for him to be given much information.

9.. Extra day booked - fantastic with Jamal and mule owner alone.. En route stopped at large weekly market, etc which couldn't do with large group. Also lunch with family and Jamal enabled me to ask and learn much more. Most informative day of holiday.

10. The Marrakech guide was a nice chap and helpful and friendly when I parted from the group in pointing me in the right direction. Basically he laughed and joked and a lot of us wandered away, learnt nothing at all. Might I suggest a young student with intellectual application. Totally lacking in information even when questions asked.

• Submitted 06 Jan 2015
Tour
Guide
Country

Hi Charlie,

Just wanted to say a massive thank you for organising such a fantastic holiday. It was definitely the best trip I have ever been on and I've made some lifelong friends.

Everything was planned perfectly and it was great to sit back and go with the flow. I'll definitely be booking Egypt through On The Go later this year!

Have a great New Year.

Tom Winch • Submitted 26 Dec 2012

The tour was excellent. Aziz, our guide, was marvellous - very helpful, mature, adaptable, knowledgeable and really a pleasure to talk to. Omar - the driver was great and demonstrated good knowledge of the roads. We enjoyed the whole tour.

Naama Gelber • Submitted 17 Jan 2012

Fantastic warm guide - Aziz. Good info imparted at good intervals along the trip. Laid back attitude and friendly to everyone. Aziz really knows how to lead a group as well as letting the group members explore independently at some points. Thank you and Happy New Year!

Frances Edwards • Submitted 17 Jan 2012

Amazing, friendly team always there to help! Good response, they really did a superb job. FANTASTICO!

Rolando Cardenas • Submitted 01 Feb 2010

Fantastic hospitality and really enjoyed travelling with the group and fantastic tour guides, esp Brahmin. The sand dunes and the staff were my favourite things. Thank you very much!

Tsuyoshi Kihara • Submitted 31 Jan 2010

The tour guides were very good! Friendly and helpful. I would recommend this trip. Thanks for a great holiday!

Astrid Dugue • Submitted 21 Jan 2010

Great tour, trekking into the Sahara was an unforgettable experience. The guides were great, really made us feel looked after and nothing was too much trouble. A fantastic Xmas experience!

Hatem Keshk • Submitted 04 Jan 2010
1  |  2  |  3  |  4

In Brief

Range
Trip Type
Starts
Marrakech
Ends
Marrakech
Departs
23 Dec 2019
Group Size
Min 2 / Max 24
Hotel Rating
3 star
Tour Guide
Yes - escorted by a tour guide
Meals
Breakfast: 7, Lunch: 4, Dinner: 5
Visiting
Countries

Extra Tour Info

Visiting the Sahara
Our guide to visiting the Sahara Desert in Morocco
Updated
14th March 2019

The Christmas in Morocco tour was fantastic. There was quite a bit of travel time but it was paced well and lots of stops to take pictures, see attractions, get food and local flavor. We got many sights in and definitely were exposed to and got a good feel for the country and the people and culture. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and provided tons of background and cultural information and made some changes to the things we saw and did based on the group's requests. The meals were great and varied, and even with all of the travelling and sightseeing there was still time on our own to relax and do some things on our own as well. It was my first tour solo and I will happily do it again given my experience.

Nicole Summerlin
OTG000657Christmas in Morocco - 8 daysMiddle East & North AfricaSignature995 USDfalse0Moroccohttps://www.onthegotours.com/Morocco/Christmas-in-Morocco-8-dayshttps://drwyjmricaxm7.cloudfront.net/repository/Camel-caravan-in-the-Sahara-Desert--Morocco-Tours--On-The-Go-Tours-284571454413212_crop_flip_300_300_f2f2f2_center-center.jpgXMAS_and_New_Year_Tours995USD