Save 20%
FROM: £1,088

Embark on a five star Egyptian adventure. Stay in one of Cairo's smartest hotels, cruise the River Nile in style aboard a 5 star Nile cruiser and be expertly guided by a professional Egyptologist guides for your entire stay.

Inclusions
Itinerary
Prices & Dates
Hotels
Reviews

Trip Highlights

5 star Nile River Cruise - spend four nights onboard a luxury cruise boat
Luxor West Bank - discover exquisite tombs in the Valley of the Kings, the towering Colossi of Memnon and the beautiful Temple of Queen Hatshepsut
Aswan - visit the High Dam, take leisurely boat trip to Agilika Island to explore the romantic Philae Temple and wander around the colourful souqs
Kom Ombo - visit the Nile side Temple of Kom Ombo
Cairo - marvel at the legendary Pyramids of Giza, explore the Necropolis of Saqqara and see King Tut's treasures at the Egyptian Museum
Luxor - roam around the colossal Temple of Karnak and see the beautifully illuminated Luxor Temple at night
Elephantine Island and Kitchener island - visit the islands on a felucca sailing trip

Included

Breakfast daily, 4 lunches, 6 dinners - (2 aboard sleeper train)
2 overnight trains: Cairo - Aswan and Luxor - Cairo (Private 2 berth sleeper cabin) including meals
Touring and sightseeing in Cairo, Giza, Saqqara, Luxor and Aswan
Escorted by an Egyptian tour guide degree qualified in Egyptology (groups of 4 or more)
3 nights 5 star hotels, 4 nights aboard luxury 5 star Nile Cruiser (en suite cabin)
Airport arrival and departure transfer day 1 and day 10
Felucca Sailing around the islands of Aswan
All relevant transfer and transportation in private modern air-conditioned vehicles

Not Included

International flights and visa
Entrance Fees: USD$80-100pp, paid in local currency
Tip for your tour guide. We recommend you allow USD$5 - 7 per day, per traveller. Tipping your guide is an entirely personal gesture
Tipping Kitty: USD$60-80pp, paid in local currency

Itinerary

Day 1

Cairo

Friday. Welcome to Egypt and the start of a wonderful holiday! Arrive Cairo airport, and included transfer to your 5 star hotel located in downtown Cairo. The rest of the day is free to relax or those arriving early can opt to pre book our optional Backstreets of Cairo tour which departs the hotel at 10am today.

For those who wish to extend their stay, we also offer a pre or post tour Alexandria Day Trip.
Overnight: Cairo

Day 2

Egyptian Museum

We start with the dazzling antiquities at the Egyptian Museum. Amongst the many exhibits are the treasures of King Tutankhamun.
Overnight: Cairo  |  Breakfast

Day 3

Pyramids of Giza

Cairo - Luxor. Today we visit Egypt's most loved sight - The Great Pyramids of Giza. We explore the Giza plateau, pyramids and massive Sphinx. We continue on to explore Saqqara - an ancient necropolis with many half-buried tombs and the famous Zhoser’s step pyramid. Later we travel to Luxor by overnight train. You will be accommodated in comfortable twin sleeper cabins. A light dinner is served on board.

If you don’t fancy travelling by overnight sleeper train, consider our Treasures of the Nile tour that replaces overnight trains with flights and comfortable 5 star hotels.
Overnight: Sleeper Train  |  Breakfast, Dinner

Day 4

Valley of the Kings

Arriving into Luxor this morning we visit the incredible Valley of the Kings. The massive pair of statues known as the Colossi of Memnon are the first monuments you’ll see during our morning visit to the West Bank - home to the legendary Valley of the Kings. You’ll also see the colonnaded Temple of Queen Hatshepsut. Return to Luxor for check-in on board our Nile 5 star cruiser. Lunch at leisure and time to relax until our early evening visit to the Temple of Luxor. Luxor Temple looks stunning at dusk and is beautifully illuminated at night.

Note: Dependent upon Nile Cruiser scheduling it maybe required that we also undertake our excursion to Karnak Temple this afternoon. Should this occur, day 5 will be spent at leisure.
Overnight: Nile Cruising  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 5

Luxor & Nile Cruising

Luxor - Nile cruising. This morning we tour the ancient city of Thebes (the East Bank), taking in the magnificent Temple of Karnak. More than a temple, Karnak is a gigantic and stunning complex of sanctuaries and pylons dedicated to the Theban gods. Anchors away this afternoon as we set sail downstream.
Overnight: Nile Cruising  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 6

Cruising & Kom Ombo

Nile cruising. Relax as we sail the Nile. Later today we visit the Temple of Kom Ombo. A unique riverside temple, it is unusual in that everything architecturally is doubled and perfectly symmetrical along the main axis of the temple including twin halls, courts, colonnades, sanctuaries and entrances. Arrive Aswan, a prosperous town at the crossroads of the ancient caravan routes late evening.
Overnight: Nile Cruising  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 7

The Philae Temple

Nile cruiser - Aswan. Today, we enjoy a short boat trip to Agilika Island for Philae Temple - dedicated to the goddess Isis. The temple dates from 4th century BC but the Ptolomies and the Romans up to 3rd century AD built most of the existing structures. In danger of being completely submerged by the rising water of Lake Nasser, in 1972 UNESCO stepped in and an 8-year rescue effort was undertaken to relocate the entire temple 20m higher on nearby Agilika Island. We then make a stop at a perfume oil emporium. Perfumed oils in Egypt dates back to 2700BC and were used by women, pharaohs and by temple priests.

After lunch, we visit the High Dam and take a felucca sailing trip to Elephantine and Kitchener Island. As the sun sets, free time to shop in the colourful souqs and markets or simply relax and watch an amazing sunset in Egypt’s southern most town straddling the River Nile.
Overnight: Nile Cruising  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 8

Optional excursion to Abu Simbel

Aswan - Cairo. Consider the optional early morning excursion to the Temples of Ramses II at Abu Simbel. Please see our Abu Simbel by Road add-on for more info. Alternatively you can spend the morning at leisure.

If you choose not to embark upon this optional excursion, there is plenty to do in Aswan. You can explore Aswan, its beautiful shoreline and corniche or perhaps do a spot of shopping. Late this afternoon, we board the overnight train (twin berth sleeper cabins provided) for our journey back to Cairo. A light dinner is served on board.
Overnight: Sleeper Train  |  Breakfast, Dinner

Day 9

Cairo

This morning have breakfast in your train cabin and upon arrival into Cairo transfer to the hotel and check in. Upon arrival transfer to the hotel and check in. The rest of the day is free for you to enjoy the hotel facilities or you can opt to join our optional tour visiting Old Cairo, Coptic Cairo and the Citadel of Saladin (book locally).
Overnight: Cairo  |  Breakfast

Day 10

Cairo

Sunday. Tour ends after breakfast. Included onward transfer to airport.
Breakfast

Sun Festival Tours

If you are planning on travelling with us in February 2019 or October 2019 consider our Ramses Sunrise or Jewel of the Nile Sun Festival tours. These tours include arrangements similar to those of our Jewel of the Nile with the added highlight of witnessing the Sun Festival of King Ramses II at Abu Simbel.

Ramses II had his grand temple carefully angled and oriented in order that the sun's rays would align twice a year on the date of his ascension to the throne (21 February) and on his birthday (21 October) and illuminate the inner sanctum of the temple. This incredible natural phenomenon provides for a most spectacular sight as the sun illuminates the 3 statues of the living world, whilst the statute of Ptah - the god of darkness - remains in the shadows. The temple was re-located in a multi-million dollar operation in 1972, further up from the shoreline of Lake Nasser. In the temples new position the sun now strikes a day later than Ramses had originally planned.

Includes: Coach from Aswan to Abu Simbel early morning on the day of the festival. Guided visit to Abu Simbel, the sunrise event, entrance fees and visitor ticket for this excursion. Return coach journey to Aswan after the event.

Prices & Dates

Departure dates noted with a 'G' are guaranteed to operate. All other departure dates are guaranteed with a minimum of 2 persons. Prices shown are per person when there are 2 persons sharing a room. The 'Single supplement' applies for single travellers who require their own room and needs to be added to the per person price.

Read More
Xmas departure, book early!
XMAS Departure
New Years departure, book early!
New Year Departure
This is a Sun Festival departure and we've included special touring arrangements. For travel in Oct 2019 & Oct 2020, please see our Treasures of the Nile Sun Festival tour which includes 2 flights, no overnight trains. For travel in Feb 2020, please see our Ramses Sunrise itinerary which includes one flight and one overnight train. Both itineraries are located within the 'Festival Tours' section on our website.
Sun Festival
Please note this tour departs on a Saturday.
Saturday Departure
Easter departure, book early!
Easter Departure
Guaranteed Departure
Available
Contact us to book
Sold out
2019
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
£1,360
£695
20 Sep - 29 Sep 20% offG
£1,360
£1,088

£695
£1,360
£695
£1,360
£695
£1,360
£695
15 Nov - 24 Nov 15% offG
£1,360
£1,156

£695
£1,360
£695
06 Dec - 15 Dec 10% offG
£1,360
£1,224

£695
20 Dec - 29 Dec 10% offXmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
£1,515
£1,364

£695
27 Dec - 05 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
G
£1,515
£695
2020
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
15 Feb - 24 Feb This is a Sun Festival departure and we've included special touring arrangements. For travel in Oct 2019 & Oct 2020, please see our Treasures of the Nile Sun Festival tour which includes 2 flights, no overnight trains. For travel in Feb 2020, please see our Ramses Sunrise itinerary which includes one flight and one overnight train. Both itineraries are located within the 'Festival Tours' section on our website.
This is a Sun Festival departure and we've included special touring arrangements. For travel in Oct 2019 & Oct 2020, please see our Treasures of the Nile Sun Festival tour which includes 2 flights, no overnight trains. For travel in Feb 2020, please see our Ramses Sunrise itinerary which includes one flight and one overnight train. Both itineraries are located within the 'Festival Tours' section on our website.
Please note this tour departs on a Saturday.
Please note this tour departs on a Saturday.
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
03 Apr - 12 Apr Easter departure, book early!
Easter departure, book early!
£1,570
£735
10 Apr - 19 Apr Easter departure, book early!
Easter departure, book early!
£1,570
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
18 Dec - 27 Dec Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
£1,570
£735
25 Dec - 03 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
£1,570
£735
2021
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
£1,095
£695

Extra Prices

Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
Private Tour Supplement
£590
-  
Pre Tour Accommodation
£115
£35
Post Tour Accommodation
£115
£35

Hotels

The hotels listed below are ones which we frequently use on this tour. We reserve the right to substitute these hotels to ones of a similar standard.

InterContinental Semiramis, Cairo

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Hotel

Situated on the banks of the River Nile in the heart of the capital, the luxury InterContinental Semiramis is conveniently located next to the Egyptian Museum and the bustling bazaars of Old Cairo. The tastefully appointed guest rooms have been designed with comfort in mind, with all modern amenities and balconies offering Nile or city views. The hotel's large rooftop pool is perfect for a refreshing dip and with 12 restaurants offering cuisine from across the world there's certainly no shortage of dining options. At the end of the day, head to the Nile Terrace to watch a spectacular sunset over the Nile, with a cool drink in hand.

Le Meridien Pyramids, Cairo

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Hotel

Set within beautifully manicured gardens, Le Meridien Pyramids is a stunning modern hotel affording amazing views of the Pyramids. The guest rooms have been designed with optimum taste and comfort in mind and include state of the art facilities. The outdoor swimming pool includes waterfalls and hydro jets. head to the Citrus Pool Bar in the afternoon for a refreshing beverage under the gaze of the pyramids!

Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Cairo

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Hotel

The recently renovated Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers and Casino is a stylish, contemporary hotel with fantastic views over the Nile. The rooms are particularly spacious with large bright windows, complimentary WiFi and all of the modern amenities required to ensure a comfortable stay. If you're feeling lucky head to the casino, or relax in the spa tub and soak up the sun by the large outdoor pool. The hotel has a choice of three restaurants and bars, where you can enjoy a tasty meal and refreshing drinks after taking in the ancient wonders of Egypt's capital city.

M/S Royal Lotus, Nile Cruising

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Cruise

The luxurious Movenpick M/S Royal Lotus offers extremely spacious cabins and a good range of public areas.

M/S Farah, Nile Cruising

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 star cruise boat

The M/S Farah is a stylish and modern cruise boat, with large cabins that face out over the Nile. Contemporary in decor, the Farah has a large sun deck and swimming pool.

Moon Dance, Nile Cruising

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Cruise

Moondance is a five star deluxe ship designed for luxury cruising on the Nile, accommodating up to 145 passengers.The vessel has 60 cabins and 8 suites offering exquisite comfort amidst an elegant yet intimate décor.

M/S Premium, Nile Cruising

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Cruise

The modern and luxurious M/S Premium cruise boat boasts stylish cabins equipped with all modern amenities and large panoramic windows. Facilities on board include a fitness centre, spacious deck with swimming pool, large restaurant and cocktail bar. Grab a good book and a refreshing beverage and relax on the Sund Deck - the perfect way to spend the day. The M/S Premium sets sail on Mondays on a 4 and 7 night cruise from Luxor and on Fridays on a 3 and 7 night cruise from Aswan.

Reviews

Travellers have rated this tour as 4.77 out of 5 based on 60 recent reviews

1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11

Hi Rene

We had a fabulous trip with On-the-Go! Egypt is such a beautiful place, we thoroughly enjoyed the sights and learning about the culture. Highlights for us were definitely the Nile cruise and Abu Simbel – loved it! The sleeper train was also quite an experience on its own!!

A special thanks must go to Rene Barnard (Flight Centre, SA) for the pre-holiday preps; as well as our tour guide Alam, and our Cairo rep Tom. Alam and Tom were extremely accommodating and made our Egyptian experience even more memorable from the minute we landed in Egypt until we left (thanks Tom). Alam ensured that we visited and shopped at reputable places, and was readily available to advise us when we were in need. Thanks for this Alam, and also for making sure that our special meals were catered for and provided.

We were really lucky to be a part of quite a diverse and fun-loving tour group. We made lots of new friends, who we will certainly be keeping in touch with!

We would not hesitate to recommend this particular tour to friends and family, and we will surely make use of On-the-Go tours in the future!

Kershni and Prileena • Submitted 05 May 2010

I am very happy I chosen your company for the trip. Once again - big thank you. Our guide (Saleeb) was excellent as well as our all representative too. Good work! All my family were really satisfied. I am sending my big thank you to Tadeo too :o)

Milan Macuga • Submitted 10 Oct 2009

We had an amazing time. The Jewel of the Nile package was 99% 5 star all the way right from the initial booking.

I would like to say a special thank you to two named persons:

1) Ryan Newson - London Office

He was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. He helped book our flights too.

He answered any queiries promptly and was very keen to help, polite and patient with all my annoying questions.

2) Mohammed Alam our tour guide who took care of us throughout the trip. He became not only our tour guide -someone who had to do a job but also a friend.

He was very attentive to whole group - meeting all our needs, no matter how demanding!!

We were quite a diverse group with several different personalities and characteristics which automatically makes the tour guide's job a challenge but Mohammed Alam dealt with us all in his stride, with a gentle smile and an abundance of patience and kindness.

An example of this would be when we went to visit Abu Simbel, some of the group had forgotten to pick up their packed lunch from the meeting point.

Mohammed, when he was informed later that afternoon by those members, he provided a replacement meal for them - on his own initiative. Mohammed really goes that extra mile.

Well done! He is actually an inspiration for the rest of us.

I would recommend the tour to everyone. You get to see the main sites of Egypt in one go with a good balance of knowledge from the tour guide and free time to explore the sights yourself.

The transfers from hotel to coach, train and cruise was pretty seamless - felt good not to have to stress about the connections etc and let the tour guide and tour co. representatives sort it all out.

The only down side of the tour was having to wait for several hours for the hotels to check us in or waiting for the night train after checking out of the cruise during the day.

Again, Mohammed Alam came to our rescue and provided us with taxis to take us to a cotton shop so that we would not be bored. He also extended his shift on the last day and stuck around trying to get us checked in to our rooms early while we were waiting for the On the go representative to turn up and take over.

We really appreciate all the effort and enthusiasm he invested in us to make our holiday enjoyable and fun.

Esther Fernandes • Submitted 08 Oct 2009
1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11

In Brief

Range
Trip Type
Starts
Cairo
Ends
Cairo
Departs
Fridays
Group Size
Min 2 / Max 24
Hotel Rating
5 Star
Tour Guide
Yes, escorted by a tour guide
Meals
Breakfast: 9, Lunch: 4, Dinner: 6
Visiting
Countries

Tour Add-ons

Enhance your trip with these amazing added extras and add-ons

The reception by On The Go on our arrival was particularly exceptional. They literal propelled us through Customs very efficiently and were there waiting for us.

However the train trip was an uncomfortable ride. It was too small especially with the luggage. I would not for any reason recommend the train to a colleague or family.

Heidi Ngidi
OTG000139Jewel of the Nile - 10 daysMiddle East & North AfricaSignature1088 GBPfalse20Egypthttps://www.onthegotours.com/uk/Egypt/Jewel-of-the-Nile--10-dayshttps://drwyjmricaxm7.cloudfront.net/repository/Cruise-ship-on-the-Nile--Egypt-Tours--On-The-Go-Tours-231431396876611_crop_flip_300_300_f2f2f2_center-center.jpgGroup_Tours1088GBP