Save 20%
FROM: £1,088

Embark on a five star Egyptian adventure. Stay in one of Cairo's smartest hotels, cruise the River Nile in style aboard a 5 star Nile cruiser and be expertly guided by a professional Egyptologist guides for your entire stay.

Inclusions
Itinerary
Prices & Dates
Hotels
Reviews

Trip Highlights

5 star Nile River Cruise - spend four nights onboard a luxury cruise boat
Luxor West Bank - discover exquisite tombs in the Valley of the Kings, the towering Colossi of Memnon and the beautiful Temple of Queen Hatshepsut
Aswan - visit the High Dam, take leisurely boat trip to Agilika Island to explore the romantic Philae Temple and wander around the colourful souqs
Kom Ombo - visit the Nile side Temple of Kom Ombo
Cairo - marvel at the legendary Pyramids of Giza, explore the Necropolis of Saqqara and see King Tut's treasures at the Egyptian Museum
Luxor - roam around the colossal Temple of Karnak and see the beautifully illuminated Luxor Temple at night
Elephantine Island and Kitchener island - visit the islands on a felucca sailing trip

Included

Breakfast daily, 4 lunches, 6 dinners - (2 aboard sleeper train)
2 overnight trains: Cairo - Aswan and Luxor - Cairo (Private 2 berth sleeper cabin) including meals
Touring and sightseeing in Cairo, Giza, Saqqara, Luxor and Aswan
Escorted by an Egyptian tour guide degree qualified in Egyptology (groups of 4 or more)
3 nights 5 star hotels, 4 nights aboard luxury 5 star Nile Cruiser (en suite cabin)
Airport arrival and departure transfer day 1 and day 10
Felucca Sailing around the islands of Aswan
All relevant transfer and transportation in private modern air-conditioned vehicles

Not Included

International flights and visa
Entrance Fees: USD$80-100pp, paid in local currency
Tip for your tour guide. We recommend you allow USD$5 - 7 per day, per traveller. Tipping your guide is an entirely personal gesture
Tipping Kitty: USD$60-80pp, paid in local currency

Itinerary

Day 1

Cairo

Friday. Welcome to Egypt and the start of a wonderful holiday! Arrive Cairo airport, and included transfer to your 5 star hotel located in downtown Cairo. The rest of the day is free to relax or those arriving early can opt to pre book our optional Backstreets of Cairo tour which departs the hotel at 10am today.

For those who wish to extend their stay, we also offer a pre or post tour Alexandria Day Trip.
Overnight: Cairo

Day 2

Egyptian Museum

We start with the dazzling antiquities at the Egyptian Museum. Amongst the many exhibits are the treasures of King Tutankhamun.
Overnight: Cairo  |  Breakfast

Day 3

Pyramids of Giza

Cairo - Luxor. Today we visit Egypt's most loved sight - The Great Pyramids of Giza. We explore the Giza plateau, pyramids and massive Sphinx. We continue on to explore Saqqara - an ancient necropolis with many half-buried tombs and the famous Zhoser’s step pyramid. Later we travel to Luxor by overnight train. You will be accommodated in comfortable twin sleeper cabins. A light dinner is served on board.

If you don’t fancy travelling by overnight sleeper train, consider our Treasures of the Nile tour that replaces overnight trains with flights and comfortable 5 star hotels.
Overnight: Sleeper Train  |  Breakfast, Dinner

Day 4

Valley of the Kings

Arriving into Luxor this morning we visit the incredible Valley of the Kings. The massive pair of statues known as the Colossi of Memnon are the first monuments you’ll see during our morning visit to the West Bank - home to the legendary Valley of the Kings. You’ll also see the colonnaded Temple of Queen Hatshepsut. Return to Luxor for check-in on board our Nile 5 star cruiser. Lunch at leisure and time to relax until our early evening visit to the Temple of Luxor. Luxor Temple looks stunning at dusk and is beautifully illuminated at night.

Note: Dependent upon Nile Cruiser scheduling it maybe required that we also undertake our excursion to Karnak Temple this afternoon. Should this occur, day 5 will be spent at leisure.
Overnight: Nile Cruising  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 5

Luxor & Nile Cruising

Luxor - Nile cruising. This morning we tour the ancient city of Thebes (the East Bank), taking in the magnificent Temple of Karnak. More than a temple, Karnak is a gigantic and stunning complex of sanctuaries and pylons dedicated to the Theban gods. Anchors away this afternoon as we set sail downstream.
Overnight: Nile Cruising  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 6

Cruising & Kom Ombo

Nile cruising. Relax as we sail the Nile. Later today we visit the Temple of Kom Ombo. A unique riverside temple, it is unusual in that everything architecturally is doubled and perfectly symmetrical along the main axis of the temple including twin halls, courts, colonnades, sanctuaries and entrances. Arrive Aswan, a prosperous town at the crossroads of the ancient caravan routes late evening.
Overnight: Nile Cruising  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 7

The Philae Temple

Nile cruiser - Aswan. Today, we enjoy a short boat trip to Agilika Island for Philae Temple - dedicated to the goddess Isis. The temple dates from 4th century BC but the Ptolomies and the Romans up to 3rd century AD built most of the existing structures. In danger of being completely submerged by the rising water of Lake Nasser, in 1972 UNESCO stepped in and an 8-year rescue effort was undertaken to relocate the entire temple 20m higher on nearby Agilika Island. We then make a stop at a perfume oil emporium. Perfumed oils in Egypt dates back to 2700BC and were used by women, pharaohs and by temple priests.

After lunch, we visit the High Dam and take a felucca sailing trip to Elephantine and Kitchener Island. As the sun sets, free time to shop in the colourful souqs and markets or simply relax and watch an amazing sunset in Egypt’s southern most town straddling the River Nile.
Overnight: Nile Cruising  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 8

Optional excursion to Abu Simbel

Aswan - Cairo. Consider the optional early morning excursion to the Temples of Ramses II at Abu Simbel. Please see our Abu Simbel by Road add-on for more info. Alternatively you can spend the morning at leisure.

If you choose not to embark upon this optional excursion, there is plenty to do in Aswan. You can explore Aswan, its beautiful shoreline and corniche or perhaps do a spot of shopping. Late this afternoon, we board the overnight train (twin berth sleeper cabins provided) for our journey back to Cairo. A light dinner is served on board.
Overnight: Sleeper Train  |  Breakfast, Dinner

Day 9

Cairo

This morning have breakfast in your train cabin and upon arrival into Cairo transfer to the hotel and check in. Upon arrival transfer to the hotel and check in. The rest of the day is free for you to enjoy the hotel facilities or you can opt to join our optional tour visiting Old Cairo, Coptic Cairo and the Citadel of Saladin (book locally).
Overnight: Cairo  |  Breakfast

Day 10

Cairo

Sunday. Tour ends after breakfast. Included onward transfer to airport.
Breakfast

Sun Festival Tours

If you are planning on travelling with us in February 2019 or October 2019 consider our Ramses Sunrise or Jewel of the Nile Sun Festival tours. These tours include arrangements similar to those of our Jewel of the Nile with the added highlight of witnessing the Sun Festival of King Ramses II at Abu Simbel.

Ramses II had his grand temple carefully angled and oriented in order that the sun's rays would align twice a year on the date of his ascension to the throne (21 February) and on his birthday (21 October) and illuminate the inner sanctum of the temple. This incredible natural phenomenon provides for a most spectacular sight as the sun illuminates the 3 statues of the living world, whilst the statute of Ptah - the god of darkness - remains in the shadows. The temple was re-located in a multi-million dollar operation in 1972, further up from the shoreline of Lake Nasser. In the temples new position the sun now strikes a day later than Ramses had originally planned.

Includes: Coach from Aswan to Abu Simbel early morning on the day of the festival. Guided visit to Abu Simbel, the sunrise event, entrance fees and visitor ticket for this excursion. Return coach journey to Aswan after the event.

Prices & Dates

Departure dates noted with a 'G' are guaranteed to operate. All other departure dates are guaranteed with a minimum of 2 persons. Prices shown are per person when there are 2 persons sharing a room. The 'Single supplement' applies for single travellers who require their own room and needs to be added to the per person price.

Read More
Xmas departure, book early!
XMAS Departure
New Years departure, book early!
New Year Departure
This is a Sun Festival departure and we've included special touring arrangements. For travel in Oct 2019 & Oct 2020, please see our Treasures of the Nile Sun Festival tour which includes 2 flights, no overnight trains. For travel in Feb 2020, please see our Ramses Sunrise itinerary which includes one flight and one overnight train. Both itineraries are located within the 'Festival Tours' section on our website.
Sun Festival
Please note this tour departs on a Saturday.
Saturday Departure
Easter departure, book early!
Easter Departure
Guaranteed Departure
Available
Contact us to book
Sold out
2019
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
£1,095
£695
£1,360
£695
20 Sep - 29 Sep 20% offG
£1,360
£1,088

£695
£1,360
£695
£1,360
£695
£1,360
£695
15 Nov - 24 Nov 15% offG
£1,360
£1,156

£695
£1,360
£695
06 Dec - 15 Dec 10% offG
£1,360
£1,224

£695
20 Dec - 29 Dec 10% offXmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
£1,515
£1,364

£695
27 Dec - 05 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
G
£1,515
£695
2020
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
15 Feb - 24 Feb This is a Sun Festival departure and we've included special touring arrangements. For travel in Oct 2019 & Oct 2020, please see our Treasures of the Nile Sun Festival tour which includes 2 flights, no overnight trains. For travel in Feb 2020, please see our Ramses Sunrise itinerary which includes one flight and one overnight train. Both itineraries are located within the 'Festival Tours' section on our website.
This is a Sun Festival departure and we've included special touring arrangements. For travel in Oct 2019 & Oct 2020, please see our Treasures of the Nile Sun Festival tour which includes 2 flights, no overnight trains. For travel in Feb 2020, please see our Ramses Sunrise itinerary which includes one flight and one overnight train. Both itineraries are located within the 'Festival Tours' section on our website.
Please note this tour departs on a Saturday.
Please note this tour departs on a Saturday.
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
03 Apr - 12 Apr Easter departure, book early!
Easter departure, book early!
£1,570
£735
10 Apr - 19 Apr Easter departure, book early!
Easter departure, book early!
£1,570
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
18 Dec - 27 Dec Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
£1,570
£735
25 Dec - 03 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
£1,570
£735
2021
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
£1,095
£695

Extra Prices

Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
Private Tour Supplement
£590
-  
Pre Tour Accommodation
£115
£35
Post Tour Accommodation
£115
£35

Hotels

The hotels listed below are ones which we frequently use on this tour. We reserve the right to substitute these hotels to ones of a similar standard.

InterContinental Semiramis, Cairo

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Hotel

Situated on the banks of the River Nile in the heart of the capital, the luxury InterContinental Semiramis is conveniently located next to the Egyptian Museum and the bustling bazaars of Old Cairo. The tastefully appointed guest rooms have been designed with comfort in mind, with all modern amenities and balconies offering Nile or city views. The hotel's large rooftop pool is perfect for a refreshing dip and with 12 restaurants offering cuisine from across the world there's certainly no shortage of dining options. At the end of the day, head to the Nile Terrace to watch a spectacular sunset over the Nile, with a cool drink in hand.

Le Meridien Pyramids, Cairo

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Hotel

Set within beautifully manicured gardens, Le Meridien Pyramids is a stunning modern hotel affording amazing views of the Pyramids. The guest rooms have been designed with optimum taste and comfort in mind and include state of the art facilities. The outdoor swimming pool includes waterfalls and hydro jets. head to the Citrus Pool Bar in the afternoon for a refreshing beverage under the gaze of the pyramids!

Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Cairo

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Hotel

The recently renovated Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers and Casino is a stylish, contemporary hotel with fantastic views over the Nile. The rooms are particularly spacious with large bright windows, complimentary WiFi and all of the modern amenities required to ensure a comfortable stay. If you're feeling lucky head to the casino, or relax in the spa tub and soak up the sun by the large outdoor pool. The hotel has a choice of three restaurants and bars, where you can enjoy a tasty meal and refreshing drinks after taking in the ancient wonders of Egypt's capital city.

M/S Royal Lotus, Nile Cruising

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Cruise

The luxurious Movenpick M/S Royal Lotus offers extremely spacious cabins and a good range of public areas.

M/S Farah, Nile Cruising

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 star cruise boat

The M/S Farah is a stylish and modern cruise boat, with large cabins that face out over the Nile. Contemporary in decor, the Farah has a large sun deck and swimming pool.

Moon Dance, Nile Cruising

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Cruise

Moondance is a five star deluxe ship designed for luxury cruising on the Nile, accommodating up to 145 passengers.The vessel has 60 cabins and 8 suites offering exquisite comfort amidst an elegant yet intimate décor.

M/S Premium, Nile Cruising

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Cruise

The modern and luxurious M/S Premium cruise boat boasts stylish cabins equipped with all modern amenities and large panoramic windows. Facilities on board include a fitness centre, spacious deck with swimming pool, large restaurant and cocktail bar. Grab a good book and a refreshing beverage and relax on the Sund Deck - the perfect way to spend the day. The M/S Premium sets sail on Mondays on a 4 and 7 night cruise from Luxor and on Fridays on a 3 and 7 night cruise from Aswan.

Reviews

Travellers have rated this tour as 4.77 out of 5 based on 60 recent reviews

1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11

Dear On The Go Tours,

Thank you all for your fantastic 10 day tour of Egypt including the Nile Cruise. We really enjoyed every minute of it and thought your organisation and staff were the best and very helpful, thank you. We would especially like to thank Zidan, your Cairo manager for all his help an also arranging the extra trip that we had to Alexandria, we had a great time there and in Cairo.

The Hotels were beautiful and the visits to places very Informative. Also on the Nile cruise, we like to thank our tour guide there - Aamer Ibrahim. He was very pleasant to deal with and always helped us with transport and currency problems on our journey down the Nile.

We will be recommending your company to anyone that we know that are thinking of travelling to Egypt and tell them what a great time they will have if they go with you.

Thanking you all once again for our lovely holiday, and wish you all the Best for 2014 and the future.

• Submitted 12 Aug 2014
Tour
Guide
Country

Dear On The Go Tours,

Thank you all for your fantastic 10 day tour of Egypt including the Nile Cruise. We really enjoyed every minute of it and thought your organisation and staff were the best and very helpful, thank you. We would especially like to thank Zidan, your Cairo manager for all his help an also arranging the extra trip that we had to Alexandria, we had a great time there and in Cairo.

The Hotels were beautiful and the visits to places very Informative. Also on the Nile cruise, we like to thank our tour guide there - Aamer Ibrahim. He was very pleasant to deal with and always helped us with transport and currency problems on our journey down the Nile.

We will be recommending your company to anyone that we know that are thinking of travelling to Egypt and tell them what a great time they will have if they go with you.

Thanking you all once again for our lovely holiday, and wish you all the Best for 2014 and the future.

John Haggerty and Sandra Edwards • Submitted 22 Jul 2014

Best tour I have been on.

Joanne Mckinnon • Submitted 30 Jun 2014

Fantastic holiday. Loved every minute of it. Next time we will book directly through on the go.

John Gedrim • Submitted 23 Apr 2013

The tour was at very good pace and very enjoyable.

Donald Prider • Submitted 15 Apr 2013

Hi Rina,

Thank you for arranging our Egypt/UK/Cyprus trip. It all went off without a single hitch.

I said I’d let you know about On the Go Tours. As far as we are concerned they get ten out of ten. We would certainly travel with them again.

Egypt is experiencing a massive downturn in tourist numbers at present which is desperate for them but great for us. Our river cruiser catered for 70 plus people but there were less than 20 on board. We were in a group of seven (all Australians).

The On the Go “Jewel of the Nile” was highly professional, well considered, friendly and well executed. We wanted for nothing. The train trip from Cairo to Luxor and return from Aswan to Cairo was pretty ordinary but we expected that and enjoyed it. The train food was awful so next time I would take my own. This was certainly outside the control of On the Go and was all part of the Egypt experience.

All the arrangements fell in to place magnificently, from meeting and greeting on pre-Day 1, all the touring and right up to final departure at the gates at Cairo airport. Our guide was a four year university graduate in Egyptology, with immense knowledge and the ability to keep it interesting … all in excellent English. The quality of the chosen hotels was excellent and, in fact, the hotel in Cairo (Fairmont Nile City) on the last night with its view of the sun setting over the Nile was the best hotel in which Pauline and I have ever stayed.

Overall, the quality of the whole experience was excellent value for money and Pauline and I would thoroughly recommend On to Go to any potential Egypt tourers.

Pauline Lysaught • Submitted 13 Dec 2012

Sam,

Could you please post below for us. Thanks

It’s been a lovely, enjoyable occasion visiting Egypt with On The Go Tours. Although our flight was not as enjoyable/entertaining, the holiday package was one of the best so far. Transfers, sites/all transportations, tour guides, hotels, cruise all perfectly arranged.

We were met at the airport by the On The Go Tours representative Sherif, who took us through all the airport arrival facilities. We enjoyed a comfortable drive to our destination hotel Le Meridian Giza. The next day we were met by Egyptologist Mr Osama whose hospitality, kind gesture and knowledge no words could describe or reminisce. All we could say is, thank you for the beautiful, enjoyable time we spent with you in the museum, Cairo, Giza and the pyramids. Thanks so much at the pyramids.

The tour continued to Luxor and further to cruising on the river Nile. We were on the MS Farah the cruise boat for four days which felt like with a big family. What can we say is, well done MS Farah crew. Our sincere thanks to you and appreciation for the prefect work done. Our tour exposed us to horse drawn carriage, felucca sail, and not to mention the temples of which we enjoyed every part. Abu Simbelbolt-on is a must go or do item.

Finally we enjoyed our final day of the tour in a hotel with a very good panoramic view of River Nile, although the hotel is elegant, we would have preferred the initial Le Meridian in Giza owing to the one-to-one personal touch their staff offered. As all things do come to an end, the tour came to an end and we were seen off at the airport by Sherif.

In a nutshell, we would recommend the tour (Jewell of the Nile) offered by On The Go Tours to anybody.

1) Well done On The Go Tours

2) Well done Egyptian people for allowing us to savour such a magnificent history

3) Well done Sherif, Mr Osama, Aaamar and all others

4) Well done MS Farah Crew and Le Meridian team.

Regards

Edwin

Edwin • Submitted 28 Nov 2012

Hi Mark

Just to say that Kate and I are having the most amazing time here in Egypt.

Words cannot express how grateful we are to everyone here, and in your company for the care and attention with which we have been welcomed.

It feels like a total privilege to be here. Every day gets better than the last.

Please pass on our thanks to everyone.

Michael Willis • Submitted 05 Nov 2012

This has been such a complete tour of Egypt. Our host Yasser has been fantastic.

Susanna Venter • Submitted 30 Oct 2012

Hi Katie

Just got home today. We had a great trip. Everything went well and the On the Go tour was fabulous. I highly recommend this tour. The hotels we stayed in were luxurious and the cruiser we travelled on the Nile was also very comfortable. We were very happy with our guide and we were well cared for with airport transfers etc.

Thanks for your help in planning for our trip. We really appreciate it!

Mary and Rob Dow • Submitted 13 Sep 2012
1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11

In Brief

Range
Trip Type
Starts
Cairo
Ends
Cairo
Departs
Fridays
Group Size
Min 2 / Max 24
Hotel Rating
5 Star
Tour Guide
Yes, escorted by a tour guide
Meals
Breakfast: 9, Lunch: 4, Dinner: 6
Visiting
Countries

Tour Add-ons

Enhance your trip with these amazing added extras and add-ons

The reception by On The Go on our arrival was particularly exceptional. They literal propelled us through Customs very efficiently and were there waiting for us.

However the train trip was an uncomfortable ride. It was too small especially with the luggage. I would not for any reason recommend the train to a colleague or family.

Heidi Ngidi
OTG000139Jewel of the Nile - 10 daysMiddle East & North AfricaSignature1088 GBPfalse20Egypthttps://www.onthegotours.com/uk/Egypt/Jewel-of-the-Nile--10-dayshttps://drwyjmricaxm7.cloudfront.net/repository/Cruise-ship-on-the-Nile--Egypt-Tours--On-The-Go-Tours-231431396876611_crop_flip_300_300_f2f2f2_center-center.jpgGroup_Tours1088GBP