Save 20%
FROM: AUD $1,716

Classic Egypt at its best - ancient temples, tombs, Nile river cruising, topped off with plenty of festive cheer! With four festive tour dates to choose from, the hardest decision you'll need to make is where you want to spend Xmas & New Years - sailing the Nile, at the legendary pyramids or discovering Cairo!

Inclusions
Itinerary
Prices & Dates
Cruise Upgrade Prices & Dates
Hotels
Reviews

Trip Highlights

Cairo - marvel at the legendary Pyramids of Giza, explore the Necropolis of Saqqara and see King Tut's treasures at the Egyptian Museum
Luxor - roam around the colossal Temple of Karnak and take an optional tour of the beautifully illuminated Luxor Temple at night
Nile felucca sailing - sail the River Nile on board a traditional felucca and spend two nights sleeping under a blanket of stars (or upgrade to a 5 star Nile Cruise)
Luxor West Bank - discover exquisite tombs in the Valley of the Kings, the towering Colossi of Memnon and the beautiful Temple of Queen Hatshepsut
Aswan - take leisurely boat trip to Agilika Island to explore the romantic Philae Temple and wander around the colourful souqs
Kom Ombo - visit the Nile side Temple of Kom Ombo

Included

Breakfast daily, 2 lunches, 2 dinners
2 overnight trains: Cairo - Aswan and Luxor - Cairo (Private 2 berth sleeper cabin)
Touring of Cairo, Giza, Saqqara, Aswan and Luxor
All relevant transfer and transportation
4 nights 4 - 5 star hotels, 2 nights aboard felucca (open deck). If booking our Nile Cruise Upgrade, 3 nights 4 - 5 star hotels and 3 nights Nile Cruiser (en suite cabin)
Airport arrival and departure transfer day 1 and day 9
Escorted by an Egyptian tour guide degree qualified in Egyptology

Not Included

Tip for your tour guide. We recommend you allow USD$5 - 7 per day, per traveller. Tipping your guide is an entirely personal gesture
Entrance Fees: USD$80-100pp, paid in local currency
International flights and visa
Tipping Kitty: USD$50-70pp, paid in local currency

Itinerary

Imagine…. Celebrating Xmas & New Year with these memorable experiences!
20 Dec 2019 departure – Xmas day at the legendary Valley of the Kings
21 Dec 2019 departure – Xmas day at the temple of Kom Ombo & sail the River Nile
24 Dec 2019 departure – Xmas day at the ancient pyramids & New Year’s in Cairo
28 Dec 2019 departure – Ring in New Year's Eve sailing on the famous River Nile

Day 1

Cairo

Welcome to Egypt and the start of a great festive Egyptian adventure. Arrive Cairo airport and included transfer to our hotel.
Overnight: Cairo

Day 2

Pyramids & Saqqara

Cairo - Aswan. A big day out with a visit to the famous pyramids of Giza, sole survivors from the ancient Greek-listed Seven Wonders of the World. Later we continue to Saqqara to tour King Zhoser's step pyramid - the first known pyramid ever built. Later there is time for dinner before travelling on the overnight sleeper train to Aswan.
Overnight: Sleeper Train  |  Breakfast

Day 3

Philae Temple

Arrive into Aswan and check into our hotel. We take a leisurely boat trip to the romantic Temple of Philae, dedicated to the goddess Isis and rescued under an enormous UNESCO effort in the 1970s to save the temple from the rising waters of the High Dam. Upon returning to Aswan we visit a perfume oil emporium. As night falls, free time to shop in the colourful souqs or simply relax and watch an amazing sunset.
Overnight: Aswan  |  Breakfast

Day 4

Sailing the Nile & Optional excursion to Abu Simbel

Aswan - Nile Felucca cruise. Optional early morning excursion to the magnificent rock-cut Temples of Abu Simbel, built by mighty King Ramses II optional excursion is undertaken by road. This afternoon, we board our Nile felucca for a 2 night voyage downstream on the River Nile. Relax, top up your tan and chat with new friends as the felucca gently plies its route. Stops are made en route for swimming and visiting local villages.

If sailing by felucca is not your style, consider upgrading to a 5 star luxury Nile Cruise, please see the tab above for more information.
Overnight: Felucca Cruise  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 5

Felucca Sailing & Kom Ombo

Nile Felucca Sailing - Kom Ombo. Relax, go for a swim or just chill out in the sun on deck. Let your troubles melt away, as the felucca plies its route. In the afternoon we dock near Kom Ombo and take a motorboat to visit the temple before returning to the felucca for the night.
Overnight: Felucca Cruise  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 6

Luxor

Kom Ombo - Luxor. This morning we disembark and drive to Luxor. Checking into our 5 star hotel the afternoon is free for swimming or relaxing by the pool. Home of the legendary Valley of the Kings and Queens and the gigantic Temple of Karnak, 4000 year old Luxor is ancient Egypt at its best. Tonight, we have the opportunity to visit Luxor Temple with dinner afterwards. Built by Amenophis III, Luxor Temple looks stunning at night when it's illuminated by hundreds of lights. Book/pay locally. Remainder of the evening is at leisure.
Overnight: Luxor  |  Breakfast

Day 7

Valley of the Kings

Luxor - Cairo. This morning we venture to the tomb strewn Valley of the Kings. Highlights of the visit include the Colossi of Memnon, a massive pair of statues that stand silent against the backdrop of history, the Valleys of the Kings and the awesome ramped and colonnaded Temple of Queen Hatshepsut.

The Valley of the Kings is studded with often highly decorated tombs, constructed to once house the regal sarcophagi enclosed mummies of the mighty pharaohs awaiting passage into the after-life. This afternoon after lunch and time to relax we visit the colossal Temple of Karnak. Lose yourself in the stone-columned Hypostle Hall and go crazy with your camera. This is ancient Egypt. Tonight we return by overnight sleeper train to Cairo.
Overnight: Sleeper Train  |  Breakfast

Day 8

Egyptian Museum

This morning we arrive into Cairo and check into our hotel. Later we enjoy a guided tour of the famous Egyptian Museum. See the priceless funerary treasures of King Tutankhamun, including his legendary solid gold death mask. Enjoy the remains of the day shopping and exploring Cairo.
Overnight: Cairo  |  Breakfast

Day 9

Cairo

Our tour concludes after breakfast and onward departure transfer to the airport.
Breakfast

5 star Nile Cruise for Xmas or New Year

If you’d like to upgrade from the included Nile felucca cruise from Aswan to Luxor, cruise the Nile in style for 3 nights with our 5 star Nile Cruise Upgrade.

The Egyptian cruise boats are similar to 5 star hotels with their own bar, lounges and restaurant. Your well–appointed, outward facing cabin offers air-conditioning, a private bathroom and views of the Nile as we sail. The boat deck offers plenty of space for relaxation and a swimming pool. All meals are included, buffet style.
Offered on all 2019 festive departures.

Would you like to see more of Egypt? check out our add-ons.

Prices & Dates

Departure dates noted with a 'G' are guaranteed to operate. All other departure dates are guaranteed with a minimum of 2 persons. Prices shown are per person travelling when there are 2 persons sharing a room. The 'Single supplement' applies for single travellers who require their own room and needs to be added to the per person price.

Read More
Xmas departure, book early!
XMAS Departure
New Years departure, book early!
New Year Departure
This tour will be 10 days in length. When booking flights, please add 1 day to the end date noted here. This itinerary will be updated in full after the 2019 departures have finalised. See Trip Notes for further details.
10 day tour, add 1 day to the tour end date
Guaranteed Departure
Available
Contact us to book
Sold out
2019
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
20 Dec - 28 Dec 20% offXmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
G
AUD $2,145
AUD $1,716

AUD $780
21 Dec - 29 Dec 20% offXmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
G
AUD $2,145
AUD $1,716

AUD $780
24 Dec - 01 Jan 20% offNew Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
G
AUD $2,145
AUD $1,716

AUD $780
28 Dec - 05 Jan 20% offNew Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
AUD $2,145
AUD $1,716

AUD $780
2020
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
18 Dec - 26 Dec Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
This tour will be 10 days in length. When booking flights, please add 1 day to the end date noted here. This itinerary will be updated in full after the 2019 departures have finalised. See Trip Notes for further details.
This tour will be 10 days in length. When booking flights, please add 1 day to the end date noted here. This itinerary will be updated in full after the 2019 departures have finalised. See Trip Notes for further details.
AUD $2,145
AUD $780
20 Dec - 28 Dec Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
This tour will be 10 days in length. When booking flights, please add 1 day to the end date noted here. This itinerary will be updated in full after the 2019 departures have finalised. See Trip Notes for further details.
This tour will be 10 days in length. When booking flights, please add 1 day to the end date noted here. This itinerary will be updated in full after the 2019 departures have finalised. See Trip Notes for further details.
AUD $2,145
AUD $780
22 Dec - 30 Dec Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
This tour will be 10 days in length. When booking flights, please add 1 day to the end date noted here. This itinerary will be updated in full after the 2019 departures have finalised. See Trip Notes for further details.
This tour will be 10 days in length. When booking flights, please add 1 day to the end date noted here. This itinerary will be updated in full after the 2019 departures have finalised. See Trip Notes for further details.
AUD $2,145
AUD $780
27 Dec - 04 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
This tour will be 10 days in length. When booking flights, please add 1 day to the end date noted here. This itinerary will be updated in full after the 2019 departures have finalised. See Trip Notes for further details.
This tour will be 10 days in length. When booking flights, please add 1 day to the end date noted here. This itinerary will be updated in full after the 2019 departures have finalised. See Trip Notes for further details.
AUD $2,145
AUD $780

Extra Prices

Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
Pre Tour Accommodation - Cairo
AUD $110
AUD $60
Post Tour Accommodation - Cairo
AUD $120
AUD $60

Hotels

The hotels listed below are ones which we frequently use on this tour. We reserve the right to substitute these hotels to ones of a similar standard.

Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi, Cairo

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Hotel

Overlooking the Nile and offering distant views of the Great Pyramids of Giza, this Holiday Inn provides the perfect location for your stay in Cairo. Each guestroom features a balcony and is well-equipped with modern amenities including free WiFi. Evenings can be spent enjoying international or Egyptian cuisine and unwinding with a cocktail at one of the hotel’s bars. Thanks to the friendly hotel staff, you’ll soon feel at home. And with panoramic views of the city from the rooftop lounge and pool, there’s no better place to base yourself for exploring Egypt’s ancient wonders.

Steigenberger Hotel el Tahrir, Cairo

Our Category: Superior   |   Regional Category: 4 Star Hotel

Ideally located in the heart of downtown Cairo, the Steigenberger Hotel El Tahrir is right by the lively Tahrir Square. Guestrooms offer peace and quiet away from the high-energy of the city, with contemporary decor and sound-proofed windows overlooking views of Cairo. The wellness facilities are state-of-the-art, including a fitness centre, outdoor pool and sauna and massage rooms. Be sure to take advantage of the poolside bar and delicious hotel restaurant, or enjoy the option of 24-hour in-room dining.

Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, Cairo

Our Category: Superior   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Hotel

In a great location for the Pyramids, the Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx is a contemporary hotel with excellent amenities. Guest rooms are well furnished with modern interiors and en suite facilities. Wi-fi is available in the lobby and there is a beautiful outdoor pool, which is perfect for relaxing by. Why not head to the restaurant on the roof for a delicious meal and impressive views of the Pyramids.

Tolip Hotel, Aswan

Our Category: Superior   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Hotel

Set in manicured gardens, the Helnan Aswan is an elegant hotel with impressive views of the Nile. Guest rooms are spacious with modern interiors and located next to the beautiful pool. Wi-fi is available in the lobby and by the pool. There are also two restaurants and bars, a bowling alley, a swimming pool and a cinema. Why not relax by the pool before exploring the rest of Aswan.

Felucca Sailboat, Felucca Cruise

Our Category: Simple   |   Regional Category: N/A

Feluccas are simple, traditional Egyptian sailboats that have plied the Nile since ancient times. Feluccas carry between 10 - 12 passengers comfortably. The boat’s deck is draped with soft colourful cushions that serve as your lounging area during the day and as your sleeping area at night. A support boat travels alongside your felucca and is on hand if you need to use the toilet. The support boat is also where your meals are prepared and eaten. You'll need to bring a sleeping bag/sheet (or hire for a nominal cost) and a towel with you. The crew, as well as being experienced sailors, are responsible for the preparation of the included meals.

Sonesta St. George Hotel, Luxor

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Hotel

An elegant and luxurious classical hotel, the Sonesta's sophistication will ensure you a comfortable stay. The hotel has a sweeping terrace with fantastic views of the Nile, a grand entrance of polished marble and handsomely appointed furnishings with exquisite detail and a beautiful health spa. All its rooms offer views of the city or the river, complemented by a wide range of restaurants and cafes. Just minutes away you will find the temples at Luxor and Karnak, home to two of ancient Egypt's most famed sanctuaries.

Steigenberger Nile Palace, Luxor

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Hotel

The Steigenburger Nile Palace is a grand hotel and stylishly furnished, with many rooms overlooking the Nile River. The hotel has a health club with massage rooms, sauna, steam room and fitness room, and a tennis court on the roof, not to mention a riverside pool. Its four restaurants offer a choice between Nubian, Lebanese, Italian, and Thai cuisine.

Reviews

Travellers have rated this tour as 4.75 out of 5 based on 12 recent reviews

1  |  2

Tour was one of the best that I have been on - extremely well organised and exceeded many expectations (particularly for the country). Value for money was excellent and opportunity for additional excursions was managed and organised in a great manner. The Tour Guide (Mahmoud) was wonderful and could not recommend him more. Was such a great experience to have a local the entire time who was so open and willing to answer everything about all aspects of the country, religion and politics. It was an even better bonus of how knowledgeable Mahmoud was about the ancient history and civilisation of Egypt, which gave us all a higher level of gratitude for being there.

• Submitted 27 Nov 2015
Tour
Guide
Country

Alam was extremely knowledgeable about the history of Egypt and interacted with the group in an easy going manner. He helped make the tour a fantastic experience and no question was too much of a hassle. On our tour myself and another girl had our birthdays and Alam organised birthday cake for us and a dinner, which was a very nice touch.

I'd thoroughly recommend to anyone to book a trip to Eqypt via On The Go Tours.

The only suggestion I would make is for the festive tours, the schedule should be tweaked so the start on New Years Day is not too early!!

• Submitted 07 Jan 2015
Tour
Guide
Country

Best tour ever!

Peter Stewart • Submitted 04 Jan 2014

Ehab was very friendly, knowledgable and took care of everything, to make the tour care-free and very smooth sailing. He gave us information about the logistics/admin each day, which was very helpful. His guide skills were excellent. Very impressed with the OTG planning & care of travel - no mishups, hidden fees or problems with accomodation and tickets.

Alecia Heah • Submitted 28 Jan 2011

Hamada has been amazing tour guide, so much energy and friendly. He constend positive attitude, highly contributed to the suecess of this trip. He did a great job sharing his passion of Egypt. Especially enjoyed his explanations on the sites visited and the way he made it entertaining creating scene.

Ellen Maynes • Submitted 28 Jan 2011

Hi Janet

I just want to say THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!! The trip to Egypt was absolutely amazing!!!!! Everything went well, the hotel could help us with an early check in and we were treated like royalty!!

I couldn’t possibly say what the highlight was because it was all so great. We did the Hot Air Balloon ride as well, and I am so glad I did because it was really worth it.

Our tour guide was Ahmed Hamed, and he really was excellent. I have been on coach tours before and have never had such a good tour guide!! He really went out of his way to make everyone’s trip amazing. I would highly recommend him!!!

Like I said before everything was great and I would definitely recommend an On the Go Tour to my clients, and can see why the clients I have sent have enjoyed them so much!! I am even thinking about doing another one already!!

Once again, thank you for all you help and for the amazing prize. And please pass on my thanks to your whole team in Egypt as they were all amazing!!

Chat again soon when I book my next trip!!

Davina • Submitted 15 Mar 2009

I have had a fantastic trip nd this is largely because Saeed was one of the best tour guides i have encountered in my travels.. He is professional, organized, very informative and his knowledge on all sites has been incredible.

I foun the tour to cover all the best sites/ excursions and I didn't feel rushed.

Thanks so much for a great trip!

Maria Lloyd • Submitted 29 Dec 2008

I do not usually do group tours, I am a independent traveller but the Classic Tut tour was great. Everything was organized very well by (ABN) Amro the tour guide. It covered pretty much all the main ancient sites of Egypt and the group was great. I would definitely use On The Go again.

Graeme • Submitted 23 Dec 2008

Hi Ryan,

I want to thank you for your help with organizing our xmas escape to Egypt. It was a great learning experience, exceptional tour guides and good value for money! I would recommend Classic King Tut to everyone who doesn't want to spend christmas on their own in rainy, miserable England.

Job well done!

Matt Klump • Submitted 20 Dec 2008
1  |  2

Prices & Dates

This tour is available with a 5 star Nile Cruise Upgrade. The departure dates and prices below relate to the Nile Cruise Upgrade tour. For details of the Nile Cruise Upgrade tour please refer to the Trip Notes below the tour dates.

Read More
Xmas departure, book early!
XMAS Departure
New Years departure, book early!
New Year Departure
This tour will be 10 days in length. When booking flights, please add 1 day to the end date noted here. This itinerary will be updated in full after the 2019 departures have finalised. See Trip Notes for further details.
10 day tour, add 1 day to the tour end date
Guaranteed Departure
Available
Contact us to book
Sold out
2019
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
20 Dec - 28 Dec 20% offXmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
G
AUD $3,145
AUD $2,516

AUD $1,460
21 Dec - 29 Dec 20% offXmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
AUD $3,145
AUD $2,516

AUD $1,460
24 Dec - 01 Jan 20% offNew Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
G
AUD $3,145
AUD $2,516

AUD $1,460
28 Dec - 05 Jan 20% offNew Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
G
AUD $3,145
AUD $2,516

AUD $1,460
2020
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
18 Dec - 26 Dec Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
This tour will be 10 days in length. When booking flights, please add 1 day to the end date noted here. This itinerary will be updated in full after the 2019 departures have finalised. See Trip Notes for further details.
This tour will be 10 days in length. When booking flights, please add 1 day to the end date noted here. This itinerary will be updated in full after the 2019 departures have finalised. See Trip Notes for further details.
AUD $3,145
AUD $1,460
20 Dec - 28 Dec Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
This tour will be 10 days in length. When booking flights, please add 1 day to the end date noted here. This itinerary will be updated in full after the 2019 departures have finalised. See Trip Notes for further details.
This tour will be 10 days in length. When booking flights, please add 1 day to the end date noted here. This itinerary will be updated in full after the 2019 departures have finalised. See Trip Notes for further details.
AUD $3,145
AUD $1,460
22 Dec - 30 Dec Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
This tour will be 10 days in length. When booking flights, please add 1 day to the end date noted here. This itinerary will be updated in full after the 2019 departures have finalised. See Trip Notes for further details.
This tour will be 10 days in length. When booking flights, please add 1 day to the end date noted here. This itinerary will be updated in full after the 2019 departures have finalised. See Trip Notes for further details.
AUD $3,145
AUD $1,460
27 Dec - 04 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
This tour will be 10 days in length. When booking flights, please add 1 day to the end date noted here. This itinerary will be updated in full after the 2019 departures have finalised. See Trip Notes for further details.
This tour will be 10 days in length. When booking flights, please add 1 day to the end date noted here. This itinerary will be updated in full after the 2019 departures have finalised. See Trip Notes for further details.
AUD $3,145
AUD $1,460

Extra Prices

Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
Pre Tour Accommodation - Cairo
AUD $110
AUD $60
Post Tour Accommodation - Cairo
AUD $120
AUD $60

In Brief

Range
Trip Type
Starts
Cairo
Ends
Cairo
Departs
20, 21, 24 & 28 Dec 2019
Group Size
Min 2 / Max 24
Hotel Rating
4 - 5 star
Tour Guide
Yes, escorted by a tour guide
Meals
Breakfast: 8, Lunch: 2, Dinner: 2
Visiting
Countries

Tour Add-ons

Enhance your trip with these amazing added extras and add-ons

Medo was a great guide who's happy and positive attitude along with his great knowledge of the country and its history made for a great tour that I would highly recommend for friends and family.

Mitchell Russ
OTG000132Festive King Tut - 9 daysMiddle East & North AfricaSignature1716 AUDfalse20Egypthttps://www.onthegotours.com/au/Egypt/Festive-King-Tut-9-dayshttps://drwyjmricaxm7.cloudfront.net/repository/Sphinx-179421337951414_crop_flip_300_300_f2f2f2_center-center.jpgXMAS_and_New_Year_Tours1716AUD