South America Traveller Reviews - On The Go Tours

Here are some reviews from our past travellers to South America. For more details on each tour, simply click on the tour image.

Our guide was friendly, knowledgeable and approachable.”  

Jacqueline Wayment • Submitted 6 Nov 2019
La Paz - Bolivia Tours - South America Tours - On The Go Tours
Journey Across South America
19 Days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Overall, I enjoyed the tour. The accommodations throughout the tour were satisfactory. I especially liked the hotel in the Sacred Valley. Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion was a very pleasant stay as well. I wish we had more time to explore the area around Ollantaytambo. For the sites we visited in and around Cusco, I wished we had more time to explore each site. ”  

Helen Teng • Submitted 8 Aug 2019
Hacienda Concepcion by Inkaterra canoe excursion in the Amazon - Peru Tours - South America Tours -
Amazon & Inca Trail
11 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Sebastian in Lima and Jose in Cusco we’re both amazing, they had a wealth of knowledge and a lovely disposition.”  

Kirsty Dimond • Submitted 20 Mar 2019
Panoramic view of Machu Picchu in Peru - On The Go Tours
Machu Picchu by Train
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Flights good. Timings in Argentina satisfactory. The walk in Tierra del Fuego would not be suitable for most, unless fit. Path steep in places with lots of roots. El Calafarte was enjoyable. The excursion to the glaciers was superb.

The hotel in Salta was excellent, our type of Hotel. The excursion to see the coloured earth was long, 13 hours. Iguazu was spectacular and the guide was excellent. Hotel was satisfactory. Ibera was spectacular, though driving distances long over dirt roads. Lodge basic but very good food and friendly staff. Trips out were really good, lots of birds and other animals. The hotel in Buenos Aires was superb. Excursion and guide excellently. Overall a highly enjoyable holiday and a good introduction to Argentina.”  

Graham Lang • Submitted 26 Feb 2019
waterfalls-wine-and-wilderness-main-itinerary-private-tours-argentina
Tailor-made Argentina
Tour
Guide
Country

Both guides were excellent and gave us personal views of living where they lived which we loved. They were both very engaging and interested in us too”  

Mirella Gilpin • Submitted 17 Jan 2019
Iguazu Falls in Brazil - South America Tours - On The Go Tours
Tailor-made Brazil
Tour
Guide
Country

All was great ”  

Lina Zakzeckyte • Submitted 15 Jan 2019
Bolivia-to-Brazil-Main
Peru to Chile Express
15 days Day |
Tour
Guide
Country

The On The Go Tours London Office really helped us with designing a bespoke trip to Argentina, providing great hotel suggestions in convenient locations and a range of excursions that allowed us to see a large variety of landscape and wildlife in a relatively short time. Highlights were the half day spent in a penguin colony near Puerto Madryn, the boat trip to watch whales in the Valdes Peninsula and day trips to visit the gorges, salt flats and desert landscapes near Salta.

In each location, guides were enthusiastic, helpful and informative, showing an excellent depth of knowledge about the history, geology and wildlife of the area. Logistics on our transfers were smooth and hotels lived up to expectations.

Thanks to everyone at On The Go Tours for a fabulous holiday in Argentina! By using your tailor-made services we could have exactly the holiday we wanted. ”  

Joanne Miles • Submitted 18 Dec 2018
Tailor-made
Tour
Guide
Country

The guide in Cusco made the visit great. Service was personal and I would recommend him to anyone visiting the sites. The guy is a walking encyclopedia. Thank you. ”  

Satish Chavda • Submitted 20 Jul 2018
Machu Picchu ruins - Peru Day Tours - On The Go Tours
Tailor-made Peru
Tour
Guide
Country

Sebastian was very knowledgable and enthusiastic, but it would have been nice to have a bit of time on our own - particularly to have a meal together on our own in the Amazon. Jose was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about Cusco and the Incas. All parts of the tour were very well organised and we felt we were in safe hands and had no problems at all.”  

Jane Green • Submitted 25 May 2018
Hacienda Concepcion by Inkaterra canoe excursion in the Amazon - Peru Tours - South America Tours -
Amazon & Inca Trail
11 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Fabulous flavour of Argentina! The guide met us at Buenos Aires International Airport was very welcoming and gave us lots of tips for our stay in the city. Tour of the city was excellent and again the guide was very engaging and knowledgeable. Internal transfers were very smooth and efficient. This made our travel around Argentina stress free. Would highly recommend using On The Go Tours and am considering using your company again for further excursions around the world. ”  

Claire Walmsley • Submitted 11 May 2018
waterfalls-wine-and-wilderness-main-itinerary-private-tours-argentina
Tailor-made Argentina
Tour
Guide
Country

We had a fantastic time, and thank Caroline very much for her excellent planning of the trip. Eolo hotel in El Calafate was spectacular and the real highlight of our trip. Every airport transfer went very smoothly and there was always someone to meet us at the other end.

The only criticism I would make is that the tour guides did not stick to the time they gave to pick us up for tours, and we almost invariably were left waiting, sometimes for an hour. This seemed to be because they gave the same time to every one on the tour and did not give separate times for separate hotels. In Mendoza this caused a problem because we were late to a wine tasting tour meaning that we did not get an English speaking guide, but had to take the tour in Spanish, which we do no really speak! We were helped out by a friendly group of Peruvians who translated for us but they should not have had to do this. Having said this it did not take away from a fabulous holiday and thank you again.”  

Robert Houghton • Submitted 8 May 2018
Tailor-made
Tour
Guide
Country

So happy with Tailor made tour to Chile. my second trip with On the Go Tours will definetly use your company again. Pick up from Airport was perfect. Chile and Easter Island was amazing

10 of of 10. Hotel good clean and tidy.”  

Rajesh and Lutchmee Maharaj • Submitted 10 Jan 2018
Chile-Tab
Tailor-made Chile
Tour
Guide
Country

An amazing trip. Far exceeded our expectations. Everything was so well organised and when there were small hitches they were dealt with speedily and efficiently . Our guide Alina was amazing, so relaxed but super efficient in a totally non threatening way. She held together a disparate group of people in a manner that I'm sure made everyone feel safe , valued, respected. She was also great fun. An exceptional young woman. The only small let down was the 2 nd hostel in Bolivia which I felt fell well under standards experienced on the rest of the tour. No real washing facilities other than when camping isn't really acceptable in this day and age. But a very minor point. Otherwise FANTASTIC..”  

Jennifer Yeoman • Submitted 13 Dec 2017
AK Rio Landscape
South America Coast to Coast
32 days Day |
Tour
Guide
Country

Was very impressed with the organization of this trip. Darwing was great and knowledgable. The Inca trail was amazing. Our 2 guides - Ronald Ccana Sotalero and Guillermo Sana Cusi went above and beyond to make this a once in a lifetime excursion. They were excellent on the trail. The equipment, food - just everything - exceeded my expectations. If it wasn't for the guides encouragement and help I don't think my friend would have made it. Can not say enough about them and the Peruvian Sacred tour group.”  

Barbara Ramage • Submitted 1 Dec 2017
Couple in front of Machu Picchu - Peru Tours - South America Tours - On The Go Tours
Inca Trail to Machu Picchu
7 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Variety of locations gave us a great feel for the country and the hotels chosen were ideal for exploring the areas we were in. The excursions were well organised and guided by enthusiastic people with plenty of expertise and local knowledge, with especially great experiences with our excursion guide Pablo Michelangelo at Perito Moreno,and local agency guides Eduardo from Bioceanica in Bariloche and Milo from Limite Patagonia, Patagonia Profunda. They gave us plenty of information but also shared so much enthusiasm and interest in their areas that it was infectious! Their support and advice enhanced our trip a great deal so many thanks for this personal service. ”  

Joanne Miles • Submitted 27 Nov 2017
waterfalls-wine-and-wilderness-main-itinerary-private-tours-argentina
Tailor-made Argentina
Tour
Guide
Country

Our tour leader, Manny Salorio, was with us every step of the way. He was compassionate, knowledgeable, and enthusiastic in going above and beyond his duties as a leader. He always shared his expertise and accompanied us on his suggested places for dinners, shopping and other activists. He made the trip very successful.

The trip was excillerating and full of adventure. We experienced things that we didn't know were possible. ”  

Mary Colette Rosario • Submitted 17 Jul 2017
Bolivia-to-Brazil-Main
Peru to Chile Express
15 days Day |
Tour
Guide
Country

We had a great time and it helped that the group got along so well. Our Guide Christian was well organised, reliable and liked by everyone. He was super efficient in getting us to our various destinations on time. He also knew lots of excellent restaurants so we were always sure of good meals. He managed to get the balance right between being very much part of the group but also standing back as well.

The various guides (Inca, Uyuni) were all very professional and friendly, in particular Sante (Inca). The drivers were also reliable. The only negative comments are regarding the hotel in La Paz and the dormitory on the last night in the desert before crossing from Bolivia to Chile. These were below the standards of the rest of the accommodation. I can be more forgiving of the dormitory but I think a better hotel could have been chosen in La Paz.”  

Gail Macindoe • Submitted 7 Dec 2016
Salar de uyuni-salt flats-Bolivia-primary
Lima to Santiago
21 days Day |
Tour
Guide
Country

Christian is a fantastic tour guide, always going above and beyond to help everyone in our group with their questions/needs etc.

The tour was excellent and thankfully great weather the entire trip. We really enjoyed it. ”  

Elizabeth Wong • Submitted 29 Nov 2016
Bolivia-to-Brazil-Main
Santiago to Lima
21 days Day |
Tour
Guide
Country

Another very successful holiday with yourselves. This is the 4 th holiday I have booked with you.

All guides in every city were very friendly and helpful.

The only problem we had with a train time that was incorrect was rectified without a problem.

Jaime our rep who met us in Cusco was fabulous !”  

Anne Camprubi • Submitted 21 Oct 2016
Tailor-made
Tour
Guide
Country

Wilson was one of the best guides I have come across during any trip. He was always helpful and gave us a lot of insights of the countries we visited. He even helped me apply for the Brazil visa as I couldn't do that in the home country. I was able to visit Brazil just because of his help.”  

Ronak Gupta • Submitted 20 Sep 2016
Copacabana Beach - Rio de Janeiro - South America - On The Go Tours
Sth America Coast to Coast ex Rio
32 days Day |
Tour
Guide
Country

The whole tour was fabulous and well organised. It started with the booking. Theo was very helpful and followed up with me many time. I was picked up at the Lima Airport by Enrique Palacios Guerra. He was very professional, helpful and had a very clean car. Each time he picked me up he was on time just as he promised even at 5:45am. He always helped me with my luggage. His driving was very professional and I felt very safe with him. Pedro met me in Lima. He was very polite and helpful. He explained how the whole tour would work and answered all my questions. He was flexible with his time which allowed me to take a city tour. I really appreciated that. Fabio was my guide in Cuzco. He was friendly and professional. He helped us find great places to eat that we would have never found on our own. He made it clear he was available to us for anything we needed at anytime of the day or night. He was always on time, happy and helpful. Santiago was my guide for the Inca Trail. He was GREAT!! He encouraged us from the start of the hike and throughout the 45 km hike. He made sure we were doing well and safe. He was great at explaining the history and meaning of each ruin. It was obvious he loved his job. The organisation of his whole team was amazing. I can't say enough good things about the 4 days spent hiking the Inca Trail. The treatment, the food and encouragement we received from Santiago, the cook and all the porters was unbelievable. Thanks to everyone involved in my trip.... Theo, Pedro, Fabio, Santiago, the cook and the 9 porters. I would highly recommend this tour. ”  

Idoya Auban • Submitted 26 Aug 2016
Lima-Llama-Land-Itinerary-1-Peru-&-Bolivia-South-America
Lima & the Inca Trail
10 days Day |
Tour
Guide
Country

Excellent tour with a wide range of activities and experiences, a good balance of free time. Our tour leader Herman was excellent. Friendly, knowledgeable with a clear love of his job and of trying to make the experience as good as possible for all on the tour. He took the time to get to know each individual in the group, made sure everyone was involved and generally ensured that everything ran smoothly.”  

Gemma Kelly • Submitted 22 Jul 2016
Lake Titicaca rower - Peru & Bolivia Tours - On The Go Tours
Peru Encompassed
21 Days Day |
Tour
Guide
Country

Fab trip to get a snapshot of many different areas of Peru. Loved the mix of city, jungle, mountains and desert. Happy with the time we spent in each place.

Great, efficient guide. Really looked after us. Informed us of all the important things we needed to know so we didn't have to worry about much at all except seeing and doing as much as we could. ”  

Pei San Chan • Submitted 25 Mar 2016
Lake Titicaca rower - Peru & Bolivia Tours - On The Go Tours
Peru Encompassed
21 Days Day |
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour was excellent. In both Brazil and Argentina the tour was organised excellently.

Both tour guides, Marcos (Brazil) and Miss A in (Argentina) were excellent. They both deserve 10 out of 10. Very pleasant, helpful, informative, open to suggestions and very amenable to satisfy the tourists' needs.

Just a suggestion. If it is at all possible on these tours, to split the tours - half-a-days tour on one day and the second-half of the tour on the next day. Maybe one in the morning and the other in the afternoon. It becomes more informative and less tiring.”  

Sathananthen Moodley • Submitted 28 Dec 2015
Iguazu Falls in Brazil - South America Tours - On The Go Tours
Tailor-made Brazil
Tour
Guide
Country

Tour was great. Saw a lot and didn't spend too much time just travelling. Our guide wasn't the best. He spent most of his time studying. However most days we had other guides anyway so managed to get a lot from them. ”  

Jessica Williams • Submitted 4 Dec 2015
Peruvian-women-Andes-Peru-primary
Trails to Titicaca
14 days Day |
Tour
Guide
Country

We had many guides, and all of them were excellent ”  

Eileen Jones • Submitted 19 Nov 2015
Machu Picchu ruins - Peru Day Tours - On The Go Tours
Tailor-made Peru
Tour
Guide
Country

This was an excellent tour. Be sure that you can swim well in order to get the most benefit out of the snorkelling outings. The guide was excellent: very knowledgeable and helpful. ”  

Ronald Morrison • Submitted 2 Oct 2015
darwins-eden-main-itinerary-private-tours-ecuador
Galapagos Discovered
6 days Day | Cruises
Tour
Guide
Country

The trip proved to be a phenomenal experience. I never thought I would have had the opportunity to travel to as many places in such a short time. Our Guide Gloria did a remarkable job and made the trip truly a memorable experience.”  

Jonathan Calesnick • Submitted 27 Aug 2015
Road to Rio
16 days Day |
Tour
Guide
Country

Overall excellent tour and Heidi was great fun. The only thing that I would say is that the majority of the activities were optional. Overall adventure was great ! ”  

Pauline Lowes • Submitted 18 Mar 2015

Day |
Tour
Guide
Country

An Excellent trip and our guide was excellent. The trip was unforgetable and totally enjoyed. Bolivia was outstanding as a country to visit.. Our extra add-on to the Easter Islands was also a great success-so thanks Phil for sorting that too.”  

Brenda/Brian Harris • Submitted 17 Mar 2015

Day |
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour was unbelievable. Santi was a funny intelligent informative an enthusiastic guide. Fantastic group. Hernan was also superb with over the top willingness to ensure comfort. Defo do it again. Only one issue was that the hotel i was told i would be in was incorrect. The helpful efforts of cusco plaza 1 discovered the correct location with the rest of the group.”  

Paul Morton • Submitted 8 Oct 2014
South-American-Salsa-Itinerary-5-Combo-Tours-South-America
Inca Trail Trek
7 days Day |
Tour
Guide
Country

One of the best adventures of my life. The unexpected snow fall on the 2nd day hike made the trip. That memory will stay with me for life. Our guide Micky was great. Good knowledge of the area and sites, and made the trip very enjoyable. Also our cook Thomas, made great food. He somehow baked a cake on campsite, tasted great.”  

Henry Yort • Submitted 12 Sep 2014
South-American-Salsa-Itinerary-5-Combo-Tours-South-America
Inca Trail Trek
7 days Day |
Tour
Guide
Country

HI ON THE GO!

It was another once in a lifetime holiday, thank you.

Macchu Pichu was magical, hotels, tour guide was well aranged. We have opted for the train and very happy about it. But the best part was the Amazon. The Lodge, the river and the forest was beyond imagination. The rooms had all the luxury but had no windows; gave the traveller the feeling of belonging to the forest like a parrot or a puma.

Thank you again for the ultimate experience.

Hope to join you again soon. ”  

Ashley Johnston • Submitted 23 Nov 2011
Lima-Llama-Land-Itinerary-1-Peru-&-Bolivia-South-America
Lima & the Inca Trail
10 days Day |

A very enjoyable holiday with a good group & mix of people & a very good tour leader who is obvioulsy very enthusiastic about his home country of Peru. As well as they key activities such as Lake Titicaca, Inca Trail, Machu Picchu & Amazon Rain Forest also had the opportunity of experiencing the Peruvian way of life & culture. A great experience.”  

Dan Mansfield • Submitted 19 Apr 2010
Peruvian-Poncho-Itinerary-Main-Peru-&-Bolivia-South-America
Amazon & Machu Picchu
8 days Day |

Excellent combination of activities, interesting and challenging,

giving a sense of real accomplishment as well as a good understanding of Peru, its history and culture. ”  

John Crow • Submitted 19 Apr 2010
Lima-Llama-Land-Itinerary-1-Peru-&-Bolivia-South-America
Lima & the Inca Trail
10 days Day |

I had a fantastic time - amazing group of people, packed and exciting itinerary, beautiful country. Definitely did not disappoint and have given me some life long memories. ”  

Anna Tavares • Submitted 19 Apr 2010
Peruvian-Poncho-Itinerary-Main-Peru-&-Bolivia-South-America
Amazon & Machu Picchu
8 days Day |

The Inca Trail was amazing, and it is refreshing to meet 2 guides who are so passionate about their culture and history. Have already recommended this tour and guides to my friends :) ”  

Kate Clark • Submitted 19 Apr 2010
Lima-Llama-Land-Itinerary-1-Peru-&-Bolivia-South-America
Lima & the Inca Trail
10 days Day |

The tour was good value and had a well balanced itinerary.

Accomodation, especially in La Paz and Uyuni was good. The enthusiasm and organisation of the tour leader made the tour excellent instead of just good. ”  

Moikall Sprague • Submitted 19 Mar 2010
Highlights-of-Bolivia-Itinerary-2-South-America
Highlights of Bolivia
9 days Day | Private Tours

I thoroughly enjoyed the tour and would recommend it to others, no problem. The tour guides were great and the service provided by the porters/chefs, etc, on the Inca Trail was amazing. I felt so lazy! There is just so much to see in Peru & Bolivia, and with guides like Roberto, Wilbur & Huber, you really get the full experience.”  

Daniel Eate • Submitted 19 Mar 2010
Peruvian-women-Andes-Peru-primary
Trails to Titicaca
14 days Day |

I had the most incredible experience on this trip, thank you.”  

Caroline Feraday • Submitted 19 Mar 2010

Every day was different and exciting. Shiry, was an excellent guide

and made the trip even more enjoyable. The food was fantastic and the transport all good. ”  

Jonathan Hill • Submitted 19 Mar 2010
Peruvian-Poncho-Itinerary-Main-Peru-&-Bolivia-South-America
Amazon & Machu Picchu
8 days Day |

The experience had great variety using different methods of travel.

It had just the right amount of activity with enough time to do your

own thing if you wanted. Saw awesome sights, it was an unforgetable trip! ”  

Erica Crawshaw • Submitted 19 Mar 2010
Peruvian-Poncho-Itinerary-Main-Peru-&-Bolivia-South-America
Amazon & Machu Picchu
8 days Day |

Tour leader was fantastic and really made this the best tour I have been on.”  

Monica Haydock • Submitted 19 Mar 2010
Lima-Llama-Land-Itinerary-1-Peru-&-Bolivia-South-America
Lima & the Inca Trail
10 days Day |

The tour was very well organised and everything ran to schedule. The days were well planned so that there was a mixture of things to do and relaxation. All staff and tour leaders were excellent and always showed passion when talking about the country and enjoyed sharing their experiences. Accomodation was good and always offered comfort. ”  

John Maund • Submitted 19 Mar 2010
Lake Titicaca rower - Peru & Bolivia Tours - On The Go Tours
Peru Encompassed
21 Days Day |

We loved the tour but especially the crew and the guide. Special hoorah for Gino, the Chef and Carlos.”  

Bonita Meyersfeld • Submitted 19 Mar 2010
Iguana on beach flipped - Galapagos Cruises - South America Tours - On The Go Tours
Galapagos Encounters
7 days Day | Cruises

I had a wonderful experience. It was so well organised which meant we got to enjoy the trip without the worry of what was happening next.

Excellent and would highly recommend. ”  

Rebecca Cleary • Submitted 19 Feb 2010
Lima-Llama-Land-Itinerary-1-Peru-&-Bolivia-South-America
Lima & the Inca Trail
10 days Day |

A very enjoyable holiday - would definitely recommend to friends.

Unforgettable experiences and a really good overview of Peru. ”  

Joanne Aish • Submitted 19 Feb 2010
Peruvian-Poncho-Itinerary-Main-Peru-&-Bolivia-South-America
Amazon & Machu Picchu
8 days Day |

Brilliant, I would recommend this trip to anyone. It was a full on trip but I was never rushed. There was enough time to look round and take everything in. The knowledge of the tour guides was outstanding. Thanks ”  

Samantha Pocok • Submitted 19 Feb 2010
Peruvian-Poncho-Itinerary-Main-Peru-&-Bolivia-South-America
Amazon & Machu Picchu
8 days Day |

The tour was very good and covered so much ground.

We were only a small group of eight people, but we all felt this was just the right mix as we all got on so well together.”  

Paul Oldman • Submitted 19 Feb 2010
Lake Titicaca rower - Peru & Bolivia Tours - On The Go Tours
Peru Encompassed
21 Days Day |

Great tour, very well organised and showed a great variety of activities and areas of Peru. ”  

Stuart Leigh • Submitted 19 Jan 2010
Lake Titicaca rower - Peru & Bolivia Tours - On The Go Tours
Peru Encompassed
21 Days Day |