Japan Traveller Reviews - On The Go Tours

Here are some reviews from our past travellers to Japan. For more details on each tour, simply click on the tour image.

We enjoyed our guide Kaori so much. She was very knowledgeable about all the places we toured, was always on time and was very friendly. At times all the transportation of buses, trains and subways was very hard to handle at times. During certain times of the day there were very crowded. We felt like a lot of time was used with the transportation and other tours might have been included. ”  

Ronald Myers • Submitted 26 Jun 2024
The Kyoto Basin-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Land of the Samurai
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

The tour took us to many wonderful places. There was too much public transportation especially in Tokyo, getting to Mount Fuji and the day we arrived in Kyoto. I was expecting public transport but not as many as 7 different transports in one day. We were also walking about 7 to 8 miles a day. The reserved trains and buses were great as well as the luggage forwarding. Most of the breakfasts at the hotels had many options and the hotels were all clean and acceptable. The hotels in Kyoto and Takayama were the nicest. The tour guide was very nice but I don't think he had done this tour before as he could not make any recommendations for restaurants except telling us to go to the train station. He had to spend most of his energy on coordinating the transportation and making sure that everyone on the 3 combined tours knew how to return to the airports as well as purchasing and collecting entrance fees. He occasionally would offer some information on the sites but compared to the 2 other touring agencies I have used, his information on the history and the culture of the sites was very minimal. We were never given information on hiking trails at Lake Kawaguchi as we left early. We were never given information on seeing a cultural performance at the Gion Corner Theatre or going to a tea ceremony and the guide initially wanted to exclude Gion and Nijo Castle from the itinerary until a few of us spoke up. We had little free time since we spent so much time with public transportation. The guide did take us to a wonderful Okonomiyaki dinner in HIroshima and he also took people to a few things that were not on the itinerary. We loved Japan and the people and did have a great trip but it was quite exhausting. ”  

Linda Fiore • Submitted 13 Jun 2024
Miyajima Island-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Tokyo to Takayama
13 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Yumi could have made the tour more enjoyable. In fairness we had a large group, but she struggled to communicate (both instructions and information) to the group. We were constantly asking each other what she had said as only the people closest to her heard what she said. Perhaps choosing quieter places to address the group mould have worked. Also she seemed to get quite irritated when people asked for clarification. Having said that she was pleasant and knowledgeable about the sights we went to.

Public transport required a lot of walking and in some cases a private bus would have made more sense.

The hotels were of a good standard but rooms were exceptionally small in some cases”  

Paul Halliwell • Submitted 7 Jun 2024
Mount Fuji with phlox moss and lake in foreground - Japan Tours - On The Go Tours
Best of Japan
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

I absolutely loved this tour! This is my second tour with On the Go and I really liked this one. I loved the "local's perspective" and affordability of using public transit instead of a coach bus, the variety of things we did, the downtime and special, hidden extras that our guide Toshi took us too (including surprises not included on the tour itinerary, that Toshi took time out of his day to take us to), and the fantastic opportunities to do things I would have never done on my own, like the onsen and traditional inn.

I will say though that this tour needs to be marked as Highly Physical. The amount of walking (10+ miles on every single day of the tour), plus loads of stairs and hours of standing thanks to the subway system, made this tour quite a challenge!”  

Michelle Timian • Submitted 5 Jun 2024
Mount Fuji with phlox moss and lake in foreground - Japan Tours - On The Go Tours
Best of Japan
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Our Land of the Samurai tour in Japan was one of the best holidays we have ever had. In just 10 adventure packed days we got a real sense of this wonderful country. From start to finish the organisation was spot on. We were met at the airport by Louis who accompanied us to our first hotel and provided our travel cards and some excellent initial tips by way of introduction to Japan. The following day we met our main tour guide Masa who must be given full credit for the success of our tour. He was knowledgeable, considerate and well organised. He is a true asset to the company. ”  

Peter Meredith-Smith • Submitted 21 May 2024
The Kyoto Basin-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Land of the Samurai
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Memorable Japan

Japan, what a country and the Japanese are so respectful, helpful and kind. ‘Our world’ could learn from it. The trip went very well, well organised and under the fantastic guidance of Mashira, our tour guide for the Tokyo to Takayama trip. He went out of his way all the time to answer questions, explain the sites, their history and much more. He also guided us seamlessly through the efficient national network of transport. The hotels were all well positioned within the cities and at Lake Kawaguchi, from which we had an excellent view of Mount Fuji. Having Takayama in your program can be recommended, as it gives another impression of (rural) Japan, after you have visited the (busy) cities. Every part of the program worked, leaving some free time. Some of the food was included, but on those days when it wasn’t, there was so much choice and shops near to the hotels and with good value for money in many cases. And, we had a bit of the cherry blossom.

Thank you for the most enjoyable time and memorable trip. ”  

Jan van Stipriaan • Submitted 19 May 2024
Miyajima Island-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Tokyo to Takayama
13 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

The group were completely disconnected. The local company didn’t start the tour promoting good relationships between the members. They didn’t create a WhatsApp group. That complicated the communication, made less clear the messages and the times to meet, and prevent for sharing photos in the moment they were taken.

Kaori, the guide was very kind and respectful but she lacked giving recommendations about places to go to eat, or buy anything. She was less experienced than I expected. She doesn’t have the leader personality for guiding 18 people through the crowds. Tokyo public transportation was crazy and uncomfortable, too many destinations for few days. The rest of the transportation was increíble good and clean. I loved the bullet train.

Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Marunouchi, Hotel Around Takayama and Nishikinoyu Jimotoya (the traditional Japanese house) were amazing, Ibis Styles Kyoto Station was really awful.

In Hakone: having bad weather the itinerary should have had the flexibility for doing something that did matters instead of fulfilling the schedule with no purpose. Too difficult for Japan? Maybe you should think of changing your local partner. ”  

Fabiana Pigino • Submitted 9 May 2024
Cherry-Blossom-Festival-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Cherry Blossom Festival
13 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Incredible trip!! I had a blast.

I only didn't like the hotel in Kyoto - it was way too small and cheap for what I paid.

Also, too many trains - we should have used more buses.”  

Carren lamperini • Submitted 9 May 2024
Cherry-Blossom-Festival-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Cherry Blossom Festival
13 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Moha, our tour guide was very knowledgeable about both the history and the places we visited. She helped a lot with suggestions about what do in our free time and which restaurants to go to. She was very organised but flexible enough to accommodate people who just HAD to get a coffee before they could do anything.”  

Kathleen Turton • Submitted 9 May 2024
Cherry-Blossom-Festival-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Cherry Blossom Festival
13 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

There was nothing wrong with the tour but comparing it to other tours we have done with OTG ie Egypt, Turkey, Morrocco which were out of this world. I didnt feel overall I learnt as much about Japan as I learnt about other countries. I dont eat Asian food but that is my preference and no reflection on the tour. Yumi was not in any way bad, but I'm comparing her to Momo, Lale and Yunis who were brilliant. She did help us with information we asked about extra things to do in our spare time that we had planned. The accommodation overall was okay but the Tokyo accommodation (i think it was Yaesu hotel) was terrible (room was so small) we paid for an upgrade. We stayed before and after the tour in Ryumeikan Hotel in Tokyo - one of the choices you guys offer and this was much better. I think taking ppl to the museum in Tokyo on day 4 was a waste. It should be something they can do on their own in spare time. Just a waste of a day. so many other things that could have been done. I love museums btw this was just flat though. Lake Kawaguchiko was awsum and a very authentic experience. ”  

Niki Miller • Submitted 9 May 2024
Mount Fuji with phlox moss and lake in foreground - Japan Tours - On The Go Tours
Best of Japan
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Great tour and fantastic guide! All round five stars. ”  

Meryl Madden • Submitted 8 May 2024
Mount Fuji with phlox moss and lake in foreground - Japan Tours - On The Go Tours
Best of Japan
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Masa our guide was excellent. Overall the tour was very good, would have liked more free time in Tokyo and Hiroshima but overall was all good. The hotel accommodation was good apart from Tokyo, we were OK with the room being small but the mattresses were old and very uncomfortable and the cleaning staff were not considerate of our belongings, my T-shirt was ruined by bleach when I left it to dry.

We had a few people in our group who were slow and this did impact on our free time, particularly the lady who used a wheelchair for part of the journey and we were often waiting for them often. Masa our tour guide was informative, always answered our questions, looked after us really well. Couldn't have asked for a better guide.”  

Shona Wells • Submitted 7 May 2024
The Kyoto Basin-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Land of the Samurai
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Hello, my husband and I absolutely loved our tour of Japan. The guide was great and very helpful in letting us know where to go for meals, attractions not included in the tour and shopping. The guide was very knowledgeable about all the sites we visited and was very easy to get along with.

We really enjoyed the tour, accommodation and service provided by On The Go Tours and will be booking other tours with On the Go Tours for our future holidays. ”  

Subhashini Mala Singh • Submitted 3 Jan 2024
Mount Fuji with phlox moss and lake in foreground - Japan Tours - On The Go Tours
Best of Japan
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

The tour was excellent. We had two guides who were both excellent, very well organised and knowledgeable. ”  

Dawn Connolly • Submitted 23 Aug 2023
Miyajima Island-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Tokyo to Takayama
13 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Great way to see the major sights & experience traditional food & culture.

Good balance of historical, traditional and contemporary sights or experiences. OTG managed the logistics of getting around cities and countries which made this effortless for us. Guide was incredibly helpful and always went that extra mile for the group. Size of group was good and ensured you never missed anything”  

David Poynter • Submitted 28 Oct 2019
The Kyoto Basin-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Land of the Samurai
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Very interesting and enjoyable

Very professional from the time I started my inquiry about the tour, everything was detailed and clear. The agent was very helpful and cooperative to solve any issue I had. The tour was very informative and the tour guide was knowledgeable of the subjects that were explored”  

Nidal Baath • Submitted 18 Oct 2019
Mount Fuji with phlox moss and lake in foreground - Japan Tours - On The Go Tours
Best of Japan
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Thank you Yuki - she made this trip perfect. My highlight was seeing a geisha and Mt Fuji.”  

Catherine Maiden • Submitted 21 May 2019
Mount Fuji with phlox moss and lake in foreground - Japan Tours - On The Go Tours
Best of Japan
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

I have had the most fabulous tour. My guide Yuki made the tour easy with her fantastic organisation skills, great sense of humour and caring nature. I appreciated the balance of guided aspects and free time. Yuki was so helpful and accommodated the needs of all group members. She was so knowledgeable and efficient which meant we could make the most if our time at each place. My first trip with On The Go has been a blast. A big Thanks to the company and THE BEST tour guide!”  

Greer Young • Submitted 21 May 2019
Miyajima Island-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Tokyo to Takayama
13 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Yuki our Japanese guide was wonderful. She was organised, calm, punctual, flexible and understanding with a lovely sense of humour! Nothing was a problem for her. A very enjoyable trip to Japan - our first visit here!”  

Jane Anderson • Submitted 21 May 2019
Miyajima Island-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Tokyo to Takayama
13 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Special mention of "very good" guide Yuki, she stopped lots to check on us all, which was much appreciated as no one got lost or late for trains etc. Yuki was friendly and helpful throughout the tour and made our first experience if Japan an excellent experience.”  

Ken Anderson • Submitted 21 May 2019
Miyajima Island-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Tokyo to Takayama
13 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Yuki was amazing, she is well informed, considerate and flexible. Showed empathy and understanding. Public transport is overcrowded, would prefer a private vehicle.”  

Gurpreet • Submitted 21 May 2019
The Kyoto Basin-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Land of the Samurai
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

The views, meals, service and onsen at the Ryokan were excellent. Both guides were absolutely wonderful. This was my first experience of an overseas tour and I have loved it. The only thing I would change and its purely a personal choice is that I would pay the single supplement. I can't speak highly enough of Yuki and Ako. They were both professional, organised and just fun to hangout with.”  

Ruth Leon-Navarro • Submitted 21 May 2019
The Kyoto Basin-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Land of the Samurai
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Very interesting time in Japan - people were great and a very experienced guides made it very easy and enjoyable.”  

Stella Manuel • Submitted 21 May 2019
The Kyoto Basin-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Land of the Samurai
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Great tour, saw everything stated on allotted itinerary, guide Mewa was very good, helpful and enjoyed her history narratives whilst travelling.”  

Deborah • Submitted 9 Apr 2019
Cherry-Blossom-Festival-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Cherry Blossom Festival
13 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

I really enjoyed the tour. Most of the arrangements and organisation was very good and our tour guide Yuki was amazing, super polite, patient,really took care of us, went over and above in making our holiday so enjoyable. From the daily well written with cute drawings on her daily schedules, tiny treats she bought us, to the knowledge and expertise in the way she took us through all the public transport so efficient, I give her top marks.

My suggestions are few ....taking the bus in Tokyo was the most inconvenient. There were long waits and buses were overcrowded. Train rides were fine and agree the most efficient but local bus rides in Tokyo could have been on a tour bus instead. If the tour could add a few alternative like visiting The monster cafe, teamlab, robot restaurant, just to give it a mix from temples and museums and considering the varying age groups and interests.

On the hotels, Kyoto and the traditional were good and location of hotel accommodations were very good , Tokyo hotel rooms were very tiny and I a single occupant found it difficult so can only imagine how the couple's managed but I guess it's usual and the location was really good so its a plus.

Overall I did have a great holiday. I enjoy using your company on your escorted tours and will continue to do so. Thank you very much and please share our sincere appreciation with Yuki.

Regards Shanice ”  

Shanice Mesquita • Submitted 25 Mar 2019
Mount Fuji with phlox moss and lake in foreground - Japan Tours - On The Go Tours
Best of Japan
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Shana was excellent. She gave clear daily itineraries. She was very organized and friendly! The tour was good. I especially liked the sushi and calligraphy classes and the monkey park. The shrines and palaces; as well as the hikes on the old highways gave a historical background for me. I also enjoyed the natural beauty of Japan. The steam vents of the volcano and Mt. Fugi! Shana exposed us to different restaurants allowing us to try different foods. All were fantastic!”  

Denise Bauer • Submitted 12 Mar 2019
Kiyomizu Dera Temple Kyoto - Japan Tours
Essential Japan Explorer
13 Days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

We really enjoyed the tour, the hotels were all good although the room in the Tokyo hotel was quite small and very tight to move around in. Our tour guide (Yukiko) was excellent, she was always smiling, knowledgeable, caring to our needs, well organised and a joy to be with - highly recommended. ”  

Paul Lambton • Submitted 21 Nov 2018
Miyajima Island-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Tokyo to Takayama
13 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

The Tour was excellent, surpassing my expectations. Our guide Yumi was so knowledgeable, attentive and caring that we learnt so much about Japan, it’s people and culture, than we ever would have done as independent travellers.

Touring is tiring, You pack so much in but the tour had ample free time for further exploration or resting for those who needed it.

I would certainly recommend On The Go and would use again. ”  

Roy Chappell • Submitted 21 Oct 2018
Miyajima Island-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Tokyo to Takayama
13 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Yuki is a fantastic guide and such a lovely person! She gave us very clear information on what to expect each day, what we needed and where to meet. She was also very patient at explaining all aspects of Japanese culture and happy to answer any questions. She had excellent recommendations and knows the locations inside out. She works extremely hard to give guests the best experience. I can't imagine a better tour guide! ”  

Jessica Hall • Submitted 9 Jun 2018
Mount Fuji with phlox moss and lake in foreground - Japan Tours - On The Go Tours
Best of Japan
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Yuki was a wonderful guide who seemed to think of everything. She was particularly good at telling us where we had to meet next which we found a bit confusing at first but we soon realised it was so that if anyone became separated from the group they knew where they had to be next. Yuki was brilliant at spotting anyone straying and sprinted after them at an impressive speed! We all appreciated her efforts at performing magic tricks to entertain us whilst staying at the ryokan and teaching us origami whilst on the Bullet train.

I was pleasantly surprised by how easy everything was from being met at the airport on day 1 by a local guide to having Yuki buy my ticket and direct me how to get back to the airport for my flight to Shanghai.

The room was tiny for 2 people at Yaesu Terminal hotel but the location and cleanliness compensated. Elsewhere I was impressed with the hotels.

The only thing I really disliked and felt was very poor value was the shabu shabu meal. It was not to my taste (it appeared to have no taste at all!), very expensive compared to meals we had locally and a complete let down. I have no interest in eating as much as I can and much preferred the Keiseki at the ryokan which was a lovely surprise! The ryokan experience and the onsen were a highlight of the trip.

I felt that the cultural experience in Gion should have been a prebookable option as it was almost offered as an afterthought so we were too late to get seats and ended up sitting on the floor. I think clients would welcome the chance to prebook seats and learn about the Chinese culture.

For the more affluent clients a chance to spend some time with a Geisha would be good. I understand some hotels now offer this and I would have been intrigued as would some of my fellow travellers.

It was amusing that most of the blossom had blown away and the moss had yet to arrive which just reinforced how you cannot be sure of anything where Mother Nature is the boss and how important it is to stress this to my clients. As I will say to my clients it really didn't matter because we were having such a good time regardless.

James our main Guide in China was fairly quiet but always smiling. I got the impression he's been doing his job a while and was more laid back than Yuki. Alison our guide in Xian seemed young and inexperienced. She didn't explain everything there was to see at the Wild Goose Pagoda and I felt slightly disappointed.

I can imagine that sharing a compartment and facilities on the overnight train might not be for everyone but I was lucky in having 3 companions I got on well with, thanks to whoever put us together, and it was good fun. I was very grateful that we had time to shower at our hotels the next morning.

Overall I thoroughly enjoyed the tour, the organisation was excellent, the standard of the hotels exceeded my expectations and I loved waking up to somethign new and exciting every day. I will be recommending On the Go Tours to my Travel Counsellor colleagues and my clients and I hope very much to do another tour in the future. ”  

Julie Welfare • Submitted 22 May 2018
Geisha in Kyoto - Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Tokyo to Shanghai
18 Days Day |
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Our guide was fantastic and very helpful. A pleasure to have. Well informed. Good English ”  

Shevani Ramdin • Submitted 1 May 2018
Miyajima Island-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Tokyo to Takayama
13 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

'Happy' (her name in Japanese means happy) our tour guide was incredible. She made this trip interactive, personal and enjoyable. Excellent execution of knowledge and skills. Thank you.”  

Fatima Naidoo • Submitted 17 Apr 2018
Cherry-Blossom-Festival-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Cherry Blossom Festival
13 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

We did this tour for our honeymoon and it was fantastic! I'd recommend this trip to everyone. Our tour guide made Japan extra special. She went above and beyond to find information and recommendations for anything not included on the tour. She was polite, accomodating, very informative and was one of the main reasons our experience was so very special. We look forward to visiting Japan again and would love to have 'Happy' as our host again. ”  

Kara Richards • Submitted 17 Apr 2018
Cherry-Blossom-Festival-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Cherry Blossom Festival
13 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Our guide 'Happy' was a very organised, helpful, caring and joyful guide for our group. She helped structure our days and gave us advance planning of the following day. She worked out routes to avoid the crowds and also best places to eat etc. She made our tour a success. ”  

Safiy Karim • Submitted 11 Apr 2018
Cherry-Blossom-Festival-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Cherry Blossom Festival
13 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

After the mix-up with my arrival transportation to my hotel, everything was wonderful. 'Happy' was there for my welcome meeting and had everything under control from then on. I would do any tour in a heartbeat if I knew she was my tour guide!”  

Emily Klimek • Submitted 9 Apr 2018
Cherry-Blossom-Festival-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Cherry Blossom Festival
13 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Tour guides were friendly and attentive and helpful which made the experience enjoyable. The flexibility to explore at our own pace was also very good and a nice balance between planned activities and free time. In Kyoto, may have been useful to have a coach bus as we spent a lot of time waiting for public transport which meant less time at sites.”  

Deevi Williams • Submitted 1 Dec 2017
Mount Fuji with phlox moss and lake in foreground - Japan Tours - On The Go Tours
Best of Japan
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

I enjoyed the tour very much, the pace of the tour was just right with a mix of free time and guided sights. We were a bit early to see the Autumn colours which was unfortunate as it was one of the things we most wanted to see. Yuki, our guide was lovely, helpful, informative and looked after us all, giving helpful tips and suggestions for the time we spent on our own. She was well prepared every day with a sheet detailing the days activities. The weather on the second week was poor, so we didn't seen some of the sights at their best which was a great shame but it did not detract from the overall pleasure of the trip.”  

Steven Corr • Submitted 27 Oct 2017
The Kyoto Basin-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Land of the Samurai
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Hi there, thank you for the welcome home.

The whole experience was absolutely amazing! I didn't want to come home. A big thank you to Emirates and for providing me with the gluten free meals. They were superb!

The hotels that I stayed in were absolutely beautiful! The Tokyo hotel was a bit basic and small but very understandable being situated in the middle of Tokyo, but it was very handy for the train station. All my fellow travellers' in the tour group were very nice and very friendly making it a pleasure to share my experiences with.

The most amazing part of the holiday was our guide Yuki, she was absolutely amazing. Very knowledgeable, so friendly, so helpful and went out of her way to make the whole holiday extra special, showing us so many places, giving us ideas and places to go on free time and also places to go and eat. She deserves a gold medal, absolutely perfect host and guide. I felt so lucky to have her as our guide. I miss her already!

Tokyo was really busy and mainly aimed towards people who enjoy shopping, but the historical sites we saw were amazing and we also went into a workshop to watch a performance and to learn how to play the Shamisen - a traditional musical instrument, because on our first day the typhoon was about to hit and it was raining so much. Again thanks to Yuki our guide for arranging that! I did enjoy Tokyo but really not the highlight of the tour!

Kamakura was amazing, such a beautiful traditional little town with a beautiful shrine and shopping street amazing day. When we left Tokyo and travelled to Lake Kawaguchi the tour for me really started. The traditional hotel was perfect, and hot tub spa was amazing even though it wasn’t a natural hot spring. The food was sensational and the whole experience was mind blowing a second night at the traditional Japanese Ryokan hotel would have been preferable most of us said so. It’s what I went to Japan for and to experience. Seeing Mount Fuji so clear made it perfect.

Kyoto again was amazing going around the traditional streets and the contrast with the new shopping street was unreal. I absolutely loved Kyoto, the shrines, the shops, Gion District was like travelling through time, and hotels we stayed in were amazing, the people I met were so friendly and helpful. It was really easy to get around, unlike Tokyo. Again thanks to Yuki for all the advice and maps she drew up for us.

Himeji was a quick trip, stop off on the way to Hiroshima so it felt a little rushed although Yuki never ever rushed us. We saw the castle, shopping areas and bonus markets and festival that was on and I actually had lunch with her on free time before meeting back up with the group carrying on to Hiroshima. We felt it was a bit of an awkward time to arrive in Hiroshima with all our luggage. It was very busy on the tram on the way to the hotel, but again with the help and advice from Yuki we made it safely to the hotel.

Hiroshima was one of the highlights and most humbling of experiences I have ever had. For a huge town/city it was so calm and peaceful to walk around either by day or night. We saw ground zero of the A-bomb and the Peace Park and A-bomb dome at night thanks to Yuki, as well as during the day. Fantastic food in Hiroshima.

Going to Miyajima Island and going up Mount Misen was, to say the least, incredible. A note to other travellers, you must be really fit to get to the top it was a hard climb, but you can just stay at the observation base when you get off the cable car. I made the climb to the Eternal flame shrine, but not to the top. I knew my limit lol.

Heading back to Kyoto was a bonus because I loved it there. Got some shopping in and went off on my own to Nara on our free day after leaving Yuki. We were sad to say goodbye to our amazing guide. With thanks to her guidance I managed to find my way to Nara and have another cracking day.

The last day, the day of my flight was not so good, I checked out of the hotel at 10.30am. The only other gripe was that at the hotel in Tokyo we had to pay for breakfast and it wasn’t the best breakfast buffet at that. At the last two hotels I didn’t have breakfast so I don’t know if I had to pay for it but at the first hotel in Kyoto I didn’t have to pay and it was an amazing breakfast buffet Also foreign travellers entering Japan now have to fill in 2 small forms one for security and the other for customs, I found that out on the plane.

Overall my whole experience was absolutely amazing and I would recommended the trip to anyone wanting to visit Japan. It was full on everyday but I got to see so much, it was perfect. Yuki our lovely guide was absolutely amazing and she made my time in japan even more unforgettable. Yuki our guide was absolutely perfect!! It would be rude of me to rate her. Thank you all for arranging my amazing trip, so unforgettable!

Looking forward to my next trip with you, maybe china. ”  

Paul Cook • Submitted 3 Oct 2017
The Kyoto Basin-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Land of the Samurai
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Excellent trip all round.”  

Ian Thomlinson • Submitted 27 May 2017
Mount Fuji with phlox moss and lake in foreground - Japan Tours - On The Go Tours
Best of Japan
8 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Found the tour to be more strenuous than expected. A little too much 'free time' for my liking (I'm not a shopper!). Guides were both very good.”  

David Wald • Submitted 30 Apr 2017
Miyajima Island-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Tokyo to Takayama
13 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Our guide Mari was excellent, nothing was too much trouble.”  

Garth McQuade • Submitted 25 Apr 2017
Cherry-Blossom-Festival-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Cherry Blossom Festival
13 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Overall, the holiday was fantastic with a packed itinerary and plenty of options. Hotels were excellent and the places we visited superb. The group were great too.”  

David Carter • Submitted 24 Apr 2017
Cherry-Blossom-Festival-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Cherry Blossom Festival
13 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Thank you so much! It was a very memorable and positive experience for us (and my 60th birthday!). Our guide Mark was fantastic and we had some great conversations with him about Japan and he was able to tell us so much. We enjoyed his company for the whole tour. Mark was very accommodating and helped us with any queries we had. He explained timing, being ready in the mornings, meeting times, dinner arrangements etc very clearly. The 14 days was well paced and we did 4 to 5 hours of walking nearly every day (either with Mark or on our own).

Just some feedback for you. Timing for the Cherry Blossoms everywhere we went was spot on! Absolutely phenomenal! By the time we returned to Tokyo on Day 13, there weren't many left flowering so glad we were there when we did.

Shinjuku Hotel - 3 nights. great location, lovely modern room, nice breakfast options. Lovely first night dinner with the rest of the group to get to meet them.

Sending our big luggage on is a great idea (we've experienced this before), however a couple of people on our tour didn't quite understand the concept of having overnight bags (while being away from the main suitcase) and they were not well prepared.

Matsumoto was fantastic. Hotel room was only just okay. Clean but dated

Takayama Ryokan was awesome! Dinner was fabulous. Also the breakfast

Just a suggestion here though. 1 x traditional dinner in the ryokan is enough. 2nd included dinner was a repeat, we would have liked to have experienced a local restaurant.

Kanazawa hotel - location was excellent however, the hotel rooms were not up to the standard.

Kyoto and Gion district - lovely. The Miyako Odori was amazing. Included dinner at Mimiu was awesome. Hakone & the Fujiya Hotel!! What a fantastic time we had there with all the history! And the private onsen was a highlight.

We didn't get to see Mt Fuji while in Hakone because it was so misty but from our View Hotel in Tokyo we were very fortunate to see her on a clear day!

Also another suggestion - include a tour to the Skytree Tower. We did that on our last morning and had lunch there with so many choices. The food hall area was amazing.

Many highlights I haven't mentioned but the whole tour was fantastic! Mark was absolutely a delight and nothing was any trouble for him. Hoping to do another trip to Japan. We hear that November is an ideal time to go.

Jo & Warren Naseby”  

Johanne Naseby • Submitted 18 Apr 2017
Cherry-Blossom-Festival-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Cherry Blossom Festival
13 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Mark Fujishige was fantastic and we had some great conversations with him about Japan and he was able to tell us so much. We enjoyed his company for the whole tour. Tour was well paced & loved the hotels. ”  

Johanne & Warren Naseby • Submitted 1 Dec 2016
Cherry-Blossom-Festival-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Cherry Blossom Festival
13 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

The tour was, in a word - Fantastic. Great hotels and in great locations. Also the nights stayed in each hotel was well thought out.

Tour content was excellent. Pace was fast but that is how we like it. Cant complain about anything. ”  

Judith & Robert Davey • Submitted 1 Dec 2016
Cherry-Blossom-Festival-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Cherry Blossom Festival
13 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

"This tour was fantastic. The organisation and the guides were exceptional. From when we stepped off the plane in Tokyo we were met and guided through to our accommodation. The guides were always prepared and We really liked Yukiko's daily guide notes! The accommodation in Tokyo was central and convenient. In Hakone we enjoyed the more traditional ryokan. The day we had travelling through Fuji Hakone National Park was one of the best days touring we have ever experienced. Closely followed by our visit to Miyajima Island.The Daiwa Roynet in Kyoto and Hiroshima were great.

These tours are named On the Go for a good reason. A good level of health and fitness is required to experience all the benefits. "”  

Jennifer & Peter Geutjes • Submitted 1 Dec 2016
The Kyoto Basin-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Land of the Samurai
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Would be good to add Fushimi Inari in Kyoto in Kyoto to itinerary. Akihabara visit at night would be good - Toyko. Pick up guide (Sue) from airport was great, very helpful. Yukikpo was very organised & helpful & friendly. Akira was very friendly & knowledgeable, I enjoyed his information on history & he was always open to questions. Overall this has been a wonderful trip, thanks!”  

Beth Munro • Submitted 1 Dec 2016
The Kyoto Basin-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Land of the Samurai
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

I would like to say that my vacation was amazing. We both had so many fun and amazing experiences. I stated a comment on my local form but would like to say it again; the tour guides were both amazing. I do wish we would have had more time in certain areas but understand the logistics did not permit. I regard On the Go very highly and would consider booking again if a preferable repeat customer rate could be discussed. Thank you kindly for the experiences ”  

Samuel Murphy • Submitted 14 Oct 2016
The Kyoto Basin-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Land of the Samurai
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

This tour was fantastic. The organisation and the guides were exceptional. From when we stepped off the plane in Tokyo we were met and guided through to our accommodation. The guides were always prepared and We really liked Yukiko's daily guide notes! The accommodation in Tokyo was central and convenient. In Hakone we enjoyed the more traditional ryokan. The day we had travelling through Fuji Hakone National Park was one of the best days touring we have ever experienced. Closely followed by our visit to Miyajima Island.The Daiwa Roynet in Kyoto and Hiroshima were great.

These tours are named On the Go for a good reason. A good level of health and fitness is required to experience all the benefits. ”  

Jennifer Geutjes • Submitted 1 Jun 2016
The Kyoto Basin-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Land of the Samurai
12 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

The tour was, in a word - Fantastic. Great hotels and in great locations. Also the nights stayed in each hotel was well thought out.

Tour content was excellent. Pace was fast but that is how we like it. Cant complain about anything.

Many Thanks

Judy Davey”  

Judith Davey • Submitted 4 May 2016
Cherry-Blossom-Festival-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Cherry Blossom Festival
13 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Richard was very engaging, knowledgeable, enthusiastic and flexible. We were lucky enough to be only 3 people on the tour, so he was able to give us lots of attention, answer all our questions and also take us to one or two places where he couldn't normally go with larger tours, so we felt extra privileged. He also laughed at our jokes, which was a bonus....It was great to be with someone who loved Japan so much and was fluent in the language.

(We also hope his head is better, after he banged it on a doorway!)”  

Elizabeth Horn • Submitted 21 May 2015
Cherry-Blossom-Festival-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Cherry Blossom Festival
13 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Aki was a great guide and gave us a view of more than just the tourist sights of Japan. He took us to local restaurants and shared his deep knowledge of the history of the places we visited - he is clearly very passionate about Japan!”  

Melanie Andresen • Submitted 5 May 2015
Cherry-Blossom-Festival-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Cherry Blossom Festival
13 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

1. Well organized & timed for Sakura watch.

2. Good choice of cities/towns & sites to visit.

3. Good choice of hotels.

4. Fortunate to be in a friendly group.

5. Very good friendly & helpful guide.

6. Good duration for discovery of Japan. ”  

ARazak BinRamli • Submitted 25 Apr 2015
Cherry-Blossom-Festival-Japan Tours-On The Go Tours
Cherry Blossom Festival
13 days Day | Group Tours
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

We have loved every minute of the tour. It was a surprising mixture of discovering Japan. The information provided by the tour operator was perfect. We know exactly what to do when and every ticket was already there. nice hotels and very knowledgable and flexible guides. We highly recommend this tour.”  

Paulina van der Veeken • Submitted 15 Oct 2014
Kiyomizu Temple Kyoto - Japan Tours - On The Go Tours
Geisha & Gyoza
8 days Day |

We have loved every minute of the tour ..

It was a surprising mixture of discovering Japan.

The information provided by the tour operator was perfect. We know exactly what to do when and every ticket was already there. nice hotels and very knowledgable and flexible guides.

We higly recommend this tour.”  

Paulina van der Veeken • Submitted 14 Oct 2014
Kiyomizu Temple Kyoto - Japan Tours - On The Go Tours
Geisha & Gyoza
8 days Day |
Tour
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Guide
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Country
star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Hi Kelly, Our trip was AMAZING. The highlight of the holiday was most certainly the experience of staying at the Buddhist Temple in Hakone. Each of the local guides we met were excellent and they gave us a better understanding of the places we were visiting. They were also fab in getting us up to speed in learning the easiest way to navigate the city. We do wish that we spent more time in Osaka as it is such a beautiful city with so much to see and do that we possibly could have spent an entire week there. None the less we are glad that we extended our stay for a few extra days in Tokyo. Thanks again for the amazing service provided by you and your team in Japan. We've had such an amazing experience and are thinking of South Korea as our next stop. Regards, Penny & Michael”  

Mrs Penny Lambeth • Submitted 28 Jan 2014
Akihabara by Night Tokyo - Japan Tours - On The Go Tours
Just Japan
8 days Day |