Save 20%
FROM: £1,088

Embark on a five star Egyptian adventure. Stay in one of Cairo's smartest hotels, cruise the River Nile in style aboard a 5 star Nile cruiser and be expertly guided by a professional Egyptologist guides for your entire stay.

Inclusions
Itinerary
Prices & Dates
Hotels
Reviews

Trip Highlights

5 star Nile River Cruise - spend four nights onboard a luxury cruise boat
Luxor West Bank - discover exquisite tombs in the Valley of the Kings, the towering Colossi of Memnon and the beautiful Temple of Queen Hatshepsut
Aswan - visit the High Dam, take leisurely boat trip to Agilika Island to explore the romantic Philae Temple and wander around the colourful souqs
Kom Ombo - visit the Nile side Temple of Kom Ombo
Cairo - marvel at the legendary Pyramids of Giza, explore the Necropolis of Saqqara and see King Tut's treasures at the Egyptian Museum
Luxor - roam around the colossal Temple of Karnak and see the beautifully illuminated Luxor Temple at night
Elephantine Island and Kitchener island - visit the islands on a felucca sailing trip

Included

Breakfast daily, 4 lunches, 6 dinners - (2 aboard sleeper train)
2 overnight trains: Cairo - Aswan and Luxor - Cairo (Private 2 berth sleeper cabin) including meals
Touring and sightseeing in Cairo, Giza, Saqqara, Luxor and Aswan
Escorted by an Egyptian tour guide degree qualified in Egyptology (groups of 4 or more)
3 nights 5 star hotels, 4 nights aboard luxury 5 star Nile Cruiser (en suite cabin)
Airport arrival and departure transfer day 1 and day 10
Felucca Sailing around the islands of Aswan
All relevant transfer and transportation in private modern air-conditioned vehicles

Not Included

International flights and visa
Entrance Fees: USD$80-100pp, paid in local currency
Tip for your tour guide. We recommend you allow USD$5 - 7 per day, per traveller. Tipping your guide is an entirely personal gesture
Tipping Kitty: USD$60-80pp, paid in local currency

Itinerary

Day 1

Cairo

Friday. Welcome to Egypt and the start of a wonderful holiday! Arrive Cairo airport, and included transfer to your 5 star hotel located in downtown Cairo. The rest of the day is free to relax or those arriving early can opt to pre book our optional Backstreets of Cairo tour which departs the hotel at 10am today.

For those who wish to extend their stay, we also offer a pre or post tour Alexandria Day Trip.
Overnight: Cairo

Day 2

Egyptian Museum

We start with the dazzling antiquities at the Egyptian Museum. Amongst the many exhibits are the treasures of King Tutankhamun.
Overnight: Cairo  |  Breakfast

Day 3

Pyramids of Giza

Cairo - Luxor. Today we visit Egypt's most loved sight - The Great Pyramids of Giza. We explore the Giza plateau, pyramids and massive Sphinx. We continue on to explore Saqqara - an ancient necropolis with many half-buried tombs and the famous Zhoser’s step pyramid. Later we travel to Luxor by overnight train. You will be accommodated in comfortable twin sleeper cabins. A light dinner is served on board.

If you don’t fancy travelling by overnight sleeper train, consider our Treasures of the Nile tour that replaces overnight trains with flights and comfortable 5 star hotels.
Overnight: Sleeper Train  |  Breakfast, Dinner

Day 4

Valley of the Kings

Arriving into Luxor this morning we visit the incredible Valley of the Kings. The massive pair of statues known as the Colossi of Memnon are the first monuments you’ll see during our morning visit to the West Bank - home to the legendary Valley of the Kings. You’ll also see the colonnaded Temple of Queen Hatshepsut. Return to Luxor for check-in on board our Nile 5 star cruiser. Lunch at leisure and time to relax until our early evening visit to the Temple of Luxor. Luxor Temple looks stunning at dusk and is beautifully illuminated at night.

Note: Dependent upon Nile Cruiser scheduling it maybe required that we also undertake our excursion to Karnak Temple this afternoon. Should this occur, day 5 will be spent at leisure.
Overnight: Nile Cruising  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 5

Luxor & Nile Cruising

Luxor - Nile cruising. This morning we tour the ancient city of Thebes (the East Bank), taking in the magnificent Temple of Karnak. More than a temple, Karnak is a gigantic and stunning complex of sanctuaries and pylons dedicated to the Theban gods. Anchors away this afternoon as we set sail downstream.
Overnight: Nile Cruising  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 6

Cruising & Kom Ombo

Nile cruising. Relax as we sail the Nile. Later today we visit the Temple of Kom Ombo. A unique riverside temple, it is unusual in that everything architecturally is doubled and perfectly symmetrical along the main axis of the temple including twin halls, courts, colonnades, sanctuaries and entrances. Arrive Aswan, a prosperous town at the crossroads of the ancient caravan routes late evening.
Overnight: Nile Cruising  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 7

The Philae Temple

Nile cruiser - Aswan. Today, we enjoy a short boat trip to Agilika Island for Philae Temple - dedicated to the goddess Isis. The temple dates from 4th century BC but the Ptolomies and the Romans up to 3rd century AD built most of the existing structures. In danger of being completely submerged by the rising water of Lake Nasser, in 1972 UNESCO stepped in and an 8-year rescue effort was undertaken to relocate the entire temple 20m higher on nearby Agilika Island. We then make a stop at a perfume oil emporium. Perfumed oils in Egypt dates back to 2700BC and were used by women, pharaohs and by temple priests.

After lunch, we visit the High Dam and take a felucca sailing trip to Elephantine and Kitchener Island. As the sun sets, free time to shop in the colourful souqs and markets or simply relax and watch an amazing sunset in Egypt’s southern most town straddling the River Nile.
Overnight: Nile Cruising  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 8

Optional excursion to Abu Simbel

Aswan - Cairo. Consider the optional early morning excursion to the Temples of Ramses II at Abu Simbel. Please see our Abu Simbel by Road add-on for more info. Alternatively you can spend the morning at leisure.

If you choose not to embark upon this optional excursion, there is plenty to do in Aswan. You can explore Aswan, its beautiful shoreline and corniche or perhaps do a spot of shopping. Late this afternoon, we board the overnight train (twin berth sleeper cabins provided) for our journey back to Cairo. A light dinner is served on board.
Overnight: Sleeper Train  |  Breakfast, Dinner

Day 9

Cairo

This morning have breakfast in your train cabin and upon arrival into Cairo transfer to the hotel and check in. Upon arrival transfer to the hotel and check in. The rest of the day is free for you to enjoy the hotel facilities or you can opt to join our optional tour visiting Old Cairo, Coptic Cairo and the Citadel of Saladin (book locally).
Overnight: Cairo  |  Breakfast

Day 10

Cairo

Sunday. Tour ends after breakfast. Included onward transfer to airport.
Breakfast

Sun Festival Tours

If you are planning on travelling with us in February 2019 or October 2019 consider our Ramses Sunrise or Jewel of the Nile Sun Festival tours. These tours include arrangements similar to those of our Jewel of the Nile with the added highlight of witnessing the Sun Festival of King Ramses II at Abu Simbel.

Ramses II had his grand temple carefully angled and oriented in order that the sun's rays would align twice a year on the date of his ascension to the throne (21 February) and on his birthday (21 October) and illuminate the inner sanctum of the temple. This incredible natural phenomenon provides for a most spectacular sight as the sun illuminates the 3 statues of the living world, whilst the statute of Ptah - the god of darkness - remains in the shadows. The temple was re-located in a multi-million dollar operation in 1972, further up from the shoreline of Lake Nasser. In the temples new position the sun now strikes a day later than Ramses had originally planned.

Includes: Coach from Aswan to Abu Simbel early morning on the day of the festival. Guided visit to Abu Simbel, the sunrise event, entrance fees and visitor ticket for this excursion. Return coach journey to Aswan after the event.

Prices & Dates

Departure dates noted with a 'G' are guaranteed to operate. All other departure dates are guaranteed with a minimum of 2 persons. Prices shown are per person when there are 2 persons sharing a room. The 'Single supplement' applies for single travellers who require their own room and needs to be added to the per person price.

Read More
Xmas departure, book early!
XMAS Departure
New Years departure, book early!
New Year Departure
This is a Sun Festival departure and we've included special touring arrangements. For travel in Oct 2019 & Oct 2020, please see our Treasures of the Nile Sun Festival tour which includes 2 flights, no overnight trains. For travel in Feb 2020, please see our Ramses Sunrise itinerary which includes one flight and one overnight train. Both itineraries are located within the 'Festival Tours' section on our website.
Sun Festival
Please note this tour departs on a Saturday.
Saturday Departure
Easter departure, book early!
Easter Departure
Guaranteed Departure
Available
Contact us to book
Sold out
2019
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
£1,095
£695
£1,360
£695
20 Sep - 29 Sep 20% offG
£1,360
£1,088

£695
£1,360
£695
£1,360
£695
£1,360
£695
15 Nov - 24 Nov 15% offG
£1,360
£1,156

£695
£1,360
£695
06 Dec - 15 Dec 10% offG
£1,360
£1,224

£695
20 Dec - 29 Dec 10% offXmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
£1,515
£1,364

£695
27 Dec - 05 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
G
£1,515
£695
2020
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
15 Feb - 24 Feb This is a Sun Festival departure and we've included special touring arrangements. For travel in Oct 2019 & Oct 2020, please see our Treasures of the Nile Sun Festival tour which includes 2 flights, no overnight trains. For travel in Feb 2020, please see our Ramses Sunrise itinerary which includes one flight and one overnight train. Both itineraries are located within the 'Festival Tours' section on our website.
This is a Sun Festival departure and we've included special touring arrangements. For travel in Oct 2019 & Oct 2020, please see our Treasures of the Nile Sun Festival tour which includes 2 flights, no overnight trains. For travel in Feb 2020, please see our Ramses Sunrise itinerary which includes one flight and one overnight train. Both itineraries are located within the 'Festival Tours' section on our website.
Please note this tour departs on a Saturday.
Please note this tour departs on a Saturday.
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
03 Apr - 12 Apr Easter departure, book early!
Easter departure, book early!
£1,570
£735
10 Apr - 19 Apr Easter departure, book early!
Easter departure, book early!
£1,570
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
18 Dec - 27 Dec Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
£1,570
£735
25 Dec - 03 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
£1,570
£735
2021
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
£1,095
£695

Extra Prices

Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
Private Tour Supplement
£590
-  
Pre Tour Accommodation
£115
£35
Post Tour Accommodation
£115
£35

Hotels

The hotels listed below are ones which we frequently use on this tour. We reserve the right to substitute these hotels to ones of a similar standard.

InterContinental Semiramis, Cairo

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Hotel

Situated on the banks of the River Nile in the heart of the capital, the luxury InterContinental Semiramis is conveniently located next to the Egyptian Museum and the bustling bazaars of Old Cairo. The tastefully appointed guest rooms have been designed with comfort in mind, with all modern amenities and balconies offering Nile or city views. The hotel's large rooftop pool is perfect for a refreshing dip and with 12 restaurants offering cuisine from across the world there's certainly no shortage of dining options. At the end of the day, head to the Nile Terrace to watch a spectacular sunset over the Nile, with a cool drink in hand.

Le Meridien Pyramids, Cairo

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Hotel

Set within beautifully manicured gardens, Le Meridien Pyramids is a stunning modern hotel affording amazing views of the Pyramids. The guest rooms have been designed with optimum taste and comfort in mind and include state of the art facilities. The outdoor swimming pool includes waterfalls and hydro jets. head to the Citrus Pool Bar in the afternoon for a refreshing beverage under the gaze of the pyramids!

Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Cairo

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Hotel

The recently renovated Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers and Casino is a stylish, contemporary hotel with fantastic views over the Nile. The rooms are particularly spacious with large bright windows, complimentary WiFi and all of the modern amenities required to ensure a comfortable stay. If you're feeling lucky head to the casino, or relax in the spa tub and soak up the sun by the large outdoor pool. The hotel has a choice of three restaurants and bars, where you can enjoy a tasty meal and refreshing drinks after taking in the ancient wonders of Egypt's capital city.

M/S Royal Lotus, Nile Cruising

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Cruise

The luxurious Movenpick M/S Royal Lotus offers extremely spacious cabins and a good range of public areas.

M/S Farah, Nile Cruising

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 star cruise boat

The M/S Farah is a stylish and modern cruise boat, with large cabins that face out over the Nile. Contemporary in decor, the Farah has a large sun deck and swimming pool.

Moon Dance, Nile Cruising

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Cruise

Moondance is a five star deluxe ship designed for luxury cruising on the Nile, accommodating up to 145 passengers.The vessel has 60 cabins and 8 suites offering exquisite comfort amidst an elegant yet intimate décor.

M/S Premium, Nile Cruising

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Cruise

The modern and luxurious M/S Premium cruise boat boasts stylish cabins equipped with all modern amenities and large panoramic windows. Facilities on board include a fitness centre, spacious deck with swimming pool, large restaurant and cocktail bar. Grab a good book and a refreshing beverage and relax on the Sund Deck - the perfect way to spend the day. The M/S Premium sets sail on Mondays on a 4 and 7 night cruise from Luxor and on Fridays on a 3 and 7 night cruise from Aswan.

Reviews

Travellers have rated this tour as 4.77 out of 5 based on 60 recent reviews

1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11

Absolutely loved the tour. There was really only one glaring fault in my opinion which occurs on the two days train departure days which is kind of waiting around with no room or the like to freshen up and rest before the bone rattling train ride. Yasser organized a room for us on the boat but I think there should be an option of late check out for the hotel. Apart from that - I thought Yasser was good on knowledge but slightly abrasive. Kiro was very sweet.

• Submitted 04 May 2015
Tour
Guide
Country

Recently we toured Israel, Jordan and Egypt with “on the go tours”, and have to commend your staff for an amazing holiday. I am writing to you to inform that we were so impressed with all of your staff in each location, it made our trip exceptional. For each location the staff was knowledgeable, friendly and very professional, in looking out for our well being and ensuring that the experience we had was second to none. I have, and will continue to boast about your company to anyone that I talk to when it comes to travel.

Specifically I would like to talk about our trip to Egypt. Our flight into Cairo was changed by the airline roughly 3 weeks before our departure. When we showed up in Cairo there was no one there to greet us. We proceeded to call our contact Mr. Hossam Fouda, and Mr. Ahmed Kamal, to find out what we were to do. During our discussions it was conveyed that the flight had been changed and that we would have to clear security on our own and hail a cab to our hotel, which I advised was unacceptable. I was advised that this issue was not the tour companies problem, however someone would contact me shortly. Roughly 15 minutes later a representative showed up escorted us through security and to baggage claim where we waited for 30 minutes for another representative to show up. We were then escorted to our bus and driven to our hotel.

This was the only negative issue that we had experienced and truthfully we understand issues happen. The big concern for us was the comment that it wasn’t on the go problem! When we filled out our comment card we tried to explain the issue of the mix up. In analyzing the situation we felt that some of the issue was ours because of not contacting the tour company of the change, and possibly that contact should have been made by our travel agent as we didn’t get our travel documents until 1 week before our departure. The only problem that we had was the comment that “it was not your problem”

On our last day we were met at the hotel by Sharif, who I must say was absolutely amazing. Very courteous, timely and very professional. We had the feeling that Sharif was in trouble for not being at the airport on time which he was explaining to me. I advised him that everything was good and that we understood the issues that were caused by the changed flight. I wanted to clarify that the issue was not Sharif, who we hold in very high regard. He was always at our meeting points early, and took care of signing into the hotels, flights, and took care of our luggage. Something that left a big impression with us all. It is people such as Sharif and Yassir that make your company exceptional.

I would greatly appreciate you passing this letter on to Sharif.

• Submitted 05 Jan 2015
Tour
Guide
Country

I had a fantastic time on this tour. The hotels were fantastic and the Nile Cruiser was absolutely fabulous. Our guide, Yasser was very knowledgeable and friendly. He looked after the entire group very well and I don't think anyone could have done a better job. My highlights were Hot Air Ballooning over Luxor and the Abu Simble trip. I would recommend this tour to anyone!

• Submitted 22 Dec 2014
Tour
Guide
Country

Hi - we had a really wonderful time.

I cannot say enough nice things about Alam - he was absolutely wonderful.

I cant imagine that dealing with so many people and personalities can be easy but he made it look so easy and was such fun while at the same time dispensing an incredible amount of knowledge and answering hundreds of questions with absolute confidence. He took us to

Alam really made the tour for us and we are so grateful for everything he did and handled and all that we learned while there.

• Submitted 18 Nov 2014
Tour
Guide
Country

Please let me start with our guide Ahmed Helal who we called Helal. He was wonderful! An exceptional guide who is extremely knowledgeable and was able to answer all our questions. He not only showed and taught us about antiquity but he showed us and taught us about modern Egypt. Meeting the school boys on Elphantine Island and playing football with them was a real highlight. We lost of course! It also worked off some of the calories gained from the wonderful Egyptian food.

The tour was really 5 star. The care that the representatives and Helal took of us was remarkable. The hotels and the boat were perfect. I do wonder, however, why their were two different hotels in Cairo! The food was also 5 star.

What I loved about my time in Cairo was being able to walk the streets without fear. I come from South Africa where it is very different in the big cities. Obviously I needed to be aware and not stupid.. But it was wonderful to walk to Christo's restaurant from the Meridian and sit on the roof and be served wonderful Egyptian food surrounded by local people.

Now to the bad part and why I can only score the tour a 4. The fact that we had a flight back from Aswan so early in the morning marred the holiday. I missed the belly dancing and the dervish dancing on the boat because I had to pack my bags and pay my hotel bill. I also missed being able to spend more time in Aswan where I would have like to have returned to the Souk. I was so tired when I finally got in to my hotel room that the remainder of the day was wasted for me as I needed to rest.

I do not feel comfortable believing the excuse of cancelled flights because of Haj. Surely that is all well planned beforehand. And a company of your standing should reckon with that kind of eventuality. If you had been on top of your game you could have found out earlier and got us all seats on one of the later flights even if we couldn't sit together. Very disappointing.

That said I would definitely do another tour with your company. Maybe Petra next time!

Thank you for giving me the experience of a lifetime.

Avis Fisher

• Submitted 14 Nov 2014
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour guide was excellent, his level of knowledge in relation to the antiquities was exemplary additional his local knowledge in each location visited meant that he was able to give us great background knowledge.

The tour was well laid out giving enough time for both relaxation and activity, the food served included was great and places we were taken for non inclusive meals were amazing particularly on our way to the stepped pyramid.

• Submitted 11 Nov 2014
Tour
Guide
Country

Hi,

Just wanted to drop a line to say what a fantastic time we had on the jewel of the Nile tour last month – This was our second time booking with on the go ( we did Southern Africa 2 years back) and we were not let down. Our Tour header Helal was absolutely amazing- we couldn’t ask for a more knowledgeable and experience tour guide, He even made the effort to come back and do a Cairo day tour with us after our tour had finished. We had a bit of a mix up with some flight times which the group was unhappy with, Helal went above and beyond to make everyone happy and to make up for it and we are really appreciated it.

Looking forward to booking our next ‘’on the go’’ Holiday!

Blake Henderson • Submitted 05 Nov 2014

Most amazing experience -would def recommend and sell to others

Would love to do more 5 star travel with on the go

• Submitted 28 Oct 2014
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour guide Sal was amazing. He was a walking encyclopedia of Egyptology and presented the information in an engaging way, chronologically. He was supreme! And very helpful.

Ahmed (Cairo) was also increadibly helpful and pleasant!

The tour was great because of the lovely accommodation choices & sites. Items to improve upon:

1. There was too much pressure to buy things at the stops to the Egyptian cotton shop, papyrus shop, etc.

2. There was not enough free time to explore the towns we visited ourselves, do essential shopping (for pharmacy items, etc)

3. Bus in Aswan didnt have enough leg room - too cramped

4. Bus in Cairo near the end had bad airconditioning.

Overall it was the best holiday I've had in years!

• Submitted 09 Oct 2014
Tour
Guide
Country

The organization for the Jewel of the Nile by On the Go Tours on the whole, was excellent and would recommend this tour to others. At all times, Ahmid (Cairo rep) and in particular, Saleeb Mickaeel, made us feel safe with their advice and knowledge of their country.

Though some feedback, when being escorted though customs to organize the visa, it was not explained clearly (prior to arrival) that the visa could not be paid in Egyptian pounds. As we were travelling with a group of friends (11 in total), we had to pool our monies to find Australian dollars. We did not have American currency. We would also suggest a tour of Cairo (the good and bad) on the first day. This would give tourists a better first impression of Cairo as we found it very confronting at first.

Our first trip to Egypt was memorable and exciting and Saleeb was the reason for this. His love, passion and knowledge for and of, his country and its history was obvious admirable and contagious. Sal is an excellent ambassador for Egypt.

If any other information or feedback is required, please don't hesitate to contact us. Saleeb has our contact details.

Cheers Tracy Woods and Michael Worth

• Submitted 04 Oct 2014
Tour
Guide
Country
1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11

In Brief

Range
Trip Type
Starts
Cairo
Ends
Cairo
Departs
Fridays
Group Size
Min 2 / Max 24
Hotel Rating
5 Star
Tour Guide
Yes, escorted by a tour guide
Meals
Breakfast: 9, Lunch: 4, Dinner: 6
Visiting
Countries

Tour Add-ons

Enhance your trip with these amazing added extras and add-ons

The reception by On The Go on our arrival was particularly exceptional. They literal propelled us through Customs very efficiently and were there waiting for us.

However the train trip was an uncomfortable ride. It was too small especially with the luggage. I would not for any reason recommend the train to a colleague or family.

Heidi Ngidi
OTG000139Jewel of the Nile - 10 daysMiddle East & North AfricaSignature1088 GBPfalse20Egypthttps://www.onthegotours.com/uk/Egypt/Jewel-of-the-Nile--10-dayshttps://drwyjmricaxm7.cloudfront.net/repository/Cruise-ship-on-the-Nile--Egypt-Tours--On-The-Go-Tours-231431396876611_crop_flip_300_300_f2f2f2_center-center.jpgGroup_Tours1088GBP