Save 20%
FROM: £1,088

Embark on a five star Egyptian adventure. Stay in one of Cairo's smartest hotels, cruise the River Nile in style aboard a 5 star Nile cruiser and be expertly guided by a professional Egyptologist guides for your entire stay.

Inclusions
Itinerary
Prices & Dates
Hotels
Reviews

Trip Highlights

5 star Nile River Cruise - spend four nights onboard a luxury cruise boat
Luxor West Bank - discover exquisite tombs in the Valley of the Kings, the towering Colossi of Memnon and the beautiful Temple of Queen Hatshepsut
Aswan - visit the High Dam, take leisurely boat trip to Agilika Island to explore the romantic Philae Temple and wander around the colourful souqs
Kom Ombo - visit the Nile side Temple of Kom Ombo
Cairo - marvel at the legendary Pyramids of Giza, explore the Necropolis of Saqqara and see King Tut's treasures at the Egyptian Museum
Luxor - roam around the colossal Temple of Karnak and see the beautifully illuminated Luxor Temple at night
Elephantine Island and Kitchener island - visit the islands on a felucca sailing trip

Included

Breakfast daily, 4 lunches, 6 dinners - (2 aboard sleeper train)
2 overnight trains: Cairo - Aswan and Luxor - Cairo (Private 2 berth sleeper cabin) including meals
Touring and sightseeing in Cairo, Giza, Saqqara, Luxor and Aswan
Escorted by an Egyptian tour guide degree qualified in Egyptology (groups of 4 or more)
3 nights 5 star hotels, 4 nights aboard luxury 5 star Nile Cruiser (en suite cabin)
Airport arrival and departure transfer day 1 and day 10
Felucca Sailing around the islands of Aswan
All relevant transfer and transportation in private modern air-conditioned vehicles

Not Included

International flights and visa
Entrance Fees: USD$80-100pp, paid in local currency
Tip for your tour guide. We recommend you allow USD$5 - 7 per day, per traveller. Tipping your guide is an entirely personal gesture
Tipping Kitty: USD$60-80pp, paid in local currency

Itinerary

Day 1

Cairo

Friday. Welcome to Egypt and the start of a wonderful holiday! Arrive Cairo airport, and included transfer to your 5 star hotel located in downtown Cairo. The rest of the day is free to relax or those arriving early can opt to pre book our optional Backstreets of Cairo tour which departs the hotel at 10am today.

For those who wish to extend their stay, we also offer a pre or post tour Alexandria Day Trip.
Overnight: Cairo

Day 2

Egyptian Museum

We start with the dazzling antiquities at the Egyptian Museum. Amongst the many exhibits are the treasures of King Tutankhamun.
Overnight: Cairo  |  Breakfast

Day 3

Pyramids of Giza

Cairo - Luxor. Today we visit Egypt's most loved sight - The Great Pyramids of Giza. We explore the Giza plateau, pyramids and massive Sphinx. We continue on to explore Saqqara - an ancient necropolis with many half-buried tombs and the famous Zhoser’s step pyramid. Later we travel to Luxor by overnight train. You will be accommodated in comfortable twin sleeper cabins. A light dinner is served on board.

If you don’t fancy travelling by overnight sleeper train, consider our Treasures of the Nile tour that replaces overnight trains with flights and comfortable 5 star hotels.
Overnight: Sleeper Train  |  Breakfast, Dinner

Day 4

Valley of the Kings

Arriving into Luxor this morning we visit the incredible Valley of the Kings. The massive pair of statues known as the Colossi of Memnon are the first monuments you’ll see during our morning visit to the West Bank - home to the legendary Valley of the Kings. You’ll also see the colonnaded Temple of Queen Hatshepsut. Return to Luxor for check-in on board our Nile 5 star cruiser. Lunch at leisure and time to relax until our early evening visit to the Temple of Luxor. Luxor Temple looks stunning at dusk and is beautifully illuminated at night.

Note: Dependent upon Nile Cruiser scheduling it maybe required that we also undertake our excursion to Karnak Temple this afternoon. Should this occur, day 5 will be spent at leisure.
Overnight: Nile Cruising  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 5

Luxor & Nile Cruising

Luxor - Nile cruising. This morning we tour the ancient city of Thebes (the East Bank), taking in the magnificent Temple of Karnak. More than a temple, Karnak is a gigantic and stunning complex of sanctuaries and pylons dedicated to the Theban gods. Anchors away this afternoon as we set sail downstream.
Overnight: Nile Cruising  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 6

Cruising & Kom Ombo

Nile cruising. Relax as we sail the Nile. Later today we visit the Temple of Kom Ombo. A unique riverside temple, it is unusual in that everything architecturally is doubled and perfectly symmetrical along the main axis of the temple including twin halls, courts, colonnades, sanctuaries and entrances. Arrive Aswan, a prosperous town at the crossroads of the ancient caravan routes late evening.
Overnight: Nile Cruising  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 7

The Philae Temple

Nile cruiser - Aswan. Today, we enjoy a short boat trip to Agilika Island for Philae Temple - dedicated to the goddess Isis. The temple dates from 4th century BC but the Ptolomies and the Romans up to 3rd century AD built most of the existing structures. In danger of being completely submerged by the rising water of Lake Nasser, in 1972 UNESCO stepped in and an 8-year rescue effort was undertaken to relocate the entire temple 20m higher on nearby Agilika Island. We then make a stop at a perfume oil emporium. Perfumed oils in Egypt dates back to 2700BC and were used by women, pharaohs and by temple priests.

After lunch, we visit the High Dam and take a felucca sailing trip to Elephantine and Kitchener Island. As the sun sets, free time to shop in the colourful souqs and markets or simply relax and watch an amazing sunset in Egypt’s southern most town straddling the River Nile.
Overnight: Nile Cruising  |  Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner

Day 8

Optional excursion to Abu Simbel

Aswan - Cairo. Consider the optional early morning excursion to the Temples of Ramses II at Abu Simbel. Please see our Abu Simbel by Road add-on for more info. Alternatively you can spend the morning at leisure.

If you choose not to embark upon this optional excursion, there is plenty to do in Aswan. You can explore Aswan, its beautiful shoreline and corniche or perhaps do a spot of shopping. Late this afternoon, we board the overnight train (twin berth sleeper cabins provided) for our journey back to Cairo. A light dinner is served on board.
Overnight: Sleeper Train  |  Breakfast, Dinner

Day 9

Cairo

This morning have breakfast in your train cabin and upon arrival into Cairo transfer to the hotel and check in. Upon arrival transfer to the hotel and check in. The rest of the day is free for you to enjoy the hotel facilities or you can opt to join our optional tour visiting Old Cairo, Coptic Cairo and the Citadel of Saladin (book locally).
Overnight: Cairo  |  Breakfast

Day 10

Cairo

Sunday. Tour ends after breakfast. Included onward transfer to airport.
Breakfast

Sun Festival Tours

If you are planning on travelling with us in February 2019 or October 2019 consider our Ramses Sunrise or Jewel of the Nile Sun Festival tours. These tours include arrangements similar to those of our Jewel of the Nile with the added highlight of witnessing the Sun Festival of King Ramses II at Abu Simbel.

Ramses II had his grand temple carefully angled and oriented in order that the sun's rays would align twice a year on the date of his ascension to the throne (21 February) and on his birthday (21 October) and illuminate the inner sanctum of the temple. This incredible natural phenomenon provides for a most spectacular sight as the sun illuminates the 3 statues of the living world, whilst the statute of Ptah - the god of darkness - remains in the shadows. The temple was re-located in a multi-million dollar operation in 1972, further up from the shoreline of Lake Nasser. In the temples new position the sun now strikes a day later than Ramses had originally planned.

Includes: Coach from Aswan to Abu Simbel early morning on the day of the festival. Guided visit to Abu Simbel, the sunrise event, entrance fees and visitor ticket for this excursion. Return coach journey to Aswan after the event.

Prices & Dates

Departure dates noted with a 'G' are guaranteed to operate. All other departure dates are guaranteed with a minimum of 2 persons. Prices shown are per person when there are 2 persons sharing a room. The 'Single supplement' applies for single travellers who require their own room and needs to be added to the per person price.

Read More
Xmas departure, book early!
XMAS Departure
New Years departure, book early!
New Year Departure
This is a Sun Festival departure and we've included special touring arrangements. For travel in Oct 2019 & Oct 2020, please see our Treasures of the Nile Sun Festival tour which includes 2 flights, no overnight trains. For travel in Feb 2020, please see our Ramses Sunrise itinerary which includes one flight and one overnight train. Both itineraries are located within the 'Festival Tours' section on our website.
Sun Festival
Please note this tour departs on a Saturday.
Saturday Departure
Easter departure, book early!
Easter Departure
Guaranteed Departure
Available
Contact us to book
Sold out
2019
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
£1,360
£695
20 Sep - 29 Sep 20% offG
£1,360
£1,088

£695
£1,360
£695
£1,360
£695
£1,360
£695
15 Nov - 24 Nov 15% offG
£1,360
£1,156

£695
£1,360
£695
06 Dec - 15 Dec 10% offG
£1,360
£1,224

£695
20 Dec - 29 Dec 10% offXmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
£1,515
£1,364

£695
27 Dec - 05 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
G
£1,515
£695
2020
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
15 Feb - 24 Feb This is a Sun Festival departure and we've included special touring arrangements. For travel in Oct 2019 & Oct 2020, please see our Treasures of the Nile Sun Festival tour which includes 2 flights, no overnight trains. For travel in Feb 2020, please see our Ramses Sunrise itinerary which includes one flight and one overnight train. Both itineraries are located within the 'Festival Tours' section on our website.
This is a Sun Festival departure and we've included special touring arrangements. For travel in Oct 2019 & Oct 2020, please see our Treasures of the Nile Sun Festival tour which includes 2 flights, no overnight trains. For travel in Feb 2020, please see our Ramses Sunrise itinerary which includes one flight and one overnight train. Both itineraries are located within the 'Festival Tours' section on our website.
Please note this tour departs on a Saturday.
Please note this tour departs on a Saturday.
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
03 Apr - 12 Apr Easter departure, book early!
Easter departure, book early!
£1,570
£735
10 Apr - 19 Apr Easter departure, book early!
Easter departure, book early!
£1,570
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,200
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
£1,410
£735
18 Dec - 27 Dec Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
£1,570
£735
25 Dec - 03 Jan New Years departure, book early!
New Years departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
Xmas departure, book early!
£1,570
£735
2021
Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
£1,095
£695

Extra Prices

Price /
Person
Single
Supp.
Private Tour Supplement
£590
-  
Pre Tour Accommodation
£115
£35
Post Tour Accommodation
£115
£35

Hotels

The hotels listed below are ones which we frequently use on this tour. We reserve the right to substitute these hotels to ones of a similar standard.

InterContinental Semiramis, Cairo

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Hotel

Situated on the banks of the River Nile in the heart of the capital, the luxury InterContinental Semiramis is conveniently located next to the Egyptian Museum and the bustling bazaars of Old Cairo. The tastefully appointed guest rooms have been designed with comfort in mind, with all modern amenities and balconies offering Nile or city views. The hotel's large rooftop pool is perfect for a refreshing dip and with 12 restaurants offering cuisine from across the world there's certainly no shortage of dining options. At the end of the day, head to the Nile Terrace to watch a spectacular sunset over the Nile, with a cool drink in hand.

Le Meridien Pyramids, Cairo

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Hotel

Set within beautifully manicured gardens, Le Meridien Pyramids is a stunning modern hotel affording amazing views of the Pyramids. The guest rooms have been designed with optimum taste and comfort in mind and include state of the art facilities. The outdoor swimming pool includes waterfalls and hydro jets. head to the Citrus Pool Bar in the afternoon for a refreshing beverage under the gaze of the pyramids!

Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Cairo

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Hotel

The recently renovated Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers and Casino is a stylish, contemporary hotel with fantastic views over the Nile. The rooms are particularly spacious with large bright windows, complimentary WiFi and all of the modern amenities required to ensure a comfortable stay. If you're feeling lucky head to the casino, or relax in the spa tub and soak up the sun by the large outdoor pool. The hotel has a choice of three restaurants and bars, where you can enjoy a tasty meal and refreshing drinks after taking in the ancient wonders of Egypt's capital city.

M/S Royal Lotus, Nile Cruising

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Cruise

The luxurious Movenpick M/S Royal Lotus offers extremely spacious cabins and a good range of public areas.

M/S Farah, Nile Cruising

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 star cruise boat

The M/S Farah is a stylish and modern cruise boat, with large cabins that face out over the Nile. Contemporary in decor, the Farah has a large sun deck and swimming pool.

Moon Dance, Nile Cruising

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Cruise

Moondance is a five star deluxe ship designed for luxury cruising on the Nile, accommodating up to 145 passengers.The vessel has 60 cabins and 8 suites offering exquisite comfort amidst an elegant yet intimate décor.

M/S Premium, Nile Cruising

Our Category: Deluxe   |   Regional Category: 5 Star Deluxe Cruise

The modern and luxurious M/S Premium cruise boat boasts stylish cabins equipped with all modern amenities and large panoramic windows. Facilities on board include a fitness centre, spacious deck with swimming pool, large restaurant and cocktail bar. Grab a good book and a refreshing beverage and relax on the Sund Deck - the perfect way to spend the day. The M/S Premium sets sail on Mondays on a 4 and 7 night cruise from Luxor and on Fridays on a 3 and 7 night cruise from Aswan.

Reviews

Travellers have rated this tour as 4.77 out of 5 based on 60 recent reviews

1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11

To Whom It May Concern

On behalf of my wife Nickie and myself I'd like to express the our thanks for a wonderful tour of Egypt (A childhood dream of hers). Everything ran as scheduled and without fault throughout. special mentions to the following:

- Safwat: our guide on the tour. Extremely knowledgeable, couldn't do enough to help our group, great fun to be with;

- Tommy: cairo rep. Punctual, extremely well organised, couldn't do enough to help, friendly.

We will recommend any friends or family to travel with you and will do the same if in the region again (we certainly hope to be!)

Grant O'Brien • Submitted 16 Dec 2010

Hi,

My wife Joanne and myself recently completed a tour of Egypt with ON THE GO and our guide was Mohammed Allam.

I just wanted to let you know that Mohammed Allam is one of the most professional people that we have met in our travels. His knowledge and guidance during the whole of the tour was nothing less than excellent and he treated us and the other participants in a more than professional manner.

We feel that Mohammed Allam should receive this recognition and would be pleased if you could convey our thoughts to your management. Mohammed Allam is a credit to your organisation.

Joanne and Terry • Submitted 09 Dec 2010

Having just returned from my big overseas holiday, the major component being the Jewel of the Nile tour, I wanted to let you know of the fantastic time I had in Egypt. Tom was No.1, as our Cairo representative. He ensured our smooth coordinaton between flights and accommodations, helpful and genuine nice person, eager to make sure we were 110% happy. All your drivers were great too (in coping with the traffic). It is the small things that make the trip extra enjoyable.

I had already decided on this trip and not long after I booked I had a high recommendation from another person who did the same trip a year prior. Having not much overseas experience I felt very safe on the tour and enjoyed the 5* luxury you offered.

Big Mo was also a fantastic guide. How does he remember all the dates and details? He was great and balanced the tour well, allowing for small groups/individuals to incorporate doing extra things in the free time. I especially appreciated his information in culturally understanding your country and giving us some guidelines for fair prices for the commonly purchased items.

I have wanted to travel to Egypt for most of my life and I was absolutely delighted I chose On the Go. I would highly recommend your company for this trip. I shall have to start saving to re-visit Egypt again when the new museum is open and the Avenue of Sphinxes is completed.

Margaret Stevenson • Submitted 24 Nov 2010

Hi,

We have just returned from a Jewel on the Nile trip and would like to take this opportunity to say a big "thank you" to your company for a wonderful holiday. A special mention has to go to Sal ( Saleeb Mikaeel ), who looked after us night and day and made our trip so very interesting. Also thank you to Tom for guiding us on our first and last day at the airport.

We were very impressed with the service that "on the go" provided and would have no hesitation in recommending your company to others.

Once again THANK YOU.

Roy and Barbara Taylor • Submitted 24 Nov 2010

THANK YOU!!!!

We have just returned from an amazing experience with On the Go in Egypt on your Jewel of the Nile tour, starting on 16/10. Both Tom, who cheerfully, friendly and welcoming met us at the airport on arrival and took us back to the airport on our return, seeing us trough the check-in procedure, and Mohamed Alam, our tour guide simply made this trip for us! Alam was informed, thorough, courteous, helpful and kind throughout our tour; he was always available for us to answer questions, help us out of any misunderstandings with the Egyptians or just buy us all an ice cream or a banana if we were needing refreshment. Both his and Tom’s advice at the start of the tour were invaluable. We can’t speak highly enough of Alam’s ability to make us feel welcome and secure in what was, for us, a completely new place and culture. We found the whole to be a charming mix of holiday and adventure! Well done On the Go! And especial thanks, please, to Tom and Alam.

PS Please tell Alam I have just found a photo of the mostly submerged Temple of Philae near Aswan taken by my grandfather in 1944! What a treasure that is now!

Mr Clive Davies • Submitted 27 Oct 2010

I found on the go to be very well organized and the smoothness with which everything ran made me feel very re-assured and relaxed, which was appreciated given I was travelling alone as a female.

I certainly will use them in Turkey, a place I have been twice to now, and would definitely recommend on the go to other travellers.

In particular, I would like to commend our guide Alam, who deserves special mention. As a business owner myself I noted his customer service skills, going the 'extra mile' to take care of the various needs of those in the group or just even to ensure we had a good time. For example he would wander the boat or train after dinner till at least 10pm to ensure all was well with us and we were happy.

Alam also always gave us options, from going to market, or back to our cabin, and places we would eat after a tour activity. This meant we weren't left to find something ourselves. I noted Alam was always available and willing to help and ensured the trip was enjoyable. He didn't look to make his life easier, rather he focused on what would make this time relaxing and memorable for us.

I found him knowledgeable not just in Egyptology, but life in Egypt today, which meant we learnt even more about the places we visited.

He also understood the Aussie sense of humor and would joke with us which made for a friendly atmosphere.

Karina Heinz • Submitted 20 Oct 2010

Hi there!

I did the 10 day Jewel of the Nile trip through Egypt and I just wanted to say I really loved it. I got to see everything I wanted to see while I was there - pyramids, tombs, temples, museums, artifacts, Abu Simbel, you name it, we saw it, we experienced it! The organisation and pace of the trip was fantastic as well and our egyptologist Alam, was not only very knowledgeable about his country's history (people & places), customs, beliefs and the religion, but also a really fun host. I think he got our sense of humour by the end of the trip, after all us Ozzies and Kiwis are a very unique people! You could tell he had a real passion for sharing what he knew of his country and the more he told us, the more we wanted to know, so it was great.

Well done On The Go Tours! This was a trip of a lifetime and after this taste of Egypt, I think I'll be back for more!

From Kelly, a very Happy Kiwi!

Ms Kelly Swain • Submitted 13 Oct 2010

I had an amazing time whilst in Egypt – the tour was the right level of trips and excursions and time to relax! The thing that made the trip most memorable was our tour guide Alam. He was so knowledgeable about all the sights, and gave us lots of information about ancient Egypt – his style was informative yet funny, and his sense of humour definitely made me remember more of the facts he gave us! It was the right balance of information and he gave us plenty of free time to explore the sights ourselves. He also told us lots about Egypt, Islam and traditions which helped us understand and value what we were seeing and our time in Egypt. He was also very kind and helpful, assisting group members when they needed help or were unwell, and was very organised and ensured we were all in the right place at the right time. It was lovely to let go and put ourselves in the capable hands of someone else and be able to trust we would see all the highlights Egypt has to offer. The Egyptian night on board was great fun, and Alam always ensured that all group members were included in activities. I’d highly recommend the Jewel of the Nile trip! Seeing Luxor temple at night was one of my trip highlights – a great idea to see it from a different perspective, and I also loved Abu Simbel.

Ahmed our Cairo representative was also very helpful and got us safely in and around Cairo and to the airport, he helped us with our hotel when the additional accommodation we booked (not part of the trip) was not up to our expectations. He responded instantly and moved us to an alternative hotel.

Ms Shona Reeve • Submitted 24 Sep 2010

My sister and I recently took my mom to Egypt with On the Go Tours and had the time of our lives!

This was partly because of such an incredible country -

but HUGELY because of your company and the people who work for you.

Tom met us at the airport on arrival and from the first second we met him, we were incredibly impressed!

He was friendly, attentive and wanted to do what ever needed to be done to accommodate us.

He answered all of our questions and was polite and well spoken.

I needed to get my phone set up and he went out of his way to find me a SIM card and help me active it.

He remembered that it was my moms birthday and when were leaving at 3am to the airport - he bought her a gift!

My mom had tears in her eyes over this incredibly thoughtful and heart felt gesture.

He shared his energy and his time with us and we are very thankful to him.

It is because of people like Tom that we will definitely consider using On The Go in the future.

Lacey Lee Elliott • Submitted 01 Jun 2010

Hi Kelly,

I just got back from my Egyptian adventure and it was incredible! Thank you for talking me into going there, I enjoyed every minute of the tour. On the go staff took good care of us and were ready to answer all the questions 24/7.

I will not hesitate to recomend you to my friends.

Thanks,

Kristy S. • Submitted 19 May 2010
1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11

In Brief

Range
Trip Type
Starts
Cairo
Ends
Cairo
Departs
Fridays
Group Size
Min 2 / Max 24
Hotel Rating
5 Star
Tour Guide
Yes, escorted by a tour guide
Meals
Breakfast: 9, Lunch: 4, Dinner: 6
Visiting
Countries

Tour Add-ons

Enhance your trip with these amazing added extras and add-ons

The reception by On The Go on our arrival was particularly exceptional. They literal propelled us through Customs very efficiently and were there waiting for us.

However the train trip was an uncomfortable ride. It was too small especially with the luggage. I would not for any reason recommend the train to a colleague or family.

Heidi Ngidi
OTG000139Jewel of the Nile - 10 daysMiddle East & North AfricaSignature1088 GBPfalse20Egypthttps://www.onthegotours.com/uk/Egypt/Jewel-of-the-Nile--10-dayshttps://drwyjmricaxm7.cloudfront.net/repository/Cruise-ship-on-the-Nile--Egypt-Tours--On-The-Go-Tours-231431396876611_crop_flip_300_300_f2f2f2_center-center.jpgGroup_Tours1088GBP