Sri Lanka Traveller Reviews - On The Go Tours

Here are some reviews from our past travellers to Sri Lanka. For more details on each tour, simply click on the tour image.

Thanks for a fantastic trip. We were very lucky to have meet a great group of people and all got along so well. Lots of laughs along the way. Our guide Manoj & bus drivers were excellent & always so happy, helpful and polite. I would recommend that a 2 night stay at Jetwing Lake would of been nice as such a beautiful place. All the hotels were great along the way. Our highlights were Caves Dambulla, climbing Sigiriya, train ride to Nuwara Eliya and safari through Udawalawe National Park. 2 nights per place would of been better so not as rushed & more time to relax. I would recommend On the Go Tours to my family and friends. ”  

Sonya & Matt Haynes • Submitted 27 Sep 2019
Train in Nuwara Eliya
Colombo, Caves & Kandy
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

We arrived in Sri Lanka on the 20th April this year and headed out on the tour on 21st April missing the Easter Sunday hotel bombings in Colombo. Despite our obvious shock at the attacks, our group decided to continue with the tour. Manoj was able to give us updates on everything happening regularly and answered our questions as honestly and clearly as he could. He made us feel that our safety was the first priority both of himself and On The Go tours.

We were always given options if there was any doubt about a destination and he was always willing to be guided by our thoughts. He was warm, caring and helpful.

I understand that additional On The Go staff were also visiting our accommodations prior to our arrival and making sure that all was OK- a great service appreciated by us all.

Unfortunately it was quite difficult to get the full picture of the real daily life of Sri Lankans but we certainly got a taste of the beautiful country and many of the things it had to offer. My daughter and I would especially like to thank On the Go tours for changing our Colombo accommodation from the Ozo Hotel to the Cinnamon Bay for the final stay at the end of the tour.

My only suggestion- we continued with a small group to complete the Wild about Sri Lanka tour. Being a biologist and lover of nature I think it would have been great if our guide Deeptee had been able to provide a couple of pairs of binoculars for game and bird viewing, it would have made our experience richer.

We were also very appreciative of his willingness to add in a couple of small tours that was of interest to the group. We loved the turtle hatchery and boat tour. The whole experience was really well run and professional.

Thank you On The Go, and we send everyone in the Sri Lanka team our very best wishes.”  

Kathy Stubberfield • Submitted 11 May 2019
Leopard in Yala - Sri Lanka Tours - On The Go Tours
Wild About Sri Lanka
10 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

We loved this tour. We felt like it gave a good mix of different things to see in Sri Lanka. Our tour guide Akhtar was amazing. He was incredibly knowledgeable and was constantly sharing his expertise and interesting facts with us. He was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for him. The tour was very 'On the Go' (up early and lots to do) but this was what we wanted. It was a great week full of interesting activities and tourist sights. My personal highlights would be walking up Sigiriya, the train ride through the mountains and the safari to Udawalawe National Park.

I would recommend this tour to others who wanted to experience some highlights of Sri Lanka.”  

Alexandra Bell • Submitted 28 Mar 2019
Train in Nuwara Eliya
Colombo, Caves & Kandy
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour through part of North India was definitely eye-opening, even for a long term traveler like myself. It inspired many emotions and our guide Yusuf really helped to put things into perspective. His personal and historical narratives were greatly appreciated as well as all the support he gave me resolving some issues around the purchases I made in India. Yusuf is an excellent tour leader, very good at "herding cats and people". I am definitely looking at South India tours based upon his recommendations and overall presence in our group.”  

Holly Elke • Submitted 15 Feb 2019
Colombo-Caves-&-Kandy-Main-Itinierary-Main-Group-Tours-Sri-Lanka
Delhi to Colombo
15 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour was great. It was a really varied itinerary which included all of the highlights I was hoping to see. Akhtar was a fantastic guide, great fun and organised everything superbly. It would not have been nearly as good without him ”  

Joanna Johnston • Submitted 15 Jan 2019
Leopard in Yala - Sri Lanka Tours - On The Go Tours
Wild About Sri Lanka
10 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour and tour guide were both very good, covering a good range of places, historical sites, wildlife etc.

On the tour, we specifically enjoyed Sigriya, Kandy, Nuwara Eliya, Train ride from Kandy to N.E, Yala and Uda Walawe National Parks, Village tour with home cooked food and Galle Fort.

The tour guide was knowledgeable, friendly, helpful and ran a good tour. He helped us to get the best from the experience and kept us on track. ”  

Jonathan Taylor • Submitted 13 Jan 2019
Leopard in Yala - Sri Lanka Tours - On The Go Tours
Wild About Sri Lanka
10 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

The whole 2 country trip was amazing. Yusuf’s passion for India rubbed off on us all. India has its issues, poverty and rubbish, but we were able to see beyond that. The trip was well planned with a good balance of historical places, culture and tradition. Diwali was memorable. Yusuf is a true gentleman, with a great sense of humour, is very engaging, very efficient, who genuinely wanted to get to know us

Manoj was our main Sri Lankan guide. Sri Lanka is a real contrast to India with its tropical climate and different landscape. Our schedule was changed from day to day due to the cricket Test Matches in Sri Lanka and the changes to our hotels (location, upgrade and some complimentary evening meals). Zudi, our one day guide for our trip back to Colombo (Manoj continued whale watching and National Park) was amazing, very informative, friendly and did a great job.”  

Susan Dilley • Submitted 4 Dec 2018
Colombo-Caves-&-Kandy-Main-Itinierary-Main-Group-Tours-Sri-Lanka
Delhi to Colombo
15 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Aktar is a very good tour leader. He is very helpful and knowledgeable, as well as being a very nice person. If he does have a fault it is that sometimes he talks a bit too much. As a result, sometimes people 'turn off; and may miss a significant announcement. But overall he is one of the best tour leaders that I have encountered.”  

James Pope • Submitted 10 Aug 2018
Leopard in Yala - Sri Lanka Tours - On The Go Tours
Wild About Sri Lanka
10 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

I just wanted to say how much I enjoyed the tour of Sri Lanka. Everything provided on the tour was excellent - the bus, the hotels, the driver and assistant, and especially the guide. Akthar was so friendly, knowledgable and helpful the whole tour and we really missed him the last few days when we went in a different direction.

I do have some comments which I didn't include on the feedback forms that I wanted to share with you, but overall I loved the trip - best holiday ever!

My thoughts were:

On arrival/start at the hotel it would be good to be advised of the arranged time to meet the guide for the introduction session. I was concerned that I wouldn’t get the message if I was out, and although it worked out fine, it would been reassuring.

Sigiriya - climbing in the morning was great. The main part of the climb was in the shade at that time.

Mirissa - the hotel was comfortable although there were some small issues with the room such as the kettle was broken. As we weren’t whale watching there was nothing to do in the town or hotel. I personally would have preferred to stay near Galle to explore more of the town and fort rather than stay in Mirissa. After sitting a lot with the train, driving and safaris for the few previous days i would have liked to be able to walk and explore somewhere rather than sitting around the hotel.”  

Charmaine McMahon • Submitted 19 Jul 2018
Leopard in Yala - Sri Lanka Tours - On The Go Tours
Wild About Sri Lanka
10 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Manoj was an excellent guide. He mingled well with all members of the group and put us all at ease. This was our first organised tour and first trip to Asia, so we were a bit nervous about it. Manoj gave us confidence in a strange country. He was knowledgeable about his country and provided us with plenty information on it.

He was also adaptable to meet our unplanned and unscheduled needs - be it finding a toilet when we needed one ; finding a shop to buy beer; organising afternoon tea for us in the Jetwing St Andrews Hotel. He also organised cakes for those of us who were celebrating wedding anniversaries - which was such a lovely touch and made us feel special.

I believe he also managed to get us upgraded hotel rooms in the Jetwing Lakeside hotel - which was absolutely fabulous and again made us all feel very special. Nothing was too much trouble for him. Manoj seemed a very organised tour guide. Paying for unlimited water was such a good idea as we went through about 4 bottles of water each a day.

The tour itself was not as tiring as I thought it was going to be, despite us having a full itinerary every day. There was quite a bit of travelling in the minibus, but that was to be expected given the size of the area we had to cover. Sri Lanka is a very interesting country. The people are friendly and welcoming. The scenery was lovely. I would definitely recommend this tour.”  

Brenda Cooper • Submitted 2 Jul 2018
Sri-Lanka-Beach
Buddha and Beach
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Monroe was a fantastic guide, giving us plenty of options and information about the history of places. The hotels were all of a higher quality than I expected, which was superb.

I would definitely consider On The Go for future tours.”  

Holly Bygrave • Submitted 11 Jun 2018
Train in Nuwara Eliya
Colombo, Caves & Kandy
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Akthar was absolutely wonderful from start to finish. He considered each guests requests and preferences personally and catered to them with no fuss. We found Akthar extremely polite, knowledgeable, interesting and also had our best interests at heart. We felt that we travelled as first class guests from start to finish. Akhtar kept us all amused during the coach journeys with his humour, knowledge of local people and surroundings. When we were in Akhtar's company we knew we didn't have a worry in the world. He went the extra mile every day from dawn to dust and was always around late into the evening just in case we needed anything but was never intrusive. We believe Akhtar made our trip extra special. Thank you 'On The Go Tours' and the biggest and most sincere thank you to Akhtar. ”  

Dave Burke • Submitted 19 Apr 2018
Leopard in Yala - Sri Lanka Tours - On The Go Tours
Wild About Sri Lanka
10 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

I cant say enough about this tour! travelled with a great bunch of travellers from Australia, South Africa and England.

Akhtar was an amazing guide he had a wealth of knowledge and a love for his country. Even though I was only in Sri Lanka for a week I feel like I have a wealth of knowledge now! I enjoyed the local stop at the mark on the first day. The hotels we stayed in were fantastic and having the varying styles from traditional to modern and the eco lodge. I cant wait to travel with On The Go Tours again! ”  

Cathleen goble • Submitted 14 Apr 2018
Train in Nuwara Eliya
Colombo, Caves & Kandy
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

An absolute fantastic tour, amazing guide with tremendous knowledge. The tour was very well structured, really showing Sri Lanka as it is, with the home-stay meal a major highlight. The only slight concern was the quality in Nuwara Eliya, the hotel needs some TLC, the bedding is old and small minor touch ups are needed, rather a 3 star than a 4 star. But that is nitpicking, everything was amazing. Akthar is an amazing guide and person, really going out of his way to cater for everyone on tour and always available ”  

Andre Oosthuizen • Submitted 11 Apr 2018
Train in Nuwara Eliya
Colombo, Caves & Kandy
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Our guide, Akhtar, was amazing, so knowledgeable and passionate about his country. Nothing was an issue for him and he found solutions to any problems. A true gentleman.

The tour was fantastic but felt a little too rushed at times - perhaps an extra day in length would benefit the guests. My only disappointment was too pass through all the tea plantations but not get to visit them.”  

Ian Roberts • Submitted 10 Apr 2018
Train in Nuwara Eliya
Colombo, Caves & Kandy
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Hi Mark

Just a note to say thank you for helping us organise an amazing trip to Sri Lanka, we have now been back a few weeks and have had time to reflect, and would just like to say a big thank you to our tour guide, who showed us everything that was on the itinerary, but interpreted in his own way. This made for a very interesting and fluid trip with our guide reacting from the group, rather than sticking to a rigid script, which I can speak for everyone in our group made for a great time.

Thanks again Mark and will definitely recommend yourself and your company in the future. ”  

Richard Lindsay • Submitted 26 Mar 2018
Leopard in Yala - Sri Lanka Tours - On The Go Tours
Wild About Sri Lanka
10 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Sri Lanka is so beautiful! Thanks to On the Go Tour, you have organised a route that is just perfect! I joined the ‘Wild about Sri Lanka 10 tours’ We had two tour guides our young Richard and the very wise and knowledgeable Akhtar, both have us a great experience about Sri Lanka! I like say thank you to Akhtar is so considering, we were so lucky for his advise we got up early to the earliest tour in Yala National Park and WE SAW THE LEOPARD!!!! Akhtar give us very accurate and helpful information. ”  

Louise Chen • Submitted 2 Mar 2018
Leopard in Yala - Sri Lanka Tours - On The Go Tours
Wild About Sri Lanka
10 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour briefing with Richard was excellent and set us up for what to expect in the coming week - he was approachable, professional, very knowledgeable, organised with a great sense of humour! He clearly loves what he does and is very good at it! The tour was first class - my only complaint was that on a couple of occasions (the Paradise Hotel and the lovely one when we visited UtlaWalwe) we arrived and left the following morning in darkness and so really did not have a chance to appreciate how great these places were! ”  

Marion Morris • Submitted 15 Feb 2018
Train in Nuwara Eliya
Colombo, Caves & Kandy
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

We had a fantastic time on the tour, there were lots of highlights for us including the visit to the village, the train ride and Sigiriya. Our guide Manoj became more personable as the tour progressed and dealt with some more difficult travellers in a very professional manner.

A suggestion we had was to make the tour a day longer and have a rest day part way through as without exception we were all exhausted with the pace of the tour.

Whilst we were disappointed that the date of the festival was changed, the replacement meal at the Shangri La hotel was fabulous, thank you! ”  

Jacqui Thresher • Submitted 15 Feb 2018
Colombo Festival acrobats - Sri Lanka Tours - On The Go Tours
Colombo Festival
9 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed the tour, and it was the perfect start to our honeymoon.

Pros:

In advance of leaving for the tour Libby was fantastic giving us all of the information we needed, and was very helpful.

Booking with OTG was easy, and the experience felt personal.

The hotels were all fantastic! I think we were lucky to get a few "honeymoon" upgrades which we appreciated massively. However, aside from these upgrades, I still think all of the hotels were excellent - clean, great service, and in general, very good food.

Transport - great bus, clean, aircon, wifi, comfortable, spacious, water etc - very good!

The guide - Manoj was great; informative, friendly, and able to help with any questions/problems that cropped up.

The tour was mostly well balanced between travel and experiences except for the below...

Cons

The difficult balance between time at location vs travel time... Particularly at Sigiriya - I think we could have spent longer there, and had a better chance to look around. As well as at Polonnaruwa. ”  

David Henderson • Submitted 11 Feb 2018
Colombo Festival acrobats - Sri Lanka Tours - On The Go Tours
Colombo Festival
9 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour had a higher degree of comfort to our normal trips and we found we enjoyed the quality of the hotels and the comfort of the travel. We certainly were 'on the go' and found that the time given to each activity was just about right. The visit to the tea factory was mediocre but the canoe trip and lunch cooked by the Sri Lankan ladies was amazing. Manoj did an excellent job of organising everything to run smoothly and was a mine of information about his country. We certainly enjoyed the company of the group, we were quite varied but got on really well. For us, the group travel made the tour much more fun than a private driver. The beach aspect gave us a good opportunity to relax at the end of the busy tour.”  

Lynda Slade • Submitted 19 Jan 2018
Sri-Lanka-Beach
Buddha and Beach
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Very enjoyable tour - there is a lot packed in to each day with early starts and typically not getting to the next hotel until around 6pm. The traffic in Sri Lanka meant we missed lunch on a few days. the our guide was great - he had a demanding group with some of the individuals however he always tried to over deliver and was highly knowledgeable. Yala Jetwing was excellent!! ”  

Dawn Cooper • Submitted 9 Jan 2018
Leopard in Yala - Sri Lanka Tours - On The Go Tours
Wild About Sri Lanka
10 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

As a first time traveller overseas without family, I was a bit apprehensive for going on a tour, but really did not need to be- the guide, group and itinerary were great. We had such an excellent time in Sri Lanka thanks to On The Go tours. We were very busy, with long days (lots of time on the bus too) but at night there was always a nice hotel to go to where we could relax. Manoj was a great guide who cared a lot about our tour experience. Unfortunately, due to unforseen personal circumstances he was unable to complete the tour with us, however his organisation for the rest of the tour with another guide was faultless. We ate mainly at buffets due to time constraints and the range available, however I would have personally preferred more local/authentic Sri Lankan options. We saw so much during our tour and it has made me have a great appreciation for the country. I wouldn't hesitate to book again with On The Go. ”  

Emily Hoff • Submitted 22 Dec 2017
Sri-Lanka-Beach
Buddha and Beach
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Lovely guide, very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about his country. There were a few issues on the trip which he sorted out in the back ground while we focused on enjoying ourselves. Tour was good mix of hiking and culture. Got a real feel for the country. ”  

Louise Gardie-Lloyd • Submitted 15 Dec 2017
Adam's Peak - On The Go Tours
Sri Lanka Tracks & Trails
14 Days Day | Trekking Holidays
Tour
Guide
Country

Jehan was a fabulous guide - he could explain cultural sites, showed us some local markets, was excellent at spotting wildlife and was a very safe driver as well. We were very spoiled, being the only guests on the trip. It was a good experience to visit some smaller places and get off the beaten track. The itinerary worked very well with less visited parks visited early in the trip. Yala NP was lovely, but gee, there were a lot of jeeps! Accommodation was very good: Wilpattu Eco Lodge was a great introduction to a tented camp. They served wonderful food. Farcry Wasugama was a bit strange as we were the only guests, but staff were very hospitable and welcoming. Gal Oya Lodge was a very special place. It is one of the best places we have ever stayed, and for us, Gal Oya NP was our favourite NP. We were upgraded to a suite at Uduwalawe. It was a lovely room. Jetwing Yala was also a very special place. When we return, we will definitely wish to spend some more time there. The Fairway Colombo was in a perfect city location. I fell in love with Sri Lanka - the country, the animals, the welcoming smiling people, the food. I can't wait to return. ”  

Rebecca Norton • Submitted 1 Dec 2017
Elephants in Sri Lanka - On The Go Tours
Safari in Sri Lanka
9 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Fantastic saw all the places that where listed , very lucky with the weather the group on the bus where fabulous the guide he was great and it was my daughters birthday they decorated the bus with balloons and streamers and plus a birthday cake. Would definitely book On The Go Tour again. Sandra. ”  

Sandra Jago-Warne • Submitted 2 Nov 2017
Train in Nuwara Eliya
Colombo, Caves & Kandy
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Manoj was an excellent guide. He was informative and fun. He also went above and beyond when some of the group were sick and similarly when it was someone's birthday. The tour was well organised and well run in general. The hotels were all fantastic. The visit to the local village was lovely. The food in particular was excellent. ”  

Verona Botha • Submitted 24 Oct 2017
Train in Nuwara Eliya
Colombo, Caves & Kandy
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Very well informed guide, Aktar made sure everything went according to plan and the trip progressed seamlessly. Also he got us front seats to the traditional dance display which was colourful and exciting. We saw so much in a short time, exhausting but worthwhile! All the hotels were very comfortable and varied in style. Sri Lanka is a beautiful tropical paradise, we certainly got a feel for the country and its people, history and culture but there is still much to explore and certainly enough for a second visit. The highlights were Dambulla Buddhas, Sigirya rock, Kandy, the train journey, and of course the elephants. We appreciated the chance to unwind in Bentota and it was a good counterpoint to the tour.”  

Lisa Lawrenson • Submitted 17 Oct 2017
Sri-Lanka-Beach
Buddha and Beach
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Very well informed guide, Aktar made sure everything went according to plan and the trip progressed seamlessly. Also he got us front seats to the traditional dance display which was colourful and exciting. We saw so much in a short time, exhausting but worthwhile! All the hotels were very comfortable and varied in style. Sri Lanka is a beautiful tropical paradise, we certainly got a feel for the country and its people, history and culture but there is still much to explore and certainly enough for a second visit. The highlights were Dambulla Buddhas, Sigirya rock, Kandy, the train journey, and of course the elephants. We appreciated the chance to unwind in Bentota and it was a good counterpoint to the tour.”  

Lisa Lawrenson • Submitted 17 Oct 2017
Sri-Lanka-Beach
Buddha and Beach
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Caroline Shaw was fantastic at all times

Akhtar was a fantastic tour guide

Brilliant tour, loved it all, will definitely be booking with OTG again!”  

Matthew Johnson • Submitted 12 Sep 2017
Sri-Lanka-Beach
Buddha and Beach
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Akhtar is an outstanding tour guide, on arrival my luggage had been delayed in Doha by Qatar Airways he supported me, giving me details of where to get clothes, gave me a lift to the shop, and then acted as my link with the airline. Outstanding service. During the trip he shared his knowledge and passion about Sri Lanka but also got to know each of us and we had a brilliant laugh as a group. We really felt like Akhtar became a part of the group. The trip allowed us to see so many wonderful sights, I highly recommended the trip and On the Go to my friends. ”  

Katie Rawlinson • Submitted 14 Aug 2017
Sri-Lanka-Beach
Buddha and Beach
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Amazing tour. Some great treasures that we got to see. Most of the hotels included were great (Hotel in Marissa could be missed if not doing the whale watching, which we didn't, as the hotel wasn't good). I can not stress that this tour was made by the guide Akthar. An amazing guide, had a considerable amount of knowledge and knew how to interact with us all. He really did make the trip and kept us all together. Respectful to us and the locals. Just a great guide.”  

Yateen Patel • Submitted 11 Aug 2017
Leopard in Yala - Sri Lanka Tours - On The Go Tours
Wild About Sri Lanka
10 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

He was fantastic. Very informative and kept us going all the time ”  

Kerrie Slimmon • Submitted 11 Aug 2017
Sri-Lanka-Beach
Buddha and Beach
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

We are just wild about Wild in Sri Lanka.

We truly had the best guide, Akthar Mohamed. He was knowledgeable, funny, accommodating, interesting and easy to like. The hotels were great and the food was unreal. We felt that there were few changes that should be done....honestly the only thing that we were NOT happy with were the mini bars in the room. None of them were big enough to store a bottle of wine and none of them kept cold. We would go on another On the Go Tour in a minute. PS Our guide was the best and we wish to nominate him as Guide of the Year. Highly recommended company.”  

LESLIE MARGULIS • Submitted 13 May 2017
Leopard in Yala - Sri Lanka Tours - On The Go Tours
Wild About Sri Lanka
10 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

I was surprised with Sri Lanka and had a WOW experience. The free cold water on the bus was a daily lifeline! Akthar is an excellent guide. The bus driver did almost the impossible and the assistant was ever present, friendly and helpful. The itinerary was packed and therefore very good value for money. Thanks to On the Go.”  

Jac-Mare Smith • Submitted 8 May 2017
Train in Nuwara Eliya
Colombo, Caves & Kandy
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

We were very impressed with the faultless logistics of the tour. Everything ran so smooth that it made the lengthy travel and changing hotels hassle and stress free. We'd definitely use On the go tours again! ”  

Leanne Richardson • Submitted 18 Apr 2017
Train in Nuwara Eliya
Colombo, Caves & Kandy
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

We had Great time on this tour and well organised with excellent tour guides. On this tour we achieved more than our expectations. ”  

Champaklal Mistry • Submitted 6 Apr 2017
Katurogoda Ancient Vihara in Jaffna - Sri Lanka Tours - On The Go Tours
Sri Lanka Northeast Explorer
12 Days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Excellent tour, excellent guide, nothing to think about except getting up early, everything was organised even carrying luggage to hotel room. Aktar had a great sense of humour too.transfer pickups prompt and efficient. Nothing was a bother to rearrange as and when needed. Thoroughly enjoyed the trip and would highly recommend it ”  

Ann Jarmolowicz • Submitted 4 Apr 2017
Train in Nuwara Eliya
Colombo, Caves & Kandy
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

This was my first on the go tour and I was impressed with the good organisation and standards of accommodation throughout. Our tour guide Akthar could not be faulted. His knowledge was impeccable and he was able to tweak the tour to make sure we had the best experience. He was always able give practical advice about where to eat, how to get there etc and on one evening gave up his free time to accompany some of the group to a restaurant frequented by locals. He was very particular about ensuring that all food stops and comfort breaks were "clean" and no-one suffered from any gastric problems at all. He was excellent in reading the group to maximise our enjoyment”  

Helen Stacey • Submitted 14 Mar 2017
Train in Nuwara Eliya
Colombo, Caves & Kandy
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Akthar was an incredible guide! Very knowledgeable, highly professional and accommodating. I feel like Akthar made the whole trip for me.”  

Tara Smolak • Submitted 17 Feb 2017
Colombo Festival acrobats - Sri Lanka Tours - On The Go Tours
Colombo Festival
9 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

This was a good introduction to the country and we certainly fit a lot in. Our tour guide, Akthar, was exceptional. He was very knowledgeable about his country and gave lots of information about the real Sri Lanka. He managed to keep the group organised and was on hand if any issues arose. I would certainly travel with on the go tours again in the future.”  

Lisa Bergstrand • Submitted 2 Jan 2017
Train in Nuwara Eliya
Colombo, Caves & Kandy
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Fantastic tour , saw so much in a short space of time. Can I suggest the Brochure/tour details emphasised how physical getting to some of the sites were and that appropriate attire is required for the temples. I am not complaining! It gave us a good workout but we would like to have been more prepared. Our your guide Aktar was excellent. Very friendly with in depth knowledge of the sites and the country. ”  

Alison Peverley • Submitted 2 Dec 2016
Sri-Lanka-Beach
Buddha and Beach
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour was wonderful, if a little pressed for time. It certainly gave a fabulous insight into Sri Lanka and an intimate glimpse of the culture and people.

Akthar was a wonderful guide. He was knowledgeable, clear and explained things as they really are (i.e. not always the glossy view, but a true account of situation). He had indepth knowledge of all aspects of the tour. I felt very comfortable with his approach.”  

Kay Monnington • Submitted 2 Dec 2016
Sri-Lanka-Beach
Buddha and Beach
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Our tour was full on. Our guide was honest and warned us at the beginning that we would be "on the Go" for the most of the tour. It was amazing. He was amazing. We covered an incredible amount of wonderful, historic, cultural sites. Aktar was informative as well as interesting and amusing in all aspects of our trip. We knew it was a tour of Buddas but we did end up with one too many! Our choice of trip though. It was a good mixture, having the historic input then the beach to unwind. Everyone we came in contact with was friendly and helpful.”  

Patricia Findlay • Submitted 30 Nov 2016
Sri-Lanka-Beach
Buddha and Beach
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

I would like to express my gratitude and thanks to Akthar in making our tour very enjoyable. Akthar is a very special person. He went above and beyond his duties to make out tour extremely enjoyable and run smoothly. Nothing was too much trouble. A genuine guy whom we all got on extremely well with. I am very grateful to him for not only organising the safe return of my passports which I left in a hotel but his invaluable help in sorting out photos required for my daughters visa, which was done in his own time.

As a group, we can't rate him highly enough.”  

Stacey Harris • Submitted 3 Nov 2016
Train in Nuwara Eliya
Colombo, Caves & Kandy
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour was absolutely fantastic, accommodation exceeded expectations and despite the early morning starts everything was brilliant. A special thank you to our guide Akthar who was friendly, knowledgeable and genuinely cared about our wellness and comfort throughout the entire tour.

Regarding the second part of our tour (the "Go Wild" part) our second guide Farzan was friendly and knowledgable about the animal species in the second park but did not seem as 'on the ball' as Akthar did. We were left mainly to our own devices in Galle and not accompanied in the final Flamingo National Park which was fine but having had such a great guide at the beginning of the week it was a slight come down, however this did not spoil the enjoyment of the holiday and I would most definitely recommend this tour to my friends.

Stay awesome Akthar! ”  

Lisa Apted • Submitted 19 Oct 2016
Leopard in Yala - Sri Lanka Tours - On The Go Tours
Wild About Sri Lanka
10 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Sri Lanka was a beautiful country. This tour provided a very good variety of activities and scenery so we had a great holiday seeing many different sights. The highlight was definitely the Jeep Safari through the national park and the elephant orphanage. We had a great guide who was very knowledgeable and made the experience very easy.”  

Teegan Coutouvidis • Submitted 30 Sep 2016
Train in Nuwara Eliya
Colombo, Caves & Kandy
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Awesome tour with a superb guide and group of people. Accomodation and sights were fantastic, culminating with the safari in the Udawalawe National Park. The Kandy Festival, Sigiriya, train ride to Nuwara Eliya and home cooking in a local village were all great too.

The tea factory visit was a little disappointing; would have been good to see the whole process. Also the visit to the Spice Garden and Gem Museum seemed like they were just selling to tourists.

Overall a great trip and would recommend it to others!”  

Brendan Woodbridge • Submitted 26 Aug 2016
Train in Nuwara Eliya
Colombo, Caves & Kandy
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

The guide was great, the tour was very fast paced (Lots of early starts) but great fun and a really variety of different experiences and contrasts. The Safari, train ride and village lunch were the highlights for me!”  

Andrew Lye • Submitted 22 Aug 2016
Colombo Festival acrobats - Sri Lanka Tours - On The Go Tours
Colombo Festival
9 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

This tour was very good, the hotels were all good the bus was very good and our tour guide Aktar was 1st class, very knowledgeable and helpful. He was well organised nothing was a problem. The tour schedule was a little rushed with no free time but because it all went smooth the slight bad points were irrelevant as the whole group had a good time. we can recommend this tour in confidence.”  

Anthony Shaw • Submitted 21 Aug 2016
CCKF_Temple_of_the_Tooth_-_Kandy
Colombo Caves & Kandy Festival
8 days Day |
Tour
Guide
Country

Manoj is an experienced Tour Leader representing On The Go in Sri Lanka.

Manoj did a lot of little things that made the trip easier in particular bulk purchasing water bottles that were freely available to the entire trip, a couple of times organised coconut water, fruits and nice creams, this really helps in the heat and humidity of Sri Lanka.

Additionally Manoj organised replacement activities when the Sri Lankan v Australia Cricket Test Match ended early and created an additional activity after the tour had ended for Isabel, Sarah and myself (whale and turtle watching) which was surprising and very welcomed.

This was an amazing trip covering a range of activities from landscapes, wildlife, temples, and locals. The real highlight was observing elephants in particular at watching them enjoy themselves at Pinnawala in a river, the baby elephants being hand fed at Udawalawe and roaming in the National Park.

Being a Buddhist nation ancient Temples and Stupas are going to be highlights on any visit to Sri Lanka which I thoroughly enjoyed in particular the Anuradhapura temples. But you will also find that a lot of these temples and stupas are on mountains or hills which offer great views in particular Dambulla Rock Temple and the Sigiriya ‘Lion Rock’ Fortress.

I would strongly recommend this trip, Sri Lankans are a very friendly people and as a tourist you are treated well without too much harassment. The the hotels and resorts used by this company are first rate and the experiences will stay with you long after leaving. You might struggle with the heat and humidity, I did, you might also struggle walking bare footed at the various temples, but in the end a trip to Sri Lanka is a great experience and On The Go did an excellent job. ”  

Nathan Burgess • Submitted 16 Aug 2016
Train in Nuwara Eliya
Colombo, Caves & Kandy
8 days Day | Group Tours

The tour war arranged really good. Akthar is a perfect tour guide. The tour chauffeur guide from day 8-10 was not as helpfull as expected, but polite.”  

Eva Knoblauch • Submitted 31 May 2016
Leopard in Yala - Sri Lanka Tours - On The Go Tours
Wild About Sri Lanka
10 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

We had an absolutely fantastic holiday; a real trip of a lifetime (until the next one, of course). We packed so much into the 12 days, seeing all the many sights and sides of Sri Lanka - we felt as though we really got under the skin of the nation. Whilst there were one or two activities that weren't really for us (the elephant orphanage and the gem shop visit was a bit weird), overall we did just about everything we wanted to see and do. We're a bit depressed to be home, to be honest!

Akhtar was a very affable and knowledgeable guide - nothing was too much trouble for him and we enjoyed spending time with him socially beyond just the daily itinerary. It really struck us how knowledgeable he was to the wider world beyond Sri Lanka, despite not being fortunately enough to be able to travel frequently himself. It'd be cool to see On The Go Tours send him off to explore another part of the world - we're sure he'd come back with a few good stories!

Loved the country, loved the tour and loved the people (natives, guide and fellow tour group members).

Tom & Sarah

NOTE FROM ON THE GO: As part of our Responsible Travel and Animal Welfare Policy as of 01 October 2016 we will no longer be including the Pinnawala Elephant Orphanage or any other elephant related activity, (aside from viewing in their natural habitat) within our tours.”  

Thomas Harvey • Submitted 10 May 2016
Sri-Lanka-Beach
Buddha and Beach
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

This is my 6th On the Go tour and i was not dissapointed with the itinerary or the guide (including support staff - especially our driver). As stated we were continually on the go and the guide very informative throughout. Traffic was a nightmare - but that was part of the culture / country we were in and part of the experience - it did detract though from having some valuable downtime which was a shame. The historical sites and knowlege of our guide made this tour and my walk up lion rock - whilst nearlly killing me was worth every effort. Feedback on the tour itinerary for me would be to drop the visits to the tea plantation, gem shop and spice garden. All these places were commercial in nature and I felt thise interested in such could obtain the same items whilst having free time in some of the beautiful towns we visited - particularly Kandy. I also think if Galle could be included on this itinerary it would round off a great cultural tour (we did a day trip to Galle during our stay in Bentota). Once again a credit to On the Go and I look forward to planning my 7th trip. - thanks Danny”  

Daniel Bacon • Submitted 24 Apr 2016
Sri-Lanka-Beach
Buddha and Beach
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Tour guide was fantastic. He went out of his way to make sure everyone was happy and had what they needed. He was very informative and interesting. He was accomdating and made sure everyone was informed and comfortable with the elephant orphanage decision.

Highlights of the tour were the safaris, sigiriya, and polonnaruwa. ”  

elizabeth garbeck • Submitted 5 Apr 2016
Leopard in Yala - Sri Lanka Tours - On The Go Tours
Wild About Sri Lanka
10 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Thanks for a great trip, we really enjoyed it and absolutely loved Sri Lanka! The tour content was fantastic, but pace was too fast for me. I did want to see a lot so this tour definitely ticked a lot of boxes but I'd also have appreciated some free time to break up the activity- perhaps one extra day would make a difference? A few other comments:

- Standard of hotels was excellent, but we had very little time to enjoy them - particularly the nice pools! As above, would be nice to have a few hours here and there to relax a little

- The elephant orphanage isn't for everyone, some in the group found this a bit uncomfortable

- Colombo tour wasn't great as felt like we were driving round in circles for no real reason! Perhaps a walking tour would be better?

- Aktar was a really informative guide, and shared loads of interesting cultural insights which definitely enhanced the tour. His welcome meeting was far too detailed for me though, and he spoke for long periods on the coach trips, sometime this was too much.

Overall a great tour, but hopefully a few helpful comments to inform future planning! ”  

Laura Berry • Submitted 13 Mar 2016
Train in Nuwara Eliya
Colombo, Caves & Kandy
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Thank you on the go tours! We had a fantastic trip. It was certainly 'on the go' from start to finish but we saw a lot which was one of our objectives as we wanted to make the most of the time available. The guide Akthar deserves a special mention-he was superb. His commentary was informative and entertaining and he went above and beyond to expose us to authentic Sri Lankan experiences. The trip was very well organised and the driver did a great job getting us around safely (no mean feat when you see how they drive in Sri Lanka)! I would recommend on the go tours and would certainly book another trip with on the go tours. ”  

Gemma Crawford • Submitted 6 Mar 2016
Train in Nuwara Eliya
Colombo, Caves & Kandy
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Overall it was an amazing experience, Aktar was an incredible and reliable guide and was very knowledgeable. A little more free time to walk and look around would have been good but overall we had a trip of a lifetime and have many lifelong memories.”  

Simone Koeberler • Submitted 15 Dec 2015
Sri-Lanka-Beach
Buddha and Beach
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

The hotels exceeded our expectations as did the breakfasts at each hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed the canoe trip to the local village and helping to prepare lunch. Aktar was an exceptional guide, knowledgeable as well as good fun and his tip for sunset drinks at the Ozo on a Saturday night with Jazz playing was spot on.”  

Cheryl & Denis Dedele • Submitted 15 Dec 2015
Train in Nuwara Eliya
Colombo, Caves & Kandy
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

This was a terrific tour! It was a very quick fly by adventure with every day packed with at least 3-4 different exciting and interesting aspects to explore. The best part was our tour guide, he was so knowledgeable about everything and so pleasant and accommodating.

I would really recommend Sri Lanka as a place to visit and tours was very organised with eventful things to do and wonderful accommodation!”  

Julietta Trollip • Submitted 24 Nov 2015
Train in Nuwara Eliya
Colombo, Caves & Kandy
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Overall the trip was great and well rounded and I have thoroughly enjoyed and loved the country. Aktar is very diligent and a credit to On The Go.

Suggested improvements: The Nuwara Eliya day needs activities added. Perhaps we should squeeze in a trip to the National Railway Museum to learn more about the rail. Eating at more local restaurants would be good too.

Loved all the elephants and monkeys and I will be booking another On The Go tour ASAP so I hope you offer a discount for subsequent bookings.”  

Philippa Tranter • Submitted 5 Sep 2015
CCKF_Temple_of_the_Tooth_-_Kandy
Colombo Caves & Kandy Festival
8 days Day |
Tour
Guide
Country

Had an excellent time Akthar was very helpful and informative. This was a very fast paced tour and feel that it should be lengthened a day or two just to give some people breathing space”  

Trina Donkin • Submitted 2 Sep 2015
CCKF_Temple_of_the_Tooth_-_Kandy
Colombo Caves & Kandy Festival
8 days Day |
Tour
Guide
Country

Aktar is a brilliant guide. We have experienced many over the years and this enhanced the experience for us. His organisational skills and sense of humour was invaluable. Thank you”  

Norman Arnold • Submitted 1 Sep 2015
CCKF_Temple_of_the_Tooth_-_Kandy
Colombo Caves & Kandy Festival
8 days Day |
Tour
Guide
Country

What a lovely guy Farzan is, nothing was too much trouble for him and he was often replenishing our stock of water bottles without us even asking. He was extremely knowledgeable and and amusing and it was as if we had known him for years. He certainly made our experience of Sri Lanka a very enjoyable one. He also took lots of photos and was happy to share these both on your site and with us personally, often capturing unguarded moments, some flattering (some not so flattering!) His wildlife shots from the vehicle safari in the national park were stunning and it's lovely to see his love of conservation, very much reflected by many of the Sri Lankan people we met. I'd happily recommend your company and Farzan personally to anybody wanting to visit Sri Lanka. ”  

Caroline Salt • Submitted 23 Jul 2015
Sri-Lanka-Beach
Buddha and Beach
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Very nice and interesting tour to get a first Impression of the country, especially the mountains and the national park were very nice. Personally would leave the Elephant orphanage as basically nothing but a zoo and its more interesting to see the elephants in the wild...

Very nice was also the extra lunch at local village with boot ride rather than in the ´tourist restaurants who sometimes served less good food but at higher cost. Tour guide was very nice, knowledgable and helpful.

Would be nice to have more time for exploring local markets and villages. Hotels were brilliant with great buffees. Great to get free water on the bus at any time. For shopping i would prefer little local shops rather than big tourist jewelery Shops that basically all sell the same overly priced.

Beach Hotel was very nice with expecially good buffees, very nice guesture was a Special birthday cake and decoration of the room, very much appreciated by the Hotel staff.”  

Christiane Caspers • Submitted 17 Nov 2014
Sri-Lanka-Beach
Buddha and Beach
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

The trip was flawless from start to finish. Satish was a complete professional and gave lots of information throughout, made us laugh, gave honest insight into Indian culture and arranged every details to perfection. Have had the trip of a lifetime and will definitely return to India. ”  

Joanna Battery • Submitted 27 Oct 2014
Colombo-Caves-&-Kandy-Main-Itinierary-Main-Group-Tours-Sri-Lanka
Delhi to Colombo
15 days Day | Group Tours

Kalum was a fantastic guide. He was helpful, professional, friendly and knowledgable. He provided us with historical and contextual information everywhere we went which gave us a real flavour of Sri Lanka. He also made some great suggestions like the massage and elephant ride, as well as taking us to a place for lunch in traditional surroundings with great food. We would definitely return as our trip went far too quickly! Thank you!”  

Rosa Milne • Submitted 24 Oct 2014
Sri-Lanka-Beach
Buddha and Beach
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

There is a lot of time on the coach on this tour, and I think it is too short by a couple of days. we didn't have time to look around Kandy on foot, or Colombo - not the guide's fault, but there was too much travelling in between places to allow time for this in 8 days. all the hotels were good except the one in Nuwara Eliya which was not good. (the staff were nice though) The hotel as Kandy was so out of the way that it was imparactical to go into town in the evening to have a look round independantly, and there was no time in the day for this. I would have liked more time at some of the sites, particularly Sigariya and Polonnaruwa, as I think there was more to see than we had time for. Lovely trip - but you don't do the country justice by cramming it all in.”  

Tracy Kane • Submitted 22 Oct 2014
Train in Nuwara Eliya
Colombo, Caves & Kandy
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Tour in India & Sri Lanka. Excellent tour visiting major sites and others of interest. Kandy Festival was wonderful. Hotels excellent but generally isolated - opportunities to eat elsewhere would have been appreciated.”  

Robyn Wootton • Submitted 12 Sep 2014
Colombo-Caves-&-Kandy-Main-Itinierary-Main-Group-Tours-Sri-Lanka
Delhi to Colombo
15 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Combined tour of India & Sri Lanka. Excellent sites & scenery. Quality accommodation but somewhat isolated such that evening meals were at hotel without opportunity to eat in restaurants elsewhere.

Would prefer that On the Go Tours booked flight from Delhi to Colombo as part of trip, even if price advised at time of booking. Guide changed for final day into Colombo (personal reasons). Did not stop at gem mine & museum in Ratnapura as expected, per itinerary, & city tour of Colombo was on way to hotel & brief.”  

Robyn Wootton • Submitted 12 Sep 2014
Sri Lanka Coast
Sri Lanka Encompassed
15 days Day | Private Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Our guide opened my eyes to what a beautiful, vibrant, hectic, exciting country India is. And what a contrast Sri Lanka was - tropical & calm! Thank you for a great time. ”  

Nicola Spencer • Submitted 14 Mar 2013
Colombo-Caves-&-Kandy-Main-Itinierary-Main-Group-Tours-Sri-Lanka
Delhi to Colombo
15 days Day | Group Tours