Save 20%
FROM: £1,088

Embark on a five star Egyptian adventure. Stay in one of Cairo's smartest hotels, cruise the River Nile in style aboard a 5 star Nile cruiser and be expertly guided by a professional Egyptologist guides for your entire stay.

Inclusions
Itinerary
Prices & Dates
Hotels
Reviews

Trip Highlights

5 star Nile River Cruise - spend four nights onboard a luxury cruise boat
Luxor West Bank - discover exquisite tombs in the Valley of the Kings, the towering Colossi of Memnon and the beautiful Temple of Queen Hatshepsut
Aswan - visit the High Dam, take leisurely boat trip to Agilika Island to explore the romantic Philae Temple and wander around the colourful souqs
Kom Ombo - visit the Nile side Temple of Kom Ombo
Cairo - marvel at the legendary Pyramids of Giza, explore the Necropolis of Saqqara and see King Tut's treasures at the Egyptian Museum
Luxor - roam around the colossal Temple of Karnak and see the beautifully illuminated Luxor Temple at night
Elephantine Island and Kitchener island - visit the islands on a felucca sailing trip

Included

Breakfast daily, 4 lunches, 6 dinners - (2 aboard sleeper train)
2 overnight trains: Cairo - Aswan and Luxor - Cairo (Private 2 berth sleeper cabin) including meals
Touring and sightseeing in Cairo, Giza, Saqqara, Luxor and Aswan
Escorted by an Egyptian tour guide degree qualified in Egyptology (groups of 4 or more)
3 nights 5 star hotels, 4 nights aboard luxury 5 star Nile Cruiser (en suite cabin)
Airport arrival and departure transfer day 1 and day 10
Felucca Sailing around the islands of Aswan
All relevant transfer and transportation in private modern air-conditioned vehicles

Not Included

International flights and visa
Entrance Fees: USD$80-100pp, paid in local currency
Tip for your tour guide. We recommend you allow USD$5 - 7 per day, per traveller. Tipping your guide is an entirely personal gesture
Tipping Kitty: USD$60-80pp, paid in local currency

Itinerary

Day 1

Cairo

Friday. Welcome to Egypt and the start of a wonderful holiday! Arrive Cairo airport, and included transfer to your 5 star hotel located in downtown Cairo. The rest of the day is free to relax or those arriving early can opt to pre book our optional Backstreets of Cairo tour which departs the hotel at 10am today.

For those who wish to extend their stay, we also offer a pre or post tour Alexandria Day Trip.
Overnight: Cairo

Day 2

Egyptian Museum

We start with the dazzling antiquities at the Egyptian Museum. Amongst the many exhibits are the treasures of King Tutankhamun.
Overnight: Cairo  |  Breakfast

Day 3

Pyramids of Giza

Cairo - Luxor. Today we visit Egypt's most loved sight - The Great Pyramids of Giza. We explore the Giza plateau, pyramids and massive Sphinx. We continue on to explore Saqqara - an ancient necropolis with many half-buried tombs and the famous Zhoser’s step pyramid. Later we travel to Luxor by overnight train. You will be accommodated in comfortable twin sleeper cabins. A light dinner is served on board.

If you don’t fancy travelling by overnight sleeper train, consider our Treasures of the Nile tour that replaces overnight trains with flights and comfortable 5 star hotels.
Overnight: Sleeper Train  |  Breakfast, Dinner

Day 4

Valley of the Kings

Arriving into Luxor this morning we visit the incredible Valley of the Kings. The massive pair of statues known as the Colossi of Memnon are the first monuments you’ll see during our morning visit to the West Bank - home to the legendary Valley of the Kings. You’ll also see the colonnaded Temple of Queen Hatshepsut. Return to Luxor for check-in on board our Nile 5 star cruiser. Lunch at leisure and time to relax until our early evening visit to the Temple of Luxor. Luxor Temple looks stunning at dusk and is beautifully illuminated at night.

Note: Dependent upon Nile Cruiser scheduling it maybe required that we also undertake our excursion to Karnak Temple this afternoon. Should this occur, day 5 will be spent at leisure.
Overnight: Nile Cruising  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 5

Luxor & Nile Cruising

Luxor - Nile cruising. This morning we tour the ancient city of Thebes (the East Bank), taking in the magnificent Temple of Karnak. More than a temple, Karnak is a gigantic and stunning complex of sanctuaries and pylons dedicated to the Theban gods. Anchors away this afternoon as we set sail downstream.
Overnight: Nile Cruising  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 6

Cruising & Kom Ombo

Nile cruising. Relax as we sail the Nile. Later today we visit the Temple of Kom Ombo. A unique riverside temple, it is unusual in that everything architecturally is doubled and perfectly symmetrical along the main axis of the temple including twin halls, courts, colonnades, sanctuaries and entrances. Arrive Aswan, a prosperous town at the crossroads of the ancient caravan routes late evening.
Overnight: Nile Cruising  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 7

The Philae Temple

Nile cruiser - Aswan. Today, we enjoy a short boat trip to Agilika Island for Philae Temple - dedicated to the goddess Isis. The temple dates from 4th century BC but the Ptolomies and the Romans up to 3rd century AD built most of the existing structures. In danger of being completely submerged by the rising water of Lake Nasser, in 1972 UNESCO stepped in and an 8-year rescue effort was undertaken to relocate the entire temple 20m higher on nearby Agilika Island. We then make a stop at a perfume oil emporium. Perfumed oils in Egypt dates back to 2700BC and were used by women, pharaohs and by temple priests.

After lunch, we visit the High Dam and take a felucca sailing trip to Elephantine and Kitchener Island. As the sun sets, free time to shop in the colourful souqs and markets or simply relax and watch an amazing sunset in Egypt’s southern most town straddling the River Nile.
Overnight: Nile Cruising  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 8

Optional excursion to Abu Simbel

Aswan - Cairo. Consider the optional early morning excursion to the Temples of Ramses II at Abu Simbel. Please see our Abu Simbel by Road add-on for more info. Alternatively you can spend the morning at leisure.

If you choose not to embark upon this optional excursion, there is plenty to do in Aswan. You can explore Aswan, its beautiful shoreline and corniche or perhaps do a spot of shopping. Late this afternoon, we board the overnight train (twin berth sleeper cabins provided) for our journey back to Cairo. A light dinner is served on board.
Overnight: Sleeper Train  |  Breakfast, Dinner

Day 9

Cairo

This morning have breakfast in your train cabin and upon arrival into Cairo transfer to the hotel and check in. Upon arrival transfer to the hotel and check in. The rest of the day is free for you to enjoy the hotel facilities or you can opt to join our optional tour visiting Old Cairo, Coptic Cairo and the Citadel of Saladin (book locally).
Overnight: Cairo  |  Breakfast

Day 10

Cairo

Sunday. Tour ends after breakfast. Included onward transfer to airport.
Breakfast

Sun Festival Tours

If you are planning on travelling with us in February 2019 or October 2019 consider our Ramses Sunrise or Jewel of the Nile Sun Festival tours. These tours include arrangements similar to those of our Jewel of the Nile with the added highlight of witnessing the Sun Festival of King Ramses II at Abu Simbel.

Ramses II had his grand temple carefully angled and oriented in order that the sun's rays would align twice a year on the date of his ascension to the throne (21 February) and on his birthday (21 October) and illuminate the inner sanctum of the temple. This incredible natural phenomenon provides for a most spectacular sight as the sun illuminates the 3 statues of the living world, whilst the statute of Ptah - the god of darkness - remains in the shadows. The temple was re-located in a multi-million dollar operation in 1972, further up from the shoreline of Lake Nasser. In the temples new position the sun now strikes a day later than Ramses had originally planned.

Includes: Coach from Aswan to Abu Simbel early morning on the day of the festival. Guided visit to Abu Simbel, the sunrise event, entrance fees and visitor ticket for this excursion. Return coach journey to Aswan after the event.

Prices & Dates

Departure dates noted with a 'G' are guaranteed to operate. All other departure dates are guaranteed with a minimum of 2 persons. Prices shown are per person when there are 2 persons sharing a room. The 'Single supplement' applies for single travellers who require their own room and needs to be added to the per person price.

Read More
Xmas departure, book early!
XMAS Departure
New Years departure, book early!
New Year Departure
This is a Sun Festival departure and we've included special touring arrangements. For travel in Oct 2019 & Oct 2020, please see our Treasures of the Nile Sun Festival tour which includes 2 flights, no overnight trains. For travel in Feb 2020, please see our Ramses Sunrise itinerary which includes one flight and one overnight train. Both itineraries are located within the 'Festival Tours' section on our website.
Sun Festival
Please note this tour departs on a Saturday.
Saturday Departure
Easter departure, book early!
Easter Departure
Guaranteed Departure
Available
Contact us to book
Sold out
2019
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
£1,095
£695
£1,360
£695
20 Sep - 29 Sep 20% offG
£1,360
£1,088

£695
£1,360
£695
£1,360
£695
£1,360
£695
15 Nov - 24 Nov 15% offG
£1,360
£1,156

£695
£1,360
£695
06 Dec - 15 Dec 10% offG
£1,360
£1,224

£695
20 Dec - 29 Dec 10% offXmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
£1,515
£1,364

£695
27 Dec - 05 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
G
£1,515
£695
2020
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
15 Feb - 24 Feb This is a Sun Festival departure and we've included special touring arrangements. For travel in Oct 2019 & Oct 2020, please see our Treasures of the Nile Sun Festival tour which includes 2 flights, no overnight trains. For travel in Feb 2020, please see our Ramses Sunrise itinerary which includes one flight and one overnight train. Both itineraries are located within the 'Festival Tours' section on our website.
This is a Sun Festival departure and we've included special touring arrangements. For travel in Oct 2019 & Oct 2020, please see our Treasures of the Nile Sun Festival tour which includes 2 flights, no overnight trains. For travel in Feb 2020, please see our Ramses Sunrise itinerary which includes one flight and one overnight train. Both itineraries are located within the 'Festival Tours' section on our website.
Please note this tour departs on a Saturday.
Please note this tour departs on a Saturday.
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
03 Apr - 12 Apr Easter departure, book early!
Easter departure, book early!
£1,570
£735
10 Apr - 19 Apr Easter departure, book early!
Easter departure, book early!
£1,570
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
18 Dec - 27 Dec Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
£1,570
£735
25 Dec - 03 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
£1,570
£735
2021
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
£1,095
£695

Extra Prices

Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
Private Tour Supplement
£590
-  
Pre Tour Accommodation
£115
£35
Post Tour Accommodation
£115
£35

Hotels

The hotels listed below are ones which we frequently use on this tour. We reserve the right to substitute these hotels to ones of a similar standard.

InterContinental Semiramis, Cairo

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Hotel

Situated on the banks of the River Nile in the heart of the capital, the luxury InterContinental Semiramis is conveniently located next to the Egyptian Museum and the bustling bazaars of Old Cairo. The tastefully appointed guest rooms have been designed with comfort in mind, with all modern amenities and balconies offering Nile or city views. The hotel's large rooftop pool is perfect for a refreshing dip and with 12 restaurants offering cuisine from across the world there's certainly no shortage of dining options. At the end of the day, head to the Nile Terrace to watch a spectacular sunset over the Nile, with a cool drink in hand.

Le Meridien Pyramids, Cairo

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Hotel

Set within beautifully manicured gardens, Le Meridien Pyramids is a stunning modern hotel affording amazing views of the Pyramids. The guest rooms have been designed with optimum taste and comfort in mind and include state of the art facilities. The outdoor swimming pool includes waterfalls and hydro jets. head to the Citrus Pool Bar in the afternoon for a refreshing beverage under the gaze of the pyramids!

Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Cairo

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Hotel

The recently renovated Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers and Casino is a stylish, contemporary hotel with fantastic views over the Nile. The rooms are particularly spacious with large bright windows, complimentary WiFi and all of the modern amenities required to ensure a comfortable stay. If you're feeling lucky head to the casino, or relax in the spa tub and soak up the sun by the large outdoor pool. The hotel has a choice of three restaurants and bars, where you can enjoy a tasty meal and refreshing drinks after taking in the ancient wonders of Egypt's capital city.

M/S Royal Lotus, Nile Cruising

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Cruise

The luxurious Movenpick M/S Royal Lotus offers extremely spacious cabins and a good range of public areas.

M/S Farah, Nile Cruising

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 star cruise boat

The M/S Farah is a stylish and modern cruise boat, with large cabins that face out over the Nile. Contemporary in decor, the Farah has a large sun deck and swimming pool.

Moon Dance, Nile Cruising

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Cruise

Moondance is a five star deluxe ship designed for luxury cruising on the Nile, accommodating up to 145 passengers.The vessel has 60 cabins and 8 suites offering exquisite comfort amidst an elegant yet intimate décor.

M/S Premium, Nile Cruising

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Cruise

The modern and luxurious M/S Premium cruise boat boasts stylish cabins equipped with all modern amenities and large panoramic windows. Facilities on board include a fitness centre, spacious deck with swimming pool, large restaurant and cocktail bar. Grab a good book and a refreshing beverage and relax on the Sund Deck - the perfect way to spend the day. The M/S Premium sets sail on Mondays on a 4 and 7 night cruise from Luxor and on Fridays on a 3 and 7 night cruise from Aswan.

Reviews

Travellers have rated this tour as 4.77 out of 5 based on 60 recent reviews

1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11

To whom it may concern.

Recently my wife and I returned from an “on the go” tour of Egypt.

This was booked by a local Flight Centre in conjunction with “on the go” staff in Brisbane.

On arrival in Cairo we were met by your representative,Tom. From then on everything was taken care of – every minor detail was attended to by him,including assisting with our luggage.

Nothing was any trouble to this man who was always cheerful regardless of the time, day or night.

We then met Hany,our tour leader/guide.

From day one till the end of the tour we were thoroughly impressed with his attention to detail and his vast knowledge of Egypt.

We could see that he was passionate about Egypt and his enjoyment of his profession showed through.

You are to be congratulated for employing such excellent staff and we would have no hesitation in recommending your company to any one.

Kindest regards,

Bill and Joan Kealy • Submitted 31 Mar 2011

This was an incredible holiday for my wife and I. Everything was so professionally carried out by "On the Go" from our arrival at Cairo Airport, our first night's accommodation, and meeting our 6 other travelling companions. Then next morning meeting up with our Guide for the Tour, Saleeb who took us on a journey of discovery we would never have imagined.

Saleeb made the tour an adventure from start to finish. We saw many wonderous sights, mixed with the Egyptian people where possible and the river cruise up the Nile to Aswan was one of the highlights of our trip.

The structure of the tour allowed us rest and relaxation along the way and we never felt overwhelmed (other than the impressiveness of some of the temples, Abu Simbal in particular, the Spinx and pyramids of Giza)or pushed for time in any way.

I would recommend this 10 day tour through Eypt to anyone and have done so since our return home.

Now we are headed for another trip in September 2011 to Turkey with "On the Go" meeting up with our 2 Canadian friends whom we met on our trip through Egypt.

Yours sincerely

Robert Gore

Mr Robert Gore • Submitted 15 Feb 2011

Dear Emin

I'm just writing this email with mum next to me - she said you'd like comments on the On the Go tour. We had a fabulous time!

The tour guides - both the guide who arranged our Cairo stay and transfers and the guide who was with us as we travelled through the country - were absolutely fantastic. All of our transfers were arranged on time. The tour guide who led us through Egypt was also an archaeologist so his explanations of all of the ancient sites were very interesting! He was also great in assisting us bargain in the markets and telling us about the culture of Egypt.

The hotels were lovely - one comment we would make is that Le Meridian had a few faults; the air-conditioning was faulty in the rooms, there were no tea / coffee making facilities and complimentary water was not provided. However, other than that, the hotels was lovely. The Grand Hyatt Cairo was by far one of the best hotels we have stayed at.

The Nile cruise was wonderful - the food was fantastic - we didn't get sick thankfully during the entire trip. The staff on board were very accommodating and friendly.

Back to the food - it was also very good. We were also assisted by the guide as to clean places to eat outside of the hotels.

With respect to the transport; the mini buses and the On the Go coach was very clean. We could also buy water daily from the On the Go coach which was useful.

We would gladly recommend On the Go as a tour provider for their wonderful service, attentiveness and making our holiday hassle free.

Thank you so much Emin for organising and recommending all of the variations on this tour! You'll have our business again!

Cheers

Geraldine Cini • Submitted 31 Jan 2011

Nile cruise ship was fantastic, our tour guide Sal was excellent, his knowledge was fascinating and he gave us great tips/info for additional interest.. Also, I felt totally safe in this tour.

Julie Kenny • Submitted 28 Jan 2011

Thank you for making our tour a very memorable tour. I had an amazing experience. Everything was brilliantly organised. I would recommended to enyone.

Alison Sarah Cini • Submitted 28 Jan 2011

Dear On the Go,

My husband and I have just returned from a superb and memorable "Jewel of the Nile" trip.

Throughout the trip we were continually impressed by the superb organisation (no mean feat in Egypt!) and choice of trips, Nile Cruiser, and Hotels.

In particular, we were lucky to have a superlative tour guide, Salib, who brought the history of the region to life, not only with his knowledge (which was vast!) but with his talented story telling, and his obvious enthusiasm and delight in teaching us about all that we saw.

Your Cairo tour guide, Tom, was an exceptional help to us when we were stranded in Cairo, when snow prevented us from catching a plane to Heathrow and on to Edinburgh. Although he had been up since the early hours taking another couple to the airport, he ran around for many hours on our behalf until he had managed to secure for us another flight, fixed us up with a hotel for the extra days, and even lent me his personal SIM card for my phone, that I hadn't previously been able to use. We have had "hiccoughs" on previous holidays (not with On the Go), but have never had such a hard-working tour guide who has put so much into helping sort out the situation, nor done so so effectively, with such good grace, making us feel as thought we were good friends that he would do anything for.

We would like to formally thank Tom for his help. Although we have never been on this kind of trip before, due to his kindness and organisation (and also due to Salib's immensely enjoyable guiding) we would definitely consider another trip with On the Go, and have been recommending it non-stop to anyone who will listen since we returned.

Yours sincerely

Shelagh Winship and Julian Wang • Submitted 30 Dec 2010

Dear On the Go Tours

We have just returned from the Jewel of the Nile tour and would like to express our sincere gratitude to both Tom and Sal for making our trip to Egypt a memorable and fantastic experience. Tom did a wonderful job of taking care of us. Tom met us at the airport, escorted us through customs and to our hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for Tom from arranging an early check-in at the hotel to providing a full brief on the tour and even some comfort items for the overnight train. Delivering us back to the airport at the end of the tour his care and concern was exemplary. Our tour guide Sal was the best tour guide we have ever experienced. His knowledge, passion and at times patience with our group was amazing. Sal being an Egyptologist and Archaeologist gave us an insight into the history of Egypt that was awe inspiring in its depth, honesty, currency and his delivery of the information demonstrated his passion and a love of Egypt. We would recommend this tour and your organisation to anyone. We will be using On the Go again in the future.

Deborah and Denis Higgins • Submitted 30 Dec 2010

Dear on the go,

I recently had the pleasure of taking one of your tours across Egypt with my mother. It was the Jewel of the Nile tour.

I just wanted to mention that our tour guide, Alam, was an outstanding guide and made our tour very enjoyable. His in-depth knowledge of the history and ‘happy-go-lucky’ attitude was very much appreciated.

Regards

Salmaan • Submitted 30 Dec 2010

Greetings from Nice...we just returned from the first organized tour we have ever been on in all our many travels. We found you on line...and the fun began...we were met by the tour manager, Tom, at the airport where our experience began and ended. Tom was waiting for us as we got off the plane, and guided us through all the rest of the "arrangements". He was informative and helpful, especially when we needed an extra days stay because we made a date mistake with our return reservations. He was interested in what we enjoyed, what other trip plan info we could have used. Our guide, Sal, must be the best you have. We learned so much more than we expected about not only the ancient history, but contemporary Egypt as well; he took us, he didn't send us, to see everything. The accommodations were great both the boat and hotels and the bus travel to and from each location was wonderful. We got to see and experience, with ease, so much. Many thanks to your Egypt staff for all their care and guidance.

Kay and Bob Roudon • Submitted 30 Dec 2010

I have just returned from your Jewel of the Nile holiday tour in Egypt, I just wanted to give you some feedback about my experience with tour, I wanted to thank your representative Tom who from the very first meeting at the airport was friendly and helpful, this was my first time travelling and I was unsure of the process but with Tom’s guidance and care I felt completely comfortable, all transfers from the airport and organisation of tours was of the highest quality, my mum and dad recommended this tour as they travelled with you a few years ago on the same tour. Thanks to all in Egypt who made our holiday such a pleasant experience.

Carol Crawford • Submitted 16 Dec 2010
1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11

In Brief

Range
Trip Type
Starts
Cairo
Ends
Cairo
Departs
Fridays
Group Size
Min 2 / Max 24
Hotel Rating
5 Star
Tour Guide
Yes, escorted by a tour guide
Meals
Breakfast: 9, Lunch: 4, Dinner: 6
Visiting
Countries

Tour Add-ons

Enhance your trip with these amazing added extras and add-ons

The reception by On The Go on our arrival was particularly exceptional. They literal propelled us through Customs very efficiently and were there waiting for us.

However the train trip was an uncomfortable ride. It was too small especially with the luggage. I would not for any reason recommend the train to a colleague or family.

Heidi Ngidi
OTG000139Jewel of the Nile - 10 daysMiddle East & North AfricaSignature1088 GBPfalse20Egypthttps://www.onthegotours.com/uk/Egypt/Jewel-of-the-Nile--10-dayshttps://drwyjmricaxm7.cloudfront.net/repository/Cruise-ship-on-the-Nile--Egypt-Tours--On-The-Go-Tours-231431396876611_crop_flip_300_300_f2f2f2_center-center.jpgGroup_Tours1088GBP