Save 20%
FROM: £1,088

Embark on a five star Egyptian adventure. Stay in one of Cairo's smartest hotels, cruise the River Nile in style aboard a 5 star Nile cruiser and be expertly guided by a professional Egyptologist guides for your entire stay.

Inclusions
Itinerary
Prices & Dates
Hotels
Reviews

Trip Highlights

5 star Nile River Cruise - spend four nights onboard a luxury cruise boat
Luxor West Bank - discover exquisite tombs in the Valley of the Kings, the towering Colossi of Memnon and the beautiful Temple of Queen Hatshepsut
Aswan - visit the High Dam, take leisurely boat trip to Agilika Island to explore the romantic Philae Temple and wander around the colourful souqs
Kom Ombo - visit the Nile side Temple of Kom Ombo
Cairo - marvel at the legendary Pyramids of Giza, explore the Necropolis of Saqqara and see King Tut's treasures at the Egyptian Museum
Luxor - roam around the colossal Temple of Karnak and see the beautifully illuminated Luxor Temple at night
Elephantine Island and Kitchener island - visit the islands on a felucca sailing trip

Included

Breakfast daily, 4 lunches, 6 dinners - (2 aboard sleeper train)
2 overnight trains: Cairo - Aswan and Luxor - Cairo (Private 2 berth sleeper cabin) including meals
Touring and sightseeing in Cairo, Giza, Saqqara, Luxor and Aswan
Escorted by an Egyptian tour guide degree qualified in Egyptology (groups of 4 or more)
3 nights 5 star hotels, 4 nights aboard luxury 5 star Nile Cruiser (en suite cabin)
Airport arrival and departure transfer day 1 and day 10
Felucca Sailing around the islands of Aswan
All relevant transfer and transportation in private modern air-conditioned vehicles

Not Included

International flights and visa
Entrance Fees: USD$80-100pp, paid in local currency
Tip for your tour guide. We recommend you allow USD$5 - 7 per day, per traveller. Tipping your guide is an entirely personal gesture
Tipping Kitty: USD$60-80pp, paid in local currency

Itinerary

Day 1

Cairo

Friday. Welcome to Egypt and the start of a wonderful holiday! Arrive Cairo airport, and included transfer to your 5 star hotel located in downtown Cairo. The rest of the day is free to relax or those arriving early can opt to pre book our optional Backstreets of Cairo tour which departs the hotel at 10am today.

For those who wish to extend their stay, we also offer a pre or post tour Alexandria Day Trip.
Overnight: Cairo

Day 2

Egyptian Museum

We start with the dazzling antiquities at the Egyptian Museum. Amongst the many exhibits are the treasures of King Tutankhamun.
Overnight: Cairo  |  Breakfast

Day 3

Pyramids of Giza

Cairo - Luxor. Today we visit Egypt's most loved sight - The Great Pyramids of Giza. We explore the Giza plateau, pyramids and massive Sphinx. We continue on to explore Saqqara - an ancient necropolis with many half-buried tombs and the famous Zhoser’s step pyramid. Later we travel to Luxor by overnight train. You will be accommodated in comfortable twin sleeper cabins. A light dinner is served on board.

If you don’t fancy travelling by overnight sleeper train, consider our Treasures of the Nile tour that replaces overnight trains with flights and comfortable 5 star hotels.
Overnight: Sleeper Train  |  Breakfast, Dinner

Day 4

Valley of the Kings

Arriving into Luxor this morning we visit the incredible Valley of the Kings. The massive pair of statues known as the Colossi of Memnon are the first monuments you’ll see during our morning visit to the West Bank - home to the legendary Valley of the Kings. You’ll also see the colonnaded Temple of Queen Hatshepsut. Return to Luxor for check-in on board our Nile 5 star cruiser. Lunch at leisure and time to relax until our early evening visit to the Temple of Luxor. Luxor Temple looks stunning at dusk and is beautifully illuminated at night.

Note: Dependent upon Nile Cruiser scheduling it maybe required that we also undertake our excursion to Karnak Temple this afternoon. Should this occur, day 5 will be spent at leisure.
Overnight: Nile Cruising  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 5

Luxor & Nile Cruising

Luxor - Nile cruising. This morning we tour the ancient city of Thebes (the East Bank), taking in the magnificent Temple of Karnak. More than a temple, Karnak is a gigantic and stunning complex of sanctuaries and pylons dedicated to the Theban gods. Anchors away this afternoon as we set sail downstream.
Overnight: Nile Cruising  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 6

Cruising & Kom Ombo

Nile cruising. Relax as we sail the Nile. Later today we visit the Temple of Kom Ombo. A unique riverside temple, it is unusual in that everything architecturally is doubled and perfectly symmetrical along the main axis of the temple including twin halls, courts, colonnades, sanctuaries and entrances. Arrive Aswan, a prosperous town at the crossroads of the ancient caravan routes late evening.
Overnight: Nile Cruising  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 7

The Philae Temple

Nile cruiser - Aswan. Today, we enjoy a short boat trip to Agilika Island for Philae Temple - dedicated to the goddess Isis. The temple dates from 4th century BC but the Ptolomies and the Romans up to 3rd century AD built most of the existing structures. In danger of being completely submerged by the rising water of Lake Nasser, in 1972 UNESCO stepped in and an 8-year rescue effort was undertaken to relocate the entire temple 20m higher on nearby Agilika Island. We then make a stop at a perfume oil emporium. Perfumed oils in Egypt dates back to 2700BC and were used by women, pharaohs and by temple priests.

After lunch, we visit the High Dam and take a felucca sailing trip to Elephantine and Kitchener Island. As the sun sets, free time to shop in the colourful souqs and markets or simply relax and watch an amazing sunset in Egypt’s southern most town straddling the River Nile.
Overnight: Nile Cruising  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 8

Optional excursion to Abu Simbel

Aswan - Cairo. Consider the optional early morning excursion to the Temples of Ramses II at Abu Simbel. Please see our Abu Simbel by Road add-on for more info. Alternatively you can spend the morning at leisure.

If you choose not to embark upon this optional excursion, there is plenty to do in Aswan. You can explore Aswan, its beautiful shoreline and corniche or perhaps do a spot of shopping. Late this afternoon, we board the overnight train (twin berth sleeper cabins provided) for our journey back to Cairo. A light dinner is served on board.
Overnight: Sleeper Train  |  Breakfast, Dinner

Day 9

Cairo

This morning have breakfast in your train cabin and upon arrival into Cairo transfer to the hotel and check in. Upon arrival transfer to the hotel and check in. The rest of the day is free for you to enjoy the hotel facilities or you can opt to join our optional tour visiting Old Cairo, Coptic Cairo and the Citadel of Saladin (book locally).
Overnight: Cairo  |  Breakfast

Day 10

Cairo

Sunday. Tour ends after breakfast. Included onward transfer to airport.
Breakfast

Sun Festival Tours

If you are planning on travelling with us in February 2019 or October 2019 consider our Ramses Sunrise or Jewel of the Nile Sun Festival tours. These tours include arrangements similar to those of our Jewel of the Nile with the added highlight of witnessing the Sun Festival of King Ramses II at Abu Simbel.

Ramses II had his grand temple carefully angled and oriented in order that the sun's rays would align twice a year on the date of his ascension to the throne (21 February) and on his birthday (21 October) and illuminate the inner sanctum of the temple. This incredible natural phenomenon provides for a most spectacular sight as the sun illuminates the 3 statues of the living world, whilst the statute of Ptah - the god of darkness - remains in the shadows. The temple was re-located in a multi-million dollar operation in 1972, further up from the shoreline of Lake Nasser. In the temples new position the sun now strikes a day later than Ramses had originally planned.

Includes: Coach from Aswan to Abu Simbel early morning on the day of the festival. Guided visit to Abu Simbel, the sunrise event, entrance fees and visitor ticket for this excursion. Return coach journey to Aswan after the event.

Prices & Dates

Departure dates noted with a 'G' are guaranteed to operate. All other departure dates are guaranteed with a minimum of 2 persons. Prices shown are per person when there are 2 persons sharing a room. The 'Single supplement' applies for single travellers who require their own room and needs to be added to the per person price.

Read More
Xmas departure, book early!
XMAS Departure
New Years departure, book early!
New Year Departure
This is a Sun Festival departure and we've included special touring arrangements. For travel in Oct 2019 & Oct 2020, please see our Treasures of the Nile Sun Festival tour which includes 2 flights, no overnight trains. For travel in Feb 2020, please see our Ramses Sunrise itinerary which includes one flight and one overnight train. Both itineraries are located within the 'Festival Tours' section on our website.
Sun Festival
Please note this tour departs on a Saturday.
Saturday Departure
Easter departure, book early!
Easter Departure
Guaranteed Departure
Available
Contact us to book
Sold out
2019
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
£1,095
£695
£1,360
£695
20 Sep - 29 Sep 20% offG
£1,360
£1,088

£695
£1,360
£695
£1,360
£695
£1,360
£695
15 Nov - 24 Nov 15% offG
£1,360
£1,156

£695
£1,360
£695
06 Dec - 15 Dec 10% offG
£1,360
£1,224

£695
20 Dec - 29 Dec 10% offXmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
£1,515
£1,364

£695
27 Dec - 05 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
G
£1,515
£695
2020
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
15 Feb - 24 Feb This is a Sun Festival departure and we've included special touring arrangements. For travel in Oct 2019 & Oct 2020, please see our Treasures of the Nile Sun Festival tour which includes 2 flights, no overnight trains. For travel in Feb 2020, please see our Ramses Sunrise itinerary which includes one flight and one overnight train. Both itineraries are located within the 'Festival Tours' section on our website.
This is a Sun Festival departure and we've included special touring arrangements. For travel in Oct 2019 & Oct 2020, please see our Treasures of the Nile Sun Festival tour which includes 2 flights, no overnight trains. For travel in Feb 2020, please see our Ramses Sunrise itinerary which includes one flight and one overnight train. Both itineraries are located within the 'Festival Tours' section on our website.
Please note this tour departs on a Saturday.
Please note this tour departs on a Saturday.
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
03 Apr - 12 Apr Easter departure, book early!
Easter departure, book early!
£1,570
£735
10 Apr - 19 Apr Easter departure, book early!
Easter departure, book early!
£1,570
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
18 Dec - 27 Dec Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
£1,570
£735
25 Dec - 03 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
£1,570
£735
2021
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
£1,095
£695

Extra Prices

Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
Private Tour Supplement
£590
-  
Pre Tour Accommodation
£115
£35
Post Tour Accommodation
£115
£35

Hotels

The hotels listed below are ones which we frequently use on this tour. We reserve the right to substitute these hotels to ones of a similar standard.

InterContinental Semiramis, Cairo

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Hotel

Situated on the banks of the River Nile in the heart of the capital, the luxury InterContinental Semiramis is conveniently located next to the Egyptian Museum and the bustling bazaars of Old Cairo. The tastefully appointed guest rooms have been designed with comfort in mind, with all modern amenities and balconies offering Nile or city views. The hotel's large rooftop pool is perfect for a refreshing dip and with 12 restaurants offering cuisine from across the world there's certainly no shortage of dining options. At the end of the day, head to the Nile Terrace to watch a spectacular sunset over the Nile, with a cool drink in hand.

Le Meridien Pyramids, Cairo

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Hotel

Set within beautifully manicured gardens, Le Meridien Pyramids is a stunning modern hotel affording amazing views of the Pyramids. The guest rooms have been designed with optimum taste and comfort in mind and include state of the art facilities. The outdoor swimming pool includes waterfalls and hydro jets. head to the Citrus Pool Bar in the afternoon for a refreshing beverage under the gaze of the pyramids!

Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Cairo

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Hotel

The recently renovated Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers and Casino is a stylish, contemporary hotel with fantastic views over the Nile. The rooms are particularly spacious with large bright windows, complimentary WiFi and all of the modern amenities required to ensure a comfortable stay. If you're feeling lucky head to the casino, or relax in the spa tub and soak up the sun by the large outdoor pool. The hotel has a choice of three restaurants and bars, where you can enjoy a tasty meal and refreshing drinks after taking in the ancient wonders of Egypt's capital city.

M/S Royal Lotus, Nile Cruising

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Cruise

The luxurious Movenpick M/S Royal Lotus offers extremely spacious cabins and a good range of public areas.

M/S Farah, Nile Cruising

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 star cruise boat

The M/S Farah is a stylish and modern cruise boat, with large cabins that face out over the Nile. Contemporary in decor, the Farah has a large sun deck and swimming pool.

Moon Dance, Nile Cruising

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Cruise

Moondance is a five star deluxe ship designed for luxury cruising on the Nile, accommodating up to 145 passengers.The vessel has 60 cabins and 8 suites offering exquisite comfort amidst an elegant yet intimate décor.

M/S Premium, Nile Cruising

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Cruise

The modern and luxurious M/S Premium cruise boat boasts stylish cabins equipped with all modern amenities and large panoramic windows. Facilities on board include a fitness centre, spacious deck with swimming pool, large restaurant and cocktail bar. Grab a good book and a refreshing beverage and relax on the Sund Deck - the perfect way to spend the day. The M/S Premium sets sail on Mondays on a 4 and 7 night cruise from Luxor and on Fridays on a 3 and 7 night cruise from Aswan.

Reviews

Travellers have rated this tour as 4.77 out of 5 based on 60 recent reviews

1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11

We've just got back from a tour of Egypt and it was amazing. Saleeb was a great guide, knowledgeable, friendly and great fun. He had real passion for the places we visited and he made the trip really special. I am so glad he was our guide. Special mention should also go to Mido who looked after us while we were in Cairo. He was great and went above and beyond to make sure we had a good time. They were both a big part of why we had such a good trip.

• Submitted 29 Oct 2017
Tour
Guide
Country

Very good

• Submitted 19 Oct 2017
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour was fabulous and our guide was excellent! Everything was well organised and the boat was terrific. Helal's knowledge was amazing and his English was excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed all of the history and being able to ask loads of extra questions, which Helal was able to answer without hesitation. Helal was a friendly, polite and fun host who went out of his way to ensure everyone was having the trip of a lifetime - which we all did! :-)

• Submitted 07 Sep 2017
Tour
Guide
Country

From the moment we arrived at Cairo Airport, the On-The-Go representative was there to meet us and seamlessly transferred us to the Hotel. Throughout the tour, Ahmed kept the group informed on activities and was always considerate of the conditions and needs at the time. Ahmed's extensive knowledge of the artefacts and locations was obvious and he always provided extensive descriptions. His friendly personality was engaging and he was able to provide a balance of humour and serious information. The cruise boat (Amarco II) provided an excellent standard of accommodation and service. A genuine thank you to Ahmed who made the tour truly memorable. We would both highly recommend the tour to others!

• Submitted 19 Aug 2017
Tour
Guide
Country

A truly fantastic tour packed with lots of history and adventure. The tour guide is very knowledgeable and was very accommodating of the diverse needs of the group. We not only enjoyed the tours from Cairo right through to Abu Simble but we also loved the various modes of transportation e.g sleeper train, felucca, camel ride, horse and carriage and of course cruising on the Luxury Star Goddess. We were greatful for all the On the go representatives that met us at each chang of city/town. Amir the On the go tour leader was amazing in making sure each change went smoothly.. Both On the go reps that sorted us out on arrival and on our departure we're very helpful. Thanks to Theo Porter for sorting out our flights and booking and for your constant reminders. We felt very confident of our safety throughout our tour, which is the most important thing. Thanks, On the go! We will definitely recommend On the go tours to our friends and family.

• Submitted 08 Aug 2017
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour was absolutely amazing. This was a life long dream for my daughter and I to see the wonders of Egypt. Sal went above and beyond the call of duty in not only educating us about both ancient and modern Egypt but showing us a good time. Everything went extremely smoothly and the pace of the tour was just right with a perfect blend of organized activity and personal time. I Cairo, Medu(sp) was wonderful as well, our transfers and check-ins were smooth and when our flight to leave was delayed by 12 hours, he stayed with us at the airport making sure we were taken care of by the airline in getting a room and transfers. Highly highly recommended is all I can say. I plan to use On the Go tours again.

• Submitted 15 Jul 2017
Tour
Guide
Country

Great guide

• Submitted 13 Jun 2017
Tour
Guide
Country

Sal was incredible - his passion for archaeology and Egyptology was clear and I really appreciated his enthusiasm for sharing his knowledge with the group.

I felt very safe throughout the trip and would recommend Egypt to others. Two nights on the overnight sleeper train was a little uncomfortable (but bearable) but I would recommend anyone considering this tour to take the flight option instead. I highly recommend Abu Simbel and hot air ballooning over Luxor as the other optional extras - well worth the extra expense, and our group got some money back for Abu Simbel as more than 3 people attended.

Thanks, will definitely travel with On The Go again.

• Submitted 05 Jun 2017
Tour
Guide
Country

Sal is an Egyptologist with a great enthusiasm for his subject which he communicates well. He was not merely exceptional as a guide but sorted out little problems (e.g. I needed a memory card for my camera -- he got one for me). He also kept coming up with small coins for the loos. Coins are hard to come by in Egypt but the loo-keepers insist on being paid.

The tour is excellent, utilising good hotels in Cairo and the "riverboat" is a very comfy hotel on water. The train-ride from Cairo to Luxor (and then Aswan back to Cairo) is a bit of an effort. First class travel on Egyptian trains does not measure up to Western standards.

• Submitted 02 Jun 2017
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour itself was amazing and stuck to plan. Amir picked us up on time from the airport and explained everything clearly from the get go so we were aware of what to expect with the tour.

Amir is extremely friendly and made our time with him fun which to us is extremely important. He was knowledgeable and able to answer all our questions no matter what random questions we asked and made the whole process of every check-in/check-out extremely easy as he took control of everything. We loved Amir and would recommend him and the tour to everyone.

• Submitted 08 May 2017
Tour
Guide
Country
1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11

In Brief

Range
Trip Type
Starts
Cairo
Ends
Cairo
Departs
Fridays
Group Size
Min 2 / Max 24
Hotel Rating
5 Star
Tour Guide
Yes, escorted by a tour guide
Meals
Breakfast: 9, Lunch: 4, Dinner: 6
Visiting
Countries

Tour Add-ons

Enhance your trip with these amazing added extras and add-ons

The reception by On The Go on our arrival was particularly exceptional. They literal propelled us through Customs very efficiently and were there waiting for us.

However the train trip was an uncomfortable ride. It was too small especially with the luggage. I would not for any reason recommend the train to a colleague or family.

Heidi Ngidi
OTG000139Jewel of the Nile - 10 daysMiddle East & North AfricaSignature1088 GBPfalse20Egypthttps://www.onthegotours.com/uk/Egypt/Jewel-of-the-Nile--10-dayshttps://drwyjmricaxm7.cloudfront.net/repository/Cruise-ship-on-the-Nile--Egypt-Tours--On-The-Go-Tours-231431396876611_crop_flip_300_300_f2f2f2_center-center.jpgGroup_Tours1088GBP