South Africa Traveller Reviews - On The Go Tours

Here are some reviews from our past travellers to South Africa. For more details on each tour, simply click on the tour image.

Pretty was an amazing trip leader. She was very helpful and very informative. The tour was busy but AWESOME. Many safaris both on foot and by jeep that allowed us to see just about every animal in Africa. A wonderful once in a lifetime experience.”  

Christine Law • Submitted 21 Oct 2019
Fall-To-Joburg-Itinerary-Main-Classic-Safaris-Africa
Falls to Joburg
12 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

A well structured tour with amazing diversity through the three countries.

Ample opportunities to see the 'big five' on safari, and enjoy the beaches and Islands in Mozambique. ”  

Angela Millington • Submitted 7 Oct 2019
Beach in Mozambique- Mozambique - On The Go Tours
Mozambique Adventure
14 Days Day |
Tour
Guide
Country

We loved the tour, unfortunately were unaware of the amount of bus travel but that is to be expected, and have to say sleeping on mats was a little uncomfortable for our old bodies, but we managed and did upgrade once but still had the opportunity to upgrade at other camps. The camps were all good, although we did run out of hot water on occasion. Any discomforts could be expected as we were camping. I did realise on our return that we only had one opportunity to shop for souvenirs apart from the airport shops, a little more time would have been fabulous. The food was great and plentiful, the staff were fabulous and more than helpful with putting and taking off the clips to the tent, very hard to do.

The tour was great, we really had no idea or knowledge of what to expect but was amazing to see these magnificent wild animals roam where they chose, it was fabulous and would have no hesitation in recommending this tour or your company again. ”  

Kerre Millman • Submitted 2 Aug 2019
Fall-To-Joburg-Itinerary-Main-Classic-Safaris-Africa
Falls to Joburg
12 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Fantastic tour that gives a real insight into the wildlife of Namibia. The game drives in Etosha were fabulous and we had great sights and sounds of hyenas feeding and elephants protecting a baby in their group. Our guide, John, worked incredibly hard liaising with the head office in order to allow 4 members of our group to stay in Etosha Park itself for a second night and take part in the night safari.

The tents and meals were of a good standard and the roll mats a lot more comfier than last time I did over landing 15 years ago. Remarkably, I recognised our driver on this trip as he was my tour leader on that overland trip such a long time ago. All the crew were great and good humoured and worked exceptionally hard.

All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable trip that I've already been recommending to my friends.”  

Alison Bagnall • Submitted 21 Jul 2019
Girrafes in Etosha - Namibia - On The Go Tours
Namibia to Cape
14 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

As this was a budget tour the accommodation was good.

The tour took us to places that I didn't even envisage existing the group was great and we did get a true feel for the country. ”  

Nicole Burns • Submitted 19 Jul 2019
Zebras Drinking - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Cape to Falls
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour was amazing,the group I was with was great and everyone got along. ”  

Paul Marter • Submitted 2 Jul 2019
Fall-To-Joburg-Itinerary-Main-Classic-Safaris-Africa
Falls to Joburg
12 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Just returned from a fabulous trip from Vic Falls to Johannesburg. Overall tour was great even putting up & down the tents everyday. Thank you to Thembe the tour guide, for making it a memorable trip to Africa and sharing your love of your country. Frans the driver was great making sure we all arrived safely to our destinations and sharing his love of Africa with us. Martins kitchen kept us fed daily and we had great food every day. Overall we had a great time. Thank you.”  

Kristine Dixon-Flint • Submitted 7 May 2019
Fall-To-Joburg-Itinerary-Main-Classic-Safaris-Africa
Falls to Joburg
12 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Great tour and tour guide was the best. Great communication and organisation skills and knowledge. ”  

Esther van Bronswijk • Submitted 24 Apr 2019
Zebras Drinking - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Cape to Falls
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Excellent valued tour for people who have the time and prepared to rough it a bit to have a great experience.Guides were very knowledgeable and terrific to learn from. Cook and driver also had many tour years of knowledge. We were the oldest (63yrs) but still had a fun time and always felt looked after and safe.”  

Stephen Leggett • Submitted 18 Apr 2019
Pair-of-lions-resting
Great African Expedition
57 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

The booking process with On The Go Tours was easy and all queries responded too quickly. This tour joined into a longer tour, but the group were all very welcoming and it was a pleasure to share the tour with them. Todd and Rodney were a great team and were more like members of the group than tour leader and driver, they both had tremendous knowledge of the country. I chose the tour because if the itinerary and it did not disappoint.”  

Claire Haynes • Submitted 15 Apr 2019
Tsitsikamma National Park - South Africa - On The Go Tours
Wonders of the Garden Route
8 days Day | Lodge Accommodated Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour overall is fantastic. It is a great way to have once in a lifetime experiences and see fabulous sights.

However, there are numerous early starts and long days in the truck that are not reflected by the trip notes. There are often times when the group want to stop and see more of the country through which we are travelling but this is not possible due to time and distance constraints.

The tour team were fantastic A little bit more advance notice and information would have been useful though”  

Paul Rought • Submitted 2 Apr 2019
Road to Cape Town - South Africa - Africa Safaris - On The Go Tours
Kenya to Cape
43 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

We had an amazing tour, perfectly organized by our guide. The driver was very good and secure and the cook prepared delicious food for everyone. The tour included all important places and was well organized.

The truck was quite old and it could be better equipped, e.g. small storage at the seats, walkie talkies for communication with the driver. The staff was very friendly and made everything to get the best experience for us.”  

Hanna Van de Braak • Submitted 22 Mar 2019
Oryx in Namibia- Africa Overland Safaris - On The Go Tours
Cape to Namibia
14 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

We had an amazing tour, perfectly organized by our guide. The driver was very good and secure and the cook prepared delicious food for everyone. The tour included all important places and was well organized.

The truck was quite old and it could be better equipped, e.g. small storage at the seats, walkie talkies for communication with the driver. The staff was very friendly and made everything to get the best experience for us.”  

Hanna Van de Braak • Submitted 22 Mar 2019
Oryx in Namibia- Africa Overland Safaris - On The Go Tours
Cape to Namibia
14 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

This tour was very well organised with the tour leader Tabi, Driver Laban and Cook Ben. All fantastic guys. There was a good routine which we adhered to and this made everything flow smoothly. The driving was great, very careful and safe. The food was superb. Early mornings resulted in us being at camp early afternoon and making the most of the facilities. The campsites were all good and nearly all had swimming pools and a bar/restaurant. The tents were easy to put up and take down with plenty of room for mattresses and backpacks. A really enjoyable holiday. Tabi was a bit lacking in giving us important information at the evening briefing but Laban made up for this. ”  

Susan Palmer • Submitted 9 Mar 2019
Zebras Drinking - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Cape to Falls
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Tour went extremely well. I’d recommend it to anyone.

Only thought that I expressed to Tabby is that he would be more expressive and clear about what to expect at each stop. I realize things can vary a lot, but we are new to the area and would benefit by more explanation. May have been some language issue, which is expected. However I mentioned to Tabby that he may benefit from some sort of “public speaking” training. Otherwise he was a very personable and helpful guide, especially on a on-on-one interest in us. He was definitely likable and made the tour feel like a personal experience.”  

Gregory Zwadlo • Submitted 6 Mar 2019
Zebras Drinking - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Cape to Falls
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

I would have preferred to have more time at the activity centres such as Swakopmund. With an extra day I would have taken part in more activities. The ones that I participated in were fantastic: 3-hour horse riding (11 out of 10), quad biking and sandboarding, camel riding (rather a short trip but otherwise fine).

At the tribal markets (Herero and Himba) I would like to have had a lot more time. This was not the fault of the tour guide. He gave us a time by which to be back on the truck and everyone was on it about 10 minutes before that time. I felt obliged to follow suit and missed out on talking to the locals and also I would have bought more souvenirs. This was especially disappointing since when we got to the camp site we had the rest of the afternoon and evening free. Perhaps a visit to a tribal village would be good but I understand that this might be too intrusive and not welcomed.

The visit to the township in Cape Town was superb. Again, I would have preferred more time and freedom but can understand that this may be impractical.”  

William Covill • Submitted 12 Feb 2019
Girrafes in Etosha - Namibia - On The Go Tours
Namibia to Cape
14 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Alex was a fine tour guide. Very professional, yet personable. He always had time to answer all questions.Would certainly like to travel on any tours that he was in charge of.”  

Carlos Castillo • Submitted 22 Dec 2018
Falls-To-Cape-Itinerary-Main-Overland-Journeys-Africa
Falls to Cape
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

This was an excellent tour. We saw a variety of environments, saw many animals, had a variety of activities and really had very little difficulties (one tire issue for a couple of hours one day). I liked the variety, and even though we had many days of long, dusty driving, it was worth it to see as many things as we did. The 22 guests all got along well and the 3 staff were excellent. The guide, driver, and cook were friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and kept us all on track time wise. I would go with them again!

A suggestion: at Elephant Sands I suggest there be an automatic upgrade to a tented cabin. Myself and 2 other girls stayed in the regular tents with a number of others who were tenting. It was a fabulous night watching the elephants from our tent door, but at one point 2 elephants were shoving each other and when one elephant hurried off its back foot caught the edge of my tent and twirled it around. I straightened my tent up, and slept the rest of the night just fine. I loved the experience and wouldn't have traded it for the world, but in the interest of safety, I suggest an automatic upgrade at this site, just add the additional cost onto the overall cost of the tour.”  

Dianne Raymond • Submitted 28 Nov 2018
Zebras Drinking - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Cape to Falls
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

An incredible adventure. Knox introduced us to Africa, giving us just enough information to keep us safe and interested. He was quick to respond whenever there were concerns on board the truck or with external influences such as vehicle break downs and border issues. At all times we felt safe.

The tour itself was tougher than we anticipated with very early mornings and long hot days on rough roads. But then, that is what helped make it so memorable.”  

Janise Johnson • Submitted 16 Oct 2018
Zebras Drinking - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Cape to Falls
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

It was a fantastic tour especially enjoyed Vic Falls and Kruger National Park Addo Elephant Park a bit disappointing the area to lush to really see any animals. The accommodation was great on tour some exceptional especially Craddock and Drackenberg Mountain area. The guide Todd and tour drive Rodd were both exceptional answered all our needs. Very satisfied,the only issue was one missed pick up, I phoned and all worked out in the end. The best room at Vic Falls with balcony overlooking water hole which allowed us to see all the wild animals coming in to drink.

I would recommend On The Go. Cheers Rhonda”  

Rhonda Brownlow • Submitted 6 Oct 2018
Cape Town- Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
World in One Country
20 days Day | Lodge Accommodated Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Absolutely amazing trip, met and exceeded all expectations. Our tour leader, McKenzie, and crew of Peter the cook and Cyrus our driver were a great team and looked after us superbly. The trip covers a lot of ground but I knew that would be the case and each destination made the long travelling days worthwhile. Great to have 2 full days in Etosha, although the only disappointment was that our campsite wasn't actually in the park, meaning that we weren't able to take part in nighttime game drives or waterhole viewing even though the trip notes implied we would. All in all though a fantastic tour which is great value for money and highly recommended. I look forward to travelling with On The Go again!”  

Donna Barbary • Submitted 17 Sep 2018
Girrafes in Etosha - Namibia - On The Go Tours
Namibia to Cape
14 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Fantastic trip, ideal way to see so much in just 12 days. Tour guide, driver and chef were brilliant. Tour guide was very knowledgeable about every place we visited and advised us on the best places to visit. Our driver was great, always got us there safely and was a pleasure to chat to. Our chef was incredible! As this was a budget camping trip we didn't expect the standard of food we received. It was much more than we expected, very good quality, couldn't have asked for better.

Great trip all in all, would recommend to anyone with a sense of adventure!”  

Dayle Hammond • Submitted 17 Sep 2018
Fall-To-Joburg-Itinerary-Main-Classic-Safaris-Africa
Falls to Joburg
12 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

I can't fault anything on the tour, our guide was amazing, the cook incredible and our driver wonderful! Great value for money and I had such a fantastic time! ”  

Mariah Hartmann • Submitted 13 Sep 2018
Zebras Drinking - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Cape to Falls
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

What an awesome holiday, the crew (Godfrey, Duncan & Alouis) were 5 star, incredibly professional, caring and very entertaining. There was no doubt the group were in very capable hands throughout. I think they deserve a raise. Highly recommend this crew & tour company. Best wishes guys. ”  

Walburg Ruane • Submitted 14 Aug 2018
Pair-of-lions-resting
Great African Expedition
57 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

I was one of 6 people that travelled 57 days on the Great African Expedition from Nairobi, Kenya to Capetown, South Africa.

What an absolutely fantastic trip, from day 1 to the end. We saw the "big 5" multiple times and met some lovely people along the way.

I've got nothing but high praise for our Group Leader, Hes, similarly, Malinga, our cook, was a terrific guy that kept us well fed in sometimes difficult circumstances. Finally, Steve, our driver, was exceptional and kept us safe all the way.

Overall, I had a Fantastic time.

I was the oldest guy on the the truck and had an unbelievably incredible time.”  

Ken Parker • Submitted 31 Jul 2018
Pair-of-lions-resting
Great African Expedition
57 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Amazing trip, the crew were one of the best parts, made it so much fun and no problems at all. ”  

Anna Lawless • Submitted 27 Jul 2018
Pair-of-lions-resting
Great African Expedition
57 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Amazing, we saw & did everything we wanted to on this tour from giraffes gracefully dancing in the moonlight to the Big 5 up close and personal. This tour was the best tour my husband and I have ever done. We are avid travellers and always wanted to do a Safari the best way to do it is with On The Go! Our team was Will, Mama, and Frans the best team trio to guide any one on this tour. Will knew everything about anything, Frans is a careful and very helpful driver, with safety as priority and Mama - what an amazing cook. This tour offers any type of traveller an unforgettable experience. The sites, the parks, the campgrounds, the people, will forever remain in our most cherished memories!

This company is one of the most professional, personable, and client-oriented companies that we have ever booked with. The company even arranged for my husband's birthday to be celebrated while in camp. A birthday cake appeared after dinner and everyone broke out into singing Happy Birthday, truly made us feel special.

We are planning another trip to Africa in the near future and will absolutely go with On The Go again.”  

Kalli Doulos • Submitted 15 Jul 2018
Victoria falls - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Jo'burg to Falls Old
12 Days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour was brilliant, lots to see and do. Mwangi was very knowledgeable about the area, he made sure we were all in the right place at the right time, lots of welcome hints tips and suggestions about each area we visited. Jerad provided excellent meals with little facilities, a welcome feast after a busy day, the cooking hygiene standards were exceptional. Nic, our driver put in long days, driving on some poor roads and got the truck into some very small spaces. The trip was packed with things to do and see and these made up for the long hours spent on the truck. The only negative I have to say is that some of the equipment eg the crockery and sleeping mats are at the end of their life and should be replaced.

All in all, an excellent holiday, now trying to plan the next one, a hard act to follow.”  

Carole Pringle • Submitted 11 Jul 2018
Falls-To-Cape-Itinerary-Main-Overland-Journeys-Africa
Falls to Cape
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

This was a great tour and experience. The group totaled 20, however, it never felt like there were too many and everybody got on well and had a wonderful time together. The Tour Lead, Alex Teuling, was excellent, as was the cook, Munyaradzi Shoshore and Driver Bheki Ncube. It was an excellent team. Wonderful memories.”  

Cameron McInally • Submitted 30 May 2018
Falls-To-Cape-Itinerary-Main-Overland-Journeys-Africa
Falls to Cape
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Overall a good tour. Amazing sights. We saw so much and it was the trip of a lifetime. The tour guide was very passionate about all subjects.

The safari and the desert trips were the highlight of the trip for me. Also the camping and eating as a group was really nice. The food was good, vegetarians well catered for. It was very well organised. ”  

Alana Jenkins • Submitted 10 Mar 2018
Oryx in Namibia- Africa Overland Safaris - On The Go Tours
Cape to Namibia
14 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Excellent tour with great guides, truck drivers, and cooks. Would highly recommend travelling Africa via On The Go overland tours. Excellent value for money and most importantly we felt safe at all times.”  

Natalie Howes • Submitted 27 Feb 2018
Pair-of-lions-resting
Great African Expedition
57 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

An amazing journey though Africa over 57 days. Great sights and experiences, On The Go Tours have put together a fantastic trip. You’ll see the best Africa has to offer and have a chance at one in a lifetime experiences. The different crew members over these legs made the trip even more memorable in particular our last leader Onary. Our cooks kept us well fed including some delicous local dishes. If you have the time do this trip. ”  

Nathan Burgess • Submitted 17 Feb 2018
Pair-of-lions-resting
Great African Expedition
57 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

My Cape, Namibia and Falls adventure couldn't have been better. I had the most incredible time and it was the perfect itinerary, covering all the highlights of the countries we visited. There was plenty of wildlife spotting opportunities with lots of game drives but there was also enough downtime for us to relax and enjoy the lodges we were staying at.

And speaking of the accommodation, I was pleasantly surprised by how good it was. For me, the standout was the Guma Lagoon Camp in the Okavango Delta - it was truly magical with a rustic permanent tent right on the water's edge yet with all the essential conveniences. I could have happily spent a week here alone!

As a solo traveller, I did wonder whether a lodge safari would be less sociable than an overland camping safari but I had nothing to worry about - everyone in the group was really friendly and as lunches are prepared at picnic spots, there's plenty of opportunity to practise camaraderie and bond over sandwiches.

Our guide Joe was brilliant. He was a one-man band serving as our driver, guide and cook and did all three jobs with complete skill and care. He made sure we were well-looked after from start to finish. We were all amazed at his wildlife spotting skills, especially when he spotted a snake on the side of the road while driving! It was a pleasure chatting with him about Africa and his experience on the road and he really made the trip for all of us on the trip.

This really was the trip of a lifetime and I can't recommend it enough. ”  

Hollie Youlden • Submitted 15 Feb 2018
Fish River Canyon - Africa Overland Safaris - On The Go Tours
Cape, Namibia & Falls
24 Days Day | Lodge Accommodated Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Everything went very well.

A great trip. Great value for money.

To repeat. ”  

Rita Valadao • Submitted 27 Jan 2018
Girrafes in Etosha - Namibia - On The Go Tours
Namibia to Cape
14 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Fantastic trip. TY”  

Mario Nowfal • Submitted 22 Nov 2017
Leopard - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Kenya to Kruger
33 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

This was an absolutely wonderful tour! The itinerary was remarkably varied, interesting & often extraordinary, & made all the more so by our incredible leader, Matt Dry!! Under his guidance we were acquainted with many of the most beautiful places in Southern Africa, & were provided with endlessly entertaining facts & figures concerning the history of the regions & of the people & creatures living therein - I learnt so much! As an introduction to this fascinating part of the world, & if you like wildlife, then this tour is surely unequalled! It was a joy from start to finish, providing experiences & excursions that will remain embedded in your mind forever! If you're thinking of going, then don't hesitate - It's the trip of a lifetime!!!”  

Keith Budd • Submitted 9 Nov 2017
Zebras Drinking - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Cape to Falls
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Excellent tour. Dexter our guide was fantastic - very organised, friendly and provided all the information about the country and places visited. Craig, the driver was also excellent. A wide variety of experiences as every place visited was so different.Only change I would make would be to stay 2 days at Addo and then only 1 day at Tsitsikamma as there was more to see and do at Addo.Good quality accommodation and excellent food.”  

Julia Dale • Submitted 6 Nov 2017
Cape Town- Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
World in One Country
20 days Day | Lodge Accommodated Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

We enjoyed the tour. Long days as expected on the truck for the first week we weren't sure if this was the part of Africa we expected. It was mostly geology, which while interesting made everyone wonder when the animals and wilderness camping would start. After that it did start and was amazing and just got better each stop after Swakopmund. Amazing experences and close proximity to wildlife. We would have liked more nights of back country camping such as we had in the Okavango Delta and Chobe and thought most nights would have been in these type of locations rather than urban campgrounds. That said, it was a rewarding adventure with a great Crew of David, Ian and Munya. ”  

Francis Potter • Submitted 1 Nov 2017
Zebras Drinking - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Cape to Falls
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour guide was fantastic, and very organised. The trip was informative, mentioned this trip was not a holiday but an adventure. Very enjoyable, great group 23 of us and became a great trip will pushed by William. First tent difficult but after that 3 - 5 minutes and all ready to go again clear instructions from William. Food - great variety and enough. Restaurant and bars in each stop and well priced so passengers had the choice. Driver was very experienced. Had a fantastic time”  

Nikolay gorlov • Submitted 25 Oct 2017
Victoria falls - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Jo'burg to Falls Old
12 Days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Where there's a Will, there's a way!

Knowledgeable, excited, helpful and passionate. Took his time with everyone on the tour and made sure everyone's needs were attended to.

Thanks for everything. ”  

Steve Benson • Submitted 17 Oct 2017
Victoria falls - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Jo'burg to Falls Old
12 Days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Excellent guide who worked hard to ensure the trip went well. Always going out of his way to make the trip fun. He was well organized and cared for is all.”  

Nancy Dingman • Submitted 11 Oct 2017
Zebras Drinking - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Cape to Falls
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

I wish my English was better to make this feedback as positive as I want it to be.

Me and my partner had such a beautiful 14 days holiday! I'm happy with the full experience with the OnTheGoTour; my travel agent, Libby, was great, very passionate about her job, reliable and prompt to answer to our enquirers. Our troupe, consisting in Njaramba (guide), Steven (driver), Malinga (cook) was just above our expectation. Great people and real professionals! We felt safe, in good hands and we share beautiful moments. I loved after dinner listen to Njaramba's stories around the fire, it was so fascinating and interesting, attracting all of us attention. Nothing was left to chance, every aspect of our tour was studied on every small details, from the fair rotation's seat in the truck, to the duties each of us had to do, from the stops along the way, to the right moment to see the places of interest, from the beautiful meals, to the strategic choices of the camping areas... what an amazing experience! I look forward to book again with you! Thank you!”  

Azzurra Arnaldi • Submitted 27 Sep 2017
Oryx in Namibia- Africa Overland Safaris - On The Go Tours
Cape to Namibia
14 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Overall terrific value for money but non stop”  

Janet Harvell • Submitted 14 Sep 2017
Zebras Drinking - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Cape to Falls
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Had A Great time. Marika, Franz, and Clive were fun, knowledgeable, and very competent. Will definitely go on another trip. ”  

Sean Hanlon • Submitted 30 Aug 2017
Fall-To-Joburg-Itinerary-Main-Classic-Safaris-Africa
Falls to Joburg
12 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Very organised and egfficient. Excellent local knowledge throughout the tour and good tips for dining, shopping, drinking and banking facilities at each stop ”  

Sarah Church • Submitted 25 Aug 2017
Fall-To-Joburg-Itinerary-Main-Classic-Safaris-Africa
Falls to Joburg
12 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

We had a wonderful holiday, better than our expectation. Well organised with no worries.”  

Lacramioara Millson • Submitted 6 Aug 2017
Kruger Walking Safari Main
Kruger Walking Safari
4 days Day | Safari Holidays
Tour
Guide
Country

It was a perfect mix of original, adventurous, intrepid, and organised, reassuringly experienced and safety-in-a-group”  

Helen Tindale • Submitted 31 Jul 2017
Girrafes in Etosha - Namibia - On The Go Tours
Namibia to Cape
14 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

This tour was exceptionally well organized and managed by Chris, the tour guide. He was professional, personable and a great leader who also answered all our questions about local fauna, wildlife and history throughout the tour itinerary. He was also funny and tough, when needed (it is needed at times with 20 or more participants to keep everyone on schedule). I highly recommend him and would love to go on another tour with him as leader.

The tour itinerary was well paced, some long travel days followed by a few quieter days to sightsee and relax, I especially enjoyed Etosha Game Park, climbing Dune 45, Swakopmund and the activities available there, and the canoe trip on the Orange River. The wine tasting at Cederberg was also memorable. The truck was in good condition and the cook (Malinga) and driver (Steven) were also exceptionally professional, competent and kind. My husband is gluten intolerant and Malinga always managed to accommodate him during meals, which took extra effort on his part and was much appreciated. The campsites varied in their amenities, some had decent showers and hot water while several others did not. Given that this was a camping tour this was not unexpected, but a hot shower after a long day on the road would have been a treat. Lack of wifi in many locations was a disappointment but also not unexpected. All in all, my husband and I had a wonderful, memorable trip that we will never forget. We will plan another On-the-Go tour in the future.”  

Lisa Britt • Submitted 30 Jul 2017
Girrafes in Etosha - Namibia - On The Go Tours
Namibia to Cape
14 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

I loved everything about the tour and South Africa. I thought the tour was very well planned and that we had enough time in each location without being rushed, and I feel like we got to see a lot of highlights. I also liked the accommodations. Some people on the tour expected something more 4 or 5 stars (even though they didn't pay for it), but I thought the accommodations were as expected or better. I loved the beehive huts in Swaziland in particular. But the highlight of the entire tour for me, though, was the guide, Nerise. She is hands down the best guide I have had on any tour ever (and I have done quite a few). She was great at organizing everyone and everything, she dealt perfectly with challenging personalities (we had a few on the tour) and she knew an incredible amount about South Africa, but shared the right amount about it so that it wasn't overwhelming. Thanks for an amazing tour and experience!”  

Nicole Skolout • Submitted 24 Jul 2017
Cape Town- Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
World in One Country
20 days Day | Lodge Accommodated Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour was incredible! Everything from the food to the accommodations and tours were amazing! The camping sites were all clean and safe and the upgrades were great value for money. The cook made delicious meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It was also fun helping with the meal prep/cleaning and getting to know the group more. The organized tours were well planned and the optional excursions were great as well. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and driver did a great job getting us to each destination in a safely and timely manner. I would definitely recommend this tour to everyone and can't wait to go on another On The Go tour! ”  

Kathryn D'Mello • Submitted 10 Jul 2017
Fall-To-Joburg-Itinerary-Main-Classic-Safaris-Africa
Falls to Joburg
12 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

The best experience of my life. Dave, Aron and Monga were the absolute best. Their knowledge is second to none and they are very friendly and fun. Hope to at some point return! ”  

Emma George • Submitted 8 Jun 2017
Zebras Drinking - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Cape to Falls
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Tour was excellent. Enjoyed the township tour but the food hall tour we could have skipped.

Gift is very knowledgeable welcoming and and excellent man.”  

Paula McNamara • Submitted 25 May 2017
Zebras Drinking - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Cape to Falls
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Hello Charlie,

Just back from our 12 day Falls to Jo'burg trip and we had a fabulous time! Thoroughly enjoyed the amazing experiences at Vic Falls, Blyde River Canyon, Otavango Delta and Kruger Park. We did have two upgrades and found the accommodation a well-deserved treat and complete luxury after the normal tents.

Thanks to reading and re-reading your extensive trip notes, advice and guidance beforehand we were well prepared and knew exactly what to expect - unlike others who either didn't have the same tips from their companies or who didn't bother to read the information.

We even became quite accomplished at putting tents up and dismantling them (even in the rain)! Will, the main tour guide, and Simon helping, were extremely helpful, patient and completely approachable at all times which considering our large group comprising people with ages from 20-82 yrs was no mean feat.

Mama Florence the cook and Frans the driver were just as friendly and did an excellent job of feeding us delicious meals and ensuring we arrived safely and in one piece, both with great humour. We never saw any one of the crew in a bad mood or impatient with anyone - we were treated with courtesy throughout and they were full of information about Africa.

Many thanks, we will book again! ”  

Linda Wickman • Submitted 14 Mar 2017
Fall-To-Joburg-Itinerary-Main-Classic-Safaris-Africa
Falls to Joburg
12 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris

The tour was great, although due to the travel distance tiring. The excursions were fantastic. Our guide Will was super, enthusiastic, we learned a lot about Africa. The whole crew was nice, so we enjoyed the tour very much.”  

Marta Szemes • Submitted 2 Mar 2017
Fall-To-Joburg-Itinerary-Main-Classic-Safaris-Africa
Falls to Joburg
12 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Best tour we have experienced. Excellent programme, good accommodation and food but Todd was without question what made the tour. Informative, entertaining, knowledgeable, and very well organised. Everything went like clockwork. ”  

Robert Paton • Submitted 8 Feb 2017
Cape Town- Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
World in One Country
20 days Day | Lodge Accommodated Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Hi Sarah,

Where can i start!! What a fantastic trip from start to finish, we saw the big five within half an hour of being in the Kruger, a Leopard walked right in front of the van!! Animals were everywhere (well not quite). From then on the trip just got better and better, the accommodation was good, and Elizabeth and I really enjoyed sorting out our own meals, after a good breakfast and everything that was going on around us - food didn't seem that important; the group was really good, and the guide and driver were brilliant, so all in all with thanks to yourself for booking it so well for us, it has to rank as one of the best holidays I've ever had!! ”  

Tony and Elizabeth • Submitted 31 Oct 2016
Cape Town- Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
World in One Country
20 days Day | Lodge Accommodated Safaris

Nerise was an excellent guide - she looked after us all fantastically well, she was friendly, knowledgeable, organised and efficient. Our driver was Alan, he too was brilliant, he kept the van ship shape and was a pleasure to be around.

We enjoyed the tour very much. If I had to change the tour at all I would have liked more time in Stellenbosch and wasn't keen on the stay in Lesotho so would have given that a miss. Also, we had 12 people on our tour which, in the van was the maximum I would have liked to travel with.”  

Deborah Brandwood • Submitted 23 Sep 2016
Cape Town- Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
World in One Country
20 days Day | Lodge Accommodated Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

When booked Sarah Bansgrove gave all the details and was very knowledgeable about the safari. The tour was more than expected and seen all big 5 and more.

The accommodation was well organised and enjoyed the whole entire safari experience. Very clean, comfortable room, breakfast, dinner and lunch was all traditional foods which was nice. I would really recommend on the go tours to any of my friends. Really fantastic safari experience. Simon and Johnson were very good and guiding and spotting the animals.”  

Rachel Elly • Submitted 10 Sep 2016
Kruger-Lodge-Safari-Itinerary-Main-Lodge-And-Hotel-Safaris-Africa
Kruger Wildlife Experience
4 days Day | Safari Holidays
Tour
Guide
Country

Had an amazing time travelling from Johannesburg, South Africa to the awesome Victoria Falls in Zimbabwe. I preferred the Zimbabwe part of this tour as it was more "African" than S.Africa and the scenery was outstanding. Vic Falls cannot fail to blow your mind, laying in your tent at night listening to the thunder of the falls is a sound that will remain with me for years to come. Kruger National Park does not fail to deliver the Big 5 - in fact we saw ours within the first couple of hours - amazing. Of course this tour may not suit those adverse to camping, but I loved it, especially when camping in the unfenced sites, sat waiting under an African sky for the elephants to make their way down to the water hole. Plus during the South Africa section it felt like we spent more time shopping in Malls than on Safari, but this was to enable the guides to purchase supplies for the next few days. Our guide was young but nevertheless armed with information on the area and the wildlife. This is not my first tour with On The Go Tours, and it will not be my last. Thank You guys x”  

Helen Whitehead • Submitted 8 Aug 2016
Victoria falls - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Jo'burg to Falls Old
12 Days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Will, Mumma Flo and Aaron were amazing hosts and guides. Their expertise in their work was so apparent and flawless that it made the experience overwhelmingly enjoyable. Never before have I enjoyed myself so much on a guided tour. Your crew are to be congratulated and I am looking forward to my next trip with On The Go Tours.

The only negative I have is the length of the driving days. It would make for a much better experience if those days were split up with extra stops.

Cheers,

Myk and Jase”  

Mykel Brown • Submitted 8 Jun 2016
Fall-To-Joburg-Itinerary-Main-Classic-Safaris-Africa
Falls to Joburg
12 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Excellent trip. I had a great time. There was nothing I could complain about. While we were not on a luxury camping expedition from what we paid, and it was not all that much, it was good value for our money. Guide was great and was always willing to talk with me, even answer what was probably an endless list of questions. Over 22 days we definitely had a feel for what the country looks like. ”  

John Bain • Submitted 9 May 2016
Zebras Drinking - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Cape to Falls
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Thoroughly enjoyed! Will return to Africa sometime but would like to include other countries e,g. Mozambique etc. The driver Ian and the amazing cook- Thembelani also added to the excellence of the trip.”  

Brenda & Brian Harris • Submitted 1 Mar 2016
Zebras Drinking - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Cape to Falls
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Extraordinary experience.

Manda did everything to make the stay a great experience, he was always available, answered each and every question, helped out when needed. Great guy.”  

Regina Stolz • Submitted 29 Feb 2016
Falls-To-Cape-Itinerary-Main-Overland-Journeys-Africa
Falls to Cape
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Excellent overall experience, great quality transfers, accommodation and amazing game drives. Food and service also excellent, all staff friendly and helpful.”  

Kristi Rorison • Submitted 21 Feb 2016
Kruger-Lodge-Safari-Itinerary-Main-Lodge-And-Hotel-Safaris-Africa
Kruger Wildlife Experience
4 days Day | Safari Holidays
Tour
Guide
Country

Of the 3 - trip leader, cook and driver, Aaron the driver is by far the best. In terms of his driving but also he help us a whole lot in packing/unpacking or pitching our tents. The best personality by far and very likable by all of us”  

Alan Chia • Submitted 23 Nov 2015
Victoria falls - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Jo'burg to Falls Old
12 Days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour was fantastic value for money, its a camping tour and at times it was tough going travelling through intense heat and some hot sleepless nights, but you forget all the negatives when climbing Dune 45 and eventually seeing, and what you come to witness is the amazing African wildlife, seeing elephants giraffes zebras and of course a lioness trying to catch dinner will stick in our memory for a very long time. We are both in our early sixties and encourage other people of our age to get off those boring cruises and see the real world out there! Life is an adventure, go and have one.

Tour was well organised, food was great considering the circumstances, Moyo the guide was great nothing too much trouble for him to organise, and Steve the driver was fantastic. Would we do it again? YES.”  

Richard Buckley • Submitted 22 Nov 2015
Zebras Drinking - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Cape to Falls
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Mishak was very organised, polite and informative. He always had our best interests at heart and made sure our trip ran smoothly. ”  

Dana Brown • Submitted 9 Nov 2015
Victoria falls - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Jo'burg to Falls Old
12 Days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Fantastic! The trip ran very smoothly. We were given plenty of notice of what was coming up, when we needed to buy extra water, how much to expect to pay for goods etc. The driving days were not super long, the truck was comfortable and the tents were great- so nice to be able to stand up!

The only things I thought the trip lacked was perhaps more small optional activities at a simple price. So, instead of the only optional being adrenaline activities at $150 or so per person, we would have loved a $15 village walk, $20 orphanage visit (or make a donation when you get there), time with the meerkats at Spitzkoppe, $15 to try dancing with the local tribe etc. A little bit more of the cultural side of each country would've been nice.

We felt Swakopmund was a bit overrated and would have preferred to spend that extra night in Chobe free camping as it felt a bit rushed. We had much better facilities in camp grounds than the backpackers in Swakop.

We had two families each with two children on the tour which made the trip fun! The difference in demographics made for a nice, happy medium.

Monga (cook) and Johnny (driver) were great. Johnny could not have been more personable and friendly. Monga's food was delicious.

Overall a great trip! Thank you.”  

Emma Bennett • Submitted 15 Oct 2015
Zebras Drinking - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Cape to Falls
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Manda the tour guide was excellent. He was spot on with his organisation, local knowledge, both cultural and the flora and fauna.

His people skills were excellent and you couldn't wish for a better group leader.

This was our very first tour and we were not disappointed. We would heartily recommend this On the Go Tours to all our friends.”  

Alice Shaw • Submitted 6 Oct 2015
Fall-To-Joburg-Itinerary-Main-Classic-Safaris-Africa
Falls to Joburg
12 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Manda the tour guide was excellent. He was spot on with his organisation, local knowledge, both cultural and the flora and fauna.

His people skills were excellent and you couldn't wish for a better group leader.

This was our very first tour and we were not disappointed. We would heartily recommend this On the Go Tours to all our friends.”  

Alice Shaw • Submitted 6 Oct 2015
Fall-To-Joburg-Itinerary-Main-Classic-Safaris-Africa
Falls to Joburg
12 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

We had a fantastic time . Would recommend this tour and the compNy to all friends and family. Will definitely be looking to book again in the future . Everybody including benson - chef and ian - driver were fantastic with all people on tour . I have never felt so relaxed and looked after . Thank you for giving us this opportunity . ”  

Kerri-Ann Semms & jodi martin • Submitted 24 Sep 2015
Fall-To-Joburg-Itinerary-Main-Classic-Safaris-Africa
Falls to Joburg
12 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

It was a good trip overall. Sometimes could have used more info about what hikes etc. would be like so we could prepare better ahead of time. The tour guide added some extras that she thought the group might like and the animals were great.”  

Brett Siborne • Submitted 8 Sep 2015
Cape Town- Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
World in One Country
20 days Day | Lodge Accommodated Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

I had the best trip with On the Go. Our guide Thembe, our driver Johnny and our cook Freddie were amazing and helped make the trip that it was.

The tour was great and covered a good portion of the countries visited! The camps were great and exceeded my expectations.

Highly recommend On the Go!”  

Rebekka Walker • Submitted 24 Aug 2015
Fall-To-Joburg-Itinerary-Main-Classic-Safaris-Africa
Falls to Joburg
12 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Loved this tour. As a 58 year old traveling with a fairly young group it was a challenging but thoroughly enjoyable experience. Our driver Steve entertained us on guitar most nights which was an added bonus. Matt our guide was knowledgable and made the trip nice and relaxed. Would highly recommend this tour. ”  

Christine Jackson • Submitted 10 Jun 2015
Zebras Drinking - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Cape to Falls
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

This tour was absolutely amazing. All of the crew were fantastic and I will miss them all. In particular Steve was a ball to have on the tour playing his guitar and singing around the campfire at night. Lorraine was always laughing and Matt made sure we were all ok everyday. Could not have asked for a better trip and this shows in how sad I was to leave. I would highly recommend this trip to all ages of people that have an open mind and love an adventure.”  

Kate Jackson • Submitted 9 Jun 2015
Zebras Drinking - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Cape to Falls
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour was amazing. Our crew were great,Beverly sociable and informative. I don't know if the tour gave us a true feel for some of the countries only because we were generally staying in campsites that were isolated from the general population. But we saw a lot and had a great time regardless. A great taste tester of Africa. ”  

Jacqueline Taranto • Submitted 26 May 2015
Road to Cape Town - South Africa - Africa Safaris - On The Go Tours
Kenya to Cape
43 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour was amazing, the updated accommodation just past the South African border was incredible, however the late arrival made it rushed. I would highly recommend the tour was extended by a night to give travelers a full night to enjoy the local festivities, hiking availability and to even perhaps volunteer at a local school.

Our tour guide was lovely. Our chef and driver were both lovely (Monga and Johannas) and happy to share stories/help with tents (we had a single traveler on the trip and they always made sure she was getting help when she needed it). Definitely the highlight of the trip was the Delta Okavango.

Also, I believe the tour would have benefited from increasing the community insight provided, even if we shopped at more street-stalls for snacks or had the chance to go to a church over easter... we saw so many animals and were so spoiled for natural experiences, I came home feeling a little guilty for not being more culturally aware after my trip. ”  

Rebecca Stefanides • Submitted 16 Apr 2015
Fall-To-Joburg-Itinerary-Main-Classic-Safaris-Africa
Falls to Joburg
12 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour was great and the tour guide was excellent, so was the cook and driver, very friendly and helpful guides. The only thing that needs to be said is that when you go to zimbabwe you must have us dollars no one we came across would accept south african rand as was stated in tour notes, also for the ockavanga delta it needs to said that you need camoflague clothing and be able to walk for at least 6 hours straight at a time.”  

Lynette Cowell • Submitted 15 Apr 2015
Fall-To-Joburg-Itinerary-Main-Classic-Safaris-Africa
Falls to Joburg
12 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Grace was superb throughout. She gave good information about each place we visited and had lots of interesting facts about the animals and plants we saw. She was always ready with a hug if you needed one and always happy to listen should you need an ear. She was also always ready to have a laugh and a joke.

The trip ran efficiently, we always got to our destinations on time and never felt unsafe. ”  

Catherine Hobbs • Submitted 6 Mar 2015
Pair-of-lions-resting
Great African Expedition
57 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

The Tour itself was amazing, we saw so many highlights of Africa and the wildlife we saw was incredible. I think more excursions would be nice if they were included or the option of prepaying for these as they ate into the budget. A dutch group had there excursions included which worked amazingly.

We had a change in itinerary before we went to Eldorado, we weren't told that this was an extra charge on arrival?!

Dale will be a very good guide. He needs a lot more training on how to spot wildlife and where to go and be able to give information about the animals. he really did his best with this but our chef Onary saved his bacon a few times. He tried hard to mix with all the different characters on the trip. ”  

Debbie Gardner • Submitted 11 Feb 2015
Zebras Drinking - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Cape to Falls
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

I had an absolutely fantastic time on the Cape to Falls tour. A great way to see southern Africa. Our tour guide was really great, particularly at pointing out birds on the game drives. At times she could have been more proactive with information but she did have two trainees - a trainee leader and a very inexperienced and naive trainee cook who knew next to nothing about food preparation and storage. Larraine spent a lot of time helping her and handled the situation well.

Our driver, Deigns, was superb and he made the time in the truck really enjoyable.

The tour gave a really good feel for South Africa, Namibia and Botswana, less so for Zimbabwe as we were only in Vic Falls.

I would definitely do another trip with On The Go.”  

Laura Thomson • Submitted 12 Dec 2014
Zebras Drinking - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Cape to Falls
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Hi,

The tour was AMAZING! The sights we saw are fantastic and every day felt like a dream. (The tour was operated by Jenman Tours.)

Unfortunately I cannot say the same about our guide, Andy. While she is a really lovely lady, kind, positive and genially caring, we as a group found that some times she made certain times of the day difficult and unnecessarily stressful. I think she would be better suited to shorter tours, as her organisation skills are quite poor. She also didn't take the time to gather thoughts from the group in terms of our travelling arrangements and scheduled far more stops each day than any of us really wanted which resulted in long driving days that could have been reduced by some times a good 1-2 hours.

Our Driver, Khalani, however was her saving grace as he balance her out. His knowledge and skill throughout the whole trip was above and beyond my expectations. Even better was his calm approach and friendliness towards us and the day to day activities. I think without him, our trip would not have gone as smoothly as it did.

I also just wanted to quickly say that this tour was the first of two that I booked for the same trip. And I feel that your head office staff let your team down a little. Communication was quite poor, it was slow and lacked detail. We also had 3 changes to our itinerary that were not passed on to us. We waited over a month to find out if the tour was actually confirmed, waiting for the minimum 4 people to book, but when on the tour found out that at least 4 others had booked several months before we had so there should not have been any delay at all. Our Melbourne rep didn't come across as knowing much about the tours as there were key elements that weren't explained to us that should have been - like the ground operators being Jenman and not On The Go. I have more complaints regarding the office staff but they relate to my second tour so I will note them in my next review.

Overall it was a wonderful adventure, hopefully this feedback can help you make some improvements.”  

Sarah Nichols • Submitted 8 Oct 2014
A man on Dune 45 Sossusvlei Namibia
Cape, Namibia & Falls
22 Days Day |
Tour
Guide
Country

tour rate shorter travel between camp sight 6 hours between in the heat to long so at least 2 more camp stops rate 8. Tour guild Chtista very good but could have been a little flexible rate 8. Country I felt that we did have a very true feeling for the country rate 10. I hade a wonderful time and yes I'm going back in about 2 years..”  

Kerry Zollo • Submitted 7 Oct 2014
Zebras Drinking - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Cape to Falls
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

I have recently returned from an excursion which I booked with On The Go Tours and yourselves. Johannesburg to Victoria Falls ( start date: 16th Aug 2014).

I just wanted to let you know what a fantastic time I had! As an individual traveller I was put at ease by the fantastic, professional and friendly crew.

I can honesty say it was the best holiday I have ever had!

It has come to my attention that a couple on the trip have complained to yourselves about the crew leader, which I feel is a great shame as they took an instant dislike to Colin and complained about him before the tour had even started!

They were lovely people, but unfortunately have a habit of complaining to see if they can get money back - they did this several times over the course of the holiday to the point were it was embarrassing! The problem was that they had been traveling for almost a year by themselves, so suddenly having to comply with other peoples ideas and timetables did not work for them - and boy did they let us know about it!!!

When things happened and the crew took charge and organised things, they would stand aside and complain instead of help!

I feel it a great shame that Colin would take the brunt of theirs complaints and that he would be punished for what the remaining 11 of us feel was a fantastic, well organised and professionally run holiday!

Katie Houghton”  

Katie Houghton • Submitted 17 Sep 2014
Victoria falls - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Jo'burg to Falls Old
12 Days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour and both guides were excellent. Wildlife viewing was excellent. Would have liked more opportunity for contact with local people and to learn more of local culture.”  

Neville Williams • Submitted 11 Sep 2014
Leopard - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Kenya to Kruger
33 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris
Tour
Guide
Country

Dear On the Go,

After finding out about your tours through a cousin of mine we travel from Cape Town to the Falls on your 22 days tour.

The tour guide was well informed and listened to our every need. The truck was well equipped and the tents and sleeping mats were awesome. The trip itself was well planned and amazing we could not have asked for a better time. We felt safe and cared for and really loved every minute of it. We want to come back again and did not want to leave. The highlights were many but the environment and plethora of animals was second to none. We have travelled with various other travel companies and would choose On the Go again. ”  

Kerrie Wainwright • Submitted 9 Jul 2014
Zebras Drinking - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Cape to Falls
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris

Hey Cherylyn,

We had a wonderful trip!

Thank you so much for everything - will definitely recommend On the Go.

Thanks ”  

Aliescha Rattanas • Submitted 5 Nov 2012
Fall-To-Joburg-Itinerary-Main-Classic-Safaris-Africa
Falls to Joburg
12 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris

Hi,

Two weeks ago we arrived home from our “World in one country tour” in April. Thank you for an absolutely fantastic holiday, one we certainly never forget.

We are still going through our many hours of video footage, and a thousand plus photos with delight, as we relive our holiday again and again.

Not only was the tour visually spectacular, but the variety in destination and accommodation was great. Our holiday was completely trouble and hassle free, the only thing we had to think about was what we were going to eat! A holiday like this can only be had if you have an extremely good guide. Thank you for choosing Riaan Barnard as our guide. He is polite and friendly to everyone while still remaining professional, and is very knowledgeable about all aspects of the tour.

He is an excellent driver, and not once did Peter or myself feel in the least bit tense or nervous during the whole trip, and that is very rare! A huge thank you for a wonderful trip. ”  

Margot and Peter Bracko • Submitted 30 May 2012
Cape Town- Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
World in One Country
20 days Day | Lodge Accommodated Safaris

I can honestly say I've enjoyed every bit of this trip from start to end. I don't have one bad word to say. it has exceeded my expectations, everyone has been very helpful and fun. The crew did an awesome job! Thank you.”  

Mandy Johnson • Submitted 12 Feb 2012
Pair-of-lions-resting
Great African Expedition
57 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris

Everything was amazing, and I had enjoyed the crew.

Africa is full of surprises!!! ”  

Katie Powell • Submitted 15 Aug 2011
Pair-of-lions-resting
Great African Expedition
57 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris

Thank you for a great holiday, it has been very memorable.”  

Melanie P. • Submitted 23 Jun 2010
Falls-To-Cape-Itinerary-Main-Overland-Journeys-Africa
Falls to Cape
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris

I don't normally like camping but really enjoyed this tour - awesome crew and great itinerary!”  

Madeleine Karanikolopoulos • Submitted 4 Jun 2010
Victoria falls - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Jo'burg to Falls Old
12 Days Day | Overland Camping Safaris

Well organized tour with exceptional staff. Excellent mixture of activities. Tour brochure undersells it! ”  

Ann Marie Carroll • Submitted 4 Jun 2010
Victoria falls - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Jo'burg to Falls Old
12 Days Day | Overland Camping Safaris

Toni was very impressive as a tour leader - very well organised. Everything ran to schedule and she took care of everything. Our cook was brilliant too, every meal was creative and delicious and we've never had the same meal twice. He made sure we never went hungry. You could see he took great pride in his work. He was also very lovely and genuine man.

All our crew was brilliant and made the trip most enjoyable!”  

Joanna Field • Submitted 2 Nov 2009
Falls-To-Cape-Itinerary-Main-Overland-Journeys-Africa
Falls to Cape
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris

I thought the tour was very good overall. The staff were very friendly and always ready to help. Vic Falls and Znazibae were the highlights , but the rest of the tour was planned so well ,with surprises waiting around every corner.

I had so much fun, shame it has come to and end. ”  

Sarah Forester • Submitted 2 Nov 2009
Falls-To-Cape-Itinerary-Main-Overland-Journeys-Africa
Falls to Cape
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris

Awesome crew! Easy going, hard working and very very friendly!

At the end of a long day Moses' meals were always great to look forward to.

Lake Malawi was amazing, as well as trip to Zanzibar

Thanks guys.”  

Daniel Carr • Submitted 2 Nov 2009
Road to Cape Town - South Africa - Africa Safaris - On The Go Tours
Kenya to Cape
43 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris

We can't praise our crew high enough for their excellent work throughout the whole trip.

Itinerary was well planned to see the best of the 3 countries.

Everyone had loads of fun on the truck.

Thanks guys.”  

Richard Hardy • Submitted 1 Nov 2009
Victoria falls - Africa Overland Safaris - Africa Lodge Safaris - Africa Tours - On The Go Tours
Jo'burg to Falls Old
12 Days Day | Overland Camping Safaris

Hi there,

In Africa I had the time of my life. My crew: Toni Schaef, Gift and Dumi for the first leg of the trip in May from Jo-burg - Vic Falls did such a great job of getting all the passenger's to have a great time together and see some of the coolest sights in the world.

It was AWESOME having our cook and driver from Zimbabwe for that leg of the trip as they could provide such a wealth of knowledge of places and local customs and traditions that no one else could. Toni was a crazy fun leader. "rough as guts' as she described herself! so funny, we had such a good time sitting around the camp fires listening to her stories and sharing a drink with one another. I'm 20 yrs old and was one of the youngest in the group of 18 and we had such varied people from different countries aged all the way up to 65. Everyone had such a good time.

cheers! ”  

Merrin Ozols • Submitted 22 Aug 2009

Thanks Charlie

Ahhh everything was amazing! We just had such a great time and saw so many amazing things! The trip was the perfect length because it wasn’t too rushed but was so well organized and prepared. Our Host, driver and cook deserve a massive pat on the back because they really did make the trip so easy and enjoyable! Malawi was by far my favourite, for the people, culture and beauty but then Tanzania and the Serengeti for animals! We loved every second of it and now wish that we also did the gorilla trek in Uganda, but will have to save that for next time! ”  

Keira Pearce • Submitted 2 Jul 2009
Falls-To-Cape-Itinerary-Main-Overland-Journeys-Africa
Falls to Cape
22 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris

I've had a brilliant time on this trip and there is not much I'd change.

Stevie (driver) and Wilson (cook) were amazing and lovely people.

Toni led the group well, was very knowledgeable and knew the answers to all out questions.

I had an amazing time! Thank you very much!”  

Suzie Barnes • Submitted 2 Jul 2009
Road to Cape Town - South Africa - Africa Safaris - On The Go Tours
Kenya to Cape
43 days Day | Overland Camping Safaris