Iceland Traveller Reviews - On The Go Tours

Here are some reviews from our past travellers to Iceland. For more details on each tour, simply click on the tour image.

The tour was wonderful! Highly recommended. One of the best trips I've ever taken. Thanks.

Our guide Martina was awesome and very personable. Very knowledgable about Iceland's people and the land, including history, geology, culture, folklore, flowers, birds, Iceland's economy, and, of course, volcanoes and glaciers. She knew when to plan a waterfall visit so we'd see a rainbow. She knew old roads and side trips. She could recommend shops for hand-knitted goods, and restaurants for particular food preferences. ”  

Jerene Good • Submitted 14 Jun 2019
Strokkur Eruption Summer 2
Iceland Circle
8 Days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Our guide was great. Excellent source of knowledge, friendly, great driver. Knew excellent places for lunch stops. Tour was a good pace, although difficult with staying up looking for the northern lights, although the hotels were so-so. The last hotel, in the south, was perfect for light hunting - no area lights, easy access to check outdoors from our rooms. Would have preferred a more remote location for the 2 nights in the west, since there were lights all over and it would have been difficult to see the northern lights if the weather was good. Excellent hot tubs ad breakfast, though.”  

Joanne Brechlin • Submitted 3 Apr 2019
Northern-Lights-Expedition-Secondary 5
Northern Lights Exploration
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Trip was really well organised. Quite long days, but loads of great activities organised. ”  

• Submitted 27 Feb 2019
Northern-Lights-Expedition-Secondary 5
Northern Lights Exploration
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour was excellent and a good pace. Antoine was awesome. Very knowledgeable and great sense of humour. We had a great time and saw a lot in a short time. I can't imagine a better, funnier guide.”  

Thomas Leptich • Submitted 26 Feb 2019
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Our tour guide was VERY knowledgeable and passionate about Iceland, her history, culture, geology and geography. A font of information. He’s s very pleasant and enjoyable man who kept our tour group organised and on time. One of the most enjoyable tour guides we’ve had.”  

Maria Philipson • Submitted 17 Jan 2019
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

I can't remember Eric's last name but he was amazing! I called him Count Eric because he was always making sure everyone was on the bus. I can now count at least to 12 in Icelandic.

He knew so much about the history, geology etc and I think he really enjoyed telling us about Iceland.. He was pleasant and knowledgeable. Once we upgraded to a superior room all was great at the Hotel Cabin. I think that should be highlighted more as an option. The staff were extremely helpful and patient with all our "tourist" inquiries

The food at Arhus was actually very good and the young lady that served us was very efficient. The lodging was spartan as we knew it would be but looked at it like an adventure. The only real complaint would be that our cold water didn't work in our shower making it impossible to take a shower because of the heat of the geothermal hot water.”  

Paula Nowak • Submitted 17 Jan 2019
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

I enjoyed Iceland I would have preferred a little more time on the city tour of Reykjavik. The rest of the tour was great. Our guide very knowledgeable and passionate about the country and highlighted a lot of information. The shout of ‘aurora’ from our guide just was the icing on the cake! I didn’t think I would love Iceland this much but I want to explore more and become an aurora hunter now. ”  

Melanie Desbruslais • Submitted 10 Jan 2019
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour was amazing, our guide was perfect, very knowledgeable and friendly. The pace of the tour was great and it allowed enough free time to explore but not too much in certain areas where you could feel bored. Overall a great holiday.”  

Katie McMichael • Submitted 12 Dec 2018
Northern Lights in Thingvellir National Park - Iceland Golden Circle - On The Go Tours
Northern Lights Discovery
6 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Incredible tour, with the absolute best tour guide ever!”  

Maria Flavio • Submitted 30 Nov 2018
Northern-Lights-Expedition-Secondary 5
Northern Lights Exploration
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

He was a wonderful guide -- full of pertinent information and humor. He kept us informed and entertained throughout the trip.

In addition, he was very attentive to our needs.

We could not have asked for a better tour guide.”  

Patricia Heilman • Submitted 26 Nov 2018
Northern Lights in Thingvellir National Park - Iceland Golden Circle - On The Go Tours
Northern Lights Discovery
6 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Both the tour and the Guide/Driver were wonderful. The tour covers a lot of ground in a short time, and Eyrun was knowledgable, caring, interesting, and a very good driver. Both she and GJ Tours were very eager to be sure we had a good experience, and were very responsive to any issues we had.”  

Carol Black • Submitted 26 Nov 2018
Fontana Baths pool - Iceland Tours - On The Go Tours
Northern Lights in Style
6 Days Day |
Tour
Guide
Country

We had a lovely time in Iceland. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. The small group size was also a bonus!

I typically don't schedule tours, and was concerned that this trip would feel too tour like if that makes sense, but I was so happy from start to finish.

Caroline, who assisted us throughout the booking process, was also awesome! I would consider using OTG again in the future. Booking through OTG took so much of the hassle out of planning during a busy time of the year, and made for a true vacation. ”  

Erika Karp • Submitted 12 Nov 2018
Northern Lights in Thingvellir National Park - Iceland Golden Circle - On The Go Tours
Northern Lights Discovery
6 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

We really loved the tour. The pace was good. The hotels & meals were good. We enjoyed seeing the smaller towns and villages. Of course the sights were amazing.”  

Tammy Harkness • Submitted 15 Oct 2018
Strokkur Eruption Summer 2
Iceland Circle
8 Days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Johannes was excellent. He was entertaining and his knowledge of Iceland was exceptional.”  

David Howe • Submitted 9 Oct 2018
Northern-Lights-Expedition-Secondary 5
Northern Lights Exploration
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

We absolutely loved the tour. Our tour guide, Freyja was fantastic. She was extremely knowledgeable & was great to be with.

We have told our friends how much we enjoyed ourselves & how much we loved seeing such a wonderful, beautiful country. ”  

Mark Kemp • Submitted 13 Sep 2018
Strokkur Eruption Summer 2
Iceland Circle
8 Days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Anna was an amazing tour guide - I really can’t speak highly enough. She had a deep knowledge and love of her country and it showed in every moment of the trip making it extra special. ”  

Matthew Parkinson • Submitted 17 Apr 2018
Northern-Lights-Expedition-Secondary 5
Northern Lights Exploration
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Thor was extremely knowledgeable and personable.

He ensured that everyone was comfortable, happy, and achieving all that they wanted to on their tour.

I loved this trip! Being in a small group and travelling around the entire country, was both enlightening and exhilarating.

Our transport, accommodation, guide, and daily 'excursions' made this trip a dream come true. ”  

Samantha Ring • Submitted 12 Apr 2018
Strokkur Eruption Summer 2
Iceland Circle
8 Days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Our Iceland holiday was amazing. We saw everything we wanted to see - the trip was well-paced, but we covered a lot of ground. We also saw the Northern lights - spectacular.

Anna-Lara was excellent - informative and great fun. She obviously enjoys her work, and we felt really well looked after.”  

Yvonne Bowen • Submitted 30 Mar 2018
Northern-Lights-Expedition-Secondary 5
Northern Lights Exploration
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

The sites chosen to visit were excellent, I felt that the itinerary provided a good sampling of Iceland, and hit some major attractions. The time spent at each stop was usually adequate. Thank you for a good trip. ”  

Cheryl De Figio • Submitted 20 Mar 2018
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

On the whole we had a fantastic time and a really great experience. This tour is such a great way to explore the highlights of Iceland an would thoroughly recommend to anyone. ”  

Benjamin Williams • Submitted 15 Mar 2018
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Very interesting tour guide, lots of little titbits of information, felt very safe with the coach driver. Everything was well timed, excellent places to eat out, enjoyed the Blue Lagoon. We didn't see the Northern Lights unfortunately but we understand that these do not always appear. We had a lovely time. The log cabins at Hella were beautiful, we felt like we were in a fairtytale! ”  

Charlie Mason • Submitted 5 Mar 2018
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour was full on right from the start, no time to relax,Brilliant. It is obvious right from the start that both our safety and enjoyment were the main priorities. Simone was exceptional in her knowledge and this was shared with us throughout, as were any decisions as to why we were changing itinerary. I must also mention Gunner our driver, these are the unsung heroes on any tour, The conditions on some of the roads where a white out but at no time did we feel unsafe. He also well went that extra mile to ensure we saw all the sights safely. ”  

Peter Cracknell • Submitted 25 Feb 2018
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Good tour with lots to see. Would have liked a little more Reykjavik time. Saw northern lights so I am pleased.”  

Ray Peacock • Submitted 22 Feb 2018
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

I have the most fantastic time with a very professional guide and driver, everything was simply perfect!”  

Hui Goh • Submitted 17 Jan 2018
Northern Lights in Thingvellir National Park - Iceland Golden Circle - On The Go Tours
Iceland Northern Lights Express
5 Days Day |
Tour
Guide
Country

Peter was an excellent guide - he was very knowledgeable, helpful and he enhanced our trip.”  

Tessa Makins • Submitted 9 Jan 2018
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

I loved this tour, it was absolutely amazing and covered all the main tourist sites. The guide was lovely and really helped make the holiday memorable. I have already recommended this tour to several people.”  

Laura Thomson • Submitted 18 Dec 2017
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

This was an amazing tour, Katrina was so knowledgable and friendly and really gave us a fantastic tour all round. I was thrilled that even when the weather threatened to change the itinerary Katrina was prepared for anything and we never felt that we had missed out! The highlights are too many to really tell but I have recommended this tour and OTG to many of my friends and clients now. I am also considering going back to Iceland in the summer and will certainly look at OTG for this! Thank you for a life changing trip! ”  

Sophie Murray • Submitted 29 Nov 2017
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Great tour, wonderful sites, nice accommodations and terrific guide. Thanks for getting us ready along the way, too.”  

Lois Exelbert • Submitted 13 Nov 2017
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main2
Northern Lights & Glacier Lagoons
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

I thought this tour was spectacular. I was amazed at every stop we made. We had a good amount of time at each stop. The cabins in Hella were so cute and were a great spot to try to view the Northern lights. Our guide Anna Laura was a delight and a bit of a character but sure made the trip a delight. My only regret is I didn't do a longer tour. Thank you. ”  

Tiffany Turchak • Submitted 6 Nov 2017
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

We were very enjoyed the tour. The tour guide, Karl, has given us unforgettable experience about the northern lights and country side walk to an unknown water falls. He is an amazing photographer and shown us how to make great pictures at the night time with water falls as background. unfortunately, we can't get the pictures taken on us from him. This is the reason I give a star less.”  

Sheue Yuan • Submitted 6 Nov 2017
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Our guide (sorry I cannot pronounce her name) was fantastic. It was obvious she was very proud of her country and she was very knowledgeable. A lovely lady. The tour was also fabulous, I felt that we saw so much in the short time that we were there. We were lucky enough to see the Northern Lights which was an added bonus. The sights were amazing. Highlights for me were swimming in the Blue Lagoon, seeing the Northern Lights and the Glacier Walk wearing crampons. I also really enjoyed seeing the horses, in fact I enjoyed it all!!!”  

Jane Finch • Submitted 1 Nov 2017
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

This was a great tour. Was able to see the area we travelled in great depth. Tour guide was amazing! He had amaIng knowledge of the area and any questions we had about Icelandic life. He even help everyone set up there cameras for the northern lights. Only downside is the tour is markes as 5 days. But day 1 is just arrival and day 5 is just departure. It seems a little deceiving. Overall. Great trip. Highly recommend. The cabins at Arhus are amazing!”  

Natalie Greentree • Submitted 19 Oct 2017
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

It was amazing!”  

Julie Shullo • Submitted 18 Oct 2017
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

We were lucky to have Karl , our tour guide!Thank you, Karl! Thanking you I love Iceland as you do!!!”  

Inna Sesina • Submitted 13 Oct 2017
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour was absolutely amazing. The tour guide provided information and history at every landmark we visited (including the blue lagoon, waterfalls, the folk museum and the Golden Circle). The itinerary was well organised. I did feel a little rushed at some points of the trip but we were able to hit many stops we wouldn't otherwise have been able to hit. ”  

Ashley Collins • Submitted 9 Oct 2017
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Absolutely first class tour. The guide, itinerary, transport arrangements excellent. Katherine the guide is an absolute GEM. So knowledgeable and helpful, really helped to make the tour a wonderful experience. Thanks to Sarah Bansgrove, who made booking the holiday so simple and easy. Be prepared to budget for food which like everything in Iceland is expensive. However Iceland is a unique country. It has so much to offer and is so diverse it's unbelievable. One of the best holidays i've ever had. We will be going back.”  

Geoffrey Griffiths • Submitted 7 Apr 2017
Strokkur Eruption Summer 2
Iceland Circle
8 Days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Anna Laura was very informative, friendly and funny, well organized and prompt. I really enjoyed her and her passion for her country. I feel like I got to see and experience beautiful Iceland to it's fullest. I would have liked to at least try a 'sample plate' of the local cuisine (whale, fermented shark, lamb, horse, etc.) without having to order an entire entree of just one speciality meat. Overall a very memorable holiday that will be cherished forever! ”  

Angela Minavi • Submitted 29 Mar 2017
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

We had an absolutely wonderful time on our tour in Iceland. Jonas was an exceptional guide. He was very personable and friendly, sharing personal connections with various places we drove by and visited. This provided a very human and individual perspective to our experience. Jonas knew the exact amount of time we needed at each place to thoroughly enjoy the site and still allow for plenty of time to see everything on the itinerary. We felt we were introduced to Iceland in all its beauty, culture, history, people and resourcefulness. Afterwards Jonas was very prompt in sending out our tour participants' emails (per our request), group photos (he took them at our request) and several of his own fabulous photos he took while with us on tour. Our age group diversity was excellent and everyone got along extremely well. All in all, we had a super fantastic time. Thank you!”  

Margaret Frank • Submitted 27 Mar 2017
Northern-Lights-Expedition-Secondary 5
Northern Lights Exploration
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Great tour guide--passionate, professional, funny and extremely knowledgeable. Great tour bus driver -- helpful, kind, friendly.”  

Xuanan Phan • Submitted 20 Mar 2017
Northern-Lights-Expedition-Secondary 5
Northern Lights Exploration
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Very knowledgeable about the country and sights and tried to tailor information to group.preferences”  

Frances Allerton • Submitted 27 Feb 2017
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

The guide was excellent, very knowledgeable on the country and the information was presented in a pleasant and entertaining way. Also despite the poor weather she worked hard to give us the best experience possible. The tour organisation was very good and delivered the promised experience with the exception of the Northern Lights - we did 't even see any stars - cloud and rain! Obviously not the tours fault and we'll have to return.”  

Phillip Cox • Submitted 14 Feb 2017
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main2
Northern Lights & Glacier Lagoons
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Overall the tour was fantastic and our tour guide was really knowedgable about the country and its history, but was also able to talk about modern life which was a great contrast.

Only criticism which comes down to On the Go is that it's advertised as an 8 day tour but in fact it's only 6 days. First and last day are just independant days. Either change it to a 6 day tour or rename it ”  

Sean Mace • Submitted 6 Feb 2017
Northern-Lights-Expedition-Secondary 5
Northern Lights Exploration
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Was such an amazing experience! Would definitely recommend!”  

Katherine Rooke • Submitted 5 Feb 2017
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Great, friendly, informative. ”  

Bethany Archer • Submitted 26 Jan 2017
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Our guide was fantastic - caring, knowledgeable and articulate. He made the tour really interesting with his account of Icelandic culture and the social setup. I would recommend him without reserve.

I loved the tour because it was so varied and enabled me to experience the 'real' Iceland.”  

Brenda Rudolf • Submitted 23 Jan 2017
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Martina was great! She gave great insight to the Icelandic culture and people that I never would have gotten from a book or website. Even though we did not have great weather, she was always positive and we saw wonderful waterfalls and landmarks!”  

Susan Stolting • Submitted 18 Jan 2017
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Tour was excellent. The guide was very good. The only disappointment was that the northern lights were not active for us. I think the tour did give us a true feel for the country. It would be good to see more of Iceland as the scenery is magic.”  

Lynette Kershaw • Submitted 18 Jan 2017
Northern-Lights-Expedition-Secondary 5
Northern Lights Exploration
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour was great and we saw some amazing glaciers and landforms. We saw the Northern Lights on both nights that they were on the itinerary. The tour group stayed in great country locations on these nights to maximise our viewing. Hilke our guide was really lovely and very concerned about our safety, which was necessary when you hear about the dangers and about tourists lost because of the hazards. The accommodation was good and food delicious. We especially enjoyed the five course meal on New Year's Eve and we were just a short walk from the Cathedral to see the fireworks at midnight. A lot was packed into our short tour. Thank you to On The Go for such a great visit to Iceland.”  

Patricia McArthur • Submitted 8 Jan 2017
New Years in Iceland Main
New Year's & Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

One of the friendliest and knowledgeable guides ever encountered, loves her country & wants travellers to really get to know the people & their culture, cannot praise enough. Tour was great too.”  

Louise Tunnicliffe • Submitted 4 Jan 2017
New Years in Iceland Main
New Year's & Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Eric was fine. Charming and had a wealth of information about Iceland. We struggled with some bad weather one day and he was terrific in dealing with it. The coach driver was fantastic! loved Iceland and the tour covered quite a lot of sights.”  

Francesca Margereson • Submitted 20 Dec 2016
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

I really enjoy the tour and I will do it again :)”  

Glenny Garcia • Submitted 14 Dec 2016
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Fantastic tour! Thoroughly enjoyed everything we did and saw. Both Katrina the tour guide and Gumy the bus driver were friendly and enthusiastic at all times. No question was too silly, and nothing too much trouble. I took my father with me, and we both agree that the tour was great value and a great insight into Icelandic scenery, culture and highlights.”  

Leah Fraser • Submitted 9 Dec 2016
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

He was excellent! Very knowledgeable and funny. ”  

Laura Reddy • Submitted 5 Dec 2016
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main2
Northern Lights & Glacier Lagoons
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Tour was great. This is the first one I have done so don't have anything to compare it to. But, we saw a lot. Eric was very knowledgeable and able to answer all questions.

Some of the stops it would have been nice to have more time to enjoy them - Folk Museum, Blue Lagoon”  

Mary Elizabeth Allen • Submitted 30 Nov 2016
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Wonderful tour. Really appreciated the planning that went into this tour.”  

Bekkie Vineberg • Submitted 29 Nov 2016
Strokkur Eruption Summer 2
Iceland Circle
8 Days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

I had the most amazing trip. It really could not have been better. Vally had a lot to do with it. She was so kind, informative, and entertaining. She really brought us all together. It was such a great group of people from around the world. Our driver was also exceptional. I loved Iceland an didn't want to leave. It is because of Vally's passion and guidance that we had such a great time. I cannot say enough about how wonderful she was to spend the week with. If anyone deserves an award it is her. I will never forget the tour. It meant the world to me.”  

Julie Janzen • Submitted 27 Nov 2016
Northern-Lights-Expedition-Secondary 5
Northern Lights Exploration
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Got to see a bit of everything. Very impressed with the organization of the tour. Just enough sight seeing mixed with relaxing evenings of soaking in outdoor hot tubs and searching for northern lights. I would definitely recommend this tour and On The Go to anyone wanting to travel!”  

Alex Carlson • Submitted 25 Nov 2016
Northern-Lights-Expedition-Secondary 5
Northern Lights Exploration
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Wonderful tour and tour guide. Martina was great - very knowledgable, friendly and humorous.

Despite the awful weather, Iceland was absolutely wonderful.

Only things which could be improved on would be:

1. Remove the volcano and northern lights films. Not really needed.

2. The hotel in Reykjavik wasn't the best - they're renovating, so I'm sure it'll be better in future.

But overall a really great tour.”  

Emily Phillips • Submitted 23 Nov 2016
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main2
Northern Lights & Glacier Lagoons
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

I picked a cloudy week to go, so unfortunately no northern lights, however trip was otherwise good. Had plenty of time at each stop to have a good look, wander around and take lots of pictures. The cruise on Day 3 had to be cancelled due to strong gales, but we were able to see a museum on the Eider ducks instead. (We still had lunch on the boat.) Finn (the guide) was friendly and was able to tell us some of the history of the places we visited.

I also had the benefit of arriving in Iceland a day early, so I had time to try svið(!), and to do a food tour in Reykjavík the afternoon before this tour started.”  

Mark Pulley • Submitted 22 Nov 2016
Northern-Lights-Expedition-Secondary 5
Northern Lights Exploration
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour was brilliant, it covered everything we wanted to see and the guide Katrina was lovely. She was so knowledgeable and made the trip worthwhile as we learnt so much more about the country. ”  

Puja Doal • Submitted 12 Nov 2016
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Boga was a phenomenal tour guide. Very friendly, informative, and great about keeping everyone on schedule so we could maximize our experience on the trip. ”  

Raychel Leong-Sullins • Submitted 9 Nov 2016
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main2
Northern Lights & Glacier Lagoons
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Excellent trip. Even though we did not get to see the northern lights because of the unfavourable weather, we had a memorable time and were not disappointed with the tour or the country at all. The guide was well-informed and funny, the organisation and itinerary were great. ”  

Malak Jamal • Submitted 7 Nov 2016
Northern-Lights-Expedition-Secondary 5
Northern Lights Exploration
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Superb! The entire package was excellent in all respects. Our guide Martina was wonderfull, her knowledge of the history, geology, geography and mythology of iceland was more than extensive. This, combined with her 'leadership' and warm personable disposition made our experience unforgettable. Please send her a virtual hug from John and Debbie! Iceland is on another planet. The driver was an ace as well..”  

john battersby • Submitted 6 Nov 2016
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

The guide was terrific!!! He was funny, knew a lot about Icelandic history, geology, wildlife and shared with us a lot of "sociological" elements that make the Icelandic identity/psyche I think. He gave a lot of information and anecdotes throughout the tour. and was always available to discuss things we wanted to know/understand either in the group setting or on an individual basis.

As for the tour, we were awestruck by the scenery and the sites that were visited - we even got to view a bit more waterfalls than expected.

Simply a fantastic experience and a tour/guide/Booking agency we would gladly recommend to anyone. The next guided tours will surely be booked through OTG from now on1 :0)”  

Alain Couture • Submitted 4 Nov 2016
Strokkur Eruption Summer 2
Iceland Circle
8 Days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Great tour. Covered most of the iconic and touristic spots. Tour Guide is very experienced & responsible. Good trip”  

Wai Keen Foong • Submitted 26 Oct 2016
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Great tour. Covered most of the iconic and touristic spots. Tour Guide is very experienced & responsible. Good trip”  

Wai Keen Foong • Submitted 26 Oct 2016
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Bergstein was a superb guide. Despite the rain and wind we enjoyed ourselves. Well organised tour”  

Gijsbert Wieringa • Submitted 19 Oct 2016
Fontana Baths pool - Iceland Tours - On The Go Tours
Northern Lights in Style
6 Days Day |
Tour
Guide
Country

An absolutely wonderful tour. We were very happy with everything. The places we visited and the things we saw. We only wish it was for longer.

Our only negative feedback was the bus. It was a little old.”  

David Moss • Submitted 13 Oct 2016
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main2
Northern Lights & Glacier Lagoons
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Both our guide and driver were great. They were both very attentive to our needs and knowledgeable about Iceland. The tour was well planned and extensive, nothing boring about the itinerary.”  

Paul Castellan • Submitted 13 Oct 2016
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour was amazing. The guide and driver were warm, friendly and knowledgeable. It felt very relaxed and yet we packed so much into the days. The Glacier walk was an incredible experience and worth the money (although we felt it should have been made clearer regarding additional cost for this prior to booking the tour as it appeared it was included rather than an addition). We loved the Arhus Cottages and though we were unfortunate not to see the northern lights; it didn't make the holiday any less enjoyable. The accomodation was basic but this was expected. Overall an excellent trip, beautiful sights and a great opportunity to meet people from all over the world! ”  

Jodie Wells • Submitted 12 Oct 2016
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Our tour guide Bjorn was spectacular. He gave a lot of history of the country as we go from one destination to another.

The scenes and views were breathtaking! Unfortunately, the weather wasn't cooperating and I was very disappointed not able to see the Northern Light. ”  

Audrey Wen • Submitted 12 Oct 2016
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

We really enjoyed the tour. Tour leader and driver where wonderful and worked well as a team.”  

Anne Lewis • Submitted 10 Oct 2016
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main2
Northern Lights & Glacier Lagoons
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

We had an absolutely fabulous trip. The guide and drive were great, as was accommodation and having a smaller party of 28 was great.”  

Eileen Grace • Submitted 22 Sep 2016
Strokkur Eruption Summer 2
Iceland Circle
8 Days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

The Iceland Circle tour was well organized and provided a comprehensive overview of the entire island. As a solo traveller, I appreciated how On the Go Tours was able to quickly match me with another solo traveller in order to reduce costs. The Trip Notes and Pre-Departure Information for Reykjavik were detailed and helpful. The Icelandair Hotels were comfortable and provided excellent breakfasts. I did not particularly like how the Akureyri hotel had very little bathroom privacy as there were no doors for the shower and only a sliding glass door for the toilet (slightly problematic if you are sharing with someone with whom you are not familiar).

Our guide, Eva, provided us with a lot of information about each site we visited. I really liked how she prepped us for each site prior to visiting it and then gave us the freedom to explore each place on our own. She provided us with a suitable amount of time at each site and gave clear timelines for our day. She also accommodated our requests and was patient with each member of the tour. I recommend that tour guides have a meet and greet or introductory session on the first day (i.e., something as simple as have each person on the tour introduce themselves with their name, home country, and reason for visiting Iceland) as it took several days to fully "break the ice" with some of our tour companions. Everyone, however, was friendly and welcoming on our tour. I had a truly memorable experience and highly recommend this tour to anyone who can afford it! I hope to take another On the Go Tour in the future!

Note: My tour rating is a 4.5 (there was no option for .5).

As an additional, unrelated suggestion, is it possible for On the Go Tours to provide tours to Australia, New Zealand, and possibly Tasmania? My next tour destination would be these countries, and I noted, sadly, that your company does not offer tours to these destinations.”  

Joanne Pais • Submitted 14 Aug 2016
Strokkur Eruption Summer 2
Iceland Circle
8 Days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

This tour takes you around to all the spots plus more that I wanted to see in Iceland. We had enough time to see everything and learned so much about Iceland. I really enjoyed every moment of the trip.”  

Rachael Cooper • Submitted 16 May 2016
Strokkur Eruption Summer 2
Iceland Circle
8 Days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Not enough stars to rate how wonderful this trip was!!

From the moment of enquiry to fare welling the group on the last day has been easy and very pleasant.

All accommodations were clean and comfortable, access to alternate restaurants, supermarkets etc were very accessible (could tell guide was trying to arrive in destinations before supermarkets closed or facilitated stops early in day to accommodate). Tour size was perfect - 25 people, not an overbearing full bus - group was easy to manage, opportunity to meet everyone and was not intrusive (ie could keep to self or mingle - some tours force you to do group bonding activities)

Guide was very knowledgeable, gave us plenty of time at attractions, had a great sense of humour.

This trip had exceeded expectations!”  

Michelle Delbridge • Submitted 16 May 2016
Strokkur Eruption Summer 2
Iceland Circle
8 Days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour was excellent. The bus was good, the accommodation was excellent and the guide was very knowledgeable.”  

Robert Newell • Submitted 10 May 2016
Strokkur Eruption Summer 2
Iceland Circle
8 Days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Rocky Rock was an incredible tour guide. He was very knowledgeable and passionate about the country of Iceland. He was happy to share with us his knowledge through his history lessons and personal stories. Rocky Rock made sure that we enjoyed our time with every activity that we did and every place we went to. Rocky was a great driver and made sure we were safe. Rocky was able to keep us engaged throughout the entire trip. He was a wonderful person. Rocky Rock, thank you for sharing your passion of Iceland with us.

The tour itself was spectacular. All of the sites we went to were breathtaking. Driving along the coast around the country was a brilliant way to see Iceland. There really isn't a single thing that I would change about the tour. The buses were comfortable, and the wifi was an added bonus. the hotels were clean and comfortable. I went to Iceland to see the landscape and explore the country. This tour really gave me everything I was looking for. Thank you for the unforgettable experience.”  

Maria Grisonich • Submitted 10 May 2016
Strokkur Eruption Summer 2
Iceland Circle
8 Days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Excellent tour, very relaxed. The hotel upgrade made the trip special, and without it I feel we would have been disappointed. Our guide was excellent, adjusting the schedule to ensure we saw things at the optimal time for the weather.”  

Matthew Day • Submitted 23 Mar 2016
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

This tour was amazing! We saw so much of Iceland in such a short time and everything ran very smoothly. I was very happy with the accommodation we stayed in and the meals were great too. Petur was a great guide, very friendly and knowledgable about everything to do with Iceland.

We were lucky enough to see the Northern Lights I was so happy. Would highly recommend your tour to all of my friends / family :)”  

Aimee Foster • Submitted 23 Mar 2016
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main2
Northern Lights & Glacier Lagoons
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

The tour guide was friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and witty. We travelled in comfortable heated coaches which had the bonus of efficient wi fi. We saw a lot of Icelands beautiful countryside which was enhanced by the snow...and we were lucky enough to see the lights which were magical! Accommodation is basic but comfortable enough and more importantly warm! The only thing we missed on this tour was the blue lagoon which in retrospect we should have booked for our one extra day's stay in Reykjavik. By the time we decided that we wanted to go it was fully booked...so worth booking well in advance. All in all we had a great holiday! ”  

Anna Assaf • Submitted 5 Mar 2016
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main2
Northern Lights & Glacier Lagoons
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Katrina was friendly, helpful, and enlivened the tour with her interesting and informative stories.

She managed the practicalities very well, including the snow storm and closed route on the last day, ensuring we got the most out of the trip.

We were all amazed at how much we saw and did in such a short time.

This tour is an excellent introduction to Iceland. I have recommended it to others.”  

Naheed Ali • Submitted 25 Feb 2016
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Excellent tour which was adapted to weather conditions. Erik was very enthusiastic and knowledgable ”  

Laura Foster • Submitted 11 Feb 2016
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Excellent tour. Excellent guide! We had pretty bad weather, but still enjoyed it. Would definitely book thru on the go tours again.

I was a little surprised that the upgraded room package meant that we were the ones doing the walking over to the other hotel, but the upgrade was well worth it.”  

Lisa Porreca • Submitted 11 Dec 2015
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Excellent! ”  

Sarah Otto • Submitted 7 Dec 2015
Northern-Lights-Expedition-Secondary 5
Northern Lights Exploration
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Probably one of the best tours I have ever been on. The group size was perfect, and everyone got along. The sites were well planned and of course extemely beatiful”  

Lucas Mason • Submitted 3 Dec 2015
Northern-Lights-Expedition-Secondary 5
Northern Lights Exploration
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

'The Land of the Northern Lights' tour was amazing! Our tour guide was just fantastic, she was very knowledgeable about Iceland (it helps that she is a local) and was very friendly and accommodating. The accommodation was perfect, I especially loved the Arhus Cabins in Hella. They were very rustic and charming. I felt the tour was so quick, but gave you a real feeling for the South-West portion of Iceland. ”  

Heather Sanders • Submitted 14 Nov 2015
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

This tour was amazing I didn't want it to end. Rocky was the best tour guide; he was interesting, funny, approachable and kept us all informed and entertained throughout. Would recommend it to anyone!”  

Nicola Clarke • Submitted 21 Oct 2015
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Excellent tour. Very knowledgeable and passionate tour guide - Erik. Safe driver - Alli. I certainly learnt a lot more about Iceland and its people everyday. Hotels and food excellent. Only down side, I wish the group was a little smaller. It was just a wonderful tour and if I get the opportunity to visit Iceland I will be there. ”  

Elizabeth • Submitted 10 Oct 2015
Northern-Lights-Expedition-Secondary 5
Northern Lights Exploration
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Good size group of 9 pax with a combined driver/guide. Route around the island over the 6 days was perfect to cover the majority of the key sites and allow plenty of opportunities for down time.

Katharina, the guide, is freelance, but she was amazing and incredibly knowledgeable. The hotels were of a high standard with comfortable beds, in good locations and with efficient staff.

A quick note - this tour should be marketed as a 6 day tour as the guide does not meet the group until morning 2 and leaves the group on the night of night 7 so there is no group meeting or dinner on the first night nor farewell on the final morning, it really is a 6 day tour with a night pre and post - should be marketed as such.

Also, the office staff were unsure as to whether the pre-paid meal pack was worthwhile in terms of saving $$ or what other choices would be available in the countryside. Given there are several reasonably-priced choices on the menu in each hotel and cafes or other choices in all but one location, the pre-paid meals are not at all necessary and those in the group that did purchase the meals felt they were not that good value and locked them into set choices each night. I would recommend people pay as they go.”  

Amanda Gleig • Submitted 6 Oct 2015
Strokkur Eruption Summer 2
Iceland Circle
8 Days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Our guide Hilke was such a trooper, we couldn't have had a better guide. She was out looking for the northern lights every night for hours for us and getting soaked leading the few brave travellers behind a huge waterfall without any complaint. She was always enthusiastic and ready with a fact, story or joke. Hilke really does deserves all the praise in the world!

The tour was also fantastic, I felt like we got to see a good part of the west and south Icelandic coast without spending too much time in the coach. Accommodation was very comfortable and I would recommend this tour to anyone.”  

Laura Enriquez • Submitted 14 Apr 2015
Northern-Lights-Expedition-Secondary 5
Northern Lights Exploration
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Although bad weather curtailed a few activities the tour guide herself and the itinerary were brilliant. My only wish would have been to have more time at some of the spectacular locations. We'll just have to go again.”  

Patrick Bell • Submitted 20 Mar 2015
Northern-Lights-Expedition-Secondary 5
Northern Lights Exploration
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Amazing value for money, Guesthouse Borgartuni spotlessly clean and lovely family run. Tour ran like clockwork, no complaints whatsoever and i was expecting a few niggles since travelling alone with three children but we all fitted in very well and found it very interesting. Plenty of travel stops/toilet breaks and itinery allowed for short journeys so no travel sickness incidents! Moe time at Thingvoir National Park perhaps lunch there?

I feel like a walking iceland fact book as the tour guide was so informative, she filled every suitable moment with interesting facts and she was very receptive to the groups needs. She was very engaging and enthusiastic about the country and always phoned the venues ahead of our arrival so there were no hold ups. I would recommmend the tour to my friends and have done so already. I have also recommended On the Go Tours too.

We had self catering cabins at Hella so my only suggestion would be that this be mentioned on the itinery as there is a supermarket nearby so i would have preferred to cook for one night and relax in cabin as it is a very busy itinery with little relaxation when using the restaurant where service was slow and impatient hungry children, its less of a sociable thing and more of a necessity to eat quick :)”  

Diane Rattray • Submitted 26 Feb 2015
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Fantastic, loved every minute, we got to see so much more than i expected i would. The guide was very imformative and i learnt so much about where we were visiting, the people and the land. I enjoyed how we got to see extra bits as they were close by so would of been silly to miss. The bus driver was also excellent seeing as the roads were very difficult due to weather conditions. Would go back in a heartbeat!”  

Catrina Bond • Submitted 28 Jan 2015
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Our trip was wonderful. Our guide was very informative and fun. The bus driver was awesome too and they worked very well together. Thank you for a great experience.”  

Raymond Brower • Submitted 26 Jan 2015
Northern-Lights-Expedition-Secondary 5
Northern Lights Exploration
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Wonderful tour. Absolutely no complaints. Throughout the tour Heike was informative, and clear about what we were doing, seeing, etc. Even when the bus was blown off the road from the wind, the bus driver did a great job of handling the bus, no one was hurt? Heike handled the crisis calmly and efficiently. Within 20 minutes we were taken to another hotel to wait out the wind, and for the bus to be rescued, etc. Heike handles all arrangements for our comfort and to get us back to Reykjavik to meet our outgoing flight in good time. In fact, all through the trip we were impressed with Iceland's infrastructure.

This trip was beyond our expectations in all ways--sightseeing, food, engaging with fellow tourists, and all of the Icelanders were spoke with.”  

Roland Richle • Submitted 16 Dec 2014
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main2
Northern Lights & Glacier Lagoons
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Our guide was really excellent - knowledgeable, interesting, honest, enthusiastic, flexible with the weather conditions. The tour was good value, and well arranged. Just would have liked to have seen the northern lights, but that wasn't her fault.”  

Sue Hemp • Submitted 12 Dec 2014
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Although this was only a short tour, we managed to see many interesting things and met lots of nice local people, unfortunately we did not get to see the northern lights due to weather conditions. Our highly educated guide kept high spirits throughout, enthusiastically informing us about all of the wonders of Iceland - we certainly learnt something new everyday!”  

Zachary Eisen • Submitted 24 Nov 2014
Land-of-the-Northern-Lights-Main
Land of the Northern Lights
5 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Tour was amazing and our tour guide was fantastic. Iceland is a spectacular place to visit and this tour showed us so much. It was even better than I expected. I think this was the best tour I have done so far with you guys. Our tour guide was very good, providing us with lots of insightful information and facts on the places we visited. We were very fortunate to see the northern lights, it was definitely the highlight of the trip.The hotels and food were also great. In one word it was awesome!”  

Louise Long • Submitted 23 Nov 2014
Northern-Lights-Expedition-Secondary 5
Northern Lights Exploration
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country

Excellent tour guide, friendly, and very knowledgeable. She even joined some of us for an evening meal the night after the tour ended. Would certainly book a tour with her as the guide again.”  

Nicholas Roberts • Submitted 21 Nov 2014
Northern-Lights-Expedition-Secondary 5
Northern Lights Exploration
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
Guide
Country